页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

平坦而性感

已更新:2022 年 12 月 17 日

作者:希瑟-格洛弗

我是英国 5.5 万名被诊断出患有乳腺癌的妇女之一,也是英国每年因乳腺癌失去乳房的 1 万多名妇女之一,她们都没有进行乳房再造。


40 多岁时,当我过着积极快乐的生活时,我发现右侧乳房有一个感觉像 乳房肿块当时我正在洗澡。我一点也不担心。我早上洗了个澡,做了一天护士,回到家和家人一起吃了晚饭,然后就去健身房锻炼了。 癌症不可能就这样发生(我是这么想的)。 此外,从十几岁起,我就经历过许多乳房肿块。我接受过检查和扫描--23 个月前我曾因乳房肿块做过一次乳房 X 光检查--结果总是 "没事",所以这次我并不担心。


在我的职业生涯中,我一直是一名护士,但我从来不知道乳腺癌有这么多种形式(三阴性、HER2+、小叶性、炎症性等)。 乳腺癌最近才触及我的生活,因为我的嫂子比我早 7 个月确诊乳腺癌。她比我大两个月,我们是同学,她也患有 TNBC。不幸的是,我们仍然没有治愈乳腺癌的方法,凯瑟琳在 2020 年 3 月年满 50 岁之前就去世了,当时,Covid 大流行刚刚宣布,英国开始封锁。


我的三阴性乳腺癌(TNBC)确诊后从夏天到 2017 年圣诞节前,我一直在接受化疗。2018年1月,我接受了手术,即肿块切除术和广泛局部切除术(WLE),并切除了淋巴腺(因为癌症已经浸润了我的一个淋巴结)--我被告知,肿瘤的大小与化疗前完全一样。这让我非常担心。如果肿瘤已经扩散并对这些药物的毒副作用产生了抗药性,那该怎么办?2018 年 3 月,我完成了放疗疗程。5 月,我重返护理岗位,并于 2018 年 9 月参加了半程马拉松训练,跑进了 2 小时以内。


2018 年 12 月初,我感觉很疲惫--但不是每个人在圣诞节前都会疲惫不堪吗?我在夜里被惊醒,因为 患侧乳房剧烈疼痛.当然,疑神疑鬼的我马上去做了检查。尽管检查得很仔细,但除了乳房略微肿胀外,没有任何异常。乳房护理护士认为是我的运动方式(俯卧撑)造成了局部创伤,进而引起了疼痛和肿胀。没有发现任何可疑之处,呼,一切正常。对我来说,这似乎是一个合乎逻辑的解释。(此时,我嫂子的乳腺癌已经复发了)。


仅仅 4 周后,也就是 2018 年除夕夜,我在洗澡时发现疤痕线上有一个大肿块。 我顿时崩溃了。这次我立刻感到恶心。我被吓坏了。


很快,我的调查结束了、 3 期 TNBC 复发了肿瘤体积增大了一倍,侵袭性也增强了一倍。这是因为肿瘤标志物 Ki67(有时也被称为生物标志物)的升高,在我第一次确诊时,Ki67 为 18%,而之后则升高到 78%。这实际上导致了一些关于这是复发还是新原发的争论,但无论如何,治疗方案都是一样的。


2019 年 2 月,我进行了 单乳房切除术.作为预防措施,我的外科医生同意为我进行双侧乳房切除术,但我不得不多等一周的手术时间。我的右侧乳房非常疼痛,由于担心和疼痛,我无法入睡,因此他将我的手术提前了,我接受了不带重建的乳房切除术。由于之前接受过放疗,他们担心皮肤无法愈合,所以我无法进行乳房再造,甚至无法使用扩张器。我身上没有足够的肉进行皮瓣重建,因此我的身体一直很平坦。之后,我接受了为期 6 个月的 4 次化疗--我实在无法忍受整个疗程。虽然这次我没有掉光头发,但使用了 这次我使用了不同的化疗药物我甚至没有生病,但我感觉自己在慢慢地被打入坟墓。我感觉自己的心脏会停止跳动,或者停止呼吸--就像那样。第一次服药后,我就说我不想再服药了--这吓坏了我的家人。每次服药后我都这么说,直到最后服药 4 个月,我说我受够了。


2019 年春,我加入了预防乳腺癌慈善机构,并 我认为是它帮助我度过了化疗期以及我的家人。来自大曼彻斯特地区的 100 名女性受邀成为 "BooBees",我们乘坐一辆粉红色的大巴士旅行,既提高了社区意识,又为慈善机构筹集了资金。友情和友谊、欢笑和泪水,以及生存之外的目标,对我产生了真正积极的影响。现在,我尽我所能为他们所做的重要工作筹集支持和宣传,因为他们相信他们可以预测哪些人有患乳腺癌的风险,并通过有针对性的筛查预防疾病的发展,保护我们后代的生命。


2020 年 1 月,我对左侧乳房进行了风险降低和对称性乳房切除术。 由于我的皮肤之前接受过放疗,第一次手术不可能进行重建。因此,我的第二次乳房切除术看起来是一样的。我无法接受使用 假体- 每次戴上胸罩,我都觉得自己在改变性格,我觉得自己很假,我觉得自己在不断地提醒自己,我已经失去了自然的乳房。不过,我还是想在夏天的衬衫和裙子下穿漂亮的内衣,或者只是为了挑逗我的丈夫,但我找不到任何内衣。


快进到 2021 年...... Skarlette - 一款由平胸女性为平胸女性设计的美丽平胸文胸.这是我的朋友凯特为我量身定做的最漂亮的平胸文胸,因为我对平胸女性内衣的选择太少感到失望和沮丧。我感到无比惊奇,我想与每一位与我情况相似的女性分享这次经历。我甚至没有意识到自己当时的感觉有多么 "不女人",但当我穿上我的 Skarlette 时,我感慨万千。就在那时,我们决定开始创业。别误会我的意思,没有 不用 每个女人都应该有机会在自己想要的时候感到性感和魅力。 我们的 Skarlette 内衣正在实现这一目标。



与希瑟联系


谢谢你让我们分享你的故事,希瑟!SBC 非常喜欢你!

 

乳腺癌幸存者网站资源与支持:

 

继续阅读

最新文章

查看全部

现在

候车室

评论


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

对于新诊断的患者

美国东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

东部时间 4 月 22 日下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 4 月 23 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 5 月 6 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 5 月 7 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

美国东部时间 5 月 13 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

美国东部时间 5 月 14 日上午 11:30

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 5 月 14 日下午 6:00

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Flat and Sexy

Updated: Dec 17, 2022

By Heather Glover

I'm one of the 55,000 women diagnosed with breast cancer, and one of over 10,000 women who lose their breasts as a result of the disease each year in the UK, and DON’T have reconstruction.


In my mid 40s, whilst living an active and happy life, I found what felt like a large breast lump in my right breast whilst taking a shower. I wasn’t worried at all. I had a shower in the morning, worked as a nurse all day, returned home and ate dinner with my family, before heading out to the gym that evening. Cancer couldn’t happen just like that (so I thought). Besides, since being a teenager I had experienced many breast lumps. I had undergone investigation and scans - I’d had a mammogram 23 months earlier for a breast lump - it always turned out to be “nothing,” so I wasn’t worried on this occasion.


Having been a nurse all of my working life, I never knew there were so many forms of breast cancer (triple negative, HER2+, lobular, inflammatory, etc.). Breast cancer had touched my life very recently as my sister in law was diagnosed 7 months before me. She was two months older than me, we went to school together, and she too had TNBC. Unfortunately, we still do not have a cure for breast cancer and Catherine passed away before she reached 50, in March 2020, just as the Covid pandemic was announced and the UK lockdown began.


After my Triple Negative Breast Cancer (TNBC) diagnosis, I received chemotherapy from the summer until just before Christmas 2017. When I had surgery in January 2018, a lumpectomy and Wide Local Excision (WLE) and removal of my lymph glands (as cancer had infiltrated one of my lymph nodes) - I was informed that the tumor was exactly the same size as before all that chemo. That worried me a lot. What if it had escaped and spread and was resistant to the toxic effects of these drugs? I completed my course of treatment with radiotherapy in March 2018. I returned to nursing in May and trained for a half marathon, which I ran in under 2 hours, in Sept 2018.


At the beginning of December 2018, I was feeling tired - but isn't everyone exhausted on the run up to Christmas? I was woken in the night with severe breast pain in my affected side. Of course, paranoid, I got checked out straight away. Despite a really thorough examination, there was no abnormality except a slightly swollen breast. I had suffered with a seroma when I had my initial surgery, and the opinion of the breast care nurse was that my exercise regime (press-ups) had caused localized trauma and this in turn caused the pain and swelling. Nothing sinister to be found, phew, all was ok. Seemed like a logical explanation to me. (My sister-in-law’s breast cancer had recurred by this point.)


Just 4 weeks later, on New Year’s Eve 2018, while taking a shower, I found a big lump on my scar line. I was devastated. I felt immediately sick this time around. I was petrified.


Fast forward to the end of my investigations, stage 3 TNBC had returned, twice as big and twice as aggressive. This was due to the increase in the tumor marker Ki67 (also sometimes referred to as a biomarker) which was 18% at my first diagnosis and 78% subsequently. This actually led to some debate as to whether this was a recurrence, or a new primary, but either way, the treatment plan was the same.


In Feb 2019, I had a single mastectomy. My surgeon had agreed to perform a bilateral mastectomy as a preventative measure, but I would have had to wait an extra week for his theatre time. My right breast was so painful and I couldn’t sleep due to the worry and pain, so he brought my surgery forward and I underwent a mastectomy without reconstruction. They were worried that the skin wouldn’t heal due to previous radiotherapy, so I was unable to have reconstruction, or even an expander. I didn’t have enough flesh anywhere for a flap reconstruction, hence I remained flat. I then underwent 4 of 6 months chemotherapy- I just couldn't tolerate the full course. Whilst I didn’t lose all my hair this time around with a different cocktail of chemotherapy drugs, and I wasn’t even sick, I felt like I was slowly being hammered into my grave. I felt like my heart would stop or I’d just stop breathing - just like that. After the first dose I said I wanted no more - this terrified my family. I said the same after every dose, until I finally reached 4 months and said that was enough.


In spring 2019, I joined the charity Prevent Breast Cancer, and I think this is what helped pull me through that chemotherapy regime, as well as my family. 100 women from the Greater Manchester area were invited to become “BooBees” and we travelled in a big pink bus raising both awareness amongst the community, and funds for the charity. The camaraderie and friendships, the laughs and the tears and having a purpose apart from just surviving, had a real positive impact for me. I now do as much as I can to raise support and awareness for the important work they do, as they believe they can predict who is at risk of breast cancer, and can prevent the disease from developing with targeted screening, protecting the lives of our future generations.


In January 2020, I had risk reducing and symmetrizing mastectomy to my left breast. Reconstruction wasn't a possibility for my first surgery due to my skin having had previous radiotherapy. So my second mastectomy was performed to look the same. I couldn't get along with using prosthetics - I felt like I was changing character every time I put my bra on, I felt fake, I felt constantly reminded that I'd lost my natural breasts. I still wanted to wear pretty lingerie under summer blouses and dresses or just to tease my husband though, and I couldn't find any.


Fast forward to 2021... the birth of the Skarlette - a beautiful flat bra designed by flat women, for flat women. This was the result of my friend Kate making me my own most beautiful flat bra, as I was so disappointed and frustrated with the poor selection of lingerie available for a flat chest. I felt so incredibly amazing that I wanted to share this experience with every woman in a similar position to me. I hadn’t even realized how “unfeminine” I must have been feeling, but I was overwhelmed with emotion when I put on my Skarlette for the first time. And that's when we decided to launch our business. Don’t get me wrong, it’s liberating not having to wear a bra, but every woman deserves the opportunity to feel sexy and attractive when she wants to. Our Skarlette lingerie is achieving this.



Connect with Heather:


Thank you for allowing us to share your story, Heather! SBC adores you!

 

SurvivingBreastCancer.org Resources & Support:

 

Read On

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

May 20 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

In Body Breathwork

May 21 ,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Brain Spotting

May 27,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

May 28,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

June 3, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

Jun 4,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

June 10,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

June 11, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

June 11,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page