页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

治疗圈与癌症体验

作者 伊莲娜-卡明斯基


(阅读第一部分 这里.)


"你越是隐藏自己的感情,它们就越是显露出来。你越是否认自己的感受,它们就越会滋生"。~未知


与我们的感受坐在一起,而不是脱离或分散自己的注意力,这就是工作。感受痛苦有助于让 "我做得还不够 "的内心批评者闭嘴。


疗愈圈接受我们尽最大努力,不加任何批评。这是一个安全的空间和容器,我们不仅可以将其作为一个场所来理解感受是重要的,也是社会心理辐条中富有成效的一部分。


这其中蕴含着一种难以言喻的特殊魔力。


我们自己

尤其是对于转移性乳腺癌,我们大多只能靠自己。即使有最好的护理人员,我们也要经历一段非常私人的旅程。在独轮车上,我们坐在座位上,希望不会摔倒,在车轮的所有辐条上艰难地保持平衡--车轴就是诊断结果本身。诊断结果是否令人震惊?你的家族中有 BRCA 基因吗?您是否被诊断为新发癌症第四期?您是否经历过一次原发性癌症,多年后才被诊断为继发性或晚期转移性乳腺癌?


所有这些情况都会造成压力、愤怒、震惊、不确定性、友谊和家庭关系的丧失,50% 的男性会与妻子离婚。随着我们失去经济和社会心理的稳定,这样的例子不胜枚举。然而,除了我们的医生和心理咨询师,还有谁能真正让我们坦诚相待--不带评判,不试图 "修复 "或 "帮助",而只是带着好奇心深入倾听呢?


我学到了什么

迈克尔-勒纳(Michael Lerner)在我后来意识到的 "双人治疗圈 "中帮助我理解了这一点--迈克尔是 "全球治疗圈"(Healing Circles Global)的创始人之一,他与戴安娜和凯莉-林赛(Kelly Lindsay)一起,在我确诊一年后帮助我理解了这一点:


我小时候五六岁就开始写诗。我母亲保存了我用铅笔写的第一首诗,在我 40 岁时送给了我。


每当创伤压得我喘不过气来,我就会拿起笔和笔记本。我今年 56 岁,被诊断为新发(从头开始)转移性乳腺癌第四期并转移至骨骼、肝脏和腹膜,至今已将近七年。这种癌症的激素受体阳性,幸好研究人员已经开发出了许多 "系列 "治疗方法,但我已经是第六系列了,包括六个月的静脉化疗。在我正在接受的化疗不再有效后,只剩下最后一种了。但这就是 MBC 患者的生活,至少现在是这样。但我从未放弃希望。医疗团队也不会放弃希望,因为我是医疗团队的最终决策者。这是一个由专业医疗人员组成的团体,他们倾听我的心声,为我提供所有的选择。我们一起决定什么对我最好。


然而,在我于 2015 年 3 月 25 日被确诊之后。2015年,我必须找到一条新的道路,我想这条路大多是孤独的。我伸出援手,找到了我从不知道的网上社区。被诊断出患有 MBC 和其他癌症的人。确诊后,我几乎立刻开始写博客,与其他我认为可以从我的经历中受益的人分享我的经历。博客社区将我引向了社交媒体,我在高科技领域的职业生涯中已经使用过社交媒体,现在已经退休。从那时起,我开始通过 "活在乳腺癌之外"(Living Beyond Breast Cancer)进行患者宣传,担任沙舍赫特(Sharsheret)的好友,共同领导支持小组,并就治疗性写作及其对社会心理的益处进行了多次播客采访。这是一种忙碌的生活。


许多社区都张开了双臂,而我所要做的就是伸出自己的双臂。当你被诊断出癌症晚期时,已经没有退路了。我失去了太多曾经让我的生活充满希望的东西。但我并没有把一切都抛弃,把注意力集中在 "结束 "上,而是在我年轻时开始的地方找到了新的起点。我的天赋不断回馈社会,这也给我的生活带来了回报。


一个人不需要成为诗人或散文家,也可以写下自己的情感和经历。这可能只是意味着写日记,写下他们当天发现的一件令他们惊讶或高兴的事情。坚持写 5 分钟的日记几周后,人们在回顾自己的日记时会突然意识到,尽管被诊断出癌症晚期,但我们仍有许多值得感恩的事情。


这里的许多诗歌都是献给因癌症去世或仍在世的人的,但他们让我心怀感激,激发了我的写作灵感。第一首诗献给一位男士,他毕生都在帮助那些被诊断出癌症的人,让他们在听到 "对不起,但是...... "这句致命的话语后在情感上得到治愈。


我哀怨地看着他,然后他对我说:"我已经没有路了!当我向下看时,我看不到该把脚放在哪里才能前进--我什么也看不到。


他回答说:"伊琳,你是个作家。称自己为作家,因为这就是你。"如此简单的建议。


如果您想了解更多有关疗养圈的信息,包括癌症、护理、死亡和临终、男性和女性疗养圈等等,这里有一个很好的链接,对疗养圈的描述比我说的要好得多。 https://healingcirclesglobal.org/calling-a-circle/what-is-a-healing-circle/


诗歌是我的爱语

最后,这首诗描述了我结束疗养圈后的感受--无论是我为转移性乳腺癌患者主持的疗养圈,还是我为全球疗养圈共同主持的关于癌症和写作的疗养圈--以及我参加的关于癌症的疗养圈,在整个科维德参加的疗养圈,都让我不会因为使用变焦技术而变得不必要的孤立。我们聚集在一起,我从这些圈子的共同主持人身上学到了很多东西。


我用一首诗作为结尾,因为这是我向亲爱的读者们表达自己的最好方式。如果你们走到这一步,我感谢你们的阅读。请随时通过我的博客与我联系,网址是 Https://cancerbus.com/或通过 Twitter @ilenealizah 与我联系。


祝福所有人,让他们深感安宁。


现场提问

带着问题安静地生活

静坐片刻

就现在,把昨天的事忘掉

当之无愧的温柔。

培养这些时刻、

像新生儿一样,喂养和

襁褓。摇晃

在甜蜜

他们的节奏

沉睡的气息。

在这唯一的时刻

永远成为无限的

回复绿色方向

绿径

有了新的途径

有的被人践踏,有的无人知晓。

你想到了 "一无所有"

襁褓

小心翼翼地曾经爱过。


为何急于成长?

无论你

出于礼貌或

为神童。因为他们

在静止的分钟

将成长为我们的时间。

答案揭示了

只有当你

忘了问 "为什么"?

这些问题超过

生命的轨迹就像

宝石镶嵌在

项链,你的体重

向您鞠躬

在祈祷或忏悔中

打破它的扣环

并放弃所有

重重地摔在地上。

抬起头

张开嘴

抓住祝福之雨

在你的舌头上。


是什么让你保持沉默?

肺部吸吮自由的气息?

将石头的重量从圆形

你的脖子

与时间一起呼吸

您的孩子

他没有答案。

凉爽也没有

这第二个是

碍于应该和

再也不会有了。

您的答案

来这里收集

当你还是无辜的时候

在你的开放

偷偷抓的手

就像来自

邻近花园

他们的劳动

从来就不属于你。




乳腺癌幸存者网站资源与支持:

38 条意见

最新文章

查看全部

冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

正念促进健康

东部时间 2 月 23 日下午 1:30

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 2 月 16 日上午 10:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

美国东部时间 19 日星期一下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 2 月 27 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 3 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 3 月 5 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 3 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 3 月 12 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 3 月 12 日上午 11:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page

Healing Circles and the Cancer Experience

By Ilene Kaminsky


(Read part 1 here.)


“The more you hide your feelings, the more they show. The more you deny your feelings, the more they grow.” ~Unknown


Sitting with our feelings instead of disengaging or distracting ourselves is work. Feeling pain helps silence that internal critic that says, “I’m not doing enough.”


Healing circles accept we are doing our best without any criticism. It’s a safe space and a container into which we can not only use as a place to understand that feeling is both important and a productive part of the psychosocial spoke in the wheel that holds us up as we pedal the unicycle that is a cancer diagnosis.


There’s a special magic that transpires that’s difficult to put into words.


On Our Own

We’re mostly on our own with metastatic breast cancer especially. Even with the best of caregivers we’re on a very personal journey. On the unicycle we sit on a seat hoping not to fall over and tenuously balancing atop all of those spokes in the wheel - the axel is the diagnosis itself. Did it come as a shock? Did you have a BRCA gene in your family? Were you diagnosed de novo stage 4? Did you go through a primary cancer only to be diagnosed many years later with secondary or advanced metastatic breast cancer?


All of these circumstances create stress, anger, shock, uncertainty, loss of friendship and family relationships, 50% of men divorce their wives. The list goes on as we lose financial and psychosocial stability. Yet who, besides our physicians and counselors can we really be honest with - without judgement, without trying to “fix” or “help,” but just listen deeply and with curiosity?


What I’ve Learned

As Michael Lerner helped me to understand in what I later realized was a healing circle of two - Michael is one of the founders of Healing Circles Global, along with Diana and Kelly Lindsay, helped me to understand when I was a year into my diagnosis:


As a child I began writing poetry at five or six years old. My mother saved my first pencil written verse and gave it to me when I turned 40.


Whenever trauma overwhelmed me, I’d pick up my pen and notebook. I’m now 56 years old and nearly seven years into my de novo (from the beginning) diagnosis of stage 4 metastatic breast cancer with mets to my bones, liver and peritoneum. It’s hormone receptor positive, for which thankfully research has developed many “lines” of treatment, but I’m on my sixth line, including six months on IV chemo. There’s only one more left after the one I’m on no longer works. But that’s the life someone with MBC leads,, at least for now. But I never let go of hope. Nor does the medical team, of which I am the ultimate decision maker. It’s a community of medical professionals who listen and who give me all my options. We decide together what’s best for me.


Yet, after I was diagnosed on March 25. 2015 I had to find a new path to walk, mostly alone or so I thought. I reached out to find online communities I’d never knew existed. People diagnosed with MBC and other cancers. I began to write a blog nearly immediately after diagnosis to share my experiences with others who I thought could benefit from my own. The blogging community led me to social media, which I’d already used in my now retired professional career in high tech. From there I was led to patient advocacy via Living Beyond Breast Cancer, as a Buddy for Sharsheret, co-leading support groups, and doing many podcast interviews on therapeutic writing and it’s psychosocial benefits. It’s a busy life.


So many communities opened their arms and all I had to do was reach out my own. There’s no turning back when you receive a terminal cancer diagnosis. I’ve lost so much that once made my life what it was. But instead of tossing it all away and focusing on the “end,” I found new beginnings where I’d started as a young girl. And my gift keeps giving back into that community in ways that have also paid off in my life.


One needn’t be a poet or an essayist to write through their emotions and experiences. It could just mean keeping a journal that one writes down one thing they found surprised or made them happy that day. After a few weeks of writing for five minutes suddenly one realizes after reviewing their journal that despite a terminal cancer diagnosis we can still so many things in this life to be grateful for.


Many of the poems here are dedicated to people who died from cancer or who are still living but inspired me to write because of the way in which they moved me to be grateful. The first one is dedicated to a man who spent his life helping people with a cancer diagnosis to heal themselves emotionally after the fateful words, “I’m sorry but…”


He said to me after I woefully looked at him and said, “I don’t have a path anymore! When I look down I don’t see where to put my foot to move forward – I see nothing.”


He replied, “Ilene, you’re a writer. Call yourself a writer because that’s what you are.” Such simple advice.


For your information and for finding out more of the kinds of healing circles, including cancer, caregiving, death and dying, for men, for women, and many more, here’s a great link that describes healing circles far better than I https://healingcirclesglobal.org/calling-a-circle/what-is-a-healing-circle/


Poetry’s My Love Language

And finally a poem that describes what I feel after I’ve concluded a healing circle - be it one I host for metastatic breast cancer patients or the ones I co-host on cancer and on writing for healing circles global - and the ones I attend on cancer, and have attended throughout Covid keeping me from becoming unnecessarily isolated using zoom. We gather and I’ve learnt so much from the cohosts of these circles.


I close with a poem because that’s how I can best express myself, to you dear readers. And if you’ve come this far I thank you for reading. Please feel free to reach out to me via my blog at Https://cancerbus.com/ or via Twitter @ilenealizah.


Blessings and deep peace to all.


Live with Your Questions

Live quietly with your questions.

Sit still for a spell,

just for now, put yesterday away

with well-deserved tenderness.

Nurture these moments,

like newborns, feed and

swaddle them. Rock them

in the sweet

rhythm of their

slumbering breath.

In this, the only moment

Ever to become infinity’s

reply to the direction of your green

green path, a path

with new ways to go —

some trodden upon, some unknown.

You think of “Nothing”

much like that infant you

carefully once loved.


Why rush to grow?

Time grows long regardless of your

prodding for politeness or

for prodigy. For they,

in minutes of stillness

will grow into our hours.

The answers reveal

themselves only when you’ve

Forgotten to ask “why?”

These questions over

the course of life become like

gems beaded onto a

necklace, weighing you —

Bowing you down

In prayer or in repentance.

Break its clasp

And relinquish all the

heaviness to the ground.

Lift your head up and

open your mouth.

Catch the blessed rain

on your tongue.


What’s keeping you silent as your

Lungs feed on the breath of freedom?

Cut the stones weight from round

Your neck.

Breathe in time with

your child

who holds no answers.

Not even the coolness

of this second is

hindered by what should be and

will never be again.

The answers you

came here to gather

when you were still innocent,

in your open

hands to grab secretly

Like flowers from

Neighboring garden

whose labors

were never yours to own.




SurvivingBreastCancer.org Resources & Support:

31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Spanish support group

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

October 2 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

October 3 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga with

Chair assist 

October 10, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Writing Workshop:

Reflect and Recharge

October 16, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Fall into Meditation

October 17  6:40 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong 

October 24, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

November 5, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page