页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

我宁愿做我自己

作者:Mandy Richardson


我的诊断结果让我大吃一惊,我想很多人也是如此。我当时 还年轻.我还在积极哺乳。而且我相对健康。我记得有几次,有人对我说,他们希望可以替我扛下癌症。虽然这种想法令人感动,但我并不希望如此。





1.我不希望我最糟糕的敌人被诊断出癌症或接受治疗。


2.我知道,我正处于你所说的最佳战斗位置,可以战胜它。 


我有我的 "青春 "和 "健康"。我想你可以从我的身体如何应对化疗中看出这一点。我很累。非常累。但我没有身体不适,也没有阿霉素/环己酮(AC)化疗时经常出现的关节疼痛。 但我也懂得了一些抗争和为自己争取权益的道理。


我的自我倡导始于癌症确诊之前,当时我正面临生育方面的挑战。两年后,当我无法继续怀孕时,我要求去看生育专家。起初,我现在的妇产科医生拒绝了我。虽然我被告知经验法则是如果一年内无法怀孕就去看专科医生,但同时我又被告知这不适用于我,因为我可以怀孕,只是无法维持。我打电话到办公室 告诉接待员不要再给我安排那位医生、然后,我要求预约该诊所通常负责不孕症病例的医生。他同意见我。


不久之后,在又一次流产之后,我又去看了另一位医生。 询问甲状腺疾病与流产之间是否存在联系。我被告知这不太可能。自从怀上大女儿后,我就再也没有检查过甲状腺,但我知道我有甲状腺疾病的家族史。我告诉他我有很好的保险,我想做血液检查。


果然,我的促甲状腺激素(TSH)水平高得惊人。我开始在一家真正的不孕不育诊所看专科医生,我的生殖内分泌医生第一次让我服用治疗甲状腺功能减退症的药物。 故事有了一个圆满的结局,我们在2020年10月迎来了我们的彩虹宝宝。


为自己代言就像给自己宽限期。我们经常会被问到,你会像对自己说话一样,对经历类似事情的朋友说话吗?有时,我们可能很容易发现,朋友或亲戚需要 寻求第二意见然而,说到我们自己,我们可能会有至少一打的理由告诉自己不要这样做。我们太忙,没有时间。我们相信原来医生的话。某某也得了 "同样的病",但却很好。有时候,我们真的只是不想知道。在内心深处,我们知道前方还有一段路要走,我们宁愿远离那条路。但如果第二种意见只是一种 "意见",那就意味着第一种意见也只是一种 "意见"。 不要接受意见。让他们给你事实。如果他们做不到,那就得让他们说出来。


这段经历在我后来的乳腺癌诊断和治疗过程中发挥了作用。有关我这部分故事的更多信息,请查看我之前的博文: 33岁患乳腺癌:一位年轻妈妈的自救故事.


无论如何,我都不希望别人替我经历我的经历。 这是一条艰难的路,我当然不想再走一遍。但我战斗了,我赢了,在这个过程中,我学到了很多关于自己的力量和韧性的东西。虽然我经常开玩笑说 "我的身体恨我 "或 "我的身体想杀了我",但它也让我度过了所有的难关。我还是宁愿做我自己。





查看 Mandy 的其他博文:






阅读更多








播客 乳腺癌对话

年轻而确诊:母亲与养育子女之旅

三阳性乳腺癌患者




 


分享您的故事、诗歌或艺术:


乳腺癌幸存者网站资源与支持:

最新文章

查看全部

评论


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

护理人员聚会

第三个星期二

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

新诊断者

东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 6 月 14 日上午 11:30

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

发掘机遇

东部时间 6 月 17 日下午 5:30

RSVP

太阳的拥抱夏至冥想

东部时间 6 月 21 日上午 11:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 6 月 25 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 7 月 1 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 7 月 2 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 7 月 9 日上午 11:30

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 7 月 9 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 7 月 22 日下午 6:00

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

I’d Rather Be Me

By Mandy Richardson


My diagnosis came as a shock, as I think it does for many people. I was still young. I was actively breastfeeding. And I was relatively healthy. I remember, a couple of times, being told by someone that they wished they could take the cancer for me. As moving as that sentiment was, I didn’t wish that. 





1. I wouldn’t wish a cancer diagnosis or treatment on my worst enemy.


2. I knew I was in what you could probably call the best position to fight and beat it. 


I had my “youth” and “health” going for me. And I think you could see that in how my body handled the chemo. I was tired. Very tired. But I didn’t get physically sick, or have the joint pain that so often goes along with Adriamycin/Cytoxan (AC) chemo. But I also knew a little bit about fighting, and advocating for myself. 


My self-advocacy started before my cancer diagnosis, when I was facing fertility challenges. When I couldn’t sustain a pregnancy, after two years, I asked to see a fertility specialist. At first, I was denied by my current OBGYN. While I was told the rule of thumb was to see a specialist if I couldn’t get pregnant within a year, I was simultaneously told that didn’t apply to me because I COULD get pregnant, I just couldn’t sustain it. I called the office and told the receptionist to never schedule me with that doctor again, then requested an appointment with the office’s physician that usually handled infertility cases. He agreed to see me.


Not long after that, after yet another miscarriage, I was with yet another doctor and asked about any connection between thyroid disorders and miscarriages. I was told that’s not likely. I hadn’t had my thyroid checked since before getting pregnant with my oldest, but I knew I had a family history of thyroid problems. I told him I had good insurance, and I wanted my bloodwork done. 


Sure enough, my thyroid-stimulating hormone (TSH) levels came back incredibly high. I started seeing a specialist at an actual infertility clinic, and my reproductive endocrinologist started me on medications for the first time ever to treat hypothyroidism. That story had a happy ending, and we welcomed our little rainbow baby in October 2020.


Advocating for yourself is a lot like giving yourself grace. So often, we’re asked, would you talk to a friend going through something similar the same way you talked to yourself? It may, at times, be easy to see that a friend or relative needs to push for a second opinion, yet when it comes to ourselves, there are at least a dozen reasons we might tell ourselves not to. We’re too busy; we don’t have time for that. We trust our original doctors at their word. So-and-so had the “same thing” and was just fine. Sometimes we really just don’t want to know. Deep down, we know there’s a journey ahead and we’d rather stay off that road. But if a second opinion is only an “opinion,” that means that’s all the first was as well. Don’t accept an opinion. Make them give you the facts. And if they can’t, then they need to get them.


This experience came into play later on during my breast cancer diagnosis and treatment. For more on this part of my story, check out my previous blog post: Breast Cancer at 33: A Young Mom’s Story of Self-Advocacy.


I wouldn’t, in a million years, wish that someone else would go through my experience for me. It was a hard road, and certainly not one I ever want to travel again. But I fought, and I won, and I learned so much about my own strength and resilience in the process. While I would often joke that “my body hates me” or “my body tried to kill me,” it’s also gotten me through all of that stuff. I’d still rather be me.





Check out Mandy’s other blog posts:






Read More:








On the Podcast: Breast Cancer Conversations

Young and Diagnosed: A Journey to Motherhood & Parenting

with Triple Positive Breast Cancer




 


Share your story, poetry, or art:


SurvivingBreastCancer.org Resources & Support:

Comments


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

May 20 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

In Body Breathwork

May 21 ,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Brain Spotting

May 27,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

May 28,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

June 3, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

Jun 4,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

June 10,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

June 11, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

June 11,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page