页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

我知道我不是一个人在经历这些

作者:金-奥布莱恩

最初发布于 瑜伽Vista.tv作为 "挺过乳腺癌:我的亲身经历


乳腺癌诊断

嗨,瑜伽爱好者们!我通常会以一堂热情洋溢的椅子瑜伽课作为标语,但今天我要分享一些更私人的东西。在过去的一年里,我一直在努力接受乳腺癌的诊断。第一次听到这个消息时,我完全措手不及。


我以为我已经尽了一切努力,让自己 "刀枪不入 "地抵御癌症这样的疾病:

  • 我几年前就开始控制饮食了

  • 我用天然无毒的替代品替换了我的美容和家居清洁产品

  • 我定期锻炼 - 每天练习瑜伽、气功、冥想和呼吸放松技巧

  • 我了解最新的自然健康和福祉知识

  • 我没有癌症家族史(零,零)

在我被诊断出乳腺癌时,我唯一的危险因素就是女性和 50 岁以上。癌症并不在我的考虑范围之内!


我的医生发现了肿块

2022 年 9 月 16 日是我的肿块被发现一周年纪念日。我不喜欢用 "一周年 "这个词,因为我更喜欢把 "一周年 "这个词与特殊的日子联系在一起,而这次并不特殊。我的肿块不是通过 乳房 X 光检查我的肿块不是通过乳房 X 光检查发现的,而是由我最出色的医生检查出来的。她每年都会花时间检查肿块。

每年做一次乳房 X 光检查就够了吗?

和许多女性一样,由于服用了 Covid,我没有在 2020 年进行年度乳房 X 光检查,而且不幸的是,我也没有勤于进行自我乳房检查。当 Covid 的问题得到解决后,我直到 2021 年 9 月才重新进行年度体检。即使我在 2020 年 5 月进行了定期乳房 X 光检查,也不能保证一定能发现肿块。

首先,我有 "致密乳房"。因为致密的乳腺组织和肿瘤都显示为白色,所以在乳房 X 光检查中很难看到肿瘤。这样就很难发现癌变。其次,正如我的外科医生所建议的,我后来通过自己的研究也证实了这一点,许多癌症都生长得很快。你可以在周二做一个干净的乳房 X 光检查,但到了同一周的周五,肿瘤就可能开始形成。

定期人工乳房自我检查

一整年都等着做乳房 X 光检查是远远不够的。定期的人工自我检查必须成为乳房健康方案的一部分。正如一位乳腺癌 "茁壮成长者 "建议的那样,"挤压你的东西",我非常赞同菲茨-科勒的观点。


对乳腺癌的淡然态度

除了对自己的诊断猝不及防之外,人们对乳腺癌的淡然态度同样令我震惊。有多少人告诉我这不是什么大不了的事,没必要担心,我都数不过来了。我不断听到

  • 乳腺癌是 "可以治愈的"。

  • "治疗已经进行了这么久,你会没事的"。

  • "我姨妈 20 年前得了乳腺癌,她现在还活着"。

  • "我相信是上帝选择了你" "让你成为他人的榜样"

  • 以及我最喜欢的 "嗯,我的教会教导说贪婪会导致癌症......"

好吧,如果我没猜错的话,乳腺癌就是小菜一碟,我还能再活 20 年,上帝选择了我,是因为我坚强,还是因为我贪婪,抑或两者兼而有之?


乳腺癌是一件大事!

好吧,我在这里告诉你,乳腺癌是个大问题!尽管治疗方法已经有了很大的进步,但它们仍然是艰难的、不舒服的,而且不能保证能长治久安。我不是 "天命之子"......那是哈利-波特。如果贪婪真的会导致癌症,那外面的贪婪就太多了,因为据统计,"每 2 名男性和每 3 名女性中就有 1 人在一生中被诊断出患有癌症"。 资料来源


我的癌症治疗


这就是我的治疗过程:

  • 两个 活组织检查- 我在两次手术中都昏了过去

  • 手术- 手术很成功,但术后数周我都在忍受着非常不舒服的血肿折磨

  • 3 个月的 化疗- 在此,我要诚实地告诉大家,脱发并不是最糟糕的副作用;事实上,身上任何地方没有头发都让我感到一种奇特而幽默的自由感

  • 6 周的 放射治疗- 我选择每天自己开车去,因为我需要一些 "我自己的时间",没有亲人带着怜悯的目光看着我

而这一切都要归功于 数年的药物治疗药物治疗会带来许多令人不适的副作用,但这些副作用可能会降低未来复发的风险。然而,正如我之前所说,癌症治疗没有任何保证或确定性。朋友们,这是我最难接受的事实:

"可能降低复发风险"。


我们都有癌细胞

一开始,我以为所有这些有毒的治疗方法都能治好我的病,把癌症永远赶出我的身体。然而,事实是我们体内都有循环的癌细胞,没有办法消灭它们,甚至连化疗也做不到。我们只能调整自己的身体,希望能让我们的 "土壤 "不再适合居住。


战胜乳腺癌

我是如何度过我的乳腺癌经历的?请注意,我没有把它称作 "旅程",因为我已经决定,当我踏上旅程时,那将是一条我选择探索而不是忍受的道路。我希望我能告诉你们,是维克多-弗兰克尔的著作启发了我,让我寻找超越自我的理由,让我坚强地活下去。

实际上,是温斯顿-丘吉尔的话激励了我:"当你身处地狱,请继续前行"所以我坚持了下来,因为有时,这就是地狱。


通过瑜伽疗伤


我是如何坚持下来的呢?每周结束后,化疗的强烈反应一消失,我就又开始教授椅子瑜伽,至少要坚持到下一次化疗输液。我很快就意识到,分享我对瑜伽的热爱对我和参与者都有疗效。我很幸运能有一个当地社区,他们不在乎我生病、秃头或在最后一刻不得不取消课程。


瑜伽爱好者们周复一周地出现在我身边,和我一起放大,支持我,让我们一起治愈我们的心灵、身体和思想。

我的瑜伽师、我的家人和我的部落给了我仁慈、怜悯和前所未有的爱。但最后一句话并不完全正确。我得到的爱一直都在......只是我没有看到而已。但我现在看到了,我再也不会把一个微笑、一个温暖的拥抱或一个吻视为理所当然。


笑出声来

治疗期间,我不再看或读任何悲伤的东西。我已经够悲伤了,不需要再雪上加霜。因此,每当我躺在 "癌症沙发 "上时,我都会狂看 "生活大爆炸 "或 "老友记 "或 "宋飞 "或 "泰德-拉索"......任何能让我笑出声来的东西。笑可以治愈疾病,至少可以转移注意力。


"我们要么改变生活的复杂性--这不太可能,因为复杂性很可能会增加--要么开发出使我们能够更有效地应对的方法"。- 赫伯特-本森博士


缓慢的恢复过程

我永远无法完全治愈癌症,也绝不可能完全痊愈,但我已经开始了缓慢的康复过程。我已经远远不是癌症前的我了,我不确定我还能不能再成为她。我的心碎了。传统的治疗方法也许已经成为过去,但学会与癌症共存却带来了新的挑战。

生存的挣扎

最后,我想和大家分享的是,癌症对身体是一种折磨,但对心灵的折磨更大。对我来说,身体上的康复远没有精神上的康复来得艰难。是的,我现在正从癌症中幸存下来,但有些时候仅仅幸存下来是不够的。每天,我都必须说服自己坚持下去,不断前进。弗里德里希-尼采(Friedrich Nietzsche)雄辩的话语在此指引着我:"有一个活着的理由的人,几乎可以承受任何方式"。我有很多 "为什么而活 "的理由,但在 "如何活 "的问题上,我却举步维艰。


我的每日肯定

我想不起来是在哪里读到的下一句话,但它已成为我每天的座右铭:

我决定不再试图拯救我的生活,而是开始好好生活。

我知道,有这种经历的不止我一个人。


我已经充分认识到,痛苦就是痛苦,悲伤就是悲伤,失去就是失去,失望就是失望。

内心的感觉都是一样的。


为你送去健康、觉悟和光明,让你的精神焕然一新、

金-奥布赖恩


附:从书中寻找答案

在治疗癌症期间,我读了几本书,帮助我找到答案和平静。其中有些书对我来说非常难读,比如克里斯-瓦克的《克里斯战胜癌症》: 克里斯战胜癌症.克里斯选择绕过传统的癌症治疗,走 "自然 "之路,然而在这本书中,我发现了一些关键信息,帮助我认识到化疗的一些副作用是有毒的。我把这些知识告诉了我的肿瘤学家,从而减少了化疗的剂量。遗憾的是,我的肿瘤学家向我承认,我可能 "化疗过量 "了。


我在凯特-鲍勒的书中找到了安慰、 万事皆有因:我爱的其他谎言做人无药可救.最近,我翻阅了杰弗里-雷迪格的《治愈》一书。 治愈我做了大量笔记。在这本书的引导下,我开始阅读目前正在阅读的这本书、 活着的一年作者斯蒂芬-莱文。最后一本书可能听起来很凄凉,但它却是对我的心理健康最重要的一本书。如果你相信我们内心有治愈疾病的力量,那么何塞-席尔瓦的《你是治愈者》一书将是你的最佳选择、 你是治愈者当你的心胸开阔、精神准备好接受治疗时,你就会想拿起这本书。


---


感谢您分享您的故事,金。SBC 爱你!


乳腺癌幸存者网站资源与支持:





最新文章

查看全部

冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

正念促进健康

东部时间 2 月 23 日下午 1:30

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 2 月 16 日上午 10:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

美国东部时间 19 日星期一下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 2 月 27 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 3 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 3 月 5 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 3 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 3 月 12 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 3 月 12 日上午 11:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

I Know That I Am Not Alone In This Experience

By Kim OBrien

Originally published on YogaVista.tv as "Surviving Breast Cancer: My Personal Experience"


A Breast Cancer Diagnosis

Hey Yogis! I typically follow that tagline with an enthusiastic Chair Yoga Class, but today I share something more personal. For the past year, I have been working my way through a breast cancer diagnosis. When I first heard the news, I was caught completely off-guard.


I thought I was doing everything possible to make myself “bullet-proof” against a disease like cancer:

  • I cleaned up my diet years ago

  • I swapped out my beauty and home cleaning products with natural, non-toxic alternatives

  • I exercised regularly — practiced Yoga, Qi Gong, meditation and breath relaxation techniques daily

  • I kept up with the latest in natural health and well-being

  • I have no family history of cancer (zero, zip)

At the time of my diagnosis, my only risk factors for breast cancer were being female and over 50. Cancer was NOT on my radar!


My Doctor found the Lump

September 16th, 2022 marked the one year anniversary that my lump was found. I dislike using the word “anniversary” because I prefer to associate the term “anniversary” with special occasions and this one is not special in any way. My lump was not detected by a mammogram, but instead at the hands of my most excellent doctor. Every year she takes the time to check for lumps.

Are Annual Mammograms Enough?

Like many women, I did not have my annual mammogram in 2020 due to Covid and unfortunately, I was not diligent about doing self breast exams. By the time things settled down with Covid I didn’t get back in for my annual physical until September 2021. Even if I had had my regularly scheduled mammogram in May of 2020, there is no guarantee that my lump would have been found.

For one thing, I have “dense breasts”. It is harder to see tumors on a mammogram because dense breast tissue and tumors both show up white. That makes it hard to identify cancerous growths. Secondly, as my surgeon advised and I later confirmed through my own research, many cancers are fast growing. You can have a clean mammogram Tuesday and by Friday of the same week a tumor can begin to form.

Regular Manual Breast Self-Exams

Waiting an entire year for a mammogram is simply not enough. Regular, manual, self-exams must be part of your breast health protocol. As one fellow breast cancer “thriver” suggests, “squeeze your stuff” and I could not agree more with Fitz Koehler.


Laid-Back Attitude around Breast Cancer

Aside from being caught off-guard by my diagnosis, I was equally floored by the laid-back attitude around breast cancer. The number of people who told me it was not a big deal and there is no need to worry is too long to count. I kept hearing:

  • Breast cancer is “curable.”

  • “Treatment has come so far and you will be fine.”

  • “My aunt had breast cancer 20 years ago and she is still alive.”

  • “I believe God chose you for this, so that you could be an example to others.”

  • and my all time favorite, “Well, my church teaches that greed causes cancer…”

Okay, so if I have this right, breast cancer is a cakewalk, I will live for another 20 years and God chose me because I was strong or because I was greedy or is it both?


Breast Cancer is a BIG DEAL!

Well, I am here to tell you that breast cancer is a BIG DEAL! Even though treatment options have come far, they are still hard, uncomfortable and DO NOT come with any guarantees of longevity. I am NOT “the chosen one”… that’s Harry Potter. And if in fact greed does cause cancer, then there is a whole lotta greed out there because statistically speaking, “1 in 2 men and 1 in 3 women will be diagnosed with cancer in their lifetime.” Source


My Cancer Treatment


This is what my treatment involved:

  • Two Biopsies — I passed out cold during both procedures

  • One Surgery — successful, but I dealt with a very uncomfortable Seroma post-surgery for weeks

  • 3 Months of Chemotherapy — of which I am here to tell you honestly, that losing my hair was NOT the worst side effect; in fact, having no hair ANYWHERE on my body was very freeing in a peculiar and humorous way

  • 6 Weeks of Radiation — which I chose to drive myself to every single day because I needed some “me time” without the eyes of loved ones looking at me with compassion tinged with pity

And it is all topped off with the prospect of several years of drug therapy which comes with many uncomfortable side effects that may reduce the future risk of recurrence. However, as I have said before, there are no guarantees or certainties with cancer treatment. And that, my friends, has been the hardest realization for me to come to terms with:

“MAY reduce the risk of recurrence.”


We all have Cancer Cells

In the beginning, I thought all this toxic treatment would heal me and kick cancer out of my body for good. However, the truth is that we all have circulating cancer cells in our bodies and there is no way to eliminate them, not even chemotherapy can do that. We can only tune our bodies in a way that hopefully makes our “soil” uninhabitable.


Working through Breast Cancer

How did I work through my experience with breast cancer? And please take note that I didn’t call it a “journey”, because I have decided when I am on a journey it’s going to be a path I choose to explore, not endure. I wish I could tell you that it was Viktor Frankl’s writings that inspired me to seek a reason beyond myself to keep my fight to stay alive strong.

Actually, it was more Winston Churchill’s words that motivated me: “When you’re going through hell, keep going.” So I kept going, because at times, it was Hell.


Healing through Yoga


And how did I keep going? As soon as the strong effects of chemo wore off at the end of each week, I was back teaching Chair Yoga on zoom, at least until my next chemo infusion. I learned quickly that sharing my love of yoga was as healing for me as it was for the participants. I am blessed to have a local community who didn’t care if I was sick or bald or had to cancel class at the very last minute.


The yogis kept showing up week after week to zoom with me, to support me, so together we could heal our hearts, bodies and minds.

My yogis, my family and my tribe showered me with kindness, compassion and a love as I have never experienced before. But that last sentence is not completely true. The love that I received was always there… I simply failed to see it. But I see it now and I will never take a smile or a warm hug or a kiss for granted again.


Laughing Out Loud

During treatment I stopped watching or reading anything that was sad. I was sad enough and I didn’t need to add to it. So every single time when I took to the “cancer couch,” I binge-watched The Big Bang Theory or Friends or Seinfeld or Ted Lasso… Anything that offered me the opportunity to Laugh Out Loud. Laughter heals or, at the very least, it distracts.


“We can either change the complexities of life – an unlikely event, for they are likely to increase – or develop ways that enable us to cope more effectively.” – Dr. Herbert Benson.


The Slow Process of Recovery

I will never be fully cured of cancer, and I am in no way fully healed, but I have started the slow process of recovery. I am far from being the person I was pre-cancer and I am not sure I will ever be her again. My heart is broken. The conventional treatment may be in the rear view mirror, but learning to live with cancer creates new challenges.

The Struggle of Surviving

One final thought I’d like to share is that cancer is hard on the body, but even harder on the mind. For me, recovering physically has not been nearly as hard as recovering mentally. Yes, I am currently surviving cancer, but some days surviving is not merely enough. Every day I have to convince myself to keep going and keep moving forward. Here is where Friedrich Nietzsche’s eloquent words guide me, “He who has a WHY to live for can bear almost any HOW.” I have many WHYs to live for, but I am struggling to navigate the HOWs.


My Daily Affirmation

I cannot recall exactly where I read this next line, but it has become my daily affirmation:

I have decided to stop trying to Save My Life and instead Start Living It.

I know that I am not alone in this experience.


One thing I have come to fully appreciate is that Pain is Pain; Sadness is Sadness; Loss is Loss; Disappointment is Disappointment.

It all feels the same way on the inside.


Sending you health, awareness and light for a renewed spirit,

Kim OBrien


P.S. Finding Answers in Books

There were several books I read during my cancer treatment to help me find answers and peace. Some of these books were extremely hard for me to read like Chris Wark’s: Chris Beat Cancer. Chris chose to bypass conventional cancer treatment and take the “natural” path, yet within this book I found pivotal information that helped me recognize that some of the side effects I was experiencing from chemo were toxic. This knowledge which I shared with my oncologist resulted in a down-dosing of my chemo regimen. Sadly, my oncologist admitted to me that I was probably “overdosed on chemo”.


I found comfort in Kate Bowler’s books, Everything Happens for a Reason: And Other Lies I Loved and No Cure for Being Human. I recently tore through Jeffrey Rediger’s book Cured and I took copious notes. That book led me to the one I am currently reading, A Year to Live by Stephen Levine. This last book may sound bleak, but it is turning out to be one of the most important books for my mental health. And, if you believe that we have the power within us to heal, then Jose Silva’s book, You the Healer, just might be something you’ll want to pick up when your mind is open and your spirit is ready to receive.


---


Thank you for sharing your story, Kim. SBC loves you!


SurvivingBreastCancer.org Resources & Support:





Recent Posts

See All

1 Kommentar


debialdo
debialdo
31. Jan. 2023

Thank you for sharing your experience(s), so beautifully written. 🌸

Gefällt mir

Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Pilates

April 12, 10:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

April 16,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

The secret Garden

April 22,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

April 23,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

May 6, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

May 7,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP