页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

炎症性乳腺癌:分解基础知识

作者 基拉-福特


在多种不同类型的乳腺癌中,讨论最少、了解最少的一种是 炎症性乳腺癌,或称 IBC.这主要是因为它的罕见性;IBC 的发病率仅为 1%到5的乳腺癌患者。然而,对于这些患者来说,IBC 的诊断、治疗和康复都很困难。鉴于上述原因 了解这种不太常见的乳腺癌亚型的症状和治疗方案非常重要.继续阅读,了解炎性乳腺癌与其他乳腺癌亚型的不同之处,以及 IBC 的诊断和治疗方法。

什么是炎性乳腺癌?

与大多数乳腺癌一样,炎性乳腺癌通常是一种 浸润性导管癌.这意味着这种疾病是癌细胞从乳腺导管内的细胞发展而来,随后扩散到导管外的细胞。也就是说,IBC 的症状和治疗方法与其他类型的乳腺癌不同。 不同于其他类型的乳腺癌.


炎性乳腺癌与其他亚型乳腺癌有何不同?

关键区别 主要区别炎症性乳腺癌的主要区别在于乳房内没有肿块,症状来得快,包括 整个乳房红肿.这种炎症是由癌细胞阻塞乳房皮肤淋巴管引起的。这种炎症也表明癌细胞已经扩散到附近的组织,并可能扩散到附近的淋巴结。由于这种在皮肤上的表现,当 IBC 发展到足以引起注意并被诊断时,它已被认为是局部晚期,至少是第三期。 被认为是局部晚期,至少是 III 期.这种发展通常很快,几个月甚至几周内就会发生 周内.在 三分之一的 IBC 病例在确诊时,癌症已经转移到身体的其他部位。


哪些人容易患炎症性乳腺癌?

某些人群可能更容易 风险患炎症性乳腺癌的风险比其他人高。IBC 与其他乳腺癌不同,它更容易发生在年轻人身上;许多人不到 40 岁。它主要影响 女性和出生时被指定为女性的人,但所有性别的人都可能患 IBC。.一个风险因素是根据体重指数(BMI)被归类为超重或肥胖。 体重指数 (BMI)最近的研究最近的研究表明,这种情况在有色人种中更为常见。


炎性乳腺癌有哪些征兆和症状?

IBC 的体征和症状IBC 的症状和体征很容易被误认为是乳房感染,因此,重要的是要识别并 一旦出现这些症状,应立即与医生讨论.这些症状包括但不限于乳房肿胀、变色、疼痛和瘙痒。其他可能在几天内出现的皮肤变化有乳头内陷、皮肤变厚和凹陷,看起来像橘子皮的质地.腋下淋巴结肿大也可能是 IBC 已扩散到乳房以外的迹象。如果出现上述任何 症状出现任何这些症状,一定要尽快处理并接受诊断。


如何诊断和治疗炎性乳腺癌?

炎症性乳腺癌的诊断通常包括 体格检查、影像学检查和活组织检查.一旦正式确诊为 IBC 正式确诊活组织检查的结果有助于 确定正确的治疗方案.癌细胞中含有激素受体的患者可能会从激素治疗药物中获益,而细胞中含有大量 HER2 蛋白的患者可能会对专门针对 HER2 的药物产生更好的反应。除靶向药物外 其他治疗方案 根据癌症的性质,其他治疗方法可能包括化疗、手术和放疗。


由于炎症性乳腺癌并不常见,人们在谈论乳腺癌时往往会忘记它。必须传达和了解这些信息,以帮助人们知道 应该注意什么,并尽快就医.




了解更多信息:




播客 乳腺癌对话


金妮-梅森 23 年来对炎症性乳腺癌的观察(第一部分)


什么是炎症性乳腺癌评分量表?介绍

金妮-梅森(第二部分)



A关于作者

基拉-福特 Kiara Ford 是爱默生学院的应届毕业生,主修传播学,副修健康与社会。她目前是非营利组织 "亚洲妇女健康组织 "的一名社区保健员实习生。她热衷于病人权益和健康公平,希望通过自己的工作提高人们对病人权益的认识和理解。



出自同一作者:




最新文章

查看全部

冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

正念促进健康

东部时间 2 月 23 日下午 1:30

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 2 月 16 日上午 10:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

美国东部时间 19 日星期一下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 2 月 27 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 3 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 3 月 5 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 3 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 3 月 12 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 3 月 12 日上午 11:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Inflammatory Breast Cancer: Breaking Down the Basics

By Kiara Ford


Among the many different types of breast cancer, one of the least discussed and least understood is inflammatory breast cancer, or IBC. This is primarily because of its rarity; IBC only affects 1 to 5% of all breast cancer patients. For those affected, however, IBC can be difficult to diagnose, treat, and recover from. For all of these reasons, it is important to be aware of the symptoms and treatment options of this less common subtype of breast cancer. Continue reading to learn how inflammatory breast cancer is different from other breast cancer subtypes, as well as how IBC is diagnosed and treated.

What is inflammatory breast cancer?

Like the majority of breast cancers, inflammatory breast cancer is usually an invasive ductal carcinoma. This means the disease is the result of cancer cells developing from the cells that line the milk duct of the breast, and subsequently spreading to cells beyond the duct. That said, the symptoms and treatment of IBC are different from other types of breast cancer.


How is inflammatory breast cancer different from other subtypes of breast cancer?

The key difference in presentation of inflammatory breast cancer is the lack of a lump within the breast, and rapid onset of symptoms, including swelling and redness of the entire breast. This inflammation is caused by cancer cells obstructing the lymphatic vessels of the skin on the breast. This same inflammation is a sign that the cancer has spread into nearby tissue and potentially nearby lymph nodes. Because of this presentation within the skin, by the time IBC has developed enough to be noticed and diagnosed, it is considered locally advanced and at least stage III. This development often happens rapidly, in a matter of months or even weeks. In a third of IBC cases, at the time of diagnosis, the cancer has already metastasized to other parts of the body.


Who is at risk for inflammatory breast cancer?

Certain populations may be more at risk for inflammatory breast cancer than others. IBC is unlike other breast cancers in that it is more likely to develop in younger people; many are under the age of 40. It primarily affects women and people assigned female at birth, although all genders can develop IBC. One risk factor is being categorized as overweight or obese on the body mass index (BMI) scale, and recent studies suggest it is more common among people of color.


What are the signs and symptoms of inflammatory breast cancer?

Signs and symptoms of IBC are easy to mistake for breast infections, so it is important to recognize and discuss them with a doctor as soon as they emerge. They include, but are not limited to, swelling, discoloration, pain, and itching of the breast. Other skin changes that may occur within days are inverted nipples and thickness and pitting of the skin, which gives the appearance of an orange peel in texture. Swollen lymph nodes under the arm can also be a sign that IBC has spread beyond the breast. If any of these symptoms present, it is important to address them quickly and receive a diagnosis as quickly as possible.


How is inflammatory breast cancer diagnosed and treated?

Diagnosis of inflammatory breast cancer typically consists of physical examination, imaging, and biopsy. Once an IBC diagnosis has been officially confirmed, the results of the biopsy can help determine the right course of treatment. People whose cancer cells have hormone receptors may benefit from hormone therapy drugs, whereas people whose cells contain an abundance of the HER2 protein may react better to medication which specifically targets HER2. Beyond targeted drugs, other treatment options may include chemotherapy, surgery, and radiation, depending on the nature of the cancer.


Due to how uncommon inflammatory breast cancer is, it can often be forgotten in conversations about breast cancer. This information must be communicated and understood in order to help people know what to look for and to seek medical consultation as soon as possible.




Learn More:




On the Podcast: Breast Cancer Conversations


A 23-Year Look at Inflammatory Breast Cancer with Ginny Mason (Part I)


What is the Inflammatory Breast Cancer Scoring Scale? Featuring

Ginny Mason (Part II)



About the Author:

Kiara Ford is a recent graduate of Emerson College, where she majored in communication studies and minored in health and society. She is currently a community health worker trainee with the non-profit organization Asian Women for Health. She is passionate about patient advocacy and health equity, and hopes to raise awareness and increase understanding of patients’ rights through her work.



From the Same Author:




Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

May 20 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

In Body Breathwork

May 21 ,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Brain Spotting

May 27,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

May 28,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

June 3, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

Jun 4,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

June 10,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

June 11, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

June 11,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page