页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

这不一定是结局

作者:卡罗尔-柯林斯

2021 年 10 月初,我在洗澡时 感到右侧乳房上有一个肿块. 我觉得很奇怪,但当时正值生理期,所以决定等一等,看它是否会消失。几个星期过去了,在让我丈夫摸了一下肿块以确保我没有胡思乱想之后,我决定去看妇产科医生。 当时我 44 岁但还没有做过乳房 X 光检查。在我看来,我没有理由担心。我的家族没有乳腺癌病史,所以我很安全,对吗?10 月 19 日,我预约了产科医生。在确认有肿块后,我的医生给我做了诊断性乳房 X 光检查。但是,她一直告诉我感觉像是囊肿。 我以为自己还是安全的,就走了出来。

我的乳房 X 光检查是在 11 月 4 日,护士是一位乳腺癌幸存者。她非常积极,一直告诉我不要想太多。她完成了我的乳房 X 光检查,然后走到大厅去读结果。她回到病房说:"你需要做超声波检查。 乳房 X 光检查没有结果。我换到另一个房间,超声波检查完成了。护士再次离开房间去看结果。下一次,门开了,医生和两名护士走了进来。那一刻,我突然意识到......我可能真的不安全了!

我被告知需要进行活组织检查但看起来还是像囊肿,但图像不够清晰,无法判断。就连给我做活检的医生也一直试图告诉我看起来像囊肿。老实说,从 11 月 4 日到 12 月 1 日之间的所有日子都很模糊。12 月 2 日,我收到一条短信,说我的 MyChart 应用程序里有检测结果。当时我坐在家里的沙发上,我丈夫正在洗澡。我打开应用程序,看到了结果。 我看到的第一个词是癌。我反复阅读了报告。 浸润性导管癌 HER 2+ ER/PR- 还有很多其他的词,我不得不用谷歌搜索。 当我发现自己患上乳腺癌时,我一个人躺在沙发上!没有人提醒我不要打开应用程序。我走进浴室,在丈夫洗澡时告诉他我得了癌症。我当时就是这么震惊。我甚至来不及思考,就等到他洗完澡出来。大约 15 分钟后,医生打电话给我,证实了我已经知道的事实--柯林斯太太,你得了乳腺癌。 柯林斯太太,你得了乳腺癌.

我只告诉过我妈妈和丈夫我发现了一个肿块。我有三个孩子(两个女儿和一个儿子),现在我必须告诉他们。 您如何告诉孩子您得了癌症?我的孩子们都已经 20 多岁了,要让他们在同一时间、同一地点听到这个消息并不容易。我不想等到圣诞聚会时再告诉他们,以免破坏节日气氛。我决定当晚给他们每个人打电话。这些电话是我一生中做过的最艰难的事情。在那一刻,我也决定再也不想让别的女人打这些电话了。


我对乳腺癌一无所知。我是一个女人,却一无所知!这怎么可能?

快进 核磁共振成像来正确测量肿瘤 核磁共振引导下的活组织检查被告知右侧乳房实际上有 7 个 "卫星 "区域,被告知左侧乳房有大量 "囊肿"、 6轮 TCHP, a 双乳切除术6/17,以及 重建手术9/29。更不用说中间的所有检查了。


今天,我在这里茁壮成长!我的头发又长回来了,浓密、卷曲、花白。我又可以吃喝了,而且迫不及待地想开始锻炼,以增强整体耐力。我在本地建立了一个 Facebook 群组,面向所有癌症患者、幸存者、斗士和支持者。我找到了一个面对面的支持小组,并期待着继续发展成员。目前的小组组长是一位乳腺癌幸存者,但她年纪较大,希望我在 2023 年接手这个小组。 我将在 10 月 29 日共同主办当地的乳腺癌宣传步行活动。我们一直在社区中争取当地企业的支持,并邀请大家一起度过欢乐之夜。最近,我被提名参加密西西比州另一个出色的癌症组织举办的盛大活动。我希望继续建立联系,并推动更多关注早期检测的活动。

我的总体目标是确保我认识的任何人都了解乳腺癌,并知道如何正确地进行自我检查和/或接受乳房 X 光检查。 喜欢 格洛丽亚说的那样,如果我们能改变一个人的生活,那就是值得的。 在这段旅程中,我遇到了很多了不起的人,我很感谢自己能在这里用自己的故事帮助他人。癌症声名狼藉。癌症并不一定是终结。它可以通向一条你从未想象过的充满希望和勇气的道路。 我会一直讲述我的故事。

感谢您允许我与大家分享。



感谢您分享您的故事,卡罗尔。SBC 爱你!


乳腺癌幸存者网站资源与支持:





297 次查看

最新文章

查看全部

冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

正念促进健康

东部时间 2 月 23 日下午 1:30

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 2 月 16 日上午 10:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

美国东部时间 19 日星期一下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 2 月 27 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 3 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 3 月 5 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 3 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 3 月 12 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 3 月 12 日上午 11:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page

It Doesn't Have To Be The End

By Carol Collins

Early in October 2021, I was in the shower and felt a lump on my right breast. I thought it was odd but I was on my cycle so decided to wait it out and see if it went away. A couple of weeks went by and after making my husband feel the lump to make sure I wasn't imagining things, I decided to make an OBGYN appointment. I was 44 at the time but had not had a mammogram yet. In my mind I had no reason to worry. I have no history of breast cancer in my family so I was safe, right? I had my OB appointment on October 19th. My Dr. ordered a diagnostic mammogram after confirming there was a lump. However, she kept telling me it felt like a cyst. I walked out thinking I was still safe.

My mammogram was on November 4th and the nurse was a breast cancer survivor. She was so positive and kept telling me to not overthink it. She completed my mammogram and walked down the hall to have results read. She came back in the room and said, "You need an ultrasound." The mammogram was inconclusive. I moved into another room and the ultrasound was completed. Again the nurse left the room to have results read. The next time the door opened the Dr. and both nurses walked in. At that moment it hit me... I might actually not be safe!

I was told I needed a biopsy but that it still just looked like a cyst but the images were not clear enough to say either way. Even the doctor that did my biopsy kept trying to tell me it looked like a cyst. Honestly, all of the days between November 4th and December 1st were a blur. On December 2nd, I received a text message that test results were available in my MyChart app. I was sitting on my couch at home and my husband was in the shower. I opened the app and the results. The first word I saw was carcinoma. I read and reread the report. Invasive Ductal Carcinoma HER 2+ ER/PR- with so many other words I had to google. I was alone on my couch when I found out I had breast cancer! No one warned me not to open the app. I walked into the bathroom and told my husband that I had cancer while he was in the shower. That's how in shock I was. I couldn't even think well enough to wait until he was out of the shower. The Dr called me about 15 mins later and confirmed what I already knew - Mrs. Collins, you have breast cancer.

I had only told my mom and husband that I had found a lump. I have 3 children (2 daughters and a son) that I now had to tell. How do you tell your child you have cancer? My children are all in their 20's so it's not easy to get them all in the same place at the same time. I didn't want to ruin the holiday season by waiting until our Christmas get together. I decided to call each of them that night. Those calls were the hardest things I have ever done in my life. I also decided in that moment that I never wanted another woman to make those calls.


I knew nothing about breast cancer. I am a woman and knew nothing! How is that possible?

Fast forward past an MRI to properly measure the tumor, an MRI guided biopsy for a 2nd area of concern, being told there were actually 7 "satellite" areas in my right breast, being told there was a significant number of "cysts" in my left breast, 6 rounds of TCHP, a double mastectomy on 6/17, and reconstruction surgery on 9/29. Not to mention all of the tests in between.


Here I am today thriving! My hair is growing back thick, curly, and gray. I can eat and drink again and can't wait to start exercising to help with overall stamina. I have started a Facebook group in my local area for all cancer thrivers, survivors, fighters, and supporters. I found an in-person support group and am looking forward to continuing to build the membership. The current meeting leader is a breast cancer survivor, but she is older and wanting me to take over the group in 2023. I am co-hosting a local Breast Cancer Awareness Walk on October 29th. We have been out in the community garnering support from local businesses as well as inviting everyone to join us for a night of fun. I was recently nominated to attend a gala event hosted by another amazing cancer organization in Mississippi. I want to continue to build connections and push for more focus on early detection.

My overall goal is to make sure anyone I know is aware of breast cancer and they know how to properly do self-checks and/or get mammograms. Like Gloria says, if we can make a difference in one person's life it is worth it. I have met so many amazing people through this journey and I am thankful that I am here to use my story to help others. Cancer has such a bad reputation. It doesn't have to be the end. It can lead to a path you never imagined full of hope and courage. I will always tell my story.

Thank you for allowing me to share.



Thank you for sharing your story, Carol. SBC loves you!


SurvivingBreastCancer.org Resources & Support:





274 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Spanish support group

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

October 2 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

October 3 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga with

Chair assist 

October 10, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Writing Workshop:

Reflect and Recharge

October 16, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Fall into Meditation

October 17  6:40 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong 

October 24, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

November 5, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page