页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

TCHP 化疗方案

特约编辑 Madhumitha Sabhanayagam 撰文


TCHP 化疗副作用 - 我们能做些什么?

当乳腺癌首次成为人们关注的焦点时,除了癌症本身,人们谈论最多的话题就是化疗。尽管化疗有时并不是治疗乳腺癌的最常见方法,但它往往是大多数人首先想到的选择,紧接着就是对脱发的担忧。化疗的副作用是众所周知的,也是理所当然的。你们中的许多人都曾亲身经历过这些副作用,以及它所带来的伤害,不仅是对人的伤害,还有对精神和情绪健康的伤害。


最近几天,我看到几位幸存者在讨论 TCHP 化疗方案对乳腺癌治疗的侵袭性副作用。




TCHP 方案

TCHP 由四种不同的化疗药物组成。每种化疗药物都针对癌细胞,或减缓原有癌细胞的生长。TCHP 化疗通常在手术前(缩小肿瘤)或手术后(消除任何不听话的癌细胞)进行。整个化疗方案设计为几个周期,治疗可持续 5 到 6 个月。根据每个人的治疗方案,还需要服用后续药物、进行后续治疗和检查。


T - Taxotere(多西他赛)

C - 卡铂(帕拉铂)


TCHP 副作用

由于四种药物的联合使用,化疗会产生一系列副作用,这些副作用会对患者及其日常活动造成严重破坏。常见的化疗副作用包括


- 腹泻

- 脱发

- 白细胞低

- 恶心

- 疲劳

- 呕吐

- 贫血

- 胃部不适

- 便秘

- 心脏功能减退


那么,为什么会有副作用呢?这通常是因为化疗对癌症的攻击性很强,在攻击癌症的同时,有时也会攻击正常细胞。例如,化疗可能会攻击刺激毛发生长的细胞或释放刺激饥饿激素的细胞。这就会导致脱发和食欲不振。



TCHP 化疗体验

大多数 TCHP 化疗幸存者最大的副作用是体重下降。化疗会影响你的食欲,让你找不到任何可口的食物。你会经常感到恶心,即使饿了,食物的味道也绝对令人厌恶。许多幸存者的体重急剧下降,因此几乎没有精力参加日常活动。重要的是要尽量摄入热量,例如坚果奶油就是一种高蛋白、高热量的选择。如果您在饮食方面遇到困难,请询问您的肿瘤科团队是否可以为您推荐营养师。


不过,隧道尽头还是有曙光的。肿瘤科团队正在投入更多的时间和精力,想方设法降低副作用的严重程度,将患者的副作用降到最低。例如,对于大面积脱发的患者,有一种新方法叫做头皮冷却。这是一种可以在接受治疗时佩戴的面罩。它能给头皮降温,从而将对头发细胞造成的伤害降到最低。这种方法还相对较新,但一些肿瘤中心已经使用这种方法取得了一些成功,我们的一位 SBC 成员也在我们的播客中分享了她使用冷帽的经验。 乳腺癌对话.


化疗饮食限制

食欲不振、恶心和持续呕吐会导致脱水和体内蛋白质流失。因此,在出现这种情况时,多喝水是非常重要的。水、电解质和汤都是不错的选择。最好不要吃味道浓烈的食物,因为这些食物可能会引发恶心--所以要多吃简单的(不幸的是味道平淡的)食物。是的,这包括避免辛辣食物、油腻食物、甜食和糖类食物。对有些人来说,拉面、燕麦片、柠檬、酸味补丁和苹果酱是他们唯一能吃的东西。在进行 TCHP 化疗时,尝试在一天中吃几顿小餐,避免大餐,因为大餐可能会让人吃不消。


医生建议在饮食中有意识地摄入蛋白质。主要以牛奶或植物性高蛋白牛奶、鸡蛋、豆类和奶酪为主,因为它们能提供蛋白质,补充您可能失去的细胞所需的蛋白质。(查看我们的化疗副作用管理小清单 在这里以及我们关于 维生素 D.


化疗对情绪的影响


在接受 TCHP 化疗时,情绪和心理影响也很明显。您往往会经历无助和极度抑郁的阵痛。这是正常现象,重要的是要注意,并不是只有你一个人受到这些影响。应对这种情况的一个好办法是投入治疗,同时采取某种控制措施。对于大多数癌症幸存者来说,失控是最大的压力。治疗的形式多种多样。有时是传统意义上的与咨询师或社会工作者交谈。有时,它可以是与朋友一起散步,或在家里做一些轻微的瑜伽和呼吸练习。为自己留出时间非常重要。



掌握肿瘤科团队向您介绍的所有知识,准备好药物和应对副作用所需的辅助工具。与此同时,确保自己的生活仍能保持正常状态,从事一些能分散注意力的业余爱好和活动。


抗击癌症是一条崎岖的道路,也不是一条坦途。它充满坎坷,我们必须克服重重障碍。不过,我们有一些工具可以帮助我们。令人欣慰的是,当地肿瘤中心和网上有许多支持小组和论坛,他们提供了很好的建议和计划,帮助我们减轻癌症带来的打击。说出你的担忧,不要害怕被倾听。占据空间并被看见。


不要独自受苦

3,773 次查看

最新文章

查看全部

现在

候车室

Comentarios(科门塔里奥斯)


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

对于新诊断的患者

美国东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

东部时间 4 月 22 日下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 4 月 23 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 5 月 6 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 5 月 7 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

美国东部时间 5 月 13 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

美国东部时间 5 月 14 日上午 11:30

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 5 月 14 日下午 6:00

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

TCHP Chemo Regimen

By Contributing Editor, Madhumitha Sabhanayagam


TCHP Chemo Side Effects - What can we do?

When breast cancer first entered the spotlight, the most talked-about subject, other than cancer itself, was chemotherapy. Chemotherapy, though sometimes not the most common way to treat breast cancer, is often the first option that jumps into most people’s minds quickly followed by concerns of hair loss. The side effects of chemotherapy are notorious, and in its own league, and quite rightfully so. Many of you have experienced these side effects first-hand and the toll it takes, not only on your person but also on your mental and emotional health.


In recent days, I have come across several survivors discussing the aggressive side effects of the TCHP chemotherapy regiment for breast cancer treatment.




TCHP Regimen

TCHP is made up of four different chemotherapy drugs. Each of these chemo drugs targets cancer cells and or slows down the growth of pre-existing cancer cells. TCHP chemo is usually administered before (to shrink the tumor) or after surgery (to eliminate any rogue cancer cells). The entire chemo regiment is designed to be given in several cycles and the treatment can last anywhere from 5 to 6 months. There are follow up medications to be taken, follow up treatments, and check-ups depending on each individual’s treatment path.


T - Taxotere (Docetaxel)

C - Carboplatin (Paraplatin)


TCHP Side Effects

Because of the four-way combination of the drugs, the regiment presents a slew of side effects that can wreak havoc on an individual and their day to day activities. Some of the common chemo side effects include:


· Diarrhea

· Hair loss

· Low white blood cells

· Nausea

· Fatigue

· Vomiting

· Anemia

· Upset stomach

· Constipation

· Decreased heart function


So why do we have side effects? It is usually because of the aggressiveness of the chemotherapy attacking cancer and in doing so, they sometimes also attack normal cells as well. For example; it may attack the cells that stimulate hair growth or the cells that release the hormone which stimulates hunger. This results in hair loss and loss of appetite.



TCHP Chemo Experience

The biggest overall side effect in most TCHP chemo survivors is weight loss. The regiment takes a toll on your appetite and the ability to find anything tasteful. You constantly have nausea and if you do get hungry, food tastes absolutely abhorrent. Many survivors see drastic weight loss and therefore have little to no energy to participate in their day to day activities. It is important to try and get in calories where you can, for example, nut butters are a great high protein and calorie dense option. Ask your oncology team if they can refer you to a nutritionist as well if you are having a touch time with food.


But there is a light at the end of the tunnel. Oncology teams are investing more time and effort into coming up with ways to reduce the severity of side effects and keep them to a minimum for their patients. For example, for those who are experiencing extensive hair loss, there is a new method called scalp cooling. It is a mask one can wear while undergoing treatment. It cools down the scalp and in doing so helps to minimize the damage inflicted on to their hair cells. It is still relatively new, but some oncology centers have seen some success with it as well as one of our very own SBC members who shares her experience with cold caps on our podcast Breast cancer Conversations.


Chemotherapy Diet Restrictions

The lack of appetite, nausea and continuous vomiting can result in dehydration and loss of protein in the body. So, when one does experience it is good to note that, drinking lots of liquids is extremely important. Water, electrolytes, and soup are some great resources. It is best to avoid intensive flavors, as those could trigger nausea - so keep to simple (bland unfortunately) food. Yes, that would include eliminating spicy foods, greasy and fatty foods, very sweet and sugary foods. For some, ramen, oatmeal, lemons, sour patches, and apple sauce were the only things that they could eat. Try eating several small meals throughout the day to avoid large size meals that may be too overwhelming while going through TCHP chemo.


Doctors do advise to consciously include protein into one’s diet. Focus heavily on milk or a plant based milk high in protein, eggs, beans, and cheese as they provide the protein to build back the protein you will need to replace the cells you might have lost. (Check out our short list of managing chemo side effects here and our recommendations on vitamin D and calcium.


Emotional Effects of Chemotherapy


There is also an emotional and psychological effect that is evident when undergoing, TCHP chemo. You tend to go through bouts of helplessness and extreme depression. This is normal and it is important to note that you are not the only person who is experiencing these effects. A good way to combat this is to invest in therapy and also to take some sort of control. Being out of control is the biggest stressor for most cancer survivors. Therapy can take on a variety of forms. Sometimes it is in the traditional sense of speaking with a counselor or social worker. Sometimes, it could be taking a walk with a friend or doing some light yoga and breathing exercises at home. It's important to carve out time for yourself.



Be in charge of all the knowledge your oncology team presents to you, have your medications ready and the aid tools you need to combat the side effects. At the same time, ensure that you do still bring a sense of normalcy to your life by engaging in hobbies and activities that bring you a pleasant distraction.


Battling cancer is a rough path and it is not a straight path either. It is filled with ups and downs and with several hurdles that we have to overcome. There are however tools to aid us. It is comforting to know that there are many support groups and forums at local oncology centers and online that offer great advice and programs to help soften the blow of cancer. Voice your concerns and do not be afraid to be heard. TAKE UP SPACE and BE SEEN.


Do not suffer alone..

3,751 views

Recent Posts

See All

The Now

Kommentit


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

The secret Garden

April 22,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

April 23,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

May 6, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

May 7,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

May 13,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

May 14, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

May 14,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico