页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

凯拉的故事



这是一个关于我妈妈的故事。一个关于爱的故事。这个故事因乳腺癌而改变,但并不因此而被定义。


妈妈是我最好的朋友。只有她能鼓励我把刚撕掉的作业用胶带粘起来。她是唯一一个总是问我今天过得怎么样的人......一天要问好几遍。她是唯一一个每天早上都唱 "你是我的阳光 "的人。而且,她是在睡觉前和我呆在一起整整三分钟的人,除非她和我一起在床上睡着了,这是我最喜欢的,而且她从来没有在没有说'我爱你'的情况下离开过房间。


就像她所做的一切一样,我妈妈对待乳腺癌的方式就像她对待自己的余生一样--优雅、时尚、高贵。她没有让癌症定义她,所以我也没有让癌症定义我关于她的故事。


我的母亲莫琳在怀上我的小妹妹卡特琳时被诊断出患有乳腺癌。那是 2003 年底。卡特琳于 2004 年 4 月出生,当时我只有两岁。无论是积极治疗还是缓解期,癌症都潜伏在我妈妈的身体里。一切都感觉正常......直到 2014 年 8 月。


从 2004 年到 2014 年,在这十年间,有几次我非常困惑,不知道她是否会没事。当她看完医生后回家而不是回去工作时,我尤其感到困惑。当她因为眉毛脱落而额外涂上睫毛膏时,我很好奇。手术后,我们去医院探望她时,她总是很奇怪。不过,即使一路上有那么多令人困惑的时刻,也总会有一句 "早上好,阳光",我的三分钟,以及以一句 "我爱你 "结束一天的生活。


那些时光是平常的时光,也是我真正记得的时光。我记得她早早地从学校接我去图书馆,记得她周六早上带我们去农贸市场,记得她和我妹妹在车道上玩双人方格游戏,记得她周日早上在教堂前为我们做肉桂卷,还有很多很多。


6 年。7 个月29天


那是我最后一次听到妈妈说 "我爱你,凯拉"。


我不知道这将是我最后一次听到这些话。那只是又一个星期一。我仍然记得,我透过副驾驶的窗户,跳下我们的本田奥德赛,向妈妈挥手致意。就在几秒钟前,我们还在计划爸爸妈妈放学后接我去吃晚饭,然后我就得回去参加排球比赛了。这很正常。每天下午,我都会打父母的电话,问他们在哪里,什么时候来接我。但我接到的不是短信,而是爸爸的电话。他说他和妈妈就在医院附近。我当时什么都没想。


我没有意识到这是她最后一次送我上学。这将是我最后一次看到她的笑容。这将是我最后一次听到她的笑声。最后一次她在病房里通过 FaceTime 看我打排球。


2014 年 10 月 20 日是最后一天。


2014 年 10 月 21 日是我母亲生命停止的日子,而我的生命还在继续。


2014 年 10 月 21 日是一个充满第一次、新的第一次和孤独的第一次的日子。


一个接一个的 "第一次 "接踵而至--没有她的第一个万圣节、没有她的第一个感恩节、没有她的第一个圣诞节。


我对一切都麻木了,甚至对家人也麻木了。我一个人缩成一团,裹着妈妈为我缝制的毯子躺在床中央。我只想找一个能理解我的人倾诉,但我更想找妈妈倾诉。


她是我的理由。她是我的阳光。她是我的爱情故事,我不会让她的爱情故事结束。


她就是我想创建 #粉红儿童我想创造一些比我的故事更有意义的东西。一种纪念她的方式。不是我患有乳腺癌的妈妈,而是我的妈妈,她在面对乳腺癌的同时过着有意义的生活。将故事联系起来。有一个真正理解她的地方。一种从我的毯子里走出来的方式。


我不想和咨询师交谈。我不想和治疗师说话。我不想和老师说话。我不想跟我爸爸谈。我觉得他们不会理解。我想找同龄人倾诉,但我不认识和我一样经历的人。所以我把一切都藏在心里。


如果你就是这样的人,那么这里就是你的理想之地。


在这个空间里,您可以说出简单的 "我很害怕",也可以说出复杂的 "我妈妈刚刚去世。我该怎么办?


孩子们支持孩子们。彼此关爱相互陪伴


这是我们的空间。


22 条意见

冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

正念促进健康

东部时间 2 月 23 日下午 1:30

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 2 月 16 日上午 10:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

美国东部时间 19 日星期一下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 2 月 27 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 3 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 3 月 5 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 3 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 3 月 12 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 3 月 12 日上午 11:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Kyla’s Story



This is a story about my mom. A story of love. A story changed by breast cancer, but not defined by it.


My mom was my best friend. She was the only person who could encourage me to tape together the homework I had just ripped up. The only person who always asked me how my day was… multiple times a day. She was the person who sang ‘You Are My Sunshine’ each and every morning. And, she was the person who spent exactly three minutes with me before going to bed, unless she fell asleep in bed with me, which was my favorite, and she never ever left the room without saying ‘I love you.’


Like everything she did, my mom dealt with breast cancer the way she handled the rest of her life - with grace, style, and elegance. She didn’t let cancer define her, so I don’t let it define my story of her.


My mom, Maureen, was diagnosed with breast cancer while pregnant with my little sister, Katelyn. It was late 2003. Katelyn was born in April of 2004, when I was only two years old. Whether in active treatment or in remission, the cancer lurked within my mom. Everything felt normal… up until August of 2014.


Across the span of those ten years, between 2004 and 2014, there were a few times where I was very confused, wondering if she would be okay. I was especially confused when she went home after a doctor's appointment instead of going back to work. I was curious when she put on extra mascara because she was losing her eyebrows. It was always strange when we would visit her at the hospital after a surgery. However, even with all those confusing moments along the way, there was always a ‘good morning sunshine,’ my three minutes, and ending the day with an ‘I love you.’


Those moments were the normal moments, and the things I truly remember. I remember her picking me up early from school to go to the library, taking us to the farmers’ market on Saturday mornings, playing two squares with my little sister in our driveway, making cinnamon rolls for us on Sunday morning before church, and so much more.


6 years. 7 months. 29 days.


That was the last time I heard my mom say ‘I love you, Kyla.’


I didn’t know that this would be the last time I would hear those words. It was just another Monday. I still remember looking through the passenger window, jumping out of our Honda Odyssey, and waving to my mom. Seconds before, we were making plans for my mom and dad to pick me up after school to go get dinner before I had to be back for my volleyball game. It was normal. Like every afternoon, I would blow up my parents’ phones asking where they were and when they were going to pick me up. But instead of a text, I got a call from my dad. He said that he and my mom were right around the corner at the hospital. I didn’t think anything of it.


I didn’t realize that was going to be the last time she drove me to school. That it was going to be the last time I saw her smile. That it was going to be the last time I heard her laugh. The last time she would watch me play volleyball via FaceTime in her hospital room.


October 20th, 2014 was a day of lasts.


October 21st, 2014 was the day my mom’s life stopped, and mine continued.


October 21st, 2014 was a day of firsts, new firsts, and lonely firsts.


One by one, the firsts unfolded - my first Halloween without her, my first Thanksgiving without her, and my first Christmas without her.


I was numb to everything; even my family. Lying alone in a ball in the middle of my bed wrapped up in the blanket my mom had sewn for me. I just wanted to talk to someone who would understand, but more than that, I wanted to talk to my mom.


She is my WHY. She is my sunshine. She is my love story, and I won’t let her love story end.


She is why I wanted to create #pinkkids. I wanted to create something larger than my story. A way to remember her. Not my mom with breast cancer, but my mom who lived a purposeful life while dealing with breast cancer. To connect stories. To have a place of true understanding. A way to get out from under my blanket.


I didn’t want to talk to counselors. I didn’t want to talk to therapists. I didn’t want to talk to teachers. I didn’t want to talk to my dad. I didn’t think they would understand. I wanted to talk to someone my own age, but I didn’t know anyone who was going through what I was going through. So I kept everything in.


And if that is you, then this is the space for you.


A space for you to say something as simple as ‘I am scared’ or as complex as ‘My mom just passed away. What should I do?’


Kids supporting kids. Loving each other. Being there for each other.


This is our space.


33 views

Comentarios


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

The Caregiver Huddle

Third Tuesday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Pilates

July 19,  10:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

July 15 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

July 22,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

August 5, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

August 13, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

August 13,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

August 20,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page