页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

愿你的笑容永远灿烂,胜过面对的任何障碍

作者:塔梅拉


你好,我是塔梅拉。我现在很荣幸地获得了 "抗癌瑜伽"(Yoga 4 Cancer)认证。


诊断

2015 年新年刚过,我就被诊断出患有乳腺癌,时年 44 岁。 大约 6 个月前,我去做了一次年度乳房 X 光检查,结果显示可疑。这导致了 更多检测、监测,并于 12 月进行了活检结果显示我右侧乳房的 DCIS 呈阳性。据信我的癌症是由雌激素引起的,由于有女性癌症家族史,我选择了双乳头和乳晕切除术。后来,我了解到我的左侧乳房也出现了异常的组织变化,但在切除左侧乳房组织和右侧乳房组织时还没有癌变。


学习体验

几年前的 2011 年,我做了子宫切除术,并摘除了子宫,因为我的子宫看起来像是要罹患子宫内膜癌。这就像过山车一样,既有积极的一面,也有学习的经验。在我的家族中,有许多人受到癌症的影响或已经去世。今年 1 月新年过后,我们得知刚满 49 岁的丈夫被诊断出患有早期前列腺癌。


对我和我的家人来说,这也是一次学习经历。我有两个孩子,他们在十几岁和青春期时不得不了解癌症。他们因此学会了更加积极主动地关注自己的健康。


瑜伽教师培训

2015年,当我被诊断出患有乳腺癌时,我正在接受为期两周的瑜伽教师培训,这是我的救命稻草。这对我帮助很大。在将近三个月的时间里,我都得开车去上课,这很有挑战性,但它给了我时间 在情感上、精神上和身体上与我的新身体建立联系。.确诊后,我遇到了一些挫折,比如感染让我再次住院,最终延误了换药手术。 我在 1 月份植入了扩张器,直到 6 月份才进行了第一次植入手术。关于我的瑜伽,我修改了一切,学到了很多关于冥想、呼吸和运动的好处。这让我在一年后获得了 Lululemon 的奖学金,接受了 Yoga 4 Cancer 的培训。现在,我很荣幸地获得了 Yoga 4 Cancer 的认证,并在接受培训约 6 个月后开始教授。


回馈

我有一位支持我的朋友,他拥有一家柔道俱乐部,我断断续续地在那里提供私人课程,但近两年来,这家俱乐部一直是迈阿密 "抗癌瑜伽 "的固定场所。在一位可爱客户的支持下,我进行了一些筹款活动,这让我能够在2019年为经济困难的个人免费提供部分课程。我的企业Wellness, Therapy, & Yoga得到了Pink Luminous Breast和LympheDIVAS的资助和支持,以提供免费课程。我还得到了其他接受过 Y4C 培训的教师的帮助。


我的全职工作是持证心理健康咨询师,提供戒毒和康复咨询,但支持 "抗癌瑜伽"、提供私人和企业健康服务以及生活辅导是我的乐趣所在,感觉不像是工作。我不确定我的未来会怎样。我为《Cure》杂志撰稿,并在《粉红专家》(Experts in Pink)一书中发表了一章论述乳腺癌期间和之后瑜伽和冥想的益处。


我可能最终会通过出版自己的书来实现自己的目标,为癌症诊断后的身心健康提供资源。在我目前的机构工作 20 年后,我可以从全职工作岗位上退休,并有机会在私营部门为另一家雇主工作。我希望有一天能为企业提供健康计划。我的目标是让我的孩子们享受成长的乐趣,他们现在都在上大学和准备上大学。两个孩子都在医学领域学习。我期待着更多的旅行,享受友谊和联系。我喜欢水边的任何地方,在那里我可以划皮艇或享受其他水上运动。


如果您身在迈阿密或计划前往迈阿密,我非常希望癌症康复者、幸存者和奋斗者能够参加迈阿密或其他地区的 "抗癌瑜伽 "课程。并不是所有的课程都是免费的,但像我这样的瑜伽教师会学习如何修改课程,以满足癌症患者的需求。您可以在Y4C.com的 "寻找老师 "栏目下查找课程地点和指导老师。 淋巴水肿和其他病症都是课程开设和姿势调整的考虑因素。如果您有兴趣与我联系,请通过 www.wellnesstherapyyoga.com 与我联系。


我与 Cure 的文章可免费访问 https://www.curetoday.com/community/tamera-anderson-hanna。我现在的部分工作还包括向更多人宣传每月进行一次自我乳房检查的重要性。 每月自我乳房检查的重要性.为了支持这种检查,您可以使用 Pink Luminous Breast 推出的一款新的免费应用程序,并了解该设备的相关信息,它可以帮助您利用红外线技术观察乳房,从而清楚地看到您需要向专业保健人员咨询的任何问题或变化。对我来说,这是一个很重要的话题,因为我有家族病史,我希望教导我的女儿主动关注自己的健康。


我的建议

拥有一个幸存者护理团队。我的团队包括我的常规医疗专业人员,但我还增加了营养师、淋巴水肿专家、针灸师,当然我还在瑜伽和步行的帮助下锻炼身体。我在走路和练习瑜伽时都会做一些运动来帮助防治淋巴水肿。作为一名心理健康专家,我通过积极的自我对话和保持癌症后健康的性生活来保持心理健康。


我请其他人找到适合自己的良好支持系统。


无论你在生活中遇到什么,愿你的微笑永远比你面对的任何障碍都要灿烂!



感谢您分享自己的故事,Tamera。SBC 支持你!


乳腺癌幸存者网站资源与支持:

最新文章

查看全部

评论


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

新诊断者

东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

发现大脑

东部时间 5 月 27 日下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 5 月 28 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 6 月 3 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 6 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 6 月 10 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 6 月 11 日上午 11:30

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 6 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

发掘机遇

东部时间 6 月 17 日下午 5:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

May Your Smile Always Be Brighter Than Any Obstacle You Face

By Tamera


Hi, I'm Tamera. I am now proudly certified in Yoga 4 Cancer.


Diagnosis

I was diagnosed with breast cancer just after the New Year of 2015, at the age of 44. I had gone in about 6 months prior for an annual mammogram and the results came back suspicious. That led to more testing, monitoring, and a biopsy in December, which resulted in my being positive for DCIS in the right breast. It was believed my cancer was being fed by Estrogen, and I opted for a double nipple and areola sparing mastectomy due to have a family history of female cancers. I later learned my left breast was also showing unusual tissue changes, but was not yet cancerous when I removed the left breast tissue as well as the right.


A Learning Experience

​A few years earlier in 2011, I had a hysterectomy and had my uterus removed, as it was looking as if I was headed for endometrial cancer. It has been a roller coaster of both positives and learning experiences. I have had many individuals in my family impacted by cancer or who have passed. This January after the New Year, we learned my husband who had just turned 49 was diagnosed with early prostate cancer.


Again, a learning experience for myself and my family. I have two children who have had to learn about cancer as a teen and adolescent. They are learning to be more proactive in regard to their own health as a result.


Yoga Teacher Training

A lifesaver was that in 2015, when diagnosed with breast cancer, I was two weeks into yoga teacher training. It was so helpful. It was challenging as I had to be driven to classes for almost three months, but it gave me time to bond with my new body emotionally, spiritually, and physically. I had setbacks after diagnosis such as an infection which put me back in the hospital and ultimately delayed by exchange surgery. I had expanders put in in January and did not have my first surgery for implants until June. In regards to my yoga, I modified everything and learned a lot about benefits of meditation, breathing, and movement under fire you could say. This led to my obtaining a scholarship by Lululemon to become trained one year later in Yoga 4 Cancer. I am now proudly certified in Yoga 4 Cancer and began teaching it about 6 months after being trained.


Giving Back

I have a supportive friend who owns a Judo Club where I offer private sessions off and on, but it has been a regular home for Yoga 4 Cancer Miami for almost two years now. I did some fundraising with support from a lovely client and this allowed me to offer some of the programming for free for individuals in financial need in 2019. My business Wellness, Therapy, & Yoga has funding and support from Pink Luminous Breast and LympheDIVAS to offer the free programming. I have brought on the help of other Y4C trained teachers.


I work full-time as a Licensed Mental Health Counselor and provide Addiction and Rehabilitation Counseling, but supporting Yoga 4 Cancer and offering Private and Corporate Wellness along with Life Coaching is something I have fun with and doesn’t feel like work. I am not sure what my future holds. I write for Cure Magazine and have published a chapter in Experts in Pink addressing the benefits of Yoga and Meditation during and after Breast Cancer.


I may eventually complete my goal of providing a resource for mental and physical thrivership following a cancer diagnosis by publishing my own book. I can retire from my full-time job after 20 years of service with my current agency and have the incredible opportunity to work in the private sector for another employer. I would love to provide corporate wellness programming someday. My objective is to enjoy my children who are growing and are now in college and preparing for college. Both are studying in the medical field. I look forward to doing more traveling and enjoying friendships and connections. I love being anywhere near water where I can take out my Kayak or enjoy other water sports.


If you’re in Miami or plan a visit, I would love for previvors, survivors, and thrivers to attend Yoga 4 Cancer Miami or elsewhere if you find a class in another area where you live. Not all classes are free, but yoga teachers such as myself learn how to modify the classes to support the needs of those impacted by cancer. You can find classes at Y4C.com under find a teacher for locations and instructors. Lymphedema and other conditions are all part of the consideration in how classes are run and how poses are modified. If you’re interested in connecting with me you can contact me at www.wellnesstherapyyoga.com


My articles with Cure are free at https://www.curetoday.com/community/tamera-anderson-hanna. Part of my work is now also educating more individuals on the importance of conducting a monthly self-breast exam. To support the exam, you can use a new free app by Pink Luminous Breast and learn about the device which helps you see into your breast using infrared technology to visibly see any concerns or changes you would need to speak to your health professional about. I am using it to teach my teenage daughter about the importance of breast health.It is an important topic for me due to family history and wanting to teach my daughter to be proactive about her health.


My Tips

Have a survivorship care team. My team includes my regular health professionals, but I have added a dietician, lymphedema specialist, acupuncturist, and I exercise of course with the help of yoga and walking. I have exercises I do while walking and practicing yoga to help against Lymphedema. As a mental health professional, I maintain mental health with positive self-talk and maintaining healthy sexuality post cancer.


I invite others to find a good support system that works for you.


​No matter what you face in life, may your smile always be brighter than any obstacle you face!



Thank you for sharing your story, Tamera. SBC supports you!


SurvivingBreastCancer.org Resources & Support:

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Brain Spotting

May 27,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

May 28,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

June 3, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

Jun 4,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

June 10,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

June 11, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

June 11,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

June 17 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page