页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

我的新发乳癌故事:我不会放弃我的诊断

已更新:2023 年 6 月 22 日

作者 阿什利-贝尔



2021 年 4 月,34 岁的我被诊断出患有 IV 期(从头开始)HER2+ ER- PR- 转移性浸润性导管癌。我的直系亲属中不一定有乳腺癌病史,我也不携带 BRCA 基因突变。


时间回到 2019 年、 我发现右侧乳房有一个肿块。 我立即去看妇科医生,表达我的担忧,她毫不犹豫地把我轰走了。她告诉我 太年轻,不用担心癌症可能只是荷尔蒙的作用。由于 COVID 停止了一切治疗,我不得不带着这个不断增大的肿块生活了一年。最后在 2021 年,我去看了另一位医生,她立即给我介绍了乳房 X 光检查。乳房 X 光检查导致了活组织检查,我发现自己患上了癌症。 两天后,我发现自己患上了癌症。两天后。几周后,我成了 MD 安德森癌症中心的病人,他们对我的癌症进行了各种检查分期。后来的结果是 IV期,肝脏有转移。


2021 年 5 月,我开始接受一线治疗。我的化疗方案包括 Taxotere、Herceptin 和 Perjeta,每月注射一针 Zoladex 以保持生育能力。进入医学上的更年期对我来说简直是天方夜谭--潮热的感觉太可怕了。 经过八个周期的化疗后,我接受了右侧乳房切除术。(路易丝,RIP LOUISE)和组织扩张器,随后进行了肝脏切除术,并于 2022 年 6 月切除了右臂下的所有淋巴结。随后,我开始接受放射治疗,计划每天治疗 30 次。


我本以为放射治疗结束后,我的小身体就会恢复如常,但没有。 这就是一个精力充沛、独立、倔强的 35 岁女性的思维过程。我开始出现非常严重的头痛和呕吐,这对我来说很奇怪。我的体重也开始迅速下降,这引起了我的警觉,于是我去了急诊室,他们给我做了 CT 扫描。在那里,我发现我的乳腺癌已经扩散到了大脑。八月糟透了!我只完成了大约 12 次乳房放射治疗。我所有的积极进展都戛然而止。为了能做核磁共振检查,我不得不做了紧急手术,取出了我的组织扩张器。


长话短说,这就像坐过山车一样。我的大脑里发现了两个病灶,我做了开颅手术 切除病灶,同时尽量减少对大脑的损伤。 我接受了五次质子治疗脑放射治疗。这个过程对我打击很大。 我清楚地记得,我在想一个 35 岁的人怎么会在这么短的时间内感觉自己老了这么多。我有时几乎无法行走。他们给了我一根手杖....an 老太太手杖......没有不敬的意思!有一次,我记得自己坐在床边,因为太虚弱而无法走到卫生间,于是我就趴在地上爬过去。我经常把这些副作用称为我的战伤,它们时刻提醒着我,转移性乳腺癌治疗的副作用可能是另一种需要面对的问题。


在进入转移性癌症的治疗过程中,我的主要目标是尽可能积极地治疗我的诊断,这样我就能有更大的机会活下去。我记得自己有时会爆发出巨大的力量,因为我知道我需要坚强。 即使是在为生命而战的时候,我也是艾希莉第一--这个女孩觉得她必须竭尽所能,永远在这里烦扰你们。回首往事,我意识到在刚开始接受治疗时,我根本没有考虑过如何应对可能出现的长期副作用。我已经适应了我的环境。我记得当时只想一天一天地度过诊断期。我的诊断是积极的,但我也是积极的!


对于我所处的乳腺癌阶段,我将终生接受某种治疗。那么,现在该怎么办?那就是制定一个游戏计划,以应对因转移性乳腺癌治疗而产生的痛苦副作用。我已经学会了如何控制副作用,使其达到以下程度 日常生活可以承受的程度.


如果你想知道我在做什么,老实说,我只是做我自己。我想做什么就做什么,想去什么就去什么,想吃什么就吃什么。我做的这一切都很健康,但 我不会给自己太多限制,这有助于我应对这种疾病。我不再为自己的感受自责;我把恐惧视为正常现象,视为自己的一部分。我还发掘了自己的另一个部分,我发现它可以击退恐惧:韧性。当其他方法都不奏效时,我就假装无所畏惧,即使我觉得自己像个骗子。直到天平终于开始倾斜。我每次都能骗过你们,所以我想我正在掌握它。


很久以前我就决定,我不会放弃我的诊断。我觉得,如果我不尽可能多地为自己提供自我保健,让自己成为更好的自己,那就是对自己的伤害。如果我不寻求自己需要的帮助,我又能给别人多少帮助或支持呢?



了解更多信息:




感谢您分享您的故事,阿什利。SBC 爱你!


乳腺癌幸存者网站资源与支持:



最新文章

查看全部

冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

正念促进健康

东部时间 2 月 23 日下午 1:30

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 2 月 16 日上午 10:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

美国东部时间 19 日星期一下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 2 月 27 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 3 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 3 月 5 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 3 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 3 月 12 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 3 月 12 日上午 11:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

My De Novo MBC Story: I’m Not Going to Give Up on My Diagnosis

Updated: Jun 22, 2023

By Ashley Bell



In April 2021, at age 34, I was diagnosed with stage IV de novo (from the start) HER2+ ER- PR- metastatic invasive ductal carcinoma. I don’t necessarily have a history of breast cancer in my immediate biological family, and I don’t carry the BRCA gene mutation.


Back in 2019, I’d found a lump in my right breast. I immediately went to the gynecologist to express my concern and she blew me off, no hesitation. She told me I was too young to worry about cancer and it was probably just hormones. I had to live with this growing lump for a year because COVID shut everything down. Finally in 2021 I went to another physician and she immediately gave me a referral for a mammogram. The mammogram led to a biopsy, and I found out I had cancer two days later. A few weeks later I became a patient of MD Anderson Cancer Center, where they ran a variety of tests to stage my cancer. The results later declared that I was stage IV with metastasis to my liver.


I started receiving my first line of treatment in May 2021. My chemo cocktail was Taxotere, Herceptin, and Perjeta with a monthly Zoladex shot to preserve my fertility. Being put into medical menopause was out of this world – the hot flashes were brutal. After eight cycles of chemotherapy treatments, I had a right breast mastectomy (RIP LOUISE) with a tissue expander, followed by a liver resection, and removal of all my lymph nodes under my right arm in June 2022. I then started radiation, which was planned to be 30 daily treatments.


I thought that my little body was set to return to business as usual once I finished radiation, but NOPE. That was the thought process of a very energetic, independent, and stubborn 35-year-old. I started to have really bad headaches and vomiting, which was peculiar for me. I also started rapidly losing weight which was a cause for alarm, so I went to the emergency room where they gave me a CT scan. There I found out that my breast cancer had spread to my brain. August sucked! I only completed about 12 of my breast radiation treatments. All my positive progress came to an immediate stop. I had to have emergency surgery to remove my tissue expander just so I could get an MRI.


Long story short, it’s been a roller coaster. Two lesions were found in my brain and I had a craniotomy to remove the lesions while minimizing damage to the brain. I did five proton therapy brain radiation treatments. This process has hit me hard. I plainly remember thinking how a 35-year-old could feel so much older in such a short time frame. I could barely walk at times. They gave me a cane….an old lady cane…no disrespect! At one point, I remember sitting on the edge of my bed, too weak to walk to my bathroom, so I got down on the floor and crawled there. I often refer to these side effects as my battle wounds, and they serve as constant reminders of how the effects of metastatic breast cancer treatments can be a whole other beast to deal with.


Going into my metastatic journey, my main goal was to treat my diagnosis as aggressively as I could so that I could have a greater chance at life. I remember having bursts of strength at times, just because I knew that I needed to be strong. Even while fighting for my life, I was Ashley first – and this girl felt that she had to do all that she could to be here annoying y’all FOREVER. Looking back, I realize that the focus of dealing with the possibility of long-term side effects was not on my mind at all when I was first starting treatment. I had adapted to my circumstances. I remember just wanting to get through my diagnosis, one day at a time. My diagnosis is aggressive but so am I!


For my stage of breast cancer, I will be on some type of treatment for the rest of my life. So, now what? It is putting a game plan in motion to deal with the onset of those painful side effects that will come along because of metastatic breast cancer treatments. I have learned how to manage my side effects to a level that makes it bearable for everyday life.


And if you’re wondering what I do, I honestly just do me. I do, go, and eat what I want when I want. I do all of this at a healthy level, but I don’t put too many restrictions on myself and that helps me deal with this disease. I stopped beating myself up for how I felt; I accepted fear as normal, as part of me. And I tapped into another part of me that I discovered could beat back the fear: resilience. And when nothing else worked, I just faked being fearless, even when I felt like a fraud. Until the balance finally started to tip. I fool y’all every time, so I guess I’m mastering it.


I decided a long time ago that I was not going to give up on my diagnosis. I feel that I would be doing myself a disservice if I did not provide myself with as much self-care as I possibly can, so that I can be a better me. How much help or support can I give to others if I am not seeking the help that I need?



Learn more:




Thank you for sharing your story, Ashley. SBC loves you!


SurvivingBreastCancer.org Resources & Support:



Recent Posts

See All

Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Mindfulness for Wellbeing

February 23 1:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

Pilates

February 16, 10:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

The secret Garden

Monday 19,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

February 27,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

March 4 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

March 5,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

March 11,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

March,  12,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

March 12 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page