页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

希望是我最喜欢的四个字母单词

已更新:2023 年 9 月 5 日

作者:塔米-乌尔


2011 年 7 月,在我 第一次常规乳房 X 光检查时我的医疗团队说我的乳房有钙化现象,他们希望我留意一下,并要求我每六个月做一次乳房 X 光检查。2013 年 6 月,我发现乳房内有一个肿块,但我的六个月乳房 X 光检查安排在 7 月,所以我知道他们到时会检查这个肿块。在七月的预约中,他们说一切正常,从那以后我可以每年做一次乳房 X 光检查。


六个月后的一次例行体检中、 我向主治医生询问了肿块的情况,现在肿块在我的皮肤上清晰可见。她回看了乳房 X 光检查的图像,说那里没有任何异常,所以很可能是一个良性囊肿,如果我愿意,可以将囊肿引流出来。


我决定预约外科医生来完成手术,这样我就不会再被它困扰了。 当外科医生插针引流时,他说没有任何液体需要引流。他非常确信这是一个纤维腺瘤,但为了确保万无一失,还是想做个活检。


下周我们在医院见面时,医生告诉我们没什么可担心的,气氛很轻松,医生甚至说他会确保活检疤痕在愈合后很难看出来。他安排了一位病理学家在手术室里,这样我们就不用等结果了,我在手术室里小睡了一会儿。


当我从活检手术中醒来时,麻醉师正坐在我的床边握着我的手,我知道这完全不符合常规。我从房间的玻璃推拉门望出去,看到外科医生正在和我丈夫交谈。 一看到我丈夫的脸,我就知道这不是个好消息。


2014 年 2 月 18 日,42 岁的我已为人妻 17 年,是三个年幼孩子的母亲。 我被诊断出患有乳腺癌:IIB 期 IDC ER+、PR-、HER2-..我酷爱跑步,注意饮食,几乎不喝酒,从不吸烟,也没有乳腺癌家族史。然而在接下来的日子里,我得知自己需要接受乳房切除术、化疗和放疗。


2014 年 3 月 13 日,我接受了单侧乳房切除术。4 月 17 日,我接受了四个周期中第一个周期的 Taxotere 和 Cytoxan 治疗。7 月 29 日,我开始接受为期五周的放射治疗。2014 年 9 月 4 日,当我最终走出放射肿瘤科医生的办公室时、我确信最坏的情况已经过去。



我的所有医生都向我保证,总有一天我会把整个经历看成是人生路上的一个小插曲。I 继续去健身房挑战自己,保持强健的体魄。我继续参加另一场比赛的训练,因为 跑步是我心理健康的良药.2015 年 6 月,在确诊 15 个月后,我又跑了一次半程马拉松,庆祝治疗结束。积极治疗结束后,我接受了他莫昔芬激素治疗,并继续每季度接受肿瘤专家的会诊。


然后,在 2017 年 6 月,我感到背部剧烈疼痛。我打电话时医生不在办公室,但一位助理医生给我做了 CT。第二天,她打电话告诉我我的 L3 椎骨有一个病变,怀疑是转移性疾病.几天后进行了核磁共振检查,放射科医生认为这实际上是椎体血管瘤,是一种良性血管病变。我不知道该问些什么问题,特别是要求进行活检以确定诊断。于是我去了理疗中心,并确信一切正常。


2018 年 5 月,我开始减肥,在接下来的几个月里,我瘦了 30 多磅。我的肿瘤医生认为我在情感上挣扎,无法走出癌症诊断的阴影,我应该找人谈谈,寻求心理健康支持。我知道这不是问题所在,但我还是约见了肿瘤科的精神科医生,她告诉我,她确实无法为我提供任何帮助,因为我看起来做得很好。


2020 年 3 月,COVID 开始。我不能再去健身房了,所以我和我打大学篮球的小女儿一起在家锻炼。我的小女儿在大学打篮球。我还经常在户外跑步。我的膝盖开始疼痛,这在我之前的马拉松训练中就曾经历过,我还以为这是因为我试图跟上我 18 岁女儿的训练节奏所致。


2020 年 5 月,我丈夫接受了一份新工作。我们全家搬到了北面 130 英里的一个城市。 我需要建立新的医疗保健.我向新的初级保健医生说我的膝盖有点疼,于是我又去做理疗。


三个月后,我的情况没有任何改善,理疗师将我转到一位运动医学医生那里,他确定我的半月板撕裂了,并要求我做核磁共振检查来确认。结果在劳动节周末的周五下午传到了 MyChart,显示我的股骨出现了 我的股骨.谷歌医生告诉我,这是非常糟糕的事情。由于当天是周末假期,我在周二上午才能与诊所的任何人交谈。


第二天,我见到了一位新的肿瘤内科医生。他问我是否了解我所面临的问题。显然,我已经研究了很多关于 转移性乳腺癌(MBC)他重申,根据统计,我的预期寿命大约为三年。 我现在才知道,我当时应该用最快的速度跑出他的办公室,只要我的腿还能动。相反,他让我坐上了轮椅,直到下周去见肿瘤骨科医生,因为他说股骨骨折的风险很大。


我的骨科肿瘤医生让我如沐春风。他基本上给了我两个选择。方案一:什么都不做,一辈子坐在轮椅上。方案二:让他给我的股骨植入一根钛棒。我很明显地告诉他我们要选择第二种方案,他说他确信那将是我的选择,而且他已经预定了两天后的手术室。 他向我保证,患有乳腺纤维瘤的我可以活得很长、很活跃,他会尽一切努力实现这一目标。



在接下来的几周里,我的正电子发射计算机断层扫描显示,癌症还导致我的 L3 椎骨骨折,也就是所谓的良性血管瘤所在的位置。我接受了椎体成形术,即向椎体内注射骨水泥,以稳定椎体。右髋部也有一个令人担忧的部位。那里的疼痛已经持续了很长时间,但我被告知是由于长年跑步造成的关节炎。放射肿瘤专家决定对股骨、脊柱和臀部进行放射治疗。随后,我开始服用 CDK 4/6 抑制剂 Verzenio、雌激素受体阻断剂 Faslodex 和用于预防骨折的单克隆抗体 Xgeva。


2022 年 1 月,我告诉我的肿瘤内科医生,我的右髋关节比平时更难受了。他给我做了核磁共振检查,根据检查结果,他告诉我我的病情恶化了。当我与我的骨科肿瘤学家交谈时,他不太确定这是否是疾病进展,因为他觉得关节炎是我疼痛的主要原因。我们决定进行全髋关节置换术,届时他会进行活组织检查。


手术前,我见了肿瘤内科医生。他再次说我的病情明显恶化,建议我每周进行一次静脉化疗。他说没有其他治疗方案。我就此详细询问了他,因为通过自己的研究,我相信我还有其他治疗方案可以考虑。我也不明白他怎么会在活检结果还没有出来的情况下就做出这样的决定。他告诉我,我应该认真考虑不再工作,而是好好享受剩下的时间。我问他我是否能看到我 16 岁的儿子从高中毕业,他的回答是不太可能。


在接下来的 24 小时里,我必须努力工作,不让自己陷入深深的黑暗深渊。我决定只有一个选择......解雇我的肿瘤医生。 我联系了本州一所重点大学的乳腺专家,询问她对治疗方案的意见。得到她的意见后,我要求她推荐一位我所在地区的肿瘤专家。幸运的是,有一位她过去曾密切合作过的医生,于是我预约了他。


在等待就诊的过程中,我非常忐忑不安。当医生坐下来和我谈话时,他说的第一句话是:"在未来的日子里,我们将进行艰难的讨论,必须做出一些具有挑战性的决定。有一件事我永远不会做,那就是夺走你的希望。"他说到做到。他一直支持我寻求第四、第五和第六种意见,不断进行 临床试验是我们讨论的重点,而且在确定我的所有问题都得到解答之前,他从不离开房间。


髋关节置换术的活检结果并不是我们所期望的。活检结果显示,癌症的激素受体状态已从雌激素阳性转为三阴性。然而,在接受过放射治疗的部位进行骨活检,其可靠性值得怀疑。经过反复讨论,我们决定继续采用同样的ER+治疗方案,只是时间再长一些。结果证明 这是个正确的决定,因为我的扫描结果又稳定了一年。


2022 年 12 月的正电子发射计算机断层扫描显示病情有所进展,因此我于 2023 年 2 月开始接受口服化疗 Xeloda 作为第二线治疗。 我们期待着我能坚持几年。此外,我的医生还向我保证,目前他的名单上还有几种癌症,这还不包括可能出现的其他癌症。


这几年,我学到了很多东西。从可靠的渠道收集尽可能多的知识,以便做出明智的决定,这一点非常重要。我牢记,一个不愿意听取他人意见的医生是一个危险的医生。 最重要的是,希望是我最喜欢的四个字母单词。




感谢您分享您的故事,塔米。SBC 爱你!


了解更多信息:



乳腺癌幸存者网站资源与支持:



870 次查看

最新文章

查看全部

冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

正念促进健康

东部时间 2 月 23 日下午 1:30

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 2 月 16 日上午 10:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

美国东部时间 19 日星期一下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 2 月 27 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 3 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 3 月 5 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 3 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 3 月 12 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 3 月 12 日上午 11:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

HOPE is my Favorite Four-Letter Word

Updated: Sep 5, 2023

By Tammy Uhl


In July 2011, at my first routine mammogram at the age of 40, my healthcare team said there was a calcification they wanted to keep an eye on and asked that I have a mammogram every six months. I discovered a lump in my breast in June 2013, but I was scheduled for a six-month mammogram in July, so I knew they would look at it then. At that July appointment, they said all was clear, and I could go to once-a-year mammograms from there on out.


At a routine physical six months later, I asked my primary care physician about the lump, which now was visible on my skin. She looked back at the images from the mammogram and said there was nothing abnormal there so it most likely was a benign cyst, which I could get drained if I wanted to.


I decided to make an appointment with the surgeon to get that accomplished so I wouldn’t be bothered by it any longer. When the surgeon inserted the needle to drain it, he said there wasn’t any fluid to be drained. He was very confident it was a fibroadenoma, but wanted to do a biopsy just to be certain.


When we met at the hospital the following week, the mood was light as we were told it was nothing to worry about, and the surgeon even said he would make sure the biopsy scar was done in such a way that it would be hard to see after it healed. He had arranged for a pathologist to be in the operating room so we would not have to wait for the results, and I was put under for a short nap.


When I woke up from the biopsy procedure, the anesthesiologist was sitting next to my bed holding my hand, which I knew was not at all the norm. I looked out the sliding glass door of the room and saw the surgeon talking to my husband. As soon as I focused in on my husband’s face, I immediately knew it was not good news.


On February 18, 2014, at the age of 42, I was a wife of 17 years, a mom to three young children, and I was diagnosed with breast cancer: Stage IIB IDC ER+, PR-, HER2-. I was an avid runner, watched what I ate, hardly ever drank, never smoked, and had no family history of breast cancer. And yet in the days that followed I learned I would need to have a mastectomy, chemotherapy, and radiation.


I had a unilateral mastectomy on March 13, 2014. On April 17, I had the first of four cycles of Taxotere and Cytoxan. On July 29, I began five weeks of radiation. When I eventually walked out of the radiation oncologist’s office on September 4, 2014, I was confident the worst was behind me.



I was reassured by all my doctors that I would one day look back at the entire experience as just a little bump in the road. I continued to go to the gym, challenging myself to remain physically strong. I continued to train for another race, as running was great medicine for my mental health. In June 2015, 15 months after my diagnosis, I ran another half marathon to celebrate the end of treatment. With active treatment completed, I was placed on Tamoxifen hormone therapy and continued with quarterly visits with my oncologist.


Then, in June 2017, I was experiencing severe back pain. My doctor was out of the office when I called, but a PA ordered a CT. She called me the next day to tell me I had a lesion at my L3 vertebra that was suspicious for metastatic disease. An MRI was performed several days later, and the radiologist felt that it was actually a vertebral hemangioma, which is a benign vascular lesion. I didn’t know the right questions to ask, specifically to demand a biopsy to know for certain, and off I went with a referral to physical therapy convinced that all was well.


In May 2018 I began losing weight, and over the next couple of months I lost over 30 pounds. My oncologist thought I was struggling emotionally with moving past my cancer diagnosis and that I should talk to someone for mental health support. I knew that wasn’t the issue, but I made an appointment with the oncology psychiatrist, and she told me there really wasn’t anything she could offer me as I seemed to be doing very well.


Fast forward to the start of COVID in March 2020. I could no longer go to the gym, so I was doing home workouts with my youngest daughter, who plays college basketball. I was also running quite a bit outdoors. I started to have knee pain, which I had experienced in my marathon training previously, and also assumed it was due to my trying to keep up with my 18-year-old daughter’s workouts.


In May 2020, my husband accepted a new job. Our family moved to a city 130 miles north, and I needed to establish new medical care. I mentioned to my new primary care provider that I was having quite a bit of knee pain, and off I went again to physical therapy.


After three months with no improvement, my physical therapist referred me to a sports medicine doctor who was certain I had a torn meniscus and ordered an MRI to confirm. The results arrived in MyChart on the Friday afternoon of Labor Day weekend, indicating a moth-eaten pattern to my femur. Dr. Google told me this was a very bad thing. Because it was a holiday weekend, it was Tuesday morning before I could talk to anyone at the clinic.


I met with a new medical oncologist the following day. He asked me if I understood what I was facing. Obviously, I had researched quite a bit about metastatic breast cancer (MBC) since reading the MRI report, and he reiterated that statistically I could expect to live about three years. What I know now is I should have run out of his office as fast as my gimpy leg would let me. Rather, he put me in a wheelchair until I could meet with orthopedic oncology the following week, as he said there was a significant risk of fracture to the femur.


My orthopedic oncologist was a breath of fresh air. He basically gave me two options. Option one: do nothing, and stay in a wheelchair for the rest of my life. Option two: allow him to put a titanium rod in my femur. I told him obviously we were going with option two, and he said he was confident that would be my choice, and he already booked the operating room for two days later. He assured me I could live a long and active life with MBC, and he would do everything he could to make that happen.



In the following weeks, my PET scan showed that cancer had also fractured my L3 vertebra, where that so-called benign hemangioma was located. I had kyphoplasty, which is an injection of cement into the vertebra, to stabilize it. There was also an area of concern on the right hip. I had been having pain there for quite some time, but I was told it was arthritic in nature due to my years of running. The radiation oncologist decided to radiate the femur, spine, and hip. I then started on Verzenio, a CDK 4/6 inhibitor; Faslodex, an estrogen receptor blocker; and Xgeva, a monoclonal antibody used to prevent bone fractures.


In January 2022, I told my medical oncologist that my right hip was bothering me more than usual. He ordered an MRI, and based on those results he told me I had disease progression. When I spoke with my orthopedic oncologist, he wasn’t so sure it was progression of disease as he felt arthritis was playing a big part of the pain I was experiencing. We made the decision to go forward with a full hip replacement, and he would do a biopsy at that time.


Prior to the surgery, I met with my medical oncologist. He again said I had clear progression, and his recommendation was weekly IV chemo. He said there were no other treatment options. I questioned him at length on this, because through my own research I believed I had other treatment options to consider. I also didn’t understand how he could be making this decision without even having the biopsy results back. He told me I should seriously consider not working any longer but enjoy the time I had remaining. I asked him if I would see my 16-year-old son graduate from high school, and his response to me was that it was unlikely.


Over the next 24 hours, I had to work really hard at not going down a deep and very dark hole. I decided I had only one option…to fire my oncologist. I reached out to a breast specialist at a major university in my state to ask for her opinion on treatment options. Once I had that opinion, I asked for a recommendation for an oncologist in my area. Fortunately there was someone she had worked closely with in the past, and I made an appointment with him.


I was pretty apprehensive as I waited for my appointment. That immediately dissipated when the first words out of the doctor’s mouth when he sat down to talk to me were, “We will have difficult discussions and have to make some challenging decisions in the years to come. The one thing I will never do is take away your hope.” He has held true to his word and then some. He has been supportive of my seeking a fourth, fifth, and sixth opinion, keeps clinical trials at the forefront of our discussions, and never leaves the room until he is certain I have had all of my questions answered.


The biopsy from the hip replacement was not the news we were hoping for. It indicated that the cancer’s hormone receptor status had flipped from estrogen positive to triple negative. However, the reliability of the bone biopsy of an area that had undergone radiation was somewhat questionable. After much discussion, we decided to continue the same ER+ treatment plan for just a bit longer. As it turned out, that was the right decision as I went another year with stable scans.


My PET scan in December 2022 indicated progression, so in February 2023 I started oral chemotherapy Xeloda as my second line of treatment. We are looking forward to my getting several years on it. Otherwise, my doctor has reassured me that he has several more on the list as of now, and that is not taking into account others that may come.


I have learned quite a lot these last few years. It is so important to gather as much knowledge from reliable sources as possible to make informed decisions, and it is wise to get a second or third opinion when exploring options. I keep in mind that a doctor who will not hear the opinions of others is a dangerous doctor, and it is necessary that I am completely comfortable with all those on my medical team. And most importantly, HOPE is my favorite four-letter word.




Thank you for sharing your story, Tammy. SBC loves you!


Learn More:



SurvivingBreastCancer.org Resources & Support:



906 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

May 20 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

In Body Breathwork

May 21 ,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Brain Spotting

May 27,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

May 28,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

June 3, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

Jun 4,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

June 10,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

June 11, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

June 11,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page