页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

我活得更精彩

作者:李安-莫林


一年前,我的世界天翻地覆。我打开 "我的图表 "结果,本以为会确认是肾结石。然而,我看到的却是 "多发性溶解性骨病变......转移性疾病......多发性骨髓瘤或淋巴瘤"。我花了一个多月的时间才得到明确诊断,即 转移至淋巴结、多处骨骼和肺部亚厘米结节的第四期乳腺癌.当时我流过很多眼泪、恐惧和愤怒。我的爱侣、孩子、父母、兄弟姐妹、朋友、同事(过去和现在)陪伴我度过了最初的时光。

我对治疗充满期待,既希望治疗有效,又担心治疗无效。由于我所患的是乳腺纤维瘤,我可以接受内分泌治疗,暂时避免化疗。 疲劳是最棘手的副作用但我已经与它和平相处,注意休息,调整自己的生活节奏,并在需要时进行自我保健,即使这意味着要减少我喜欢做的活动。我有一个很好的支持系统和一个未婚夫,他只看了我一眼,就知道我的疲劳程度,告诉我去躺下,并照顾其余的人。️

为什么是我?

当我开始我的 MBC 之旅时,我对我认为我应该过的生活感到悲伤。我愤怒地问:上帝,为什么是我?为什么是我?我有太多值得活下去的理由! 我的悲伤胜过一切。我很伤心,因为我可能无法看到我的孩子和孙子们生命中的里程碑。我为自己可能无法活到退休而悲伤。我难过的是,我可能无法与我的爱人白头偕老。我难过我的父母可能不得不埋葬一个孩子。我为孩子们可以依赖的父母可能不在身边而难过。

没有人知道上帝对我们的计划是什么。没有人知道。 我对 "为什么是我 "的问题再熟悉不过了,因为我曾经不得不回答过这个问题。当时我流产了三个宝贵的孩子。为什么是我?当我发现我的第一个彩虹宝宝加勒特患有脊柱裂时。为什么是我?我当时的工作让我完全倦怠,每天晚上都害怕上班。为什么是我?我嫁给了一个酗酒的好男人。为什么是我?当我不得不穿上大姑娘的裤子,拼命工作,制定计划离开这种让我生不如死的生活时。为什么是我?当我终于找到了我梦寐以求的与戴夫的关系时,他却遭遇了一场可怕的摩托车事故,面临着漫长的康复期。 为什么是我?

回答我的问题

我终于能够回答上帝的问题了。 为什么不是我?如果我没有在两个儿子出生前流产,我就不会有他们。如果加内特没有脊柱裂,我和他就不会成为今天的我们,也不会有这么多惨痛的教训。(我永远也不希望我的孩子经历他所经历的一切,但他却以优雅和谦逊的方式生活,这其中有很多教训!)。


如果没有在医院战壕里工作的巨大压力,我也不会被逼着去寻找我梦寐以求的工作,我绝对热爱这份工作。


如果我不是一个依赖他人的人,我就不会学到我所需要的所有教训,成为今天这个坚强、独立的人,并最终鼓起勇气离开。


如果我们没有机会经历大范围的住院、手术和康复,戴夫和我可能就不会有今天这样充满信念的纽带和关系。我坚信冥冥之中自有安排。没有人会有 "过期 "的日期! 是的,我得了晚期癌症,但我还活着,而且现在我感觉非常好。我相信,这是我在这个世界上的旅程的一部分,我正在从中学习,可能会帮助其他人,并为此感到幸福,就像我经历过的所有其他 "为什么是我 "的时刻一样。

珍惜每一刻

回想起来,这一年是多么美好!我的心路历程非常透明,很多失去联系的人都给了我很大的触动。我和兄弟姐妹的关系变得更加亲密。我有一个亲爱的朋友联系了我--每一个。单。每一天!我走出了更多的框框,打破了更多的规则,并努力与人交谈,而我通常会保持沉默。 我活得更精彩了。


到目前为止,治疗已经阻止了病情的发展,虽然我每天都会有一闪而过的念头,但它并没有吞噬我的生活。 我无法控制它,但我可以控制自己如何应对它。 我可以控制我选择的生活方式。我从不认为任何事情是理所当然的。我正在筹划与好友的婚礼。我在计划旅行。我在计划退休生活。我珍惜与孩子、孙子、父母、家人和朋友在一起的每一刻。我毫无愧疚地吃着冰淇淋。

对于任何经历困难的人,我的建议是在每一天都找到快乐,对未来充满希望和梦想。这就是我们能做的最好的事情。




感谢您分享您的故事,李安。SBC 爱你!


乳腺癌幸存者网站资源与支持:





最新文章

查看全部

冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

正念促进健康

东部时间 2 月 23 日下午 1:30

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 2 月 16 日上午 10:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

美国东部时间 19 日星期一下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 2 月 27 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 3 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 3 月 5 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 3 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 3 月 12 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 3 月 12 日上午 11:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

I Live A Little More

By Lee Ann Morin


A year ago, my world was turned upside down. I opened a my-chart result expecting to confirm a kidney stone. Instead, I read the words “multiple lytic osseous lesions… metastatic disease… multiple myeloma or lymphoma.” It took over a month to get a definitive diagnosis of Stage 4 metastatic breast cancer to lymph nodes, multiple bones, and sub centimeter nodes on the lung. There were a lot of moments of tears, fear, and anger. I was carried through those initial moments by my loving partner, my kids, parents, siblings, friends, coworkers (past and present).

Treatment was met with the anticipation of what it would entail, hope that it would work, and fear that it wouldn’t. Due to the type of MBC I have, I have been able to take endocrine therapy and avoid chemotherapy for now. Fatigue has been the most difficult side effect but I’ve made peace with it, rest, pace myself, and practice self care when I need to, even if it means declining activities I like to do. I have a great support system and a fiancé who, with one look, knows my level of fatigue, tells me to go lie down, and takes care of the rest. ️

Why Me?

When I started my MBC journey, I was grieving for the life I thought I was supposed to live. I was angry and asked, why me god? Why me? I had too much to live for! I was sad more than anything else. I was sad I might not get to see milestones in my kids and grandkids lives. I was sad I might not get to live to see retirement. I was sad I might not get to grow old with my love. I was sad my parents might have to bury a child. I was sad that the one parent my kids could depend on might not be there for them.

No one knows what God's plan is for us. No one. I am only too familiar with the "Why me" questions as I have had to answer this question before. When I miscarried three precious babies. Why me? When I found out my first rainbow baby, Garrett, had spina bifida. Why me? I was working at a job that I was totally burnt out from and dreaded going into work every night. Why me? When I was married to a good man who was an alcoholic. Why me? When I had to pull my big girl pants up and work my ass off to make a plan to leave a life that was sucking the life out of me. Why me? When I finally found the relationship with Dave, I had always dreamed of, and then he was in a horrific motorcycle accident and was facing a long recovery. Why me?

An Answer To My Question

I was able to finally answer my question to God. Why NOT me? If I had not had the miscarriages prior to both of my sons births I would not have THEM. If Garrett didn't have spina bifida he and I wouldn't be the people we are today without all the hard lessons learned. (I would never want my baby to have to go through what he does but he lives his life with grace and humility and there are a lot of lessons there!).


If I didn't have the tremendous stress of working at the hospital in the trenches, I wouldn't have been pushed to search for my dream job that I absolutely love.


If I wasn't a codependent, I wouldn't have learned all the lessons I needed to to be the strong, independent person I am today and to finally have the courage to walk away.


If we hadn't had the opportunity to go through the extensive hospitalizations, surgeries and recovery, Dave and I might not have the unbelievable faith filled bond and relationship we have today. I have faith that there is a plan. No one has an "expires by" date! Yes, I have terminal cancer, but I am also alive and for right now I feel pretty darn good. I trust that this is part of my journey on this earth and I am learning from it, may help others from it, and feel blessed by it, as I do all the other "why me" moments I have had.

Cherishing Every Moment

In retrospect, what an amazing year it has been! I have been very transparent with my journey and have been touched by a lot of people I had lost contact with. I have become closer to my siblings. I have a dear friend who has contacted me- Every. Single. Day. since the news! I step outside the box a little more, break the rules a little more, and have made an effort to speak to people when I normally would have been quiet. I live a little more.


Treatment so far has stopped progression, although I have fleeting thoughts about it each day, it doesn’t consume my life. I can’t control it but I can control how I respond to it. I can control how I choose to live my life. I don’t take anything for granted, ever. I am planning my wedding to my best friend. I am planning trips. I am planning my retirement. I cherish every moment with my kids, grandkids, parents, family, and friends. I eat the ice cream without guilt.

My advice to anyone going through a difficult experience is to just find joy in every day and have hopes and dreams for the future. That’s the best we can do.




Thank you for sharing your story, Lee Ann. SBC loves you!


SurvivingBreastCancer.org Resources & Support:





Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

May 20 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

In Body Breathwork

May 21 ,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Brain Spotting

May 27,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

May 28,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

June 3, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

Jun 4,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

June 10,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

June 11, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

June 11,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page