页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

乳腺放射摄影筛查中的种族差异

作者:金伯利-史蒂芬森


背景资料:在乳腺癌的治疗方面,黑人妇女在获得治疗的机会和治疗方法上似乎都存在差距,我很想了解这其中的原因。我选择这个话题有很多原因:首先,我的祖母曾两次与乳腺癌作斗争。遗憾的是,直到我长大成人,我才真正了解了她的经历、她的病情以及我的家庭--一个移民家庭--是如何看待她的治疗过程的。其次,在一些乳腺癌宣传机构实习的经历让我抛开了对癌症和疾病的文化观念,接触到了更现实、更真实的治疗方法。在这个由三部分组成的系列(筛查、诊断/治疗和生存期)中,我将引导您了解从筛查到生存期的整个过程,以及黑人女性在确诊乳腺癌时可能遇到的障碍。

 

筛选

在 "Kimberly's Korner "的第一部分,我们将讨论乳腺癌筛查中的差异。目前,全球每 10 位女性中就有 1 位以上患有乳腺癌。女性在一生中被诊断出乳腺癌的几率已从 1975 年的每 11 名女性中有 1 人罹患乳腺癌大幅上升至每 8 名女性中有 1 人罹患乳腺癌。[1].幸运的是,由于人们越来越重视早期发现和更有效的治疗,近年来乳腺癌的死亡率有所下降。虽然一些种族的死亡率有所下降,但非裔美国人和西班牙裔美国人的总体癌症发病率仍在继续增长。[2].


当代人们对乳腺癌的获取和治疗的理解大多是通过对主要是白人、中产阶级妇女的分析来实现的。有色人种妇女,特别是黑人妇女,很少被作为社会实体来研究。然而我们知道,种族、社会阶层、民族、性别、性别、宗教信仰等因素共同决定了乳腺癌患者在医疗保健系统中的体验差异。没有两个乳腺癌患者的经历是完全相同的,但由于某些原因(我将在本系列中解释这些原因),有色人种在获得医疗服务和治疗方面都存在差距。



在医疗服务不足的人群中,乳房 X 射线照相筛查的不平等现象正在减少,但在少数种族/族裔和低收入妇女中仍然存在。在经历和生活方式上的一系列差异使得非裔美国妇女患上致命的晚期癌症的风险更高,而在许多医疗保健系统中,这些独特的因素却没有被注意到。根据美国癌症协会 2015 年的一项研究,"诊断和治疗方面的进步大幅提高了乳腺癌的存活率,挽救了无数人的生命,但这些进步在很大程度上却绕过了非裔美国妇女"[3]。[3].无论如何衡量,非裔美国妇女在面对乳腺癌时都处于非常不利的地位。

乳房 X 射线照相筛查乳房 X 射线照相检查对所有女性都很重要,无论其种族/族裔或罹患乳腺癌的风险如何。乳房 X 射线照相术与后续检查以及确诊后的治疗一起,可以降低死于乳腺癌的几率。然而,黑人妇女往往在年轻时就被诊断出患有乳腺癌,而这种疾病的预后往往较差。在美国,白人妇女和有色人种妇女在乳腺癌诊断、死亡率和存活率方面的种族差异差距持续扩大。

例如,2008 年至 2012 年间,美国确诊乳腺癌妇女的中位年龄为 61 岁。黑人妇女的中位年龄(58 岁)低于白人妇女(62 岁)。此外,在同一时期,黑人妇女的乳腺癌死亡率比白人妇女高出近 43%。所有女性的乳腺癌死亡年龄中位数为 68 岁,但白人女性为 69 岁,黑人女性为 62 岁。[4].因此,在大多数情况下,黑人妇女更早诊断出乳腺癌,也更早死于乳腺癌。

与此同时,其他种族和族裔妇女的乳腺癌发病率和死亡率均低于非西班牙裔白人和黑人妇女。亚裔/太平洋岛民妇女的发病率和死亡率最低。但真正的 原因是什么?不同种族和族裔群体在乳腺癌筛查方面存在差异的真正原因是什么?

与患者相关的乳腺癌筛查常见障碍包括对乳房 X 光检查的看法(被认为是痛苦的)以及对负面或不可靠结果的恐惧,而有色人种社区则面临不同的障碍。这些因素包括[5]:

(1) 社会经济地位低下;

(2) 肿瘤的具体生物学特征.....;

(3) 诊断年龄较小(45 岁以下);

(4) 同时患有多种疾病,尤其是老年妇女;

(5) 诊断和治疗延误;

(6) 治疗差异;以及

(7) 在获得早期检测和及时治疗方面的差异

即使是免费或低价筛查,非裔美国妇女参加筛查计划的比例也低于白人妇女。现在,随着非裔美国妇女和白人妇女的发病率趋于平稳,认识到阻碍非裔美国妇女接受筛查的观念和动机因素就显得更加重要。比较这两种观点是很有趣的:一方面,白人妇女不参加或犹豫是否参加乳腺癌筛查的原因似乎是医学或生物学方面的。而有色人种妇女往往因为更多的文化和关系原因而不参加乳腺癌筛查。

本系列第二部分将讨论第五个因素,即延误诊断和治疗。这也是导致黑人妇女一经确诊就成为癌症晚期第一大群体的主要原因。上述所有因素都是有色人种群体在乳腺癌筛查到生存期的整个过程中处于极其不利地位的原因。

[1],[2]Yedjou CG, Sims JN, Miele L, et al. 乳腺癌的健康和种族差异。 Adv Exp Med Biol.2019;1152:31-49. doi:10.1007/978-3-030-20301-6_3 [3] https://ww5.komen.org/BreastCancer/DisparitiesInBreastCancerScreening.html [4] Williams F, Thompson E. 《乳腺癌诊断阶段的差异:种族、贫困和年龄的重要性》。 J Health Dispar Res Pract.2017;10(3):34-45. [5] Bradley, Patricia K. (2006).非裔美国妇女的乳腺癌。In African American Women's Health and Social Issues.Catherine Collins, ed.. Pp 36-42.Pp 36-42.Westport:Praeger Publishers.

 

作者简介


金伯利-斯蒂芬森(Kimberly Stephenson)是波士顿大学公共卫生学院的一名公共卫生硕士候选人,学习健康传播与促进,主修母婴健康。Kimberly 目前在 BMCHP HealthNet Plan 担任高级 LTSS 协调员,并将加入 SurvivingBreastCancer.org 担任营销和沟通实习生。Kimberly 过去曾在其他乳腺癌基金会工作过,对全球和国内妇女和少数民族人口的健康差距问题充满热情。金伯利出生在西印度群岛的多米尼克小岛上,喜欢旅游、园艺和美食!

最新文章

查看全部

现在

候车室

评论


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

对于新诊断的患者

美国东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

东部时间 4 月 22 日下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 4 月 23 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 5 月 6 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 5 月 7 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

美国东部时间 5 月 13 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

美国东部时间 5 月 14 日上午 11:30

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 5 月 14 日下午 6:00

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Racial Disparities in Screening Mammography

By Kimberly Stephenson


Background: There seems to be a gap in both access and treatment for black women when it comes to breast cancer treatment, and I am interested in understanding why that is. There are many reasons as to why I choose this topic; firstly, having a grandmother who has battled breast cancer twice. Sadly, it was not until I was well into adulthood that I truly understood her experience and her illness and the way in which my family, an immigrant family at that, viewed her treatment process. Secondly, interning for a few Breast Cancer advocacy groups has allowed me to push aside my cultural perception of cancer and illness, and give access to the more realistic and honest approach to it. In this 3-part series (Screening, Diagnosis/Treatment, and Survivorship), I aim to guide you through the screening process all the way to survivorship, and the barriers that black women may encounter when diagnoses with Breast Cancer.

 

SCREENING

In Part I of Kimberly’s Korner, we are talking Disparities in Breast Cancer Screening. Breast cancer currently affects more than 1 in 10 women worldwide. The chances of a female being diagnosed with breast cancer during her lifetime has significantly increased from 1 in 11 women in 1975 to 1 in 8 women[1]. Fortunately, the mortality rate from breast cancer has decreased in recent years due to increased emphasis on early detection and more effective treatments. Although the mortality rates have declined in some ethnic populations, the overall cancer incidence among African American and Hispanic population has continued to grow[2].


Much of the contemporary understandings of access and treatment of breast cancer has been through analyses of predominantly white, middle-class women. Women of color, specifically black women, are rarely studied as social entities in and of themselves. And yet we know that race, social class, ethnicity, gender, sex, religious affiliation and more collectively shape differences in a breast cancer patient’s experience of the healthcare system. No two breast cancer stories are identical, but for reasons, which I will explain in this series, there are gaps in both access and treatment for communities of color.



Disparities in screening mammography are decreasing among medically underserved populations but still persist among racial/ethnic minorities and low-income women. There are a host of differences in experiences and lifestyle that put African American women at greater risk to have a deadly more advanced stage of cancer, and in many healthcare systems those unique factors go unnoticed. According to a 2015 study done by the American Cancer Association, “advances in diagnosis and treatment that have sharply improved survival rates from breast cancer and saved countless lives have largely bypassed African American women”[3]. No matter what the measure is, African American women are at a substantial disadvantage when dealing with breast cancer.

Mammography screening is important for all women, regardless of their race/ethnicity or their risk of breast cancer. Along with follow-up tests, and treatment if diagnosed, mammography can reduce the chance of dying from breast cancer. However, Black women are often diagnosed at a young age when the disease tends to have the worse prognosis. The racial disparities gap in breast cancer diagnosis, mortality, and survival have continued to widen in the U.S. between White women and Women of color.

For example, between 2008 and 2012, the median age for women diagnosed with breast cancer in the U.S. was 61 years. The median age was lower for Black women (58 years) than white women (62 years). Also, during that same period, breast cancer mortality rates were almost 43% higher in Black women than white women. The median breast cancer death age for all women was 68 years, but 69 years for white women, and 62 years for Black women[4]. So, in most cases Black women are diagnosed earlier and die earlier from breast cancer.

Meanwhile, incidence and death rates for breast cancer are lower among women of other racial and ethnic groups than among non-Hispanic White and Black women. Asian/Pacific Islander women have the lowest incidence and death rates. But what are the actual reasons behind the disparities behind breast cancer screenings among racial and ethnic groups?

Whereas common patient-related obstacles to breast cancer screening include perceptions of mammograms (being seen as painful) and fear of negative or unreliable results, communities of color face different ones. Factors like[5]:

(1) low socioeconomic status;

(2) specific biological characteristics of the tumor...;

(3) younger age at diagnosis (younger than 45);

(4) multiple coexisting medical conditions, particularly for older women;

(5) delay in diagnosis and treatment;

(6) treatment differences; and

(7) differences in access to early detection and prompt treatment

Even with free or low-cost screenings, African American women partake in screening programs at lower rates than their white counterparts. And now, with the incidence rate leveling out between both African American women and white women, it is even more important to recognize the perceptual and motivational factors that dissuade an African American woman to go in for a screening. It is interesting to compare the two perspectives; on one hand white women are not participating, or hesitate to participate in, breast cancer screenings for reasons that are seemingly medical or biological. Whereas, women of color tend to stray away from breast cancer screenings because of more cultural and relational reasons.

The fifth factor, delay in diagnosis and treatment, will be discussed in Part II of this series. It is also the leading cause for Black Women being the number one group with advanced stage cancer upon first observance. All the above factors are some reasons why communities of color are, by and large, at a disproportionately disadvantaged stance when dealing with breast cancer from screening to survivorship.

[1],[2] Yedjou CG, Sims JN, Miele L, et al. Health and Racial Disparity in Breast Cancer. Adv Exp Med Biol. 2019;1152:31-49. doi:10.1007/978-3-030-20301-6_3 [3] https://ww5.komen.org/BreastCancer/DisparitiesInBreastCancerScreening.html [4] Williams F, Thompson E. Disparities in Breast Cancer Stage at Diagnosis: Importance of Race, Poverty, and Age. J Health Dispar Res Pract. 2017;10(3):34-45. [5] Bradley, Patricia K. (2006). Breast Cancer in African American Women. In African American Women’s Health and Social Issues. Catherine Collins, ed. Pp 36-42. Westport: Praeger Publishers.

 

About the Author:


Kimberly Stephenson is a MPH Candidate at Boston University School of Public Health studying Health Communication and Promotion with an concentration in Maternal and Child Health. Kimberly currently works at BMCHP HealthNet Plan as a Senior LTSS Coordinator and will be joining SurvivingBreastCancer.org as the Marketing and Communication Intern. Kimberly has worked for other Breast Cancer Foundations in the past and is passionate about the health disparities among women and minority populations both globally and domestically. Kimberly was born on the small island of Dominica in the West Indies and enjoys travelling, gardening and is an avid foodie!

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

The Caregiver Huddle

Third Tuesday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Pilates

June 14,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

June 17 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

The Sun's Embrace: A Summer Solstice Meditation

June 21,  11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

June 25,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

July 1, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

July 2,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

July 9, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

July 9,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

July 22,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page