页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

控制情绪波动和乳腺癌的小窍门

克里斯汀-卡特



亲爱的克里斯汀


您有什么应对情绪低落的建议吗?由于乳腺癌的压力和治疗的副作用,我很容易烦躁。我甚至对我的女儿发火,她是我生命中最重要的人!我想知道一些保持冷静的方法。



首先,对自己的烦躁情绪表示同情;当癌症、手术、放疗和/或化疗等主要压力侵袭你的生活时,你会有烦躁情绪也就不足为奇了。此外,如果您是绝经前妇女,化疗和激素疗法会让您被迫绝经,导致荷尔蒙发生剧烈变化。 有时,承认自己的情绪,并对自己的情绪保持温和,就足以让阴暗的心情透出一丝光亮。


如果你想了解更多关于 "给自己宽限期 "之外的建议,可以尝试以下一种或多种策略:


问问自己 "为什么?

你可能会觉得是收银员的动作太慢让你热血沸腾,但事实上,可能是你太累了,或者太恶心,或者担心明天的扫描。


尝试微笑

当你微笑时,大脑会释放出一种叫做神经肽的微小分子,帮助你抵御压力。一项 2019年的一项荟萃分析138项研究表明,微笑能让人更快乐。大笑也能很好地改变情绪;试试TikTok、YouTube、最喜欢的喜剧演员、大笑瑜伽--任何能帮助你打开负面情绪的东西。


给自己放个假

这种方法对幼儿有效,对你也同样有效--请与你在一起的人回避一下,然后去一个安静、让人平静的地方待几分钟。


放眼未来

这是我的个人最爱之一:想象一下,从房间的另一个位置观看你所处的场景,比如在这一切之上,漂浮在天花板旁边。这个视角给了我足够的空间,让我看到情况到底有多暂时,从而冷静下来。另一个窍门:想象站在对方身后,从他们的角度看问题。


腹式呼吸

当我们感到压力时,往往会用胸腔吸气和呼气,这就向大脑发出了我们正受到威胁的信号。而用腹部大口深呼吸,则会告诉大脑你是安全的,有助于让整个神经系统平静下来。


乳腺癌幸存者提供多项 免费项目包括安吉拉-罗斯(Angela Rose)的尊巴舞、凯特(Kate)的恢复性瑜伽和格洛丽亚(Gloria)的集体冥想。


心怀感恩

同时感受到感激和压力是很难的,甚至是不可能的。因此,请在脑海中快速列出你此时此刻感激的事情,哪怕是 "生命弥足珍贵,每天都是奇迹 "这样简单的一句话。


如果你尝试了这些方法,但还是搞砸了,最好的办法就是道歉。你可能会希望自己有不同的表现,那就说出来。承认你说过的话或做过的事以及对对方造成的影响,说你很抱歉,并保证不会让这种事情再次发生。


如果你最终接受了别人的 别人的请在转发本专栏时附上一张纸条,写上 "我爱你,我知道你正在经历一段艰难的时光,但你的言行让我倍感压力。这里有一些可爱的想法,可能会对你有所帮助"。



SBC 社区其他人的建议

我非常喜欢你的问题,并想从我们 SBC 社区其他人的角度了解他们在情绪失控时的做法和工具。我向 SBC 执行主任劳拉请教了她的策略。以下是她的分享:


"身为天蝎座,我爱得轰轰烈烈,也打得头破血流。如果再加上癌症诊断,我的雌性激素消耗殆尽,那就完全乱套了!以下是我的首选:

  • 运动。我是一个没有时间的人,我不能总是优先考虑每天锻炼 30 分钟,但我总是尽量让心脏跳动至少 10 分钟。如果我把一天的时间分成几段,比如在通话间隙做几下跳绳,午餐时和小狗一起快步走 110 分钟,然后在等水烧开吃晚饭时在炉子旁做一些轻量举重,那么 "砰 "的一声--不知不觉中,我就完成了当天 30 分钟的运动量。记住,把事情打乱是可以的,运动是我释放压力的好工具。

  • 与你上面提到的接收他人的坏能量类似,一位朋友告诉了我这个可视化技巧,我喜欢在晚上的例行活动开始时使用(也可以在工作一天后走进家门之前、去学校接孩子之前使用)。我做几次深呼吸,让自己静下来,然后把附着在身上的坏能量一扫而空。从字面上来说,我会擦拭手臂、肩膀和腿部。坏能量也不会总是附着在身上。我会用手做剪刀,剪掉身边的蜘蛛网,让自己真正脱离负面情绪。最后,我想象 "疯狂 "从我身上飘走,飘得很远很远。

  • 最后,我想打破看心理医生是一件不好的、可耻的、需要保密的事情的成见。不,看心理医生是一件值得奖励的事!这意味着你为自己挤出了时间!这意味着你在进行自我保健。这意味着你得到了帮助和支持!持续的情绪波动影响了我的日常生活。在工作中,我是如此敏感,有时我不得不冲到洗手间泪流满面。看到收件箱中弹出同事的电子邮件,我焦虑得甚至无法打开邮件。 我衰弱的愤怒无法控制(毕竟,我是那个得了癌症的素食主义者!)。在看了心理医生后,我开始服用药物来帮助建立平衡。我为此感到自豪,因为这让我能够继续接受治疗,对我来说,这是我的首要任务"。


管理情绪没有唯一正确的方法。我很想听听您的意见,当思想和情绪开始失控时,您会在后备箱里放什么工具。请给我发电子邮件!


祝你平安

克里斯汀




最新文章

查看全部

冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

正念促进健康

东部时间 2 月 23 日下午 1:30

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 2 月 16 日上午 10:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

美国东部时间 19 日星期一下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 2 月 27 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 3 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 3 月 5 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 3 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 3 月 12 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 3 月 12 日上午 11:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Tips for Managing Mood Swings and Breast Cancer

By Kristen Carter



Dear Kristen,


Do you have any suggestions for dealing with moodiness? Between the stress of having breast cancer and the side effects of treatment, I get irritable so easily. I’ve even snapped at my daughter, who’s the most important person in my life! I’d love some ideas for staying calm.



First of all, give yourself some compassion for your irritable feelings; it’s no wonder you have them when the major stressors of cancer, surgery, radiation, and/or chemo are invading your life. Additionally, if you are pre-menopausal, chemotherapy and hormonal therapies can throw you into forced menopause causing a dramatic shift in your hormones. Acknowledging your emotions and being gentle with yourself for having them is sometimes enough to let a little light shine into your dark mood.


If you are looking for more recommendations beyond giving yourself grace, try one or more of the following strategies:


Ask Yourself, “Why?”

It might feel like it’s the slow cashier who’s causing your blood to boil, but in truth it might be the fact that you’re tired or nauseous or worried about tomorrow’s scan.


Try Smiling

When you smile, your brain releases tiny molecules called neuropeptides to help fight off stress. And a 2019 meta-analysis of 138 research studies showed that smiling makes people happier. Laughter can also be a great mood-changer; try TikTok, YouTube, favorite comedians, laughing yoga – anything to help crack open your negative mood.


Give Yourself a Time-Out

It works with young children and it can work for you, too – ask whoever you’re with to please excuse you, then go somewhere quiet and calming for a few minutes.


Get Some Perspective

This is one of my personal favorites: Imagine watching the scene you’re in from a different spot in the room, like above it all, floating next to the ceiling. This perspective gives me just enough space to see how temporary the situation really is and to calm down. Another trick: imagine standing behind the other person and seeing things from their point of view.


Belly Breathe

When we’re stressed, we tend to breathe in and out of our chest, which signals to the brain that we are under threat. Taking big, deep breaths in and out of your belly, on the other hand, tells your brain that you are safe and helps calm down your whole nervous system.


Surviving Breast Cancer offers several free programs to help get you breathing, including Zumba with Angela Rose, Restorative Yoga with Kate, and Group Meditation with Gloria.


Be Grateful

It is difficult, if not impossible, to feel gratitude and stress at the same time. So make a quick mental list of things you’re grateful for right at that moment, even if it’s as simple as “life is precious and every day is a miracle.”


If you try these and still blow your top, the best thing to do is apologize. You’ll probably wish you had behaved differently, so say so. Acknowledge what you said or did and the impact it had on the other person, say you’re sorry, and promise that you won’t let it happen again.


If you end up on the receiving end of someone else’s bad mood, forward this column with a note that says something like, “I love you and I know you’re going through a hard time, but I’m feeling stressed out by what you’re saying/doing. Here are some lovely ideas that might help.”



Advice From Others in the SBC Community

I really loved your question and wanted to garner perspective from what other people in our SBC community do and keep in their tool box when their emotions are wild. I turned to Laura, the Executive Director of SBC to ask her what her tactics are. Here’s what she shared:


“As a Scorpio, I love hard and I fight hard. Throw a cancer diagnosis on top of that and deplete my estrogen to zilch, you have complete chaos! Here are my go-tos:

  • Exercise. I am someone who has no time and I cannot always prioritize exercising 30 minutes a day, but I always try to get the heart pumping for a minimum of 10 minutes. If I break my day up into a few bursts of jumping jacks in between zoom calls, a brisk 110 minute walk with the pup at lunch, and then maybe some light weights at the stove while I am waiting for the water to boil for dinner, bam – somehow I reached my 30 minutes of exercise that day. Remember, it’s ok to break things up and exercise has been a great tool for me to release steam.

  • Similar to what you mentioned above about receiving other people’s bad energy, a friend told me about this visualization technique that I love to do to kick off my nighttime routine (this can also be done before walking into the house after a long day at work, before picking up your kids at school, etc). I take several deep breaths to ground myself and I literally wipe off the bad energy that clung itself to my body. Literally, I will go through the motions of wiping off my arms, my shoulders, and my legs. Bad vibes don’t always cling either. I take my hand in the form of scissors and literally cut away the strings of cobwebs around me, literally detaching myself from the negativity. Finally, I visualize the “crazy” float off of me and drift far far away.

  • Lastly, I want to break the stigma that seeing a psychiatrist is a bad and shameful thing that we need to keep secret. No, seeing a psychiatrist is to be rewarded! It means you are carving out time for you! It means you are engaging in self care. It means you are getting help and support! Having constant mood swings was impacting my day to day life. I was so sensitive at work, I would have to rush to the bathroom sometimes to burst into tears. Seeing a colleague's email pop up in my inbox gave me so much anxiety I couldn’t even open the message. My debilitating anger was unmanageable (after all, I was the vegan who got cancer!). After seeing a psychiatrist, I am on medication to help create balance. I am proud of this because it enables me to remain on my treatment regimen and for me, that was my priority.”


There is no one right way to manage emotions. I would love to hear from you as to what tools you keep in your back pocket when thoughts and feelings start to go rogue. Send me an email!


Wishing you peace,

Kristen




Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

May 20 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

In Body Breathwork

May 21 ,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Brain Spotting

May 27,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

May 28,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

June 3, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

Jun 4,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

June 10,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

June 11, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

June 11,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page