页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

3 次男性乳腺癌幸存者

作者:万斯-斯塔克斯



我叫万斯-斯塔克斯(Vance Stacks, Jr.),是一名男性乳腺癌幸存者,已经 3 次罹患乳腺癌!


我还是儿子、兄弟、孙子、侄子、父亲、祖父、堂兄、朋友和导师。我是土生土长的孟菲斯人,毕业于田纳西州孟菲斯市中央高中。我喜欢讲述自己的人生经历,喜欢到大自然中去,也喜欢回馈社会。


挽救我生命的车祸

2013 年,我遭遇了一场车祸,车翻了,从此开始了我的乳腺癌之旅。我去做胸部 X 光检查时,他们发现我的左乳头上有一个黑点。我的主治医生让我去肿瘤科做活检。我没有疼痛感。没有肿块,也没有任何症状。 第一位医生进行了活组织检查,结果呈阴性。三四个星期后,又形成了一个结,这次结大得足以让我用手触摸和填充。我的主治医生让我去看另一位肿瘤医生,那位医生对我进行了第二次活组织检查,结果呈阳性,是一期乳腺癌。我当时 43 岁,医生建议我最好进行乳房切除术。于是在 2013 年,我接受了第一次手术,幸运的是我无需接受任何化疗或放疗。因此,我决定进行单乳房切除术。


第 2 次

在享受了 6 年的病情缓解且没有任何疾病迹象之后,2019 年 10 月,我在一次家庭聚会上开始感到昏昏欲睡。 我告诉我的一位表亲,从我的感觉来看,我相信我的癌症又复发了。回到孟菲斯后,我做的第一件事就是预约。孟菲斯田纳西州的 West 癌症中心对我进行了活组织检查,结果显示我的乳腺癌又复发了,而且已经到了第三期。它非常具有侵袭性,已经附着在我的胸骨上,但没有穿透或转移到我的骨头上。我接受了同一乳房部位的第二次乳房切除术,并接受了 27 次化疗。

第三次的魅力

化疗后,我又开始享受无癌生活了!"我说!2020 年,我进行了六个月的体检,我以为这只是一次常规体检。但这根本算不上常规检查。 肿瘤学家进行了活组织检查,并告诉我,我的癌症似乎又复发了。在等待结果的一周后,我感觉像是过了一年。 我接受了第三次乳房切除术,并接受了 32 次放射治疗。 2021 年 4 月 29 日,我第三次敲响了无癌的钟声。


乳腺癌副作用与荷尔蒙疗法

我经历了脱发,身体也发生了翻天覆地的变化。我爱上了 150 磅的体重,甚至失去了脚趾甲和指甲。 但我非常感谢我的支持团队。有了强大的支持团队,一切都会大不一样。


我目前正在服用他莫昔芬,并将持续五年。我确实有一些副作用,比如严重的潮热和失眠。2022 年 1 月,我被诊断出患有所谓的乳房切除疼痛综合症,之后我被指派了一位疼痛科医生来管理我的疼痛。 今天,我非常感激地说,我没有癌症了,而且感觉很好!


如果没有我的三个 "F",我就不会成功。信仰、家庭和朋友!

我非常感谢卫理公会和我的护理团队,是他们帮助我度过了这些可怕而充满挑战的经历。护理团队的许多成员都不遗余力地为我提供最好的护理,让我感觉到他们是真正关心我的人。我非常感激他们,因为是他们帮助我走到了今天。 蒂莫西-加勒特(Timothy Garrett,就像我的儿子一样)、杰伊-科尔(Jay Cole,最好的朋友)、罗塞琳-布朗(Roselynn Brown,最好的朋友和 B/C 癌症幸存者)和马德琳-巴克斯代尔夫人(Madelyn Barksdale,乳腺癌幸存者)会在我不能做饭或洗衣的日子里过来照顾我。我的护理团队协助我赴约、打扫房间,做一些我做不到的事情。我不想忘记卫理公会医院(Methodist Hospital)肿瘤科和孟菲斯西部癌症中心(West Cancer Center Memphis East)的工作人员。他们对病人的同情和承诺是无与伦比的。


作为一名三次罹患男性乳腺癌的幸存者,我也非常感谢今天能与大家分享我的故事,并分享我的信息--"粉红不是你想的那样"!- 的信息,让大家知道男性也有罹患这种疾病的风险。事实上,我成立了一个名为 "粉红不是你想的那样!"的非营利组织,致力于为接受癌症治疗的患者提供支持和希望,我为这个组织的发展感到非常自豪和兴奋。


我希望通过分享我的故事,让更多人知道乳腺癌是一种可以影响我们任何人的疾病。


感谢你们允许我分享我的故事。

我非常感激......记住,粉红不是你想的那样!

 

粉红不是你想的那样让人们意识到男性也会患乳腺癌。男性也会患乳腺癌。我们正在帮助所有癌症患者的家属,让他们的亲人在没有丧葬费用的情况下安度晚年。 我们为那些无力为亲人举行适当葬礼的家庭提供免费火化服务。此外,我们还为身患绝症的癌症患者送去他们转世前的最终愿望。


Facebook @ Pink Ain't Whatcha Think、

Instagram @ Pink Ain't Whatcha Think



最新文章

查看全部

美胸

评论


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

护理人员聚会

第三个星期二

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

新诊断者

东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 7 月 19 日上午 10:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

发掘机遇

东部时间 7 月 15 日下午 5:30

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 7 月 22 日下午 6:00

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 8 月 5 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 8 月 13 日上午 11:30

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 8 月 13 日下午 6:00

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 8 月 20 日下午 6:00

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

3-Time Male Breast Cancer Survivor

By Vance Stacks



My name is Vance Stacks, Jr. and I am a 3x male breast cancer survivor!


I am also a son, a brother, a grandson, a nephew, a father, a grandfather, cousin, a friend, and a mentor. I am a native Memphian, and I graduated from Central High School in Memphis, TN. I enjoy speaking about my life experiences, being out in nature, and giving back to my community.


The Car Accident That Saved My Life

I was involved in a vehicle accident in 2013, flipped my vehicle and from that vehicle accident, my breast cancer journey began. I went to have a chest x-ray done and they noticed a dark spot on my left nipple. My primary care physician sent me to an oncologist for a biopsy. I had no pain. There was no lump, and I had no symptoms. The first doctor conducted a biopsy and it came back negative. Three to four weeks later a knot formed and this time it was big enough for me to touch and fill with my hands. My Primary Physician sent me to another oncologist and that doctor conducted a second biopsy when it came back positive for stage one breast cancer. I was 43 yrs old and advised that a mastectomy was my best route of treatment. So in 2013, I had my first surgery and luckily I didn’t have to go through any chemotherapy or radiation. So I decided on having a single mastectomy.


Take 2

After enjoying 6 years of remission and no evidence of disease, in October 2019, I started feeling lethargic at a family reunion. I advised one of my cousins that I believe my cancer had returned because of the way I was feeling. Upon returning to Memphis the first thing I did was set an appointment. West Cancer Center in Memphis TN conducted a biopsy and my breast cancer had returned and the cancer was in stage three. It was very aggressive and had attached itself to my chest bone but did not penetrate or metastasize my bone. I underwent a second Mastectomy in the same breast area and underwent 27 rounds of Chemotherapy.

The Third Time's a Charm

After chemo, I was enjoying being cancer-free again!! I went for my six-month check-up in 2020 and I thought it would be just a routine check-up. It was not even close to a regular checkup. The oncologist conducted a biopsy and advised me that it appears my cancer had returned. After a week of waiting on the results which felt like a year to me. I underwent a third Mastectomy and underwent 32 rounds of radiation. April 29, 2021, I rang the bell for the third time being cancer-free.


Breast Cancer Side Effect and Hormonal Therapy

I went through the loss of hair, and my body changed drastically. I love 150 pounds and even lost my toenails and fingernails. But I am so grateful to my support team. It makes a huge difference when you have a great support team.


I am currently taking tamoxifen for the next five years. I do experience some side effects which are really bad hot flashes and some insomnia. I was assigned a pain doctor to manage my pain after being diagnosed in January 2022 with what’s called Mastectomy Pain Syndrome. Today, I am so grateful to say that I am cancer-free and feeling well!


If it was not for my three F’s I would not have made it. FAITH, FAMILY, AND FRIENDS!

I am so grateful to Methodist and my team of caregivers who helped me through these scary and challenging experiences. Many members of my care team went above and beyond to give me the best care possible and to make me feel as though they truly cared. I am so grateful because they helped me be here today. Timothy Garrett (like a son), Jay Cole ( Best Friend), Roselynn Brown ( Bestfriend and B/C survivor), and Mrs. Madelyn Barksdale (Breast Cancer Survivor ) would come over on days that I could not cook or wash. My team of caregivers assisted me at appointments, cleaning my house, and just doing general things that I could not. I do not want to forget the staff at Methodist Hospital oncology department AND West Cancer Center Memphis east location. Their compassion and commitment to their patients are above compare.


As a three-time male breast cancer survivor, I am also so grateful to share my story with you all today and to share my message – PINK AIN’T WHATCHA THINK! – to make sure that all of you know that men are also at risk for this disease. In fact, I founded a non-profit by the name “Pink Ain’t Whatcha Think!” that is working to give support and hope to patients undergoing cancer treatment that I am so proud of and excited to grow.


I hope by sharing my story more people know now that breast cancer is a disease that can impact ANY of us.


Thank you for allowing me to share my story.

I am so very thankful… and remember, Pink Ain't Whatcha Think!

 

Pink Ain’t Whatcha Think is bringing awareness that men have Breast Too. That men can get Breast Cancer. We are helping all cancer patients' families of loved ones that transition without funeral expenses. We offer free cremation to those families that can’t afford a proper service for their loved ones. In addition, we also offer to send terminally ill cancer patients on their ultimate wish before transition.


Facebook @ Pink Ain’t Whatcha Think,

Instagram @ Pink Ain’t Whatcha Think



Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

May 20 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

In Body Breathwork

May 21 ,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Brain Spotting

May 27,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

May 28,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

June 3, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

Jun 4,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

June 10,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

June 11, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

June 11,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page