页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

幸存者的建议

存储我的肿瘤


与我们交谈过的人中,最常见的说法是......我真希望在手术时就知道活体保存癌细胞的重要性。为什么我的医生不告诉我可以选择储存肿瘤组织?难道他不明白我的生存就是一切吗?我有一个家庭,我需要陪伴他们!


要回答这个问题--大多数医生总是会选择标准的治疗方法--手术、化疗和放疗。他们没有时间,这也是他们被教导要做的。除此以外的任何事情他们都不知道,也不想超出常规。这就是为什么病人必须掌握自己的治疗方法。


如果你觉得你的医生没有给你正确的答案,那就另请高明。如果您觉得自己的治疗计划不适合自己,那就提出问题。您需要参与到治疗计划中来,这样您才会感到自己的生存得到了保障,并能帮助确保您的生存。


标准护理对某些人来说是可行的,但并不适合所有人。如果您想掌控自己的治疗,并为自己量身定制个性化治疗方案,那么您就需要做一些研究。例如,StoreMyTumor 可以帮助您活体保存癌细胞和组织,并启动一些先进的诊断和个性化免疫疗法。


你知道吗?

医院通常会在手术后丢弃肿瘤,或者只保存一小块用石蜡保存的肿瘤,而石蜡不能使细胞存活。 StoreMyTumor 能以活体形式保存您的癌细胞和组织。患者可以保存从手术或活检中收集的组织,或从腹水引流(腹腔穿刺术)中收集的液体。 如果您正在接受可能涉及切除肿瘤或癌细胞的手术,请致电他们。


你会问,保存下来的活细胞或组织有什么用?


- 敏感性测试(诊断) - 检测哪种药物或药物组合对肿瘤最有效。可以只针对化疗药物,也可以针对包括化疗、靶向治疗和免疫治疗在内的更多药物。这避免了医生反复试验的过程,也避免了错误化疗和用药带来的严重副作用。适用于所有适应症,要求肿瘤组织存活。


- 基因组测序(诊断)- 检查肿瘤上的数百种突变,根据肿瘤表达的突变匹配合适的药物。适用于所有适应症,需要福尔马林或石蜡组织(固定/死亡)。


- 个性化疫苗(免疫疗法)- 刺激免疫系统识别并对抗癌细胞。有利于清除体内手术/化疗后残留的癌细胞。适用于所有适应症。可在美国和国际上进行试验。适用于所有适应症,需要存活的肿瘤组织。


- 采用性 T 细胞移植(免疫疗法)- 使已经识别肿瘤的杀伤性 T 细胞大军成倍增加,从而显著增强免疫系统摧毁肿瘤的能力。在美国和国际上都有试验。适用于所有适应症,需要存活的肿瘤组织。


个性化医疗正在改变我们设计有效治疗方法的思路。如果您有问题,也可以 安排时间让他们给您打电话.

知识就是力量!了解您的所有选择!掌握主动权



 

感谢 StoreMyTumor 与社区分享本博客!



最新文章

查看全部

冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

正念促进健康

东部时间 2 月 23 日下午 1:30

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 2 月 16 日上午 10:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

美国东部时间 19 日星期一下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 2 月 27 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 3 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 3 月 5 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 3 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 3 月 12 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 3 月 12 日上午 11:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Advice From a Survivor

By Store My Tumor


The most common statement we receive from people we talk to is… I wish I knew about the importance of preserving cancer cells alive at the time of my surgery. Why didn't my doctor talk to me about the option of storing my tumor tissue? Doesn't he understand my survival is everything? I have a family that I need to be here for!


To answer that question- most doctors are always going to go with the standard of care treatment- surgery, chemo and radiation. They have no time and this is what they are taught to do. Anything aside from that is not known to them and they don’t want to go outside the norm. This is why a patient must take control of their own treatment.


If you have a doctor that you feel you aren’t getting the right answers from, then find a new doctor. If you feel your treatment plan isn’t right for you, then ask questions. You need to be a part of your treatment plan so that you feel included in your survival and can help to ensure it.


The standard of care is okay for some people but not for all. If you feel you want to take control of your treatment and personalize a treatment that is just for you then you need to do some research. StoreMyTumor can help you preserve your cancer cells and tissue alive and initiate a number of advanced diagnostics and personalized immunotherapies for example.


Did you know?

Hospitals routinely discard tumors post-surgery, or they may save a very small piece of the tumor preserved in paraffin, which will not keep the cells alive. StoreMyTumor preserves your cancer cells and tissue in a live, viable format. Patients can store tissue collected from a surgery or biopsies, or fluid from ascites drainage (paracentesis). Call them if you are having a procedure that may involve removing tumors or cancer cells.


What are the preserved live cells or tissue useful for you ask?


· Sensitivity Testing (diagnostic) - tests which drug or combination is most effective to target the tumor. Can be done for chemo therapeutic agents only, or a wider range of drugs that include chemo, targeted, and immunotherapy. This eliminates the trial and error process doctors go through and the severe side effects that accompany the wrong chemo and drug. Applies to all indications and requires Viable tumor tissue.


· Genomic Sequencing (diagnostic) - checks for hundreds of mutations on the tumor and matches the right drug to mutations expressed by the tumor. Applies to all indications and requires formalin or paraffin tissue (fixed/dead).


· Personalized Vaccines (immunotherapy) - stimulates the immune system to recognize and fight the cancer cells. Good to clean the body from residual cancer cells after surgery/chemo. Applies to all indications. Available in trials across the USA and internationally. Applies to all indications and requires Viable tumor tissue.


· Adoptive T-cell Transfers (immunotherapy) - multiplies the army of killer T-cells that already recognize the tumor to dramatically boost the immune system’s ability to destroy the tumor. Available in trials across the USA and internationally. Applies to all indications and requires Viable tumor tissue.


Personalized medicine is transforming our thinking about designing effective treatments. If you have questions, you can also set up a time for them to give you a call.

Knowledge is Power! Know All Your Options! Take control!



 

Thanks to StoreMyTumor for sharing this blog with out community!



Recent Posts

See All

The Now

Comments


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

The secret Garden

April 22,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

April 23,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

May 6, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

May 7,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

May 13,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

May 14, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

May 14,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico