页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

乳腺癌与节日

今年的时间过得飞快,很难相信,对于美国人来说,感恩节已经来临!从那时起,我们就进入了匆匆忙忙的各种寒假,从现在一直到元旦。 它们似乎总是悄然而至。虽然节日可以是欢乐、庆祝、联系和休息的时刻,但对许多人来说,节日也会给旅行、购物、家庭和社交活动带来很大的压力。对于那些被诊断出患有乳腺癌的人来说,这可能是相当令人生畏的。


对我们许多人来说,节日是与家人和朋友重聚的时刻,而我们在一年中的其他时间可能不会经常见到他们。虽然亲朋好友可能会善意地询问您的治疗或康复过程,但请认识到这可能会消耗您的情绪。至于您想谈多少(或者是否想谈),这是您自己的选择,重要的是要设定(并坚持)您自己的底线,即您希望分享多少。


今年,我们的集体节日计划可能与短短几年前有所不同。有些人可能准备全力以赴,"弥补失去的时间",重拾我们在 2020 年推迟的传统和聚会。其他人可能仍然对旅行或大型聚会心存戒备。同样,重要的是要设定自己的个人界限,参加自己感觉最舒服的活动。没有必要让自己疲于奔命,对每个节日聚会的邀请都说 "好"。你可以说:"我很想见你,但现在是一年中最忙的时候。我们一月再见吧"。


下面,我们将分享几篇关于如何在节日期间照顾好自己的文章,让节日真正成为您 "一年中最美好的时光"。



"我想这一切都发生在我坐飞机去南方探亲过感恩节的时候。这种感觉总是在最不合时宜的时候出现,不是吗?我正在做每个人在感恩节前后通常会做的事:

-我的行李已经打包好了、

-我去探亲了

-节日的欢乐弥漫在空气中,在纽约某处上空 3 万英尺的地方,我突然想到:'我得过癌症,'等等,不,'我从癌症中活了下来!'

仿佛不知不觉中,我忘记了自己经历了多么动荡的一年;我的头发重新长了出来,我的精力也越来越充沛,我又开始工作了,等等。我过上了 "正常生活"。但突然之间,在半空中,我开始恐慌。我的大脑开始飞速运转,满脑子都是数以百万计的'如果'问题。 更多信息.


"感恩节是我们在餐桌旁形成的传统。今年,我想与大家分享一些新的想法,让我们在庆祝节日的同时也能保持健康,继续为我们的身体加油,让它们坚强地对抗乳腺癌!" 阅读更多




没有放之四海而皆准的策略。无论您的情况如何,例如正在接受最近的诊断、正在接受治疗或正在努力适应 "新常态",以下的一些建议都可以帮助您成功度过并享受这个节日!


善待自己

接受与以往节日不同的情况。您可能不喜欢某些历史悠久的传统。没关系。当然,不能做以前做的一切会让人沮丧,但不要因此而自责。你经历了一段充满挑战的时光。对癌症后的自己温柔点。


传达您的需求

健康是第一位的。如果乳腺癌使您难以计划和实施您通常在节日里做的事情,请让您的亲人知道。他们都是爱你的人,希望你过得最好。他们会很乐意为你代劳。


为疯狂的癌症评论做好准备

癌症患者和幸存者在一年中的任何时候都可能受到愚蠢的癌症评论。善意的亲朋好友可能会在节假日期间更上一层楼。当你的远房姑妈为你带来一篮 "治疗癌症 "的礼品时,你的第一反应可能是问她为什么不把这些东西告诉梅奥诊所的专家。如果您只是向她表示感谢并继续前进,您会感觉好得多(相信我们)。 阅读更多


阿比盖尔分享她在节假日期间患上 MBC 的经历。"自2017年被诊断出患有第四期转移性乳腺癌(MBC)以来,我开始以不同的方式看待节日。我清楚地记得确诊后的第一次庆祝活动,当时我挣扎于既想过度制造回忆,又想干脆退出一切。我的脑海里总是想着,这个节日、这个生日、这个庆祝活动、这一次,这将是最后一次。我仍然发现自己在节日或其他时候盯着我爱的人,试图记住他们的脸,把记忆固定在大脑里,这样......是什么呢?好让我死后还记得?你是如何在想要庆祝和陪伴的同时,又非常担心自己会被抹去,被取代,在你最关心的人的生活中变得无关紧要?在真实的节日庆典中,这种预期的悲伤令人匪夷所思/麻木/震惊。...在没有水晶球的情况下(我也需要一个水晶球),我认为我们必须利用我们现在所拥有的一切做出最好的决定。我认为我们必须专注于已知的事情来做决定,而不是为了考虑未知的事情而把自己逼疯。我认为我们必须能够对我们能够影响的事情负责,其他的事情就交给我们吧。 阅读更多

 

来自网络

"沟通您的需求和感受。坦诚地说出你的需要和你希望的节日体验。对亲人的行为感到失望或缺乏言语或情感上的支持而憋在心里是没有用的。相反,可以用 "我感觉......"、"如果你能......我会很感激 "或 "当你做......的时候,我觉得.... "等短语,以非防御性的方式谈论你的感受。没有人能读懂你的心。希望配偶或朋友做某事或有某种行为,因为在内心深处你真的希望或需要他们这样做,这是在浪费宝贵的精力。传达你的需求更有效率,也更有可能产生你想要的结果。我们每个人都有自己的应对方式,都有自己希望得到支持的独特愿望。只有表达自己的需求,朋友和家人才能知道如何为您提供最好的支持"。 阅读更多


"在您考虑今年的假期计划时,重要的是要根据自己的年龄、健康状况和医疗条件了解自己的风险水平。我们知道,感染 COVID-19 后患重病的风险会随着年龄的增长而增加。疾病预防控制中心还表示,患有某些疾病的人,包括目前被诊断患有癌症的人,即使已经接种了COVID-19疫苗并接受了强化治疗,仍有可能感染COVID-19。同样,正在接受化疗等会削弱免疫系统的乳腺癌治疗的人也可能仍有感染该病毒的风险。癌症病史是否会增加感染风险,目前还不太清楚,但疾病预防控制中心表示有可能。......最好与您的医生讨论一下您的 COVID-19 风险水平以及您应该继续采取的预防措施,尤其是当您计划与亲朋好友欢聚过节时"。 阅读更多


一位乳腺癌幸存者分享了她在节日前夕被确诊的经历、确保她年幼的儿子在此期间仍然快乐的义务感,以及她在第一年后学到的诀窍。"几个月的化疗和手术让我精疲力竭。感恩节前一天,我接受了最后一次放射治疗。身心俱疲是真实的。我写了一份清单,列出了我通常要做的所有节日事情,从购物到招待客人。这份清单帮助我理清了哪些是我真正想做的,哪些是我必须做的,哪些是我认为压力太大的。...[然后]我做了严格的日程规划。有些事情是必须要做的(比如看病和儿子的假期独奏会)。还有一些是我想做的,能给我带来快乐的事情。...我采取了 "少即是多 "的方法,简单地进行了精简。当需要参加活动或主持活动时,我就少做一些。我意识到,很多人对节日的期望都被他人的期望所包裹。那些东西没必要成为我的期望,所以我就放下了。现在,我可以随心所欲地策划一个适合自己生活的简单节日,这让我感觉很好。 阅读更多


"布兰迪-兰格(Brandie Langer)是一位 35 岁的乳腺癌幸存者,也是三个孩子的母亲,三年前她经历了乳房切除、化疗、放疗和再造手术。人们让我做事或帮忙,我喜欢帮忙,但精力有限。


弗雷德-哈钦森癌症研究中心幸存者计划联合主任弗雷德-哈钦森癌症研究中心幸存者计划联合主任卡伦-西尔亚拉博士说,癌症患者和幸存者面临的最大挑战之一是,我们要考虑的是现在的节日是怎样的,而不是过去或我们心目中的 "节日应该是怎样的"。


她说:"我们很容易陷入'我总是做这些事情'的思维模式。'但是,'幸存者'可以成为一个机会,让你重新思考自己的优先事项,并勇往直前,而不是背负着期望的包袱。这是一个关注节日意义而不是大众消费的机会'"。 阅读更多

最新文章

查看全部

冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

正念促进健康

东部时间 2 月 23 日下午 1:30

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 2 月 16 日上午 10:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

美国东部时间 19 日星期一下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 2 月 27 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 3 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 3 月 5 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 3 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 3 月 12 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 3 月 12 日上午 11:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Breast Cancer and the Holidays

This year continues to fly by, and it’s hard to believe that, for those of us in the US, Thanksgiving is already upon us! From there, we slide into the rush of the various winter holidays, from now through New Year’s Day. They always seem to sneak up on us. While the holidays can be a time of joy, celebration, connection, and rest, for many they can also bring a lot of stress with travel, shopping, family and social commitments. For those with a breast cancer diagnosis, this can be quite daunting.


For so many of us, the holidays are a time to reconnect with family and friends that we might not see as frequently during the rest of the year. While well-meaning, friends and families may question you about your treatment, or recovery process, please recognize that this can be emotionally draining. It’s your own choice as to how much you want to talk about it (or if you want to talk about it at all) and it’s important to set (and stick to) your own boundaries about how much you wish to share.


This year, our collective holiday plans might look different than just a few short years ago. Some might be ready to go all out and “make up for lost time” getting back to the traditions and gatherings we had postponed in 2020. Others might still be wary of travel or large gatherings. Again, it’s important to set your own personal boundaries, and participate in what you feel most comfortable with. There’s no need to run yourself ragged, saying yes to every holiday party invitation. It’s fine to say, “I’d love to see you, but this is such a busy time of year. Let’s meet up in January.”


Below we share several articles on how to take care of yourself during the holiday season so that it really can be “the most wonderful time of the year” for you.



“I think it all hit me when I was mid-air, on an airplane and heading south to visit my family for Thanksgiving. These feelings always come at the most inopportune time don’t they? I was doing what everyone usually does around Thanksgiving:

-My bags were packed,

-I was visiting family,

-The holiday cheer was in the air, and 30,000 feet somewhere over New York, it hit me, ‘I had cancer,’ wait no, ‘I survived cancer!’

As if somehow, I forgot what a tumultuous year I had endured; my hair was growing back, my energy level was increasing, I was back to work etc. I was living the ‘normal life’. But out of the blue, mid-air, I started to panic. My mind started to race and all I could focus on was the millions of ‘what if’ questions." Read More.


“Thanksgiving is about the traditions we’ve formed around the table. This year, I wanted to share some new ideas for how we can celebrate the holidays with a healthy spin as we continue to fuel our bodies and steel them against breast cancer!” Read More.




There isn’t a one-size-fits-all strategy. No matter what your situation, i.e., coming to terms with a recent diagnosis, going through treatment, or trying to adapt to a ‘new normal’, here are a few tips that may help you successfully navigate the holiday season and enjoy it!


Be Kind to Yourself

Accept that things may be different from your past holidays. You may not feel up to some time-honored traditions. That’s okay. Sure, it’s frustrating not to do everything you did before, but try not to beat yourself up about it. You’ve had a challenging time. Be gentle with your post-cancer self.


Communicate Your Needs

Your health comes first. If your breast cancer makes it difficult to plan and implement the things you usually do for the holidays, let your loved ones know. These are people who love you and want the best for you. They will be happy to fill in for you.


Brace Yourself for Crazy Cancer Comments

Patients and survivors can be subjected to stupid cancer comments at any time of the year. Well-meaning friends and relatives may take it to the next level during the holidays. When your distant aunt brings a gift basket of ‘cancer-curing’ treats for you, your first instinct may be to ask her why she isn’t sharing this with the experts at the Mayo Clinic. You will feel much better if you just thank her and move on (trust us on this). Read More.


Abigail shares her experience of having MBC during the holidays. “Since 2017, when I was diagnosed with Stage IV Metastatic Breast Cancer (MBC), I’ve started to see holidays differently. I vividly recall the first celebrations following my diagnosis when I struggled with both wanting to go overboard in making memories and also wanting to simply withdraw from everything. The thought that this holiday, this birthday, this celebration, this time, this will be the last time, is always in the back of my mind. I still find myself staring at the people I love, during holidays or otherwise, trying to memorize their faces, fixing the memories in my brain so … what? So that I will remember after I die? How do you reconcile wanting to celebrate and be present with the very real fear that you will be erased, replaced, become irrelevant in the lives of those you care about the most? This anticipatory grief amongst the very real festivities of the holidays is mind boggling/numbing/blowing. ... Absent a crystal ball (and I need one of those), I think we have to make the best decisions with what we have to work with, right now. I think we have to focus on the knowns to make decisions, not make ourselves crazy with attempting to contemplate the unknowns. I think we have to be able to take responsibility for the things we can influence and just pitch the rest.” Read More.

 

From Around The Web

“Communicate your needs and feelings. Be open about what you need and what you want the holiday experience to be. It is not helpful to hold in feelings of disappointment about a loved one’s behavior or a lack of verbal or emotional support. Instead, talk about your feelings in a non-defensive way using phrases like “I am feeling…,” “I would appreciate it if you could…,” or “When you do…, I feel….” No one can read your mind. Hoping that a spouse or friend will do something or behave a certain way because deep down you really want or need them to is a waste of precious energy. Communicating what you need is more efficient and more likely to yield the results you want. We each have our own way of coping and unique desires about how we would like to be supported. Communicating your needs is the only way friends and family will know how best to support you.” Read More.


“As you consider your holiday plans for this year, it’s important to understand your level of risk based on your age, health, and medical conditions. We know that the risk of severe illness if you get COVID-19 increases with age. The CDC also says that people who have certain medical conditions, including a current cancer diagnosis, may still be at risk for COVID-19 even if they are fully vaccinated and have received a booster. Likewise, people who are receiving breast cancer treatments that can weaken the immune system, such as chemotherapy, also may still be at risk for the virus. It is less clear whether a history of cancer increases your risk, but the CDC says it may. ... It’s a good idea to talk with your doctor about your level of COVID-19 risk and the precautions you should continue taking, especially if you plan to gather with friends and family for the holidays.” Read More.


A breast cancer survivor shares her experience of being diagnosed right before the holiday season, the feeling of obligation to make sure her young son still was happy during this time, and the tips she’s learned after that first year. “I was depleted from several months of chemo and surgeries. I was receiving my last radiation treatment the day before Thanksgiving. The mental and physical exhaustion was real. I wrote out a list of all the holiday things I usually did, from shopping to hosting. Making a list helped me parse out what I really wanted to do, what I had to do, and what I considered too stressful. ... [Then] I did hardcore calendar planning. There were the things that had to happen (medical appointments and my son’s holiday recital, for example). And then there were the things I wanted to do that brought me joy. ... I took the less is more approach and simply pared down. When it came to attending events or hosting, I just did less of all of it. I realized many holiday expectations get wrapped up in the expectations of others. Those things didn’t need to be my expectations, so I let them go. I now feel good about curating a simple holiday season that fits my life as I go.” Read More.


“‘I feel pressure from others and from myself to make Christmas the best for my kids,’ said Brandie Langer, a 35-year-old breast cancer survivor and mother of three who went through mastectomy, chemo, radiation and reconstruction three years ago. ‘People ask me to do things or help out and I love helping, but there’s only so much energy to go around.’


Dr. Karen Syrjala, co-director of the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center Survivorship Program, said one of the biggest challenges for cancer patients and survivors is to think in terms of how the holidays are now as opposed to how they used to be or “should be” in our minds.


‘It’s easy to get caught up in that “I’ve always done these things” mindset,’ she said. ‘But survivorship can be an opportunity to rethink your priorities and go forward rather than carrying around the baggage of expectation. It’s a chance to focus on the meaning of the holiday rather than the mass consumption.’” Read More.

Recent Posts

See All

The Now

Comments


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

The secret Garden

April 22,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

April 23,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

May 6, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

May 7,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

May 13,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

May 14, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

May 14,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events