页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

我的乳腺癌之旅》第三章

作者:扬-希尔曼


我叫 Jan,我的第三次乳腺癌之旅已经开始三个月了。1986 年,34 岁的我首次被诊断出右侧乳房乳腺癌二期。我接受了肿块切除术。11 年后,同一乳房又出现了另一个肿瘤。正电子发射计算机断层扫描发现了第二个肿块,均为二期,我接受了乳房切除和重建手术。 我的人生经历了一段令人惊叹的积极旅程第三章是决定性的一章。


2023 年新的一年开始得很积极。在为 乳房愿望基金会(BWF)--一个位于俄亥俄州西南部的非营利性组织,为乳腺癌患者实现愿望,带来欢乐。下一步就是应邀担任 BWF 董事会主席。


作为董事会成员,我们撸起袖子加油干。我们制定了新的 2023-25 年战略计划,并提出了到 2025 年底实现 500 个愿望的愿景(截至本报告付印时,已实现了 250 个愿望),我们壮大了董事会,筹集了更多资金,并对 BWF 进行了战略性营销。


年初,我感到疲倦,生活乐趣也减少了。我的初级保健医生给我做了血检,结果显示我贫血。她和我讨论了这个问题,并建议我做结肠镜检查和 EDG(胃肠病学家检查食道、胃和十二指肠内壁)检查。我接受了这两项检查并等待结果。


五月中旬的一个星期三晚上、 我接到了我的肠胃病医生塞缪尔博士的电话和消息,这个消息令人震惊、叹为观止,完全出乎我的意料。他试图缓和一下语气,说他有一个坏消息。由于时间的关系和他说话的语气,这句话说得一清二楚。他继续说 "杨,你的胃里有转移性乳腺癌。"等等--什么?塞缪尔医生强调了这一发现的罕见性,以及他和分析活检胃组织的病理学家对这一发现的惊讶程度。他告诉我,他已经联系了一位肿瘤学家 Chamarthy 医生,我们一告别,他就会给我打电话。


我的思绪飞回到 1986 年和 1997 年,当时我被诊断出患有第二期乳腺癌。 所有这些旧的记忆和治疗方法再次浮现、包括 1986 年的肿块切除术和 1997 年的乳房切除术。回到现在...


Chamarthy 医生直接给我打了电话,我们立即安排了预约。我的未婚夫巴里陪我一起去看病,Chamarthy 医生强调说 Chamarthy 医生强调了乳腺癌转移到胃部的罕见性。我们讨论了诊断和治疗方案,决定继续进行其他诊断检查,包括 PET 扫描、CT 扫描、脑磁共振成像、骨活检、骨髓活检和乳腺磁共振成像。乳房核磁共振成像检查传来了好消息:我的乳房没有发现乳腺癌。然而,除了胃部,我的脊柱、肋骨、骨盆、胸骨、骨髓和头骨(非脑部)都发现了转移灶。


在治疗过程中,Chamarthy 医生建议我采用静脉注射紫杉醇的方式进行化疗,并在我的上胸部放置了一个端口,以方便化疗用药和血液检测。


我选择在俄亥俄州大代顿地区的 Premier Health 接受 95% 的医疗服务,其中大部分是在 Upper Valley Medical Center(UVMC)。我选择 UVMC 是因为它离家近,而且、 这里的工作人员富有同情心、关怀备至、技术娴熟、待人友好,每次预约、治疗和手术都让我感到非常舒适。我的医疗团队是一流的,包括护士、医生、技师和所有其他成员在内的每一位成员都不遗余力地为我提供一流的治疗服务。


我是一个机会均等的治疗者并继续 冥想和祈祷,坚持我的 瑜伽伸展运动健康饮食、散步、种花,每周接受灵气疗法和脊椎按摩治疗。来自朋友、家人和陌生人的关爱、祈祷和支持令人震惊。


距离我第一次得知自己患上转移性第三乳腺癌已经过去三个月了。 我每天都过得很充实这意味着我的生活视角始终保持高度集中--宽恕、放下和治愈;不把自己或疾病看得太重;拥有爱、回忆和有意义的生活。 有意义的与家人和朋友共度有爱、有记忆、有意义、欣欣向荣的时光;最大限度地发挥 积极改变的力量这是我经历过的最具挑战性的生活状况。


实际上,这也意味着投入时间、精力和战略,为乳房愿望基金会筹集资金和实现愿望。我的做法是邀请人们了解通过实现愿望为乳腺癌患者带来快乐的力量,并请他们考虑送出快乐的礼物。帮助实现为乳腺癌患者带来快乐的愿望给我带来了无尽的快乐。 快乐是希望之母,也是希望之父。


我对 "乳癌幸存者 "组织的工作表示赞赏!SBC 的使命是让乳腺癌患者及其家人从患癌第一天起就拥有力量,这一使命令人振奋,其核心价值观是正确的,方法是有力的。 为 "乳癌幸存者 "点赞!


谢谢你分享你的故事,简!


了解更多信息:



播客 乳腺癌对话


如何把握复杂时期的应对策略



乳腺癌幸存者网站资源与支持:


提交您的文章: 提交 SBC 博客


762 次查看

最新文章

查看全部

冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

正念促进健康

东部时间 2 月 23 日下午 1:30

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 2 月 16 日上午 10:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

美国东部时间 19 日星期一下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 2 月 27 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 3 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 3 月 5 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 3 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 3 月 12 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 3 月 12 日上午 11:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Chapter Three of My Breast Cancer Journey

By Jan Hillman


My name is Jan and I’m three months into my third breast cancer journey. I was first diagnosed in 1986 at age 34 with stage two breast cancer in my right breast. I was treated with a lumpectomy. Eleven years later, another tumor appeared in the same breast. A PET scan revealed a second mass, both stage two, and I had a mastectomy and reconstruction. My life has been an amazingly positive journey, and this third chapter is a defining one.


The new year of 2023 began positively. After years of volunteering for Breast Wishes Foundation (BWF), a Southwest Ohio-based non-profit organization granting wishes that bring joy to those with breast cancer, it was time for me to take the next step. That next step was answering the invitation to be the chair of the BWF Board.


As Board members, we rolled up our sleeves. With a new 2023-25 Strategic Plan and vision to grant 500 wishes by the end of 2025 (as of this printing, 250 wishes have been granted), we grew our Board, raised more funds, and strategically marketed BWF.


Early in the year, I was feeling fatigued and my joie de vivre had diminished. My primary care provider ordered blood work that revealed that I was anemic. She discussed this with me and recommended that I have a colonoscopy and an EDG, in which a gastroenterologist looks at the lining of the esophagus, stomach, and duodenum. I had both of these procedures and awaited the results.


On a Wednesday evening in mid-May, I received a call and news from my gastroenterologist, Dr. Samuel, which was shocking, breathtaking and completely unexpected. He tried to soften the message by saying that he had bad news. Something about the hour and his tone of voice made that statement clear as glass. He continued to say, “Jan, you have metastatic breast cancer in your stomach.” Wait – what?! Dr. Samuel underscored the rarity of this finding, how it was surprising to him and the pathologist who had analyzed the biopsied stomach tissue. He told me that he had contacted an oncologist, Dr. Chamarthy, who would call me as soon as we said goodbye.


My mind flew back to 1986 and 1997 when I was diagnosed with stage two breast cancer. All those old memories and treatments resurfaced, including the lumpectomy in 1986 and the mastectomy in 1997. Back to the present time…


Dr. Chamarthy called me directly and we scheduled an appointment right away. My fiancé, Barry, accompanied me to my appointment and Dr. Chamarthy underscored the rarity of breast cancer metastasizing to the stomach. We discussed options for diagnosis and treatment and decided to proceed with additional diagnostic testing including PET scan, CT scan, brain MRI, bone biopsy, bone marrow biopsy, and breast MRI. Good news came from the breast MRI; there was no breast cancer found in my breasts. However, beyond my stomach, metastasis was discovered in my spine, rib, pelvis, sternum, bone marrow and skull (not brain).


For my treatment, Dr. Chamarthy recommended chemotherapy in the form of intravenous paclitaxel and I had a port placed in my upper chest to ease chemotherapy administration and blood testing.


By my choice, I am receiving 95% of my health care from Premier Health here in the greater Dayton, Ohio area, with most of that care at Upper Valley Medical Center (UVMC). I chose UVMC because it is close to home and, moreover, the compassionate, caring, skilled staff and their friendliness provide a comfortable feeling at every appointment, treatment and procedure there. My health care team is superb and every member including the nurses, physicians, technologists and all the other members have gone above and beyond to provide me with stellar care aimed at my healing.


I am an equal opportunity healer and have continued to meditate and pray daily, keep up with my yoga and stretching practices, eat healthfully, walk, garden, and have weekly reiki and chiropractic treatments. The outpouring of love, prayers and support from friends, family and complete strangers has been astoundingly beautiful.


It has been three months since I first learned of my metastatic third breast cancer. I’m living each day fully and that means keeping my life perspective in laser focus – forgiving, letting go and healing; not taking myself or my disease too seriously; having loving, memory making, and meaningful, thriving time with family and friends; and maximizing the power of positive change that comes with the most challenging life situation I’ve ever experienced.


In real terms this also means devoting time, energy and strategy to raising funds and granting wishes for Breast Wishes Foundation. My approach is inviting people to learn about the power of bringing joy to those with breast cancer by granting wishes and requesting their consideration to give the gift of joy. Helping grant wishes that bring joy for others with breast cancer is bringing me immeasurable joy. Joy is truly the mother and father of hope.


I commend the work of Surviving Breast Cancer! SBC’s mission to empower those diagnosed with breast cancer and their families from day one and beyond is powerful and uplifting, the core values are right on and the approach is strong. Bravo and kudos to Surviving Breast Cancer!


Thank you for sharing your story, Jan. SBC loves you!


Learn more:



On the Podcast: Breast Cancer Conversations


How to Get a Grip: Coping Strategies for Complicated Times



SurvivingBreastCancer.org Resources & Support:


Submit Your Writing: SBC Blog Submissions


Comments


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

The Caregiver Huddle

Third Tuesday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Pilates

July 19,  10:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

July 15 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

July 22,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

August 5, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

August 13, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

August 13,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

August 20,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page