页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

过量雌激素、基因检测及其他

作者:TJ Hills

我的乳腺癌故事始于大约 15 年前,当时我 42 岁。 当时,我是一个非常忙碌的职业母亲--一个典型的纽约市 A 型职业妇女。


我有 3 个年幼的孩子,我丈夫不停地工作,而我有一家金融咨询公司,每周工作 40-60 个小时。我的工作就是严谨、有条不紊地处理数据和进行研究。这是一项成熟的技能,但我从未在自己身上运用过。


忽视我的健康

在确诊前的 18 个月里,我的月经出血越来越不规律。我的体重不断增加,而且很容易感到疲倦,睡眠也比以往任何时候都多。


我看了几位妇产科医生,试图在出血方面得到一些帮助,但基本上,我忽视了自己的健康,没有花时间去了解我的症状。


2009 年初,我发现自己的乳房有一个肿块。


我的诊断

经过活组织检查,肿块竟然是 第三期,侵袭性雌激素/孕激素受体阳性癌症,即肿瘤学家所说的 "花园式乳腺癌"。这是指雌激素阳性乳腺癌,占所有乳腺癌的 85% 以上。


我顿时惊呆了。


2009 年,在我的大家庭中,我是第一个患上任何形式癌症的人,就像 80% 以上被诊断出患有乳腺癌的女性一样。

我为什么会得癌症,这对我和我的家人来说都是个谜。


早在 2009 年,在一些个性化检测(如 肿瘤原型等个体化检测技术还未广泛应用的 2009 年,如果我顺利完成手术、化疗和放疗,癌症在 5 年内复发的几率为 30%。在我看来,让我的孩子失去母亲是一件非常可怕的事情。我决心从研究技能入手,以某种方式提高这些几率。


雌激素基因检测与疗法

幸运的是,在确诊后不久,我遇到了维尔特曼博士,他是营养基因组学方面的专家。 他是营养基因组学方面的专家,营养基因组学泛指营养素、饮食和基因表达之间的关系。他问我的第一件事就是:"你有过不规则出血吗?我的故事和我的癌症对他来说并不神秘。


相反,他的工作对象是一大群女性退伍军人,她们都有相似的经历,而且癌症在 5 年内复发的几率高达 30%。 他的病人没有一个癌症复发。这是一个成功的案例,我想了解更多。

他给我做了雌激素基因检测 他给我做了雌激素基因测试,结果显示每个基因都受到了损伤,如 CYP1A1、CYP1B1、COMT、MnSOD、GSTP 等基因。


我的身体无法正常排出多余的雌激素。这意味着雌激素可能不会全部从尿液或汗液中排出,而是在体内重新循环,有可能成为有毒物质。对于确诊为雌激素阳性乳腺癌的女性来说,改善雌激素的健康状况并排出多余的雌激素尤为重要。


什么是过量雌激素?它可能是我们中一些人服用了几十年的药物。一开始是避孕药,最后是处方药中的激素替代药丸、药膏或你在全食超市买到的东西。


有些妇女可能会服用克罗米蒂(Clomid)等生育药物,也可能会服用整个试管婴儿周期的药物。


在美国,我们的食物、水、护肤品、洗发水、化妆品,尤其是草坪上,都充斥着模仿雌激素的化学物质。如果您对自己的雌激素健康状况有疑问,请务必咨询您的肿瘤医生。


维尔特曼医生给我开了一些简单的药方从一种名为 Dim-Pro 的补充剂开始,这种补充剂主要是浓缩西兰花、鱼油和维生素 C 等强抗氧化剂。

如果只是

但我一直在想 如果我早点做雌激素基因检测,了解自己一生的雌激素健康状况,我可能就会对避孕药、生育治疗和激素替代疗法等药物做出不同的选择。


如果我早一点了解雌激素基因,我可能就会开始采取补救措施来清除过多的雌激素,也许就能避免患上乳腺癌,或者患上更早或侵袭性更小的癌症。我们仍然不知道为什么有些人一开始就患上了乳腺癌。


如果全世界的女性都能接受这项检测,尽早了解自己一生的雌激素健康状况。


运用我的技能

治疗结束后,我将自己的专业技能运用到自己的癌症治疗中。我研究了很多方案,包括雌激素代谢基因,并决定改善我排出过多雌激素的方式,希望能提高我的癌症几率。


一路走来,我学到了很多关于雌激素的知识,包括雌激素暴露是乳腺癌的主要风险因素。


我还了解到,虽然我的家族没有任何癌症病史,但我发现了雌激素代谢功能障碍的广泛背景。子宫内膜异位症、子宫肌瘤、卵巢囊肿、不孕症、多囊卵巢综合征(PCOS)或严重到需要药物干预的痤疮。除了多囊卵巢综合症之外,我的家族中还有这些疾病的患者。


我为什么要分享我的乳腺癌故事

十多年来,我一直在分享我的故事。我讲述自己的故事是因为事后诸葛亮。我始终相信,如果我当时能静下心来倾听自己身体的声音,早点寻求帮助,我所患的花园式乳腺癌可能会减轻,甚至完全避免。



无论你是被诊断出患有乳腺癌的人,还是正在阅读这篇文章的家人或朋友、我希望我的故事能激励你,让你把健康看得比任何义务都重要。


不要忽视持续存在的医学问题,给自己做一次雌激素基因检测。有些检测公司可能会称之为排毒或荷尔蒙面板。重要的是,您要选择一家包含改善基因表达方案的公司,您将与您的医疗团队一起审查这些方案,以便尽可能地去除多余的雌激素。


了解您的终身雌激素健康状况,做出更健康的决定,并使用简单的补救措施来改善您的雌激素健康状况,如 dim-pro、鱼油和维生素 C,当然,在开始服用任何新药之前,一定要向您的医疗团队咨询。


把花在孩子健康上的时间、金钱和精力花在自己身上。



感谢您允许我们分享您的故事,TJ!SBC 非常喜欢你!


乳腺癌幸存者网站资源与支持:

最新文章

查看全部

冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

正念促进健康

东部时间 2 月 23 日下午 1:30

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 2 月 16 日上午 10:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

美国东部时间 19 日星期一下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 2 月 27 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 3 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 3 月 5 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 3 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 3 月 12 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 3 月 12 日上午 11:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page

Excess Estrogen, Gene Testing, and Beyond

By TJ Hills

My breast cancer story began about 15 years ago, at the age of 42. At that time, I was a very busy working mother- a stereotypical, New York City, Type A professional.


I had 3 young children, my husband worked nonstop, and I had a financial consulting business where I worked about 40-60 hours a week. I got paid to be rigorous and methodical about data and research. It was a well-developed skill that I never once applied to myself.


Ignoring My Health

For the 18 months before my diagnosis, my menstrual bleeding was becoming more and more irregular. I was gaining weight, and I was easily becoming tired and sleeping more than I had ever in my life.


I saw a few OB/GYNs to try to get some help with the bleeding, but basically, I ignored my health and did not take the time to get to the bottom of my symptoms.


In early 2009, I found a lump in my breast.


My Diagnosis

After a biopsy, the lump turned out to be Stage 3, aggressive estrogen/ progesterone receptor positive cancer, or what oncologists call “garden variety breast cancer,” which refers to an estrogen positive breast cancer which is more than 85% of all breast cancers.


I went into a state of shock.


In 2009, I was the first person in my extended family, just like more than 80% of all women diagnosed with breast cancer, to have any form of cancer.

Why I had cancer was a complete mystery to me and my family.


The odds I was given, back in 2009 before some of the individualized testing, like Oncotype was widely in use, was a 30% chance of the cancer coming back within 5 years if I successfully completed surgery, chemo, and radiation. It seemed to me that to leave my children without a mother was a horrible thing to do. I was determined to improve those odds somehow started with using my research skills.


Estrogen Gene Testing and Remedies

Luckily for me, soon after my diagnosis, I met Dr. Veltmann, an expert in nutrigenomics, which is broadly defined as the relationship between nutrients, diet, and gene expression. The very first thing he asked me was, “Have you had any irregular bleeding?” My story and my cancer were not a mystery to him.


On the contrary, he was working with a large group of female military veterans, all of whom had a similar story and a 30% chance of their cancer coming back within 5 years. None of his patients had their cancer come back. That was a success that I wanted to learn more about.

He gave me an estrogen gene test which showed damage on every single gene- genes like CYP1A1, CYP1B1, COMT, MnSOD, GSTP, and others.


My body does not get rid of excess estrogen properly. That means it may not all exit in your urine or sweat and may recirculate in your body, potentially becoming toxic. It is especially important for women diagnosed with estrogen positive breast cancer to improve their estrogen health and get rid of any excess estrogen.


What are excess estrogens? It can be drugs that some of us take for decades. In the beginning, it’s birth control pills, and at the end, it’s hormone replacement pills in a prescription pill or a cream or something you picked up at Whole Foods.


Some women may take fertility medications ranging from Clomid, to a full in vitro fertility cycle.


And in America, we are surrounded by chemicals that mimic estrogen in our food, our water, our skin care, shampoos, cosmetics, and especially on our lawns. If you have questions about your estrogen health, definitely speak with your oncologist.


Dr. Veltman prescribed simple remedies starting with a supplement called Dim-Pro which is essentially concentrated broccoli, Fish Oil, and strong antioxidants like Vitamin C. That’s the regimen that I use to improve how I get rid of excess estrogen.

If Only

But I kept thinking… IF ONLY I had taken an Estrogen Gene test earlier and learned about my lifelong estrogen health, I might have made different choices about drugs like birth control pills, fertility treatments, and hormone replacement therapy.


IF ONLY I had learned about Estrogen Genes earlier, I might have started the remedies to get rid of the excess estrogens and might have prevented my breast cancer or perhaps had an earlier or less aggressive cancer. We still will never know why some of us develop breast cancer in the first place.


IF ONLY every woman everywhere could take this test and learn about her lifelong estrogen health as early as possible.


Applying My Skills

After I finished treatment, I applied my professional skills to my own cancer. I investigated many options, including estrogen metabolism genes and decided to improve how I get rid of excess estrogen, in hopes of improving my cancer odds.


I learned a lot about estrogen along the way, including that estrogen exposures are the primary risk factors for breast cancer.


I also learned that while I didn’t have any cancer history in my family, I discovered an extensive background of estrogen metabolism dysfunction. Endometriosis, fibroid tumors, ovarian cysts, infertility, polycystic ovarian syndrome (PCOS), or acne so severe it required pharmaceutical intervention. Apart from the PCOS, I had every one of these conditions running rampant through my family.


Why I Share My Breast Cancer Story

I have been sharing my story for more than 10 years. I tell my story because hindsight is 20/20. I continue to believe that if I had stopped to listen to my body and I had sought help earlier, my garden variety breast cancer might have been a lesser one or maybe even have been prevented entirely.



Whether you are someone diagnosed with breast cancer or a family member or friend reading this, I hope my story inspires you to take care of your health above any and all obligations.


Don’t ignore an ongoing medical issue and get yourself an estrogen gene test. Some of the testing companies may call it a detoxification or hormone panel. It is important that you choose a company that includes protocols to improve your gene expression that you will review with your healthcare team so you get rid of any excess estrogens as well as possible.


Know your lifelong estrogen health, make healthier decisions, and use the simple remedies to improve your estrogen health like dim-pro, fish oil, and vitamin C, but of course always check with your healthcare team before starting any new medications


Take the same time, money, and energy that you would spend on your children’s health and spend it on yourself.



Thank you for allowing us to share your story, TJ! SBC adores you!


SurvivingBreastCancer.org Resources & Support:

148 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Spanish support group

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

October 2 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

October 3 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga with

Chair assist 

October 10, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Writing Workshop:

Reflect and Recharge

October 16, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Fall into Meditation

October 17  6:40 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong 

October 24, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

November 5, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page