页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

克里斯蒂-孔索


克里斯汀-林恩-"克里斯蒂"-康索(Kristin Lynn "Kristie" Konsoer),51 岁,在罹患乳腺癌九年多之后,于 2021 年 12 月 5 日星期日安详地回到了上帝的怀抱。


我于 1970 年 5 月 30 日出生于麦迪逊,是唐纳德和卡罗尔(克里斯滕森)-康索尔的女儿,在威斯康星州米德尔顿长大。我喜欢周日和奶奶一起去威斯康星州德尔市郊外的农场玩。学校也是我最喜欢的地方之一。我非常喜欢学习,以至于每天回家后我都会在学校玩耍。我终生阅读、写作和学习。


多年来,我有幸走遍了美国各地,并访问了 26 个国家。家庭度假给我留下了许多美好的回忆。迪斯尼世界、国家公园(尤其是黄石公园)以及多尔郡的鱼溪永远留在我的心中。


1988 年从米德尔顿高中毕业后,我进入华盛顿大学麦迪逊分校学习,并于 1993 年获得小学教育学士学位,1999 年获得课程与教学硕士学位。作为波蒂奇社区学区的一员,我在威斯康星州恩德弗市教授了九年的分年级课程。其中有一年,我参加了富布赖特教师交流项目,在苏格兰爱丁堡任教。2002 年,我受聘到米德尔顿-克罗斯平原任教。在我选择提前退休之前,我在西米德尔顿和我的母校榆树草坪任教了 14 年。在我 23 年的教师生涯中,我有幸教过 1-4 年级,大约有 543 名学生。

我喜欢当老师。这是我一直想做的事,也是我多年来一直能做的事。我的一位朋友曾告诉我,我给予学生的技能和能力将伴随他们走出课堂。我希望我在培养能够思考和善待他人的人方面发挥了微薄的作用。


我喜欢大自然,喜欢在树木掩映的小径上漫步。它们给我的心灵带来宁静和活力。华盛顿大学植物园的加勒斯特尔森林(Gallistel Woods)和跋涉到山顶的野鸡分校(Pheasant Branch)都是我最喜欢的放松场所,旅途本身就是目的地的一部分。观鸟是我的另一个爱好。雏鸟、红雀和声音微弱却有力的鹪鹩总能让我会心一笑。


如果不提我对 Badgers 橄榄球队的热爱,那就是我的失职。獾队是非常特别的球迷,就像我的獾队同伴一样。我很幸运能和父亲、母亲以及妹妹一起为球队加油,度过了四十多年的比赛时光。獾队加油


在我身患癌症的这些年里,改变人们对转移性癌症患者的看法对我来说非常重要。越来越多的癌症患者比以往任何时候都活得更坚强、更美好。未来的生活建立在希望、恢复力和积极性之上。我感谢我所得到的每一丝支持,但我认为自己有责任创造一种以生存和茁壮成长为目标的心态。我不会被束缚在医疗时间表的框框里,也不会被别人的期望或告诉我可以或不可以做什么。


如果你是一名癌症患者,请礼貌地向任何妨碍你的人表明,你生活在健康的空间里。你已经超越了医学对你健康的分类,不接受用不健康或诋毁的词语来讨论你的健康。

谢谢。


我希望人们记住我的善良和奉献。有些人可能会因为我的巧克力饼干和巧克力蛋糕而记住我,这很好,也很不错。我想花一点时间说,给予是生活中最真实的乐趣之一。生日收到礼物是传统,但我们中的许多人可能错过了把这一天作为回馈的机会。我的生日是我每年会悄悄捐给对我很重要的慈善机构的日子之一。我想把这个传统传递给任何有需要的人。你来这里是有目的的。


我的父母先我而去,我的姐姐朱莉-阿克曼(Julie (James) Ackerman)以及许多大家庭成员和我深爱的朋友也健在。


我要向大卫-黑(David Hei)医生、卡里-维辛斯基(Kari Wisinski)医生、我的天使护士们以及华盛顿大学卡本癌症中心的全体工作人员表示感谢。我也非常感谢约翰-埃瓦尔特医生(Dr. John Ewalt)和联合医生(Associated Physicians)为我提供了终生的医疗保健服务。


我一生经历了许多事情,其中大部分都是好事。我相信我也会在死亡面前幸存下来。请放心,现在我过得非常非常好。是的,我宁愿留在这里多笑笑,多做点事情,享受生活,但这些事情都留给你们去做,而且要做好。愿上帝保佑你们。


阅读克里斯蒂的文章


在我们的播客 "乳腺癌对话 "中收听克里斯蒂的节目


保持联系

如果您有想要分享的回忆、故事或照片,请发送电子邮件至 info@survivingbreastcancer.org我们将把它添加到本页。

13 条意见

最新文章

查看全部

冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

正念促进健康

东部时间 2 月 23 日下午 1:30

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 2 月 16 日上午 10:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

美国东部时间 19 日星期一下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 2 月 27 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 3 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 3 月 5 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 3 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 3 月 12 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 3 月 12 日上午 11:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page

Kristie Konsoer


Kristin Lynn "Kristie" Konsoer, age 51, peacefully returned home to God on Sunday, Dec. 5, 2021, after living over nine years with breast cancer.


I was born on May 30, 1970, in Madison, the daughter of Donald and Carol (Christensen) Konsoer, and grew up in Middleton, Wis. I loved Sunday visits with grandma on the farm outside of Wisconsin Dells. School was also one of my favorite places. I loved learning so much that I would often play school when I got home each day. I was a lifelong reader, writer, and learner.


Over the years, I was fortunate to have traveled widely throughout the U.S. and visited 26 countries. Family vacations held many favorite memories for me. Disney World, national parks-Yellowstone in particular-and Fish Creek in Door County are forever in my heart.


After graduating from Middleton High School in 1988, I went on to UW-Madison where I received my B.S. in elementary education in 1993, and my M.S. in curriculum and instruction in 1999. As part of the Portage Community School District, I taught split grades for nine years in Endeavor, Wis. One of those years was spent teaching in Edinburgh, Scotland, as part of the Fulbright Teacher Exchange Program. In 2002, I was hired to teach in Middleton-Cross Plains. I taught at West Middleton and my alma mater, Elm Lawn, for 14 years before I needed to choose a very, very early retirement. Over my 23 years as a teacher, I was blessed to teach grades 1-4, and roughly 543 students.

I loved being a teacher. It is what I always wanted to do and thankfully what I was able to do for many years. One of my friends once told me that the skills and abilities I gave my students would stay with them beyond the classroom. I hope I played a small role in forming individuals who can think and be kind to another.


I loved nature and walking on trails shrouded by trees. They offered peace and energy to my soul. Gallistel Woods at the UW Arboretum and making the trek to the top of the hill at Pheasant Branch were favorite places to relax, where the journey itself was every bit a part of the destination. Birdwatching was another favorite hobby of mine. Chickadees, cardinals, and the tiny but strong voiced wren always made me smile.


I would be remiss if I didn't mention my love for Badgers football. Badgers are very special fans, as were my Badgers companions. I was lucky to span over four decades of games cheering on the team with my father, then my mother, and finally my sister. Go Badgers!


Throughout my years living with cancer, it was very important to me to change perceptions about those living with metastatic cancer. More people are living stronger and better than ever before with cancer. Live in a future built on hope, resiliency, and positivity. I appreciated every ounce of support I ever received, but I saw it as my responsibility to create a mindset geared toward surviving and thriving. I was not going to be put in a box of medical timelines and what others expected or told me I could or could not do.


If you are someone reading this who has cancer, politely make it very clear to anyone who gets in your way that you are living in a space of wellness. You have moved beyond the medical classifications of your health and do not accept discussing your health in unhealthy or disparaging terms.

Thank you.


I hope I am remembered as kind and giving. Some may remember me for my chocolate chip cookies and brownies, and that is fine and good. I want to take a moment to say giving is one of the truest joys in life. Whereas it's tradition to receive gifts on your birthday, many of us may be missing the opportunity to take this day as a chance to give back. My birthday was one of a couple days per year that I would quietly donate to a charity that was important to me. I would like to pass this tradition on to whomever it appeals. You are here on purpose.


I am preceded in death by my parents and survived by my sister, Julie (James) Ackerman, as well as many extended family and much-loved friends.


I would like to express my gratitude to Dr. David Hei, Dr. Kari Wisinski, my angel nurses, and the entire staff at the UW Carbone Cancer Center. I am also very thankful to Dr. John Ewalt and Associated Physicians for a lifetime of healthcare.


I survived many things in my life, most of them good. I believe I will also survive my death. Rest assured, right now I'm doing really, really well. Yes, I would rather have stayed here to laugh more, make more of a difference, and enjoy life, but leave all those things for you to do and to do them well. God bless.


Read Kristie's Articles

Empathy and Cancer


Hear Kristie on our Podcast Breast Cancer Conversations

On Empathy & to Withhold Judgement

Stage V Breast Cancer. Living on My Own Terms


Stay in Touch

If you have a memory, story, or photo you'd like to share, please email it to info@survivingbreastcancer.org and we will add it to this page.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Spanish support group

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

October 2 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

October 3 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga with

Chair assist 

October 10, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Writing Workshop:

Reflect and Recharge

October 16, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Fall into Meditation

October 17  6:40 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong 

October 24, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

November 5, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page