页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

同侧乳腺癌:似曾相识的病例


"同侧",由 国家癌症研究所同侧 "的意思是 "在身体的同一侧,与身体的其他结构相同"。的确,同侧乳腺癌是指癌症复发于以前发生过癌症的同一乳房(即在以前发生过肿瘤的同一乳房上长出新的肿瘤)。它与 对侧乳腺癌对侧乳腺癌是指新的肿瘤长在曾患过癌症的对侧乳房。对侧乳腺癌往往是一种全新的癌症表现或转移,而同侧乳腺癌则更为细微。同侧乳腺癌通常起源于 肿块同侧乳腺癌主要是最初癌症的复发。


由于乳腺癌复发是肿块切除术后不希望出现的结果,因此对同侧乳腺癌复发的时间、地点和频率进行了大量研究。在此,我们将向您介绍几项同侧乳腺癌的研究,希望能让您对同侧乳腺癌的相关风险因素以及乳腺癌患者的预后有所了解。

 

这篇文献综述探讨了全球通常在什么情况下进行保乳手术,以及根据之前的研究,为了限制术后并发症(包括同侧乳腺癌复发),应该在什么情况下进行保乳手术。总体而言,研究人员发现,乳房切除术在很多病例中都会被采用,但这并不总是必要的。只有约 20% 的病例存在保乳手术的绝对禁忌症;这些禁忌症包括局部广泛性疾病(大肿瘤)、多发性肿瘤、恶性钙化、晚期疾病、BR-CA1 或其他高风险基因突变患者,以及胸壁照射(广泛炎症)。如果对这些类型的肿瘤进行保乳手术,那么同侧乳腺癌复发的风险会高于平均水平。

 

同侧乳腺癌有两种发病方式,一种是全新的肿瘤,另一种是以前肿瘤的复发。这项研究旨在使用两种不同的分类方法,将同侧乳腺癌病例分为这两种起源之一。总的来说,研究人员发现,在这两种分类方法中,约 50%的病例是新发肿瘤,50%的病例是复发肿瘤。

研究人员得出结论认为,对于同侧乳腺癌新发病例,治疗方法与分类系统有关。他们还发现,对侧乳腺癌发病率的变化趋势与新发肿瘤有关,而全身转移性疾病与复发性肿瘤有关;研究人员总结说,对于同侧乳腺癌新发病例,无论是新发肿瘤还是复发性肿瘤,治疗干预措施都应针对新发肿瘤的来源,以获得更理想的疗效。


 

这项回顾性队列研究跟踪了一系列接受肿块切除术和辅助放射治疗的 0-II 期乳腺癌患者,并评估了他们是否罹患同侧乳腺癌。然后,他们评估了新肿瘤的基因突变一致性;也就是说,他们检查了同侧肿瘤是否与原来切除的肿瘤具有相同的遗传标记物。在某种程度上,这与上述研究类似,都是为了确定新的癌症是否与原来的癌症有任何基因上的关联。然而,与前一项研究不同的是,他们发现最多有

在接受调查的同侧乳腺癌病例中,80%与原发肿瘤有相同的基因突变;特别是雌激素和孕激素受体突变与同侧乳腺癌有显著相关性,而 HER2+ 癌症的风险并没有显著增加。有趣的是,他们还发现那些正在接受 内分泌(激素)有趣的是,他们还发现,接受内分泌(激素)治疗的原发性肿瘤患者和肿瘤较大(大于 1.5 厘米)的患者罹患同侧乳腺癌的几率较低。

 

这项研究的设计与上述研究类似,都是对接受肿块切除术、放射治疗和辅助治疗的乳腺癌妇女进行追踪调查。研究人员发现,研究样本中有 9.7% 患有同侧乳腺癌,其中 62% 的病例发生在术后 5 年内,88% 的病例发生在术后 10 年内。


他们指出,风险因素包括未接受激素治疗,特别是他莫昔芬,以及年龄在 50 岁以下,但这些风险因素在统计学上都不显著。研究人员确实发现,雌激素受体突变与同侧乳腺癌有很大关系,但没有发现与孕激素受体状态有关,似乎也没有研究 HER2 突变状态。

 

那么,这能告诉我们什么呢?


根据目前和以往的研究,关于同侧乳腺癌的共识似乎是,总体而言,肿块切除术后患同侧乳腺癌的几率很小。一些可能进一步降低同侧乳腺癌发病几率的因素包括使用内分泌治疗,如他莫昔芬。不过,在较年轻时接受肿块切除术或具有遗传标记(如雌激素受体或孕酮受体突变)可能会使同侧乳腺癌在未来 10 年内更有可能发生。


但是,这并不是说这些因素的存在与否会决定您肿瘤复发的几率。每种癌症都是独一无二的,无论好坏;肿瘤切除术后长期疗效的最佳预测者将是您的医疗团队,以及作为您自身护理倡导者的您自己。不过,我们希望这些研究能帮助您更好地了解在将同侧乳腺癌视为潜在的长期并发症时,治疗可能带来的风险和益处。

 

如果您有患同侧乳腺癌的经历,并希望分享您的故事,我们很乐意倾听--请在这里告诉我们在这里.如果您正在寻找一个地方,与其他在癌症治疗和康复过程中遇到类似困难的人会面,请尝试加入我们的支持小组 在这里。



评论


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

对于新诊断的患者

美国东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Ipsilateral Breast Cancer: A Case of Deja Vu


“Ipsilateral”, as defined by the National Cancer Institute, means “on the same side of the body as another structure.” True to form, ipsilateral breast cancer is when there is a recurrence of cancer in the same breast as a previous occurrence of cancer (i.e. a new tumor in the same breast there was a former tumor in). It stands opposite to contralateral breast cancer, where a new tumor develops in the opposite breast from where there was a previous cancer. While contralateral breast cancer tends to either be an entirely new manifestation of cancer or a metastasis, ipsilateral breast cancer is more nuanced. Usually originating after a lumpecotmy, or a breast-tissue conserving surgical intervention, ipsilateral breast cancer is predominantly a recurrence of the initial cancer.


Because breast cancer recurrence is an unwanted outcome after lumpectomy, lots of research has been conducted on when, where, and how often ipsilateral breast cancer recurrence occurs. Here, we’ll walk you through a few studies examining ipsilateral breast cancer that will hopefully provide some insight into the risk factors associated with ipsilateral breast cancer, and prognoses of those who experience it.

 

This literature review looks at when breast conserving surgeries are usually done globally, and when, based on prior research, they should be done in order to limit post-operative complications, including ipsilateral breast cancer recurrence. Overall, the researchers find that mastectomy is done in a large number of cases, however, this may not always be necessary. Absolute deal-breakers for breast conserving surgery were noted in only about 20% of cases; these include locally widespread disease (large tumors), multiple tumors, malignant calcifications, late-stage disease, patients with mutations on BR-CA1 or other high-risk genes, and an irradiated thoracic wall (extensive inflammation). If breast-conserving surgery is done on these types of tumors, then the risk of ipsilateral breast cancer recurrence are higher than average.

 

When you have ipsilateral breast cancer, it can arise in one of two ways- as a completely new tumor, or recurrence of a former tumor. This study aimed to categorize ipsilateral breast cancer cases as from one of these two origins using two distinct classification methods. Overall, the researchers found that about 50% of instances were new tumors and 50% were recurrences by both

classification systems. They also found trends in contralateral breast cancer rates associated with new tumors, and that systemic metastatic disease was associated with recurrent tumors; the researchers conclude that for new cases of ipsilateral breast cancer, therapeutic interventions may be targeted towards the origin of the new tumor, whether it is new or recurrent, for more optimal outcomes.


 

This retrospective cohort study followed a series of people being treated for stage 0-II breast cancer with a lumpectomy and adjuvant radiation, and assessed whether or not they developed ipsilateral breast cancer. They then assessed the new tumor for gene mutation concordance; that is, they checked whether or not the ipsilateral cancer had the same genetic markers as the original removed tumor. In a way, this is similar to the above study, in determining whether or not the new cancer is genetically related in any way to the original cancer. However, unlike the previous study, they found that up to

80% of surveyed cases of ipsilateral breast cancer had the same gene mutations as the original tumor; specifically estrogen and progesterone receptor mutations were significantly associated with ipsilateral breast cancer, while HER2+ cancers were not at a significantly increased risk . Interestingly, they also found that those being treated with endocrine (hormone) therapy for their primary tumor and those with larger tumors (greater than 1.5 cm) were less likely to develop ipsilateral breast cancer.

 

This study, similar in design to the above study, followed a cohort of women with breast cancer that were treated with lumpectomy, radiation, and adjuvant therapy. Researchers found that 9.7% of their study sample developed ipsilateral breast cancer, with 62% of cases occurring within 5 years after surgery, and 88% of cases occurring within 10 years of surgery.


They noted that risk factors included not receiving hormone therapy, specifically Tamoxifen, and being under 50 years old, although none of these risk factors were statistically significant. The researchers did find that estrogen receptor mutations were significantly associated with ipsilateral breast cancer, but found no association with progesterone receptor status, and did not appear to examine HER2 mutation status.

 

So, what can this tell us?


Based on current and former research, the consensus on ipsilateral breast cancer seems to be that it is overall a rare outcome following lumpectomy. Some factors that might reduce the chances of developing ipsilateral breast cancer even further include the use of endocrine therapy, such as Tamoxifen. However, undergoing lumpectomy at a younger age or having genetic markers such as estrogen receptor or progesterone receptor mutations might make it more likely that ipsilateral breast cancer occurs up to 10 years in the future.


However, that’s not to say that the presence or absence of these factors will make or break your chances of tumor recurrence. Every cancer is unique, for better or worse; the best predictor of long-term outcomes after lumpectomy will be your medical team, and yourself, as an advocate of your own care. However, we hope that these studies have helped you better understand the possible risks and benefits regarding your treatment when considering ipsilateral breast cancer as a potential long-term complication.

 

If you’ve had experience with ipsilateral breast cancer, and want to share your story, we’d love to hear it- let us know here. And if you’re looking for a place to meet with others facing similar difficulties in cancer treatment and recovery as you are, try joining one of our support groups here.



Comments


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

May 20 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

In Body Breathwork

May 21 ,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Brain Spotting

May 27,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

May 28,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

June 3, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

Jun 4,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

June 10,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

June 11, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

June 11,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page