页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

生活预料到了她的崩溃,但她箭步如飞,坚强地站了起来。

作者:贾伊塔-查特吉



"有时,生活就像弓箭手的弓。它把我们拉回来,让我们可以更有力、更清晰地向前射出。就像箭一样,你被拉回来的越多,你的势能就越大......你的势能越大,你就能走得越远"。

- 拉吉-拉古纳坦博士 如果你这么聪明,为什么不快乐?


我手臂上的箭头纹身让我记住了这句话。


2023年3月19日,星期日。这一天,我被 被诊断出患有乳腺癌.这一天,我的世界发生了改变。无数的 情绪那一天....,而且不是好的那种。但是,我知道我必须勇往直前,坚强地面对生活抛给我的新挑战。


我一直都很注重健康检查。 二月初,我去妇产科做了一年一度的妇检。由于今年我已年满 40 岁,我有资格做第一次乳房 X 光检查。2 月 27 日,我做了第一次乳房 X 光检查。


三月的第一个星期,我收到了一封信,信中说 我在 2 月 27 日进行的乳房 X 光检查发现需要进行补充成像研究、 我需要去复查。当然,我和丈夫立即上网搜索了复检的机会。我们发现,显然很多妇女在第一次做乳房 X 光检查时都会被回调,因为没有基线可以比较,所以这并不是一个真正的问题。因此,我们并没有太在意。


3 月 13 日上午,我们随便去做了复查,即 诊断性乳房 X 光检查和超声波检查。放射科医生在查看了新的图像后说,我需要在当天下午再来做活检,按照他们的标准规程,成像和活检手术之间需要间隔一段时间。


我没有心情吃饭,但还是强迫自己吃了午饭。我再次邀请丈夫和我一起去放射中心做当天的第二次检查。我知道如果我开车,可能会不小心开车,因为所有的事情都太疯狂了,而且他也想和我一起去做活检。 我做了核心针活检并在发现肿瘤的部位放置了一个线圈标记。放射科医生在进针时不小心哼了一声,碰到了一个硬块,我就知道希望不大了。


手术结束后,放射科医生与我和丈夫坐在一起,查看了检查结果。她说她不喜欢看到的结果,我们应该做好心理准备,并给了我们一份当地乳腺外科医生的名单。她让我们等待活检的正式病理结果,但也建议我们开始筛选/联系乳腺外科医生,以便尽快取出癌瘤。整个过程中,我一直在强忍着,但此时此刻、 我感到一滴泪水顺着脸颊流了下来。


接下来的几天过得很模糊。我和丈夫都不是医学专业出身,我没有任何乳腺癌家族史,在我的社交圈里也不认识任何一位患有乳腺癌的女性,因此 我们几乎是癌症盲。我开始研究乳腺癌的一般情况:它的 类型阶段、病因、等级、治疗方案等。我收集了 问题我们的第一次会面。我们还了解了该地区顶尖的乳腺外科医生,缩小了选择范围。我们决定 我们将寻求第二意见来验证我的治疗方案、于是,我就找了两个医生。所有这一切,都是为了让我们的日常生活保持某种正常状态,而不被未知的恐惧所淹没。



有两件事是我一开始就决定要做的,那就是坚强和 对女儿保持透明。 我们 11 岁的女儿是个成熟的孩子。我不想对她隐瞒信息,也不想让她自己上网寻找答案。 我希望她能公开地向我提问;我希望有一个公开的对话;我不希望她把自己的感受和恐惧闷在心里。我想让她知道,我和医生们会尽我们最大的努力来解决这个问题,但同时我也不想让她感到不知所措。我知道,如果我就在她身边,如果我与她分享的信息符合她的年龄特征,她就能处理好这件事。时至今日,我认为这是我做出的两个正确决定。每晚睡前,我们都会有 30-45 分钟的 "母女时间",那是我们谈论生活、一天的经历、感受、梦想......的时间。那是我和她进行透明讨论的时间。我知道她之所以能继续茁壮成长,是因为 她有能力提出问题,并与我坦诚对话,讨论像癌症这样具有破坏性的问题。


2023 年 3 月 19 日,星期日。我们整整一周都在焦急地等待正式的活检结果。就在我们全家外出游玩、吃早点的时候,我接到了放射科医生的电话。我没想到会在周日接到电话......所以我知道结果一定很糟糕。结果确实如此。我的乳腺癌检查结果呈阳性。 我患上了一期浸润性导管癌(IDC)和导管原位癌(DCIS),ER/PR+ HER2-乳腺癌。


自 3 月 19 日以来,我已经预约了乳房外科医生、重建外科医生和肿瘤科医生。我做了核磁共振、血液检查和 CT 扫描。 我做了双侧乳房切除术、前哨节点活检,以及使用组织扩张器的一期重建手术。


5 月 5 日进行乳房切除术后,我收到了病理结果和 Oncotype DX 结果,于 6 月 20 日进行了化疗端口置入手术,并接受了 紫杉醇-环磷酰胺 (TC) 化疗从 6 月 26 日到 8 月 28 日。接下来,我将接受 重建 第二阶段手术(移除扩张器和 DIEP瓣重建)。然后,我将开始接受激素治疗,其中我将服用他莫昔芬五年。



即使是在接受治疗和忍受不良副作用的时候、 癌症也无法泯灭我的愿望,那就是保持积极乐观的心态,对所获得的支持心存感激,享受当下,永不放弃,并想方设法回馈社会。这些天,我发现自己在反思:我要怎么做才能让这个世界变得比我来的时候更好?我要留下什么遗产?我对那些可能没有我这样的特权的人的帮助够不够?我觉得这样的自我反思让我爱上了生活,帮助我更加清晰地认识到自己的人生目标。


我常常忙于琐碎的工作和简单的日常生活,而忽略了一些机会,在这些机会中,我本可以发挥更大的作用,而不仅仅是照顾我的家人和爱人。 我常常沉浸于享受今天的成果,而忘记为未来播下种子。但在确诊后,我现在做的真正让我内心愉悦的事情是写日记/博客、冥想、瑜伽、自然漫步、通过社交媒体分享知识和提高意识,以及倡导乳房X光检查和健康筛查。


我很荣幸被选为十位"2023 希望之脸我很荣幸被美国癌症协会选为 "迈步抗击乳腺癌华盛顿特区行 "活动的十位 "2023 希望之脸 "之一。我打算继续为癌症支持组织筹款,继续为新确诊的癌症患者服务,分享我的心路历程,并继续研究和教育自己。


癌症很可怕,但我更坚强!




与杰伊塔联系




了解更多信息:




播客 乳腺癌对话


DIEP 皮瓣重建--您需要了解的保险代码变更信息






最新文章

查看全部

冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

正念促进健康

东部时间 2 月 23 日下午 1:30

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 2 月 16 日上午 10:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

美国东部时间 19 日星期一下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 2 月 27 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 3 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 3 月 5 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 3 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 3 月 12 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 3 月 12 日上午 11:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Life anticipated her collapse, but she arrowed ahead and stood strong.

By Jayita Chatterjee



“Sometimes life is like an archer’s bow. It pulls us back so we can shoot forward with more force and clarity. And just like an arrow, the more you get pulled back, the more potential energy you have… the more potential energy you have, the farther you can go.”

- Dr. Raj Raghunathan, If You’re So Smart, Why Aren’t You Happy?


The tattoo of an arrow on my arm helps me remember this message.


Sunday, March 19, 2023. It’s the day I got diagnosed with breast cancer. It’s the day when my world changed. A myriad of emotions took over me that day…. and not the good kinds. However, I knew I needed to arrow ahead and stand strong in the face of this new challenge that life tossed my way.


I have always been good about staying on top of health checks. I went in for my annual women’s check with my OBGYN in early February. Since I had turned 40 this year, I qualified to do my first mammogram screening. On February 27 I got my very first mammogram done.


The first week of March, I got a letter in the mail saying that my mammogram performed on February 27 showed a finding that required supplemental imaging studies, such as additional mammographic views or an ultrasound, and that I needed to go in for a retake. Of course, my husband and I immediately Googled the chances of a callback. We found out that apparently a lot of women do get callbacks on their first mammogram, since there is no baseline to compare against; hence it’s not a real concern. As such, we did not make much of it.


On the morning of March 13, we went in casually for the retake, i.e. a diagnostic mammogram and ultrasound. After reviewing the new images, the radiologists said I needed to come back the same afternoon for a biopsy following their standard protocol of time between the imaging and the biopsy procedure.


I was in no mood to eat, but forced myself to have lunch. I asked my husband to join me again for the second visit of the day to the radiology center. I knew I might not be cautious at the wheel if I drove, given all the craziness, and he too wanted to be with me for the biopsy. I had a core needle biopsy done and a coil marker placed at the site of the tumor finding. I knew I did not have much hope when the radiologist accidentally grunted while pushing in the needle and hit a hard mass.


After the procedure, the radiologist sat down with me and my husband and reviewed the findings. She said that she did not like what she was seeing, that we should brace ourselves, and handed us a list of local breast surgeons. She asked us to wait for the official pathological results from the biopsy, but also advised us to start screening/reaching out to breast surgeons so the cancerous tumor could be taken out as soon as possible. This whole time I had been holding strong, but at this point, I felt a lone teardrop stream down one cheek.


The next few days were a blur. My husband and I are not from the medical field, I did not have any family history of breast cancer, I did not know a single woman in my social circle that had breast cancer, hence we were practically cancer-illiterate. I started researching breast cancer in general: its types, stages, causes, grades, treatment options, etc. I gathered my questions for the surgeon for our first meeting. We also looked at top breast surgeons in the area, and we narrowed down our choices. We decided we would seek a second opinion to validate my treatment plan, so I got on the books of two. All this while trying to maintain some form of normalcy in our daily life without being overcome with the fear of the unknown.



Two things that I did decide on at the very onset were to stay strong and to be transparent with my daughter. Our 11-year-old daughter is a mature kid. I did not want to withhold information from her; I did not want her to go online and try to find answers for herself. I wanted her to be able to ask me questions openly; I wanted an open dialogue; I did not want her to bottle up her feelings and her fear. I wanted her to know that the doctors and I would do the best we could to see this through, but at the same time I did not want to overwhelm her. I knew she could handle this if I was right beside her and if I was sharing information with her at a level that was age appropriate. And to this day I think those were two solid decisions I made. We have a ritual of spending about 30-45 minutes of mommy-daughter time before bed every night, and that’s our time to talk about our lives, how our day went, our feelings, our dreams… anything under the sun, basically. That was my time to have those transparent discussions with her. And I know she continues to thrive because she is empowered to ask questions and have an open dialogue with me about something as disruptive as cancer.


Sunday, March 19, 2023. We were anxiously waiting on the official biopsy results the entire week. And while our family was out on a casual drive and grabbing an early dinner, I got a call from my radiologist. I wasn’t expecting a call on a Sunday… so I knew the results had to be bad. And they were. I was positive for breast cancer. I had stage I invasive ductal carcinoma (IDC) and ductal carcinoma in situ (DCIS), ER/PR+ HER2- breast cancer.


Since March 19, I’ve had a slew of doctors’ appointments with breast surgeons, reconstruction surgeons, and oncologists. I’ve had MRIs, blood work, and CT scans. I had a bilateral mastectomy, sentinel node biopsy, and reconstruction phase 1 with tissue expanders.


After my mastectomy on May 5, I received my pathology results and Oncotype DX results, had chemo port placement surgery on June 20, and had Taxotere-cyclophosphamide (TC) chemotherapy from June 26 to August 28. Up next, I have reconstruction phase 2 surgery (removal of expanders and DIEP flap reconstruction). Then I will start hormone therapy, in which I will be taking tamoxifen for five years.



Even while going through treatments and enduring bad side effects, cancer could not take away my desire to stay positive, to be grateful for the support I have, to enjoy the present, to never give up and to find ways to give back. I find myself reflecting these days: What am I doing to leave this world a better place than I came into? What legacy am I going to leave behind? Have I helped others enough who might not have the same privileges as me? I feel that self-reflections like these make me fall in love with life and help me gain more clarity of my life’s purpose.


Often I am so caught up hustling and simply living my everyday life that I fail to recognize opportunities where I could have been of service in a greater capacity than taking care of just my family and loved ones. Often I get so wrapped up in enjoying the fruits of today that I forget to plant seeds for the future. But the things I do now, after my diagnosis, that genuinely make me happy inside are journaling/blogging, meditation, yoga, nature walks, sharing knowledge and awareness through social media, and advocating for mammograms and health screenings.


I am honored to have been chosen as one of the ten “2023 Faces of Hope” for the Making Strides Against Breast Cancer Washington DC Walk by the American Cancer Society. I intend to keep fundraising for cancer support organizations, to keep working with newly diagnosed cancer patients and sharing my journey, and to keep researching and educating myself.


Cancer is tough, but I am tougher!




Connect with Jayita:




Learn More:




On the Podcast: Breast Cancer Conversations


DIEP Flap Reconstruction – What you need to know about Changes in Insurance Codes






Recent Posts

See All

The Now

Comments


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

The secret Garden

April 22,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

April 23,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

May 6, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

May 7,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

May 13,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

May 14, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

May 14,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4