页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

母亲、幸存者和野花

我 39 岁时被诊断出患有乳腺癌--二期浸润癌,49 岁时被诊断出患有乳腺癌--四期转移性乳腺癌。


2010 年 5 月,我的世界被打破了。前一年,我与丈夫离婚,有生以来第一次感到完全自由。我身体健康,喜欢锻炼,大部分时间都吃得很健康。我在科罗拉多州利特尔顿的一家儿科诊所当护士。我的儿子还有几年就高中毕业了。生活很美好。


我有癌症家族史,二十多岁时开始进行自我乳房检查。2010 年 4 月,我摸到乳房上有一个肿块,并在摸到肿块的地方看到了一个酒窝。 作为一名护士,我知道乳腺癌的症状和体征,但出于某种原因,我的大脑不愿意接受这个事实。 回想起来,我觉得自己不可能得乳腺癌,因为我没有医疗保险。离婚后,我负担不起了。


但上帝开辟了一条道路。我获得了科曼基金的资助,这拯救了我的生命。我很幸运,我的团队中有最好的外科医生和肿瘤学家。他们为我提供了做出明智决定所需的所有信息。遗憾的是,我与家人和朋友相隔万里,因此我深深祷告,决定切除乳房。

当我坐在检查台上告诉外科医生我的决定时,我觉得自己很坚强,也很肯定。但他一走出病房,我就崩溃了,哭了起来。这不公平。我曾是那个提高人们对乳腺癌幸存者认识的女孩,而现在我成了那个女孩。具有讽刺意味的是,五年后,我姐姐坚持要我写一本书,详细记录我的心路历程。我犹豫了一下,因为这是我的私事,但她对我说:"这是把荣耀归给上帝"。于是,我自己出版了这本书,"说真的,上帝,我是那个女孩吗?"

写这本书最终成了我的治疗方法。我把所有关于化疗(副作用)的细节和我停止化疗以及停止激素治疗的原因都写了出来。我完成了四轮化疗中的两轮,并在几个月后停用了他莫昔芬。化疗时,我感觉自己心脏病发作,而关于他莫昔芬,我只是不喜欢它的副作用。最后我还是切除了卵巢。


2012 年,我的正电子发射计算机断层扫描结果显示没有问题,于是我搬到了亚特兰大,以便离家人更近一些。我找到了一位肿瘤专家,并于 2015 年获得了 "完全康复 "的许可。我决心好好把握第二次生命的机会。我一边工作,一边前往我旅行清单上的许多地方。因为我非常喜欢旅行,所以我成为了一名旅行护士。 生活再次变得美好!我在达拉斯和图森执行了一项任务。


在图森的时候,我有一种想要换一种方式帮助妇女的感觉。二十年后,我准备离开护理行业,尝试一些新的东西。 


我爱我的家人,但搬回家并不是我人生计划的一部分。我们有我们的计划,上帝也有他的计划。因此,2019 年 9 月,我搬回了莫比尔的家,并于 2020 年 1 月开设了一家绘画工作室 "她的时间"。开画室给我带来的压力救了我的命。我颈部的一个淋巴结开始肿大。这一个症状导致我去看了急诊、初级保健医生、扫描、肿瘤科和活组织检查。结果是,乳腺癌四期。

我已经准备好让上帝带走我。我做不到我不该遭受这一切。我是个好人,这不公平。我的家人非常担心,威胁说如果我不出来,他们就闯进我的公寓。


两周后,我开始化疗。我的新肿瘤医生看过我以前的病历,他已经为我做好了准备。我不能放弃。他很严厉。他告诉我,他可以治疗我,但我必须做好自己的本分。我想看到我未来的孙子,所以我穿上了我的大女孩内裤。


这次我已经做好了应对副作用的准备。我开始每天服用维生素、B 族维生素、原味椰奶酸奶、生蒜,并饮用大量的水。我还进行冥想和瑜伽。


这一次,我很高兴能回家与家人和朋友团聚。我没有按照他们的建议再写一本书,而是决定把这段旅程写成博客。博客的标题是 "她的暂停"。老实说,我相信上帝在图森给我起这个名字的时候,并不是想让我开画室,而是想让我放慢脚步。他想拯救我的生命。


接下来要做什么?我必须完成 6 轮化疗;如果我的扫描结果没有问题,我的肿瘤学家会减少化疗次数。然后每月注射荷尔蒙,直到我的肿瘤学家 "同意 "为止。我已经准备好在神圣的健康中前行,因为我值得拥有最好的。

我专注于治疗我的身体,重获新生!外面的世界很大,需要我去探索。上帝在我出生时就在我身上安排了一项工作,我必须继续我的旅程,实现我的目标。 


我有太多梦想,不能放弃!

最新文章

查看全部

评论


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

新诊断者

东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

发现大脑

东部时间 5 月 27 日下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 5 月 28 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 6 月 3 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 6 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 6 月 10 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 6 月 11 日上午 11:30

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 6 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

发掘机遇

东部时间 6 月 17 日下午 5:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page

Mother, Survivor, and Wildflower

I was 39 when I was diagnosed with breast cancer -Stage II infiltrating carcinoma and 49 with breast cancer -Stage IV metastatic breast cancer.


It was May 2010 when my world was shattered. I had divorced my husband the previous year and felt totally free for the first time in my life. I was healthy, loved to exercise, and was eating healthy on most days. I was working as a nurse in a pediatric office in Littleton, Colorado. My son was a couple of years away from graduating high school. Life was great.


I have a family history of cancer and I started performing self breast exams in my twenties. In April 2010, I felt a lump in my breast and saw a dimple over the spot where I felt the lump. As a nurse, I knew the signs and symptoms of breast cancer, but for some reason my mind wouldn't accept it. As I think back, I felt like I couldn't have breast cancer because I didn't have health insurance. After the divorce, I couldn't afford it.


But God made a way. I qualified for Komen funds, which saved my life. I was blessed to have the best surgeon and oncologist on my team. They gave me all the information I needed to make an informed decision. Sadly, I was miles away from family and friends, so I went into deep prayer and made the decision to have my breasts removed.

As I sat on the exam table and told the surgeon my decision, I felt strong and sure. But as soon as he exited the room, I broke down and cried. It wasn't fair. I was the girl who raised awareness for breast cancer survivors, and now I was that girl. Ironically, five years later, my sister would insist that I write a book detailing my journey. I hesitated in doing so because it was my personal business, but she hit me with, "It's about giving God the glory." So, I self-published the book, "Seriously God, Am I That Girl?"

Writing the book ended up being my therapy. I poured out all the details regarding chemotherapy (its side effects) and my reasons for stopping it and stopping hormone therapy as well. I completed two of the four rounds of chemo and stopped tamoxifen after a few months. On chemo, I felt like I was having a heart attack, and regarding tamoxifen, I just didn't like the side effects. I did end up removing my ovaries.


In 2012, my PET scan was clean, and I moved to Atlanta to be closer to family. I found an oncologist and in 2015 was given the "all clear." I was determined to take advantage of my second chance at life. I worked and traveled to many places that were on my travel list. Since I loved traveling so much, I became a travel nurse. Again, life was great! I took an assignment in Dallas and Tucson.


While in Tucson, I had this feeling of wanting to help women in a different way. I was ready to leave nursing after twenty years and try something new. 


I love my family, but moving back home was not part of my life plan. We have our plans and God has his. So, in September 2019, I moved back home to Mobile and opened a painting studio, Her Timeout, in January 2020. The stress I was under opening this business saved my life. A lymph node in my neck began to swell. This one symptom would lead to an urgent care visit, PCP visit, scans, oncology visit, and a biopsy. The result, stage IV breast cancer.

I was ready for God to take me. I couldn't. I didn't deserve this. I was a good person and this wasn't fair. My family was so concerned that they threatened to come break into my apartment if I didn't come out.


After two weeks, I started chemo. My new oncologist had read my old medical records and he was ready for me. No quitting. He was stern. He told me that he could treat me, but I had to do my part. I wanted to see my future grandchildren, so I put on my big girl panties.


I was ready this time for the side effects. I started taking daily vitamins, B vitamins, plain, coconut milk yogurt, raw garlic, and drinking plenty of water. I meditate and do yoga.


This time around, I'm grateful to be home with family and friends. Instead of writing another book, as they suggested, I decided to blog about this journey. The title, of the blog is "Her Timeout." I honestly believe that when God gave me this name back in Tucson, it was not intended for a painting studio, it was his way of getting my attention to slow down. He was trying to save my life.


What's next? I have to complete 6 rounds of chemo; less if my scan comes back clean, per my oncologist. Then monthly, hormonal injections until my oncologist "says so." I'm ready to walk in divine health because I deserve the best.

I'm focused on healing my body and getting back to life! There's a big world out there to explore. God placed a work in me when I was born, and I must continue my journey to fulfill my purpose. 


I have too many dreams to give up!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Spanish support group

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Journey to the Stars

September  25 1:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong 

September 26, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

October 1, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

October 2 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

October 3 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga with

Chair assist 

October 10, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Writing Workshop:

Reflect and Recharge

October 16, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page