页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

度过治疗和生存期

作者:Briana Rickertsen





当我设想我的第一个结婚纪念日时,我设想的是一边喝着气泡酒,一边探索一个有趣的山城。虽然我最终享受了那杯气泡酒,但我怎么也想不到那会是在我第一个化疗周期结束时 我的第一个化疗周期- 在充满洗手液、口罩和社交疏离的度假期间。


让我们回到 2020 年 5 月。那是 COVID-19 大流行开始的大约六周。我发现我的 乳房组织感觉不对劲.我找不到肿块,但我发现自己觉得我的 右侧乳房的感觉与左侧不同。我注意到白色 T 恤上有一滴血迹,这才意识到血迹来自我的乳头。是的,我上网搜索了这可能是什么。


经过远程医疗预约、诊断性乳房 X 光检查、超声波检查和活组织检查后,我发现我在谷歌上搜索到的信息是真的。2020 年 7 月 1 日,我被诊断出患有浸润性导管癌,时年 35 岁。 35岁.接下来的四周里,我每天都在为化疗做准备,尝试保留生育能力,但都以失败告终。 BRCA2 基因突变- 同时,我还要学习这门新的医学语言。


我的癌症具有侵袭性,治疗也是如此。七月底,我开始了为期 20 周的化疗(阿霉素和细胞毒,然后是紫杉醇)。从确诊那天起,我就知道自己将接受化疗,然后是手术,最后可能是放疗。发现自己有 BRCA2 基因突变让我很震惊,但这最终 这有助于我对手术方案和未来的治疗方法做出必要的决定。我决定在化疗后进行双侧乳房切除术,并在当年晚些时候进行预防性输卵管切除术。


结婚一周年纪念日到来时,我正从第一个化疗周期的艰难日子中走出来。我的体力开始恢复,我能够彻底享受丈夫计划的惊喜假期。虽然我们的结婚誓言更多的是关于冒险和不拒绝购买额外的自行车,但他并不需要更传统的誓言,无论疾病还是健康,他都会陪伴我走过每一步。


有时我觉得,如果让我选择在什么时候被诊断出患有可怕的疾病,那么在癌症大流行期间被诊断出患有癌症将是我的首选。我也有一种相对阴暗的幽默感;当我拿这个问题开玩笑时,讨论的结果并不总是很好。在大多数情况下,每个人都有类似的考虑和限制,我也没有错过国际旅行(我的爱好)。


大流行之初,我丈夫把我的自行车放在训练器上,我加入了 Peloton 应用程序。在上班前,我可以和朋友们一起骑车。 在那段意想不到的、身体上与世隔绝的日子里,这是一种运动和保持联系的绝佳方式。 2020 年 5 月,当我发现自己出现乳房症状时,我每天都在使用 Peloton 应用程序。我喜欢它的多样性,也喜欢每天为自己留出哪怕 10 分钟的时间。


当我被确诊时 我向自己承诺要坚持锻炼。我在 16 个化疗周期、5 次手术(端口置入、双乳房切除、腋窝结节切除、双侧输卵管切除和植入物交换)、5 周放疗以及化疗和手术后意外发现 HER2 后的一年靶向治疗(PHESGO)中骑车、散步、练习瑜伽和力量并冥想。我于 2022 年 1 月结束了积极治疗,截至 2023 年 10 月,我每天都在以某种方式使用该应用程序或自行车。虽然你绝对不需要特定品牌的自行车或跑步机来保持运动习惯,但在放疗期间,我决定在训练器上骑了 300 次之后,是时候买一辆真正的 Peloton 自行车了。


现在,经过一段时间的高强度治疗后,我将更多的时间和精力转向了通过 Instagram 账户 "The Nifty 150 "帮助幸存者实现运动和运动建议。我的 "远大 "目标包括:让癌症幸存者在治疗期间能够免费使用 Peloton 应用程序,在癌症中心提供有针对性的课程、教育和 Peloton 设备(农村地区的幸存者可免费租用)。 锻炼和运动对我的癌症和大流行病经历都有很大的影响。我每天都在不断地了解 治疗期间和治疗后运动的益处因此,我想倡导为幸存者提供更多的运动机会。


我很庆幸在过去的三年里庆祝了更多的周年纪念日。 我很感激能继续活动我的身体,并迫不及待地想知道我们能走到哪一步。






与 Bri 联系




阅读更多




播客 乳腺癌对话


确诊乳腺癌后运动安全吗?



提交您的故事




最新文章

查看全部

现在

候车室

评论


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

对于新诊断的患者

美国东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

东部时间 4 月 22 日下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 4 月 23 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 5 月 6 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 5 月 7 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

美国东部时间 5 月 13 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

美国东部时间 5 月 14 日上午 11:30

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 5 月 14 日下午 6:00

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Moving Through Treatment and Survivorship

By Briana Rickertsen





When I imagined my first wedding anniversary, I envisioned drinking bubbly while exploring a fun mountain town. While I ended up enjoying that bubbly, I could never have imagined it would be at the end of my first chemo cycle – during a staycation filled with hand sanitizer, face masks, and social distancing.


Let’s back it up to May 2020. It was about six weeks into the COVID-19 pandemic. I noticed that my breast tissue felt off. I couldn’t find a lump, but I found myself thinking that my right side felt different than my left. I noticed a drop of blood on a white t-shirt and realized it came from my nipple. And yes, I googled what this could be.


After a telehealth appointment, diagnostic mammogram, ultrasound, and biopsy, I found out that what I had found in my google search was true. I was diagnosed with invasive ductal carcinoma on July 1, 2020 at the age of 35. The next four weeks were a whirlwind of daily appointments to prepare for chemotherapy, a failed attempt at fertility preservation, and the discovery that I had a BRCA2 mutation – all while learning this new medical language.


While my cancer was aggressive, so was the treatment. I began 20 weeks of chemotherapy (Adriamycin and Cytoxan followed by Taxol) at the end of July. I knew from the day of my diagnosis that I would have chemo, followed by surgery and then likely radiation. Finding out I had a BRCA2 mutation was a shock, but ultimately this helped to make necessary decisions about surgery options and future treatment approaches. I decided to have a bilateral mastectomy after chemo, and a preventative oophorectomy later that year.


I was coming out of the rough days of my first chemo cycle when my first wedding anniversary arrived. I had started to pick up energy, and I was able to thoroughly enjoy the surprise staycation my husband planned. While our wedding vows had talked more about adventuring and not saying no to making additional bike purchases, he didn’t need a more traditional vow of sickness or health to be with me every step of the way.


Sometimes I feel as though getting diagnosed with cancer during the height of the pandemic would be my first choice if I had to choose when to get diagnosed with a horrible disease. I also have a relatively dark sense of humor; this discussion has not always landed well when I joke about it. For the most part, everyone was under similar considerations and restrictions, and I wasn’t missing out on international travel (a passion of mine).


At the beginning of the pandemic, my husband set my bike up on a trainer and I joined the Peloton app. I was able to ride with my friends before work and it was a wonderful way to move and stay connected during a really unexpected and physically isolating time. By the time I noticed my breast symptoms in May 2020, I was using the Peloton app every day. I enjoyed the variety and the ability to take even 10 minutes a day for myself.


When I was diagnosed, I made a commitment to myself to keep up my exercise streak. I rode, walked, practiced yoga and strength, and meditated throughout 16 chemo cycles, five surgeries (port placement, double mastectomy, axillary node dissection, bilateral salpingo-oophorectomy, and implant exchange), five weeks of radiation, and one year of targeted treatment (PHESGO) after my surprise HER2 finding post chemo and surgery. I finished active treatment in January 2022 and as of October 2023, I have continued to use the app or bike in some way every day. While you absolutely do not need the specific branded bike or treadmill to maintain an exercise routine, during radiation I decided after 300 rides on a trainer it was time for an actual Peloton bike.


Now that some time has passed since the more intense treatment, I have turned more of my time and energy to help fellow survivors reach exercise and movement recommendations through the Instagram account The Nifty 150. My “think big” goals include being able to have free Peloton app access during treatment for cancer survivors, targeted programming, education, and Peloton equipment in cancer centers (and free rentals for those in rural areas). Exercise and movement were a big part of both my cancer and my pandemic experience. As I continue to learn more every day about the benefits of exercise during and after treatment, I want to advocate for greater accessibility for survivors.


I’m grateful to have now celebrated more anniversaries over the last three years. I appreciate the ability to continue to move my body and can’t wait to see where we can go.






Connect with Bri:




Read More:




On the Podcast: Breast Cancer Conversations


Is it Safe to Exercise After Being Diagnosed with Breast Cancer?



Submit Your Story:




Comments


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

The Caregiver Huddle

Third Tuesday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Pilates

July 19,  10:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

July 15 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

July 22,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

August 5, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

August 13, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

August 13,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

August 20,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page