页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

不一样,但更强大、更聪明。

由 Antje Petershagen 博士撰写


我是 Antje Petershagen 博士。我是一名康复医学专科医生、肿瘤心理学家,也是一名乳腺癌幸存者。


SBC 注:根据 美国社会心理肿瘤学会肿瘤心理学是 "一门癌症专科,主要解决癌症患者及其亲人的各种心理、行为、情感和社会问题"。



Antje Petershagen 博士的艺术作品


从幼年起,疾病就一直伴随着我。在我的记忆中,我的身体没有疤痕。我的腹部有三个疤痕。前两个是 1965 年我三岁时留下的。在做了部分回肠切除术(肠道手术)后,我又因粘连性回肠炎(肠梗阻)而需要做手术。1981 年,我再次出现粘连性回肠炎。1996 年,我又做了回肠部分切除术和粘连性回肠炎手术。我还被诊断出患有盆腔静脉血栓,并继发肺栓塞。在这种情况下,我被诊断出因子 V 突变,并接受了终身抗凝治疗。


因为不知道自己的身体和别人不一样,所以我从来没有感觉到真正的不舒服。 作为一个小女孩,我认为这是一个 "正常 "的身体。由于肠道问题和腹泻,我的身体出现了很多问题,但我从未因此而放弃参加任何冒险活动。


小时候,我因为身上的伤疤(孩子们可能很残忍)而被人欺负,而且我非常瘦。体重增加是个问题,因为我的童年和少年时代大部分时间都是在浴室里度过的。我很害羞,年少时住院、见不到父母、不了解发生了什么,这些都在我的心灵深处留下了伤痕。在那段时期,我和我的父母都没有心理支持。


成年初期,尽管我身患多种疾病,但我感觉还不错。我完成了大学学业、医学院学业,甚至完成了为期 5 年的实习。不知为何,我的生命力很顽强,我知道如何应对疾病。


2012 年,我被诊断出患有乳腺癌,这是一项挑战。 从 50 岁开始,我就一直去看妇科医生,接受癌症筛查。这一次,我没有任何症状,但我感觉到内心的召唤,一定要去做筛查。诊断过程包括人工检查、超声波检查、乳房 X 光检查和真空辅助核心活检。我被诊断为高中度分化的 浸润性导管癌和高中度分化导管原位癌 (DCIS),均位于左侧乳房。


随后,我接受了手术,切除了癌细胞和周围的一些乳腺组织。组织切除后,通过组织学检查来确定周围组织是否无癌。手术两次都没有达到无癌状态。不过,淋巴结没有受到影响,也没有发现转移。


因为手术不成功、我决定进行单侧左乳房切除术。我决定同时进行整形手术。我从未后悔过这个决定。无需化疗或放疗。


五年来,我一直在服用他莫昔芬,这是一种抗荷尔蒙疗法。因为我被检测出激素受体阳性。2014 年,我被诊断出右侧乳房有肿瘤。幸运的是,这是一个良性肿瘤,叫做纤维腺瘤,我通过手术切除了它。


后来,当我开始接受教育,准备成为一名肿瘤心理医生时,我惊讶地发现,在我参加的癌症小组中,有很多人都表达了焦虑。癌症是我们的主题。我们学习了很多理论知识,但与真正的病人见面对我们来说是一个挑战。


我们遇到了一位年轻的病人,她向我们讲述了她的故事,她从未有过青少年的生活,而是在医院里住了几个月。几周后,当我们接到她去世的通知时,大家都很震惊。


作为一名乳腺癌幸存者,我能够与病人产生共鸣,对他们的恐惧、焦虑、反应和评论感同身受,甚至对他们不再继续治疗的想法也感同身受。我的同事们并不容易接受,因为他们往往无法理解病人的心态。他们必须学会换位思考,尊重病人的决定,并找到与他们展开健康对话的技巧。


我们接受了以下方面的强化培训 如何告诉别人自己的诊断结果以及如何保持冷静和支持。这就是我的力量所在。我知道焦虑会变得多么巨大,多么容易出现--意料之外、难以承受--以及坦然面对情绪是多么重要、 而不是用 "你很坚强 "和 "你只需要保持乐观 "这样的措辞。这样的评论根本无济于事。


积极参加乳腺癌互助小组让我有机会运用自己的经验。我可以从三个角度来看待这个话题:作为一名肿瘤心理学家、一名医生和一名患者。这是支持乳腺癌患者经历从诊断到康复这一艰难过程的完美经历。


确诊癌症意味着开始新的生活; 无法回到以前的生活. 癌症为我提供了一个改变生活的巨大机会。 如果没有癌症,我就不会找到离开舒适区、超越内心限制的动力。癌症让我变得比以前更坚强。自2012年确诊癌症以来,我变得更有创造力了。在癌症后的生活中,我减少了工作时间,并开始写一本关于我的心路历程的书,这本书是我自己出版的。


我还做了自己一直想做的事:画画。艺术在我的生命中一直很重要,但在我被诊断出患有乳腺癌之后,我爱上了 水彩画。.慢慢地,我开始公开展示我的艺术作品。多年来,我成为了一名知名艺术家,并在多个展览中展出了自己的作品。


我开始独自在印度旅行,雇了一名司机,探索印度。最重要的是,我花了很多时间研究印度哲学。我在一个修行院里度过了一段时间,并潜心于冥想和瑜伽练习。最终,我完成了 700 多个小时的瑜伽教师培训,并获得了德国帕绍克里亚瑜伽中心颁发的证书。我还为希望成为瑜伽教师的学生教授医学知识。去年,我决定参加一个导师项目,以拓展我作为教练和心理肿瘤学家的工作。 癌症是一个巨大的机会,让我改变了自己的生活,过上了我一直想要的生活。


我不会做过头的事情;我谨慎地选择我想做的事情,我学会了 "不 "是一个答案。我现在的重点是成为乳腺癌患者的导师和教练,通过艺术来表达自己,并在我的工作坊中将艺术作为一种工具。我花了很多年才讲出我的故事,公开我生活中与乳腺癌有关的部分。但重要的是,要分享我的经历、我的故事,支持女性,大声说出疾病及其对我生活的深刻影响。


当一个人罹患乳腺癌后,她就不再是以前的她了。 但我们都会变得更坚强、更有智慧。



了解更多信息:



感谢您分享您的故事,Antje。SBC 爱你!


乳腺癌幸存者网站资源与支持:



237 观点

最新文章

查看全部

1 条评论


琐事
琐事
扬21, 2023

感谢您分享您的心路历程,以及  您的智慧 💟

喜欢

冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

护理人员聚会

第三个星期二

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

新诊断者

东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 7 月 19 日上午 10:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

发掘机遇

东部时间 7 月 15 日下午 5:30

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 7 月 22 日下午 6:00

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 8 月 5 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 8 月 13 日上午 11:30

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 8 月 13 日下午 6:00

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 8 月 20 日下午 6:00

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Not the Same, But Stronger and Wiser.

By Dr. Antje Petershagen


My name is Dr. Antje Petershagen. I am a doctor specializing in rehabilitative medicine, a psycho-oncologist, and a breast cancer survivor.


SBC note: According to the American Psychosocial Oncology Society, psycho-oncology is “a cancer specialty that addresses the variety of psychological, behavioral, emotional and social issues that arise for cancer patients and their loved ones.”



Art by Dr. Antje Petershagen


Illness has accompanied me since early childhood. I cannot remember my body without scars. I have three abdominal scars. The first two I got in 1965, when I was three years old. After a partial ileum resection (intestinal surgery), I needed additional surgeries for adhesive ileus (bowel obstructions). I had adhesive ileus again in 1981. I had additional partial ileum resection and surgery for adhesive ileus in 1996. I have also been diagnosed with pelvic vein thrombosis with subsequent pulmonary emboli. In this context, a factor V mutation was diagnosed, with lifelong anticoagulation therapy.


Since not knowing my body was different from others, I never felt really ill. As a little girl, I thought, this is a “normal” body. I worked around many physical problems due to my intestinal issues and diarrhea, but I never held myself back from participating in any adventure.


As a child, I was bullied because of my scars (kids can be cruel), and I was very skinny. Gaining weight was a problem since I spent most of my childhood and teenage years in the bathroom. I was shy and the time being hospitalized at a young age, not seeing my parents, not understanding what was going on, left scars in my soul. In these times there was no psychological support, neither for me nor my parents.


In early adulthood, despite my additional illnesses, I felt pretty good. I finished my university education, medical school, and even my 5-year internship. Somehow, I am resilient and I know how to cope with illness.


In 2012, I was diagnosed with breast cancer, and it was a challenge. I had been seeing my gynecologist for cancer screenings since I was 50. This time, I’d had no symptoms but I felt an inner call to go for the screening. The diagnosis process involved a manual exam, ultrasound, mammogram, and a vacuum-assisted core biopsy. I was diagnosed with highly-moderately differentiated invasive ductal carcinoma and highly to moderately differentiated ductal carcinoma in situ (DCIS), both in the left breast.


I proceeded to have surgery to remove the cancer and some surrounding breast tissue. After tissue removal, histology was used to determine whether the surrounding tissue was cancer-free. Twice, surgery did not achieve cancer-free status. However, the lymph nodes were not affected and no metastases were detected.


Because the operations were not successful, I decided to have a single left mastectomy. I decided to have reconstructive plastic surgery at the same time. I never regretted this decision. No chemotherapy or radiation was needed.


For five years I was on Tamoxifen, an anti-hormonal therapy since I was tested to be hormone receptor positive. In 2014, I was diagnosed with a tumor in the right breast. Luckily it was a benign tumor, called a fibroadenoma, which I had removed surgically.


Later, when I started my education to become a psycho-oncologist, I was surprised how much anxiety was expressed in the cancer groups I participated in. Cancer was our topic. We studied so much theory, but meeting the real patients was a challenge for us.


We met a young patient who told us her story, never being able to have the life of a teenager, but instead spending months in hospitals. When we got the notice that she died some weeks later, the group was shocked.


As a breast cancer survivor, I could relate to patients, empathize with their fears, anxieties, their reactions and comments, and even their thoughts on not continuing with therapy. My colleagues did not take it easily, as they often could not understand the mindset. They had to learn to be empathic, to respect a patient’s decision, and to find skills to open up a healthy dialogue with them.


We had intensive training on how to tell someone their diagnosis, and how to stay calm and yet supportive. And here is my strength. I do know how huge anxiety can become, how easily it can arise—unexpected and overwhelming—and how important it is to be open to the emotions, instead of using phrases like, “You are strong” and “You just have to stay positive.” Comments like this do not help at all.


Being active in breast cancer support groups gave me the chance to apply my very own experiences. I have three perspectives to look at the topic: as a psycho-oncologist, a doctor, and a patient. It is the perfect experience to support breast cancer patients going through this difficult process, from diagnosis and beyond.


Getting diagnosed with cancer means starting a new life; there is no return to the life before. Cancer provided a huge opportunity to change my life. Without cancer I would not have found the motivation to leave my comfort zone, to go beyond inner limitations. Cancer made me so much stronger than before. I’ve gotten more creative since my diagnosis in 2012. In my life after cancer, I reduced my working hours and started writing a book about my journey, which I self published.


I also did what I always wanted to do: paint. Art was always important in my life, but I fell in love with watercolor painting after being diagnosed with breast cancer. Slowly, I started to show my art in public. Over the years I became an established artist and showed my work in several exhibitions.


I started traveling as a solo traveler in India, hiring a driver and exploring India. And most importantly, I spent a lot of time studying Indian philosophy. I spent time in an ashram and dived deep into my meditation and yoga practice. Ultimately, I completed over 700 hours of yoga teacher training and received my certificate from the Kriya Yoga Center in Passau, Germany. I also teach medicine for students wanting to become yoga teachers. Last year I decided to participate in a mentor program to expand my work as a coach and psycho-oncologist. Cancer was a huge chance for changing my life to the life I always wanted.


I don’t overdo things; I choose carefully what I want to do and I learned that “no” is an answer. My focus is now on being a mentor and coach for breast cancer patients, expressing myself through my art, and using art as a tool in my workshops. It took me years to tell my story and to open up about the breast cancer part of my life. But it is important to share my experiences, my story, to support women, and to speak out loud about the illness and its deep effect on my life.


When someone goes through breast cancer, they are not the same person as before. But we are all stronger and wiser.



Learn more:



Thank you for sharing your story, Antje. SBC loves you!


SurvivingBreastCancer.org Resources & Support:



Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


debialdo
debialdo
Jan 21, 2023

Thank you for sharing your journey, and your wisdom 💟

Like

Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

The Caregiver Huddle

Third Tuesday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Pilates

June 14,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

June 17 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

The Sun's Embrace: A Summer Solstice Meditation

June 21,  11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

June 25,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

July 1, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

July 2,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

July 9, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

July 9,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

July 22,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page