页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

对抗 2 期浸润性乳腺管癌

2016年11月15日,我做了一年一度的乳房X光检查,这是我40岁以后每年都要做的检查。我还记得2013年做完乳房X光检查后,我接到电话说需要再来做右侧乳房超声波检查,当时我的心一下子就放了下来。结果他们看到的只是一个小囊肿,完全不用担心。因此,当我在2016年做完乳房X光检查后接到类似的电话,说我的左侧乳房需要进一步检查时,我很不以为然,几乎过了两周才打电话预约必要的检查时间。


2016 年 12 月 22 日,在我 46 岁生日几周后,我回到医院进行了额外的检查;乳房 X 光检查左侧乳房的压缩视图,以及超声波检查。躺在超声波室的桌子上,我摆好姿势,露出左侧乳房,左臂举过头顶,技师正在做她的工作。我看着她测量她在屏幕上看到的东西。她做完后说:"保持同样的姿势。我马上就回来。她带着一位男医生回来了,他告诉我左侧乳房有肿块,需要做活检。 


我不解地问:'那么,这与三年前我右侧乳房的囊肿不同吗? 


他很快回答说:"这是完全不同的东西"。他接着解释了针刺活检的过程。他说,除了扎针麻痹部位外,我应该不会有任何感觉。接下来,他们让我穿好衣服,把我带到 "静室",让一位名叫凡妮莎的非常和蔼的女士轻声告诉我不要担心,90% 的情况下都不会有什么问题。我在想,'好吧,瓦妮莎,也许不是癌症,但很明显是某种东西,否则我就不会和你一起坐在这间安静的房间里了,这样你就能确保我理解医生告诉我的话了'。活组织检查安排在 2017 年 1 月 9 日。


活检日终于到了。我一点也不紧张或焦虑。我很平静。我穿好衣服,化好妆,拍了一张自拍照,发给我的家人,并开玩笑说,我必须确保自己看起来最漂亮,以防医生或参与手术的人是一个性感、单身、高大的基督徒。我想,他应该已经看到了我的胸部,这或许可以算作第一次约会。但运气不佳。那天我学会了永远不要让男人告诉我什么会伤害或不会伤害我的女性部位。对我左侧乳房的攻击,他们称之为针刺活检,比描述的要痛苦得多。检查结束后,我被告知医生会在 72 小时内给我结果。


1 月 10 日,也就是第二天,我接到了医生护士的电话,她告诉我医生希望我到办公室一趟,以便他当天能和我谈谈。我一个人去了,因为我知道检查结果一定是癌症。那天,我被确诊为浸润性导管癌。医生仔细地向我解释,我的新 "团队成员 "将是乳腺外科医生和肿瘤医生,他们将开始 "分期 "过程,这需要更多的诊断测试。


经过大量的检查、扫描和医生预约。最后确定我左侧乳房的肿瘤只差 0.3 厘米就到了二期。在与我的乳腺外科医生进行了长时间的心灵沟通后,我和她一致认为肿块切除术对我来说是个不错的选择。她解释说,她还将切除两个淋巴结,以确定癌症没有扩散。2017年1月30日,当我被推进手术室时,我祈祷道:'上帝,我不想从这次手术中醒来。我厌倦了战斗。2011年2月2日,我因中风而需要接受大量的物理、职业、语言和言语治疗,之后我花了五年时间恢复和适应我的新常态。


从我被诊断出乳腺癌那天起,到我被推进手术室的那一刻,我从未害怕过死于乳腺癌。我害怕的是如何度过乳腺癌期。就在麻醉开始之前,我听到自己的灵魂在轻轻地说:"如果你答应醒来,我就答应带你度过难关"。


病理报告结果显示,我的肿瘤属于高级别,ER+。我的乳腺外科医生和肿瘤学家希望我能够在术后四周绕过化疗,开始放疗。然而,我的 Oncotype 检测结果表明,化疗也将是我治疗计划的一部分。那天,我哭了。 


整整一年,我完成了我现在称之为 "2017 年乳腺癌世界之旅 "的活动。一路上我遇到了很多了不起的人,我的医疗团队已经成为了我的家人。我接受了六个月的化疗、七周的放疗,医生给我开了五年的阿那曲唑。化疗和我想象的一样艰难。放射治疗虽然不具侵入性,但却让我感觉像得了类固醇流感。更不用说在治疗的最后一周出现的疼痛烧伤了。2019 年 1 月 12 日,我再次中风。虽然比 2011 年的第一次要轻微,但我还是立即停用了阿那曲唑,因为这有中风的风险。

两年半后,我不敢说自己是乳腺癌 "幸存者"。对于我们所有人来说,"勇士 "这个词似乎更好,因为我们每天都要站起来,与我们眼睛看不见、但知道潜伏在暗处的敌人战斗。我发现,从如此顽固的疾病及其治疗中康复和痊愈是一个终生的过程。每天早上睁开眼睛,我都非常庆幸自己醒了过来!

最新文章

查看全部

现在

候车室

评论


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

对于新诊断的患者

美国东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

东部时间 4 月 22 日下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 4 月 23 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 5 月 6 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 5 月 7 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

美国东部时间 5 月 13 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

美国东部时间 5 月 14 日上午 11:30

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 5 月 14 日下午 6:00

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Fighting Stage 2 Invasive Ductal Carcinoma

On November 15, 2016 I had my annual mammogram, which I have had every year since I turned 40. After my mammogram in 2013 I remember how my heart dropped when I got a call saying I needed to come back for an ultrasound of my right breast. What they saw turned out to be a small cyst, absolutely nothing to worry about. So, when I received a similar phone call after my 2016 mammogram about something that needed to be examined further in my left breast, I was so unconcerned it was almost two weeks before I called to schedule the necessary appointment.


On December 22, 2016, a few weeks after my 46th birthday, I returned for the additional testing; mammogram compression views of my left breast, and an ultrasound. Lying on the table in the ultrasound room, I assumed the position with my left breast exposed and my left arm above my head as the technician did her thing. I watched as she measured something she saw on the screen. When she finished she said, "Stay in the same position. I'll be right back." She returned with a male doctor who told me I had a mass in my left breast that would require a biopsy. 


Baffled, I asked, 'So, this is something different than the cyst that was seen in my right breast 3 years ago?' 


He quickly responded, "This is something completely different." Then proceeded to explain what the needle biopsy would be like. He said other than a needle stick to numb the area I shouldn't feel anything. Next, they allowed me to get dressed and took me to the "quiet room" so a very nice woman named Vanessa could softly tell me not to worry and that 90% of the time it turns out to be nothing. I'm thinking, 'Well Vanessa, it may not be cancer, but it is obviously SOMETHING or I wouldn't be sitting here in the quiet room with you so you can make sure I understand what the doctor told me." The biopsy was scheduled on January 9, 2017.


Biopsy day finally arrived. I was not nervous or anxious at all. I was at peace. I got dressed, put on make-up, took a selfie, sent it to my family and joked that I had to make sure I looked my best just in case the doctor or someone involved with the procedure was a hot, single, tall, Christian man. I figured he would've already seen my boobs, which may qualify as a first date. No such luck. That day I learned to never let a man tell me what will or won't hurt my lady parts. The assault on my left breast that they called a needle biopsy was far more painful than described. When it was over I was told my doctor should have the results within 72 hours.


On January 10th, the very next day, I got a call from my doctor's nurse who told me my doctor would like me to come into the office so he could talk to me that day. I went alone, knowing the results must be cancer. That day, I was diagnosed with invasive ductal carcinoma. My doctor carefully explained my new "team members" would be a breast surgeon and an oncologist who would begin the process of "staging," which would require more diagnostic testing.


After the overwhelming amount of tests, scans, and doctor appointments. It was determined the tumor in my left breast was just shy of stage 2 by 0.3 centimeters. After a long heart to heart with my breast surgeon, she and I agreed a lumpectomy was a good option for me. She explained she would also remove two lymph nodes to be certain the cancer had not spread. On January 30, 2017, as I was being wheeled into surgery, I prayed, ‘God, I don’t want to wake up from this surgery. I’m tired of fighting.’ I had just spent five years recovering and adjusting to my new normal after suffering a stroke on February 2, 2011, which required extensive physical, occupational, and speech and language therapies.


From the day I received my breast cancer diagnosis to the moment I was being wheeled into surgery, I was never afraid of dying from breast cancer. I was afraid of what it would take to live through breast cancer. Just before the anesthesia kicked in, I heard softly in my spirit, “If you promise to wake up, I promise to carry you through.”


The results of the pathology report indicated my tumor was high grade, ER+. My breast surgeon and oncologist hoped I would be able to bypass chemotherapy and begin radiation four weeks after surgery. However, the results from my Oncotype Test determined chemotherapy would also be a part of my treatment plan. That day, I cried. 


For the entire year, I would go on to complete what I now call my, “Breast Cancer World Tour 2017.” I met some amazing people along the way and have a medical team that has become family to me. I did six months of chemotherapy, seven weeks of radiation, and was prescribed Anastrozole to take for five years. Chemotherapy was as hard as I thought it would be. Radiation, though not invasive, left me feeling like I had the flu on steroids. Not to mention the painful burns that occurred during the last week of treatments. On January 12, 2019 I suffered another stroke. Though milder than the first in 2011, I was taken off of the Anastrozole immediately, because of the associated risk of stroke.

Two and half years later, I don’t know that I would say I am a breast cancer “survivor.” Warrior, seems a much better word for all of us that get up each day and fight an enemy we cannot see with our eyes, but know is lurking in the shadows. I’ve discovered recovery and healing from such a viscous disease and its treatments is a lifetime process. Each morning that I open my eyes, I am so very grateful that I woke up!

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

May 20 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

In Body Breathwork

May 21 ,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Brain Spotting

May 27,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

May 28,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

June 3, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

Jun 4,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

June 10,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

June 11, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

June 11,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page