页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

优先考虑自己

作者:丹妮尔-勃兰特


我从未想过 一个33岁的每周 每周 6 天的 CrossFit并且 每月进行乳房检查没有 没有家族病史被诊断为乳腺癌第二期.发现肿块的前一天,我正在伯克希尔(Berkshires)雪地健行,享受生活,只记得 我的运动胸罩一直刺激着我的左侧乳房就这样。直到那个星期天(情人节)晚上回到家,我才感觉到一个 硬硬的小肿块 摸不出来。


看着妈妈与结肠癌作斗争,我和姐妹们一直都非常重视自己的健康,周一一早,我就打电话预约了主治医生。我所在的医院是一家教学医院,一位住院医师对我进行了初步检查,并请执业护士进来与我分享她的想法。她不喜欢这种感觉,而且知道我从未有过孩子或怀孕过,这让她更加担心。 她要求当天下午赶紧做乳房 X 光检查和超声波检查。


当我在候诊室等待乳房 X 光检查时 乳房 X 光检查我只记得当时我环顾了一下房间里各个年龄段的妇女,想知道她们的故事是什么。乳房 X 光检查没有疼痛感,然后是我的 超声波检查.我感觉心跳加速,快要跳出胸腔。我一直看着监视器,想知道情况是否严重。技术人员完成了我的扫描,说放射科医生只需要检查一下,因为这是例行检查。


这不是例行检查又是一位医科学生先来,她再次扫描了我的胸部,并在重复扫描前与放射科医生进行了交谈。就在那一刻,她告诉我 由于他们看到的所有钙化,90% 的可能性是癌症。.


说我当时一团糟是轻描淡写,但在目睹了我母亲经历癌症之后,我知道自己需要什么。


不知怎的 我找回了自己的声音,要求当天进行活组织检查并解释说我的祖母前一天刚刚去世,周三我就要去纽约参加她的葬礼。那个星期三也是我妈妈去世 7 周年纪念日。


放射科医生非常出色我还见到了我的乳腺外科医生(当时我还不知道她是谁,因为我完全惊呆了)。见到乳腺外科医生后,他们把我安排在一个房间里等待活检,我给丈夫打了电话,整个人都崩溃了。此时,Covid 仍然非常活跃,他们不喜欢访客或配偶与你在一起,但护士允许我丈夫与我见面。


当我们走出医院时,我唯一能说的就是 "我不想死"我一直认为,如果我得了大 "C",我不会马上告诉任何人,我会给自己一些时间来处理,但问题是我会让我的家人处于危险之中。在回家的路上,我决定让我的同卵双胞胎妹妹建立一个家庭放大电话,我告诉了我的姐姐、爸爸、叔叔和阿姨。如果我的 基因突变就意味着我的双胞胎妹妹也有百分之百的可能患上癌症。


通过告诉我的家人,我的姐妹们和我的表妹一起接受了检查。

2 月 17 日星期三,我爸爸和妹妹飞过来,我们一起开车去参加奶奶的葬礼,也是在那天 也是在那天,我得到了活组织检查结果,证实我患上了癌症。


我的癌症是 ER+、PR+ 和 Her2-,细胞等级为 3 级,没有基因突变。 我再次与我的乳腺外科医生面谈,告诉她我想做 双乳切除术这对我来说根本不是问题。我只是想让我的乳房消失,因为它们正试图杀死我。我非常喜欢我的乳腺外科医生,现在是时候组建我的团队了。我最初见了一位肿瘤学家,但我觉得她很冷漠,并没有和她建立真正的联系。住在波士顿让我有机会接触到全国最顶尖的医院,我得到了多个第二意见,以确保我的乳腺癌治疗是成功的。 我听取了多位专家的意见,以确保我对自己的计划和团队感到满意。就在这时,我研究并要求肿瘤科主任担任我的肿瘤医生,我的整形外科医生也被选中。


让医生团队和他们的治疗计划让您感到舒适是非常重要的。 我的整形外科医生在我 38 岁时被诊断出患有结肠癌,他理解我的恐惧,这让我觉得我的想法被倾听了。 这让我感觉自己的心声被听到了。


我的乳房外科医生和整形外科医生告诉我,由于日程安排问题,我还需要一个月才能进行双乳切除手术,但我只想让我的乳房消失,接下来的一周,我每天都会打电话给他们的两位管理员,询问是否有取消手术的情况。


那天是星期五,我正在接一个工作电话。 我接到了整形外科医生管理员的电话他们说 3 月 10 日(下周二)的手术要取消,问我这是不是太快了,我回答说绝对不会!我立即打电话给我的经理和人事部门,告诉他们我将从那个星期二开始休病假。


同样,由于 Covid 的原因,我的丈夫不能陪在我身边,我不得不独自面对人生中最可怕的手术。3 月 11 日,我醒来时 没有胸部,疼痛难忍......我没想到我会这样度过我的 34 岁生日。


双乳切除术后,我的肿瘤学家告诉我,我的 肿瘤型评分 是 15 分,通常不建议化疗,但由于我的年龄和癌症等级,癌症委员会觉得 我应该考虑化疗.我再次征求了其他肿瘤专家的意见,他们都同意采用类似的治疗方案。


2021 年 4 月 10 日、 我拿到了移植口,并将在第二天开始 TC 化疗化疗。在开始化疗之前,我做了很多研究,并在化疗包里装上了冰手套、冰靴、柠檬头、毯子和一个大水壶。 据说使用冰手套和冰鞋有助于防止神经病变,而吮吸柠檬头则有助于改善我的味蕾。 我还在书上看到,化疗期间保持运动有助于我的康复。在我的 4 个化疗周期中、我一直保持活跃,没有出现任何严重的副作用。我很幸运,也很庆幸自己能够顺利完成手术和化疗,但我没有意识到,当你完成了上述所有过程后,恐惧才会真正降临。 恐惧才会真正降临。


我不再每周都去医院看病,现在只是每月去医院打一针 Zoladex,每 6 个月去看一次肿瘤医生。这时,我的焦虑占据了上风 我开始担心复发不得不服用荷尔蒙药物也无济于事,因为我在化疗期间体重增加了,现在感觉自己完全不舒服。


我的双乳切除术已经过去一年零八个月了,我一直担心癌症会复发,但是 但我也学会了更加珍惜生活。


每天,我都能看到 日出日落对我来说都是美好的一天 我学会了更加优先考虑自己 更多。 我辞掉了每周工作 60 多个小时的工作,找到了一家更注重工作与生活平衡的公司。我坚持 每天锻炼或散步我还在学习如何 我仍在学习如何处理我的焦虑和对可能复发的恐惧。但是 但我在生活和学习中一天一天地过。


--


在 IG 上与 Danielle 联系:癌症患者的生活



感谢您分享您的故事,丹妮尔。SBC 爱你!


乳腺癌幸存者网站资源与支持:





最新文章

查看全部

冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

正念促进健康

东部时间 2 月 23 日下午 1:30

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 2 月 16 日上午 10:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

美国东部时间 19 日星期一下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 2 月 27 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 3 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 3 月 5 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 3 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 3 月 12 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 3 月 12 日上午 11:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Prioritizing Myself

By Danielle Brandt


I would never have thought that an active 33-year-old who was doing CrossFit 6 days a week, performed monthly breast exams, had no family history would be diagnosed with Stage 2 Breast Cancer. The day before I found my lump, I was snowshoeing in the Berkshires and loving life and just remember a constant irritation with my sports bra on my left breast and that was it. It wasn’t until we got home that Sunday night (Valentine’s Day) that I felt a hard small lump that was not palpable.


After watching my mom fight colon cancer, my sisters and I have always taken our health very seriously and first thing Monday morning I called and got an appointment with my primary. My hospital is a teaching hospital and a resident examined me initially and asked the nurse practitioner to come in and share her thoughts. She didn’t like how it felt and knowing that I never had kids or had been pregnant concerned her more. She ordered a rush mammogram and ultrasound for that afternoon.


As I was waiting in the waiting room for my mammogram, I just remembered looking around the room of women of all ages and wondering what their story was. The mammogram was painless and then it was time for my ultrasound. It felt like my heart was racing and about to jump out of my chest. I kept looking at the monitor trying to figure out if it was anything serious. The tech finished my scan and said the radiologist just needed to check as it was routine.


It was not routine and again a medical student came first and scanned my chest again and spoke to the radiologist before she repeated the scan. It was at that moment she told me it was 90 percent likely cancer due to all the calcifications they were seeing.


To say, I was a complete mess would be an understatement, but I knew after watching my mom go through cancer what I needed to ask for.


Somehow, I found my voice and asked for a biopsy that day and explained that my grandmother had just passed the day before and that Wednesday I was leaving for New York for her funeral. That Wednesday was also the 7-year anniversary of my mom’s passing.


The radiologist was amazing and asked people to stay late and perform my biopsy that day and I actually met my breast surgeon as well (at the time I didn’t know who she was as I was in complete shock). After meeting my breast surgeon, they put me in a room while I waited for my biopsy, and I called my husband and just broke down. Covid was still very active at this time, and they didn’t like visitors or spouses with you, but the nurse allowed my husband to meet me.


As we were walking out of the hospital, the only thing I could say was “I don’t want to die.” I had always thought that if I got the big “C” I wouldn’t tell anyone right away and give myself time to process, but the issue with that is I am putting my family at risk. I decided on the way home to have my identical twin sister set-up a family zoom call and I told my sisters, my dad, my uncle, and my aunt. If I had tested positive for any of the gene mutations it would have meant that my twin sister had a 100 percent chance of getting cancer as well.


By telling my family, it allowed my sisters to get checked along with my cousin.

That Wednesday February 17th, my dad and little sister flew in, so we drove to my grandmother’s funeral together and it was also the day I got my biopsy results confirming it was cancer.


My cancer is ER+, PR+, and Her2- with grade 3 cells and no genetic mutations. I met with my breast surgeon again in person and told her I wanted a double mastectomy; it wasn’t even a thought for me. I just wanted my breast gone as they were trying to kill me. I really liked my breast surgeon and now it was the time to build the rest of my team. I met with an oncologist initially and didn’t really connect with her as I found her cold. Living in Boston gave me access to some of the top hospitals in the country and I got multiple second opinions to make sure I was happy with my game plan and team. It was at this point that I researched and asked for the Director of Oncology to be my oncologist and my plastic surgeon was chosen.


It is so important that you feel comfortable with your team of doctors and their game plan. My plastic surgeon was diagnosed with Colon Cancer at the age of 38 and understood my fears which made me feel like I was being heard.


My breast surgeon and plastic surgeon told it me that due to schedule issues I wouldn’t be able to get my double mastectomy for another month, but I just wanted my breast gone and for the next week I would call daily and speak to both of their admins and asked if there were any cancellations.


It was a Friday, and I was on a work call when I received the call from my plastic surgeon admin that they had a cancellation for March 10th (the next Tuesday) and asked if that was too soon and I responded absolutely not! I immediately called my manager and HR department and told them that I would be going out on medical leave beginning that Tuesday.


Again, due to Covid, my husband couldn’t be with me, and I had to face the biggest scariest surgery of my life all alone. I woke up on March 11th boobless and in tremendous pain... not exactly how I thought I would be spending my 34th birthday.


After my double mastectomy, my oncologist told me that my oncotype score was a 15 which usually doesn’t recommend chemo but due to my age and the grade of my cancer the cancer board felt like I should consider it. Again, I got multiple opinions from other oncologists, and all agreed that they would have a similar treatment plan.


On April 10th, 2021, I got my port and would begin TC chemotherapy the next day. Prior to starting chemo, I did a lot of research and packed my chemo bag with ice gloves, ice booties, lemonheads, a blanket, and a giant water jug. Supposedly using ice gloves and booties would help prevent neuropathy and sucking on lemonheads would help with my taste buds. I also read that keeping active during chemo would help my recovery. During my 4 cycles of chemo, I stayed active and didn’t experience any major side effects. I was lucky and grateful to get through my surgery and chemo, but didn’t realize that after you are done with all of the above is when the fear really sets in.


I was no longer going to the hospital every week and being seen; I was now just going once a month for my Zoladex shot and seeing my oncologist every 6 months. This is when my anxiety took over and I started worrying about a recurrence and having to take hormonal medicine really didn’t help either as I gained weight during chemo and now felt completely uncomfortable in my own skin.


I am now a year and 8 months out from my double mastectomy, and I worry constantly about the cancer coming back, but I have also learned to appreciate life more.


Every day, I get to see the sunrise and set is a good day for me and I have learned to prioritize myself more. I quit my job that had me working 60 plus hours a week and found a company who focused more on work life balance. I make it a point to workout or go for a walk every day and I am still learning how to deal with my anxiety and fear of a possible recurrence, but I am living and learning to take it one day at a time.


--


Connect with Danielle on IG: @life_of_a_cancer_patient



Thank you for sharing your story, Danielle. SBC loves you!


SurvivingBreastCancer.org Resources & Support:





Recent Posts

See All

The Now

Comments


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

The secret Garden

April 22,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

April 23,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

May 6, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

May 7,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

May 13,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

May 14, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

May 14,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico