页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

什么是 Oncotype DX?

作者:阿比盖尔-约翰斯顿


 

2017 年,当我最初被诊断出患有乳腺癌时,我们以为我是第二期。 鉴于这一信息(我们现在知道这一信息是错误的),我选择做了肿块切除术,肿瘤切除后,医生建议我们对肿瘤进行检测,以确定化疗是否适合我。 当时,我的母亲是一位 14 年的乳腺癌幸存者,因此这对我们所有人来说都是新闻。 医生一提出建议,我就做了一些研究。


我发现 Oncotype Dx 检测提供了乳腺复发评分。 他们在网站上是这样解释的 网站上是这样解释的:


"Oncotype DX 乳房复发评分测试为辅助治疗和新辅助治疗中的早期浸润性乳腺癌提供了一种基于基因组的、全面的、个性化的风险评估。"



目前,美国临床肿瘤学会 (ASCO®)、美国国立综合癌症网络 (NCCN®)、圣加伦共识小组、美国国家医疗保健优化研究所 (NICE)、欧洲肿瘤内科学会 (ESMO) 和德国妇科肿瘤协会 (AGO) 都已将该评分视为治疗标准。 很多非常聪明、非常敬业的人都认为这是一项很好的检测。


什么是 TAILORX 研究?

此外,这项检测还通过了 TAILORx 研究的验证。 Oncotype dx 网站是这样介绍这项研究的:


"具有里程碑意义的 TAILORx 试验从 1,000 多个地点招募了 10,273 名根据 NCCN 指南适合辅助化疗的患者,并对他们的 9 年疗效进行了监测。该试验研究了 Oncotype DX 乳房复发评分测试的临床实用性,以准确预测将从化疗中获益的患者人群。2 TAILORx 还表明,仅凭标准临床风险特征不足以确定化疗的疗效--这往往会导致患者过度治疗或治疗不足。只有 Oncotype DX 乳腺癌复发评分测试才能为辅助治疗决策提供清晰的依据。


我当时的肿瘤内科医生是这样解释的--他说:"我们在仓库里储存了 20 年的肿瘤,我们研究了它们的特征,创建了一个数据库。 这个数据库通过研究每个细胞的基因组学,告诉我们每个人疾病进展的细节"。 从根本上说,二十多年来治疗乳腺癌的历史和经验为我们提供了一些指示,让我们知道癌症现在的表现如何,以及是否需要化疗。 该 TAILORx 试验当时(2017 年)TAILORx 试验仍在进行,在我接受测试后,分数得到了进一步验证。


被诊断为早期、ER+、Her2-乳腺癌的患者,无论结节阳性还是阴性,都有资格接受这项检查。 我选中了这项检测的所有选项,在他们从我身上切下肿瘤进行检测后,我的肿瘤就消失了。


肿瘤型与 Mammoprint

Oncotype dx 检测与 Mammaprint(他们的竞争对手)的一个区别是,Mammaprint 对化疗有帮助的可能性给出 "是 "或 "否 "的答案,而 Onctoype dx 检测提供的数值要么在 "肯定没有帮助 "的范围内,要么在 "灰色区域 "的范围内,要么在 "肯定化疗会有帮助 "的范围内。 我当时的肿瘤内科医生更倾向于使用更详细的 Oncotype dx 因为这样他就能根据自己的经验和临床判断得出结果。


肿瘤类型 27

我的结果是 27 分,处于灰色区域的高端。 当我们与当时的肿瘤内科医生坐下来讨论下一步治疗方案时,他告诉我们,根据他的经验,任何得分超过 25 分的人都可以从化疗中获益。 他的个人经验在 TAILORx 试验中得到了验证。 他让我们自行决定是否化疗,但我们收到的报告显示,如果我不化疗和化疗,复发的危险性是不同的。 差异超过了 10 个百分点,我和丈夫决定最好还是进行化疗,尽管我们一直希望避免化疗。


感谢上帝,我们做到了。


开始化疗

在我的第一次化疗预约中,肿瘤内科医生办公室的人不小心勾选了检测我肿瘤标志物的选项。 由于肿瘤标志物检测结果非常高,我接受了更多的检测,结果发现我其实从一开始就已经是第四期了,而我右腿的疼痛/跛行是一个 5 厘米的肿瘤,它威胁着我的右股骨。


我当时的肿瘤内科医生和现在的肿瘤内科医生都无法解释,既然癌症已经通过血液扩散到了我的骨头里,为什么肿瘤型诊断得分不在化疗肯定会获益的范围内。 这也难倒了各个肿瘤委员会。

最重要的一点是,没有任何一种检查是 100% 准确的,也没有任何一种检查是针对每个人的。 然而,我们现有的检查所提供的额外信息有助于医生为病人提出最佳建议,然后决定什么才是最适合他/她的。 知识就是力量,信息越多,知识越丰富,每个团队就能更好地为患者确定最佳治疗方案。


查看与阿比盖尔在 "乳腺癌对话 "节目中的播客内容

阿比盖尔的更多文章

基因突变与 ATM 基因

 

作者简介

2017 年,38 岁的我住在佛罗里达州奥兰多市,在给我的儿子(现在分别是 7 岁和 5 岁)喂奶时,我感觉左侧乳房有肿块,随后被诊断为转移性乳腺癌 IV 期。 2017 年夏天,我在化疗和放疗中接受了四次改变身体和生活的手术,情绪犹如过山车。 当这股旋风稍稍平息,我也完成了将我在律师事务所的客户和员工转移到另一家律师事务所的工作后,我和丈夫、两个儿子搬到了迈阿密,与家人一起生活。 回首往事,我惊讶于变化之大,我们一家人克服了多少困难,每个人都适应得很好。 虽然我没有积极从事法律工作,但我利用自己所受的教育和培训,以各种方式为乳腺癌社区服务,为患者和康复者代言。 我创办了自己的非营利组织 "Connect IV 法律服务",招募律师为 IV 期患者提供无偿服务。我还积极参加许多地方和全国性组织的活动,担任志愿者,用自己的声音教育和说服他人,与社区建立联系并为社区提供帮助。 您可以通过查看我的博客与我联系、 www.NoHalfMeasures.blog或在 推特, Instagram, Facebook, LinkedInYouTube!- 阿比盖尔-约翰斯顿

691 次查看

最新文章

查看全部

现在

候车室

缆线


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

对于新诊断的患者

美国东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

东部时间 4 月 22 日下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 4 月 23 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 5 月 6 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 5 月 7 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

美国东部时间 5 月 13 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

美国东部时间 5 月 14 日上午 11:30

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 5 月 14 日下午 6:00

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。

What Is Oncotype DX?

Updated: Sep 24

By Abigail Johnston


When I was initially diagnosed with breast cancer in 2017, we thought I was Stage II. In light of that information, which we now know was erroneous, I chose to do a lumpectomy and once the tumors were removed, my doctor recommended that we have them tested to see if chemotherapy was right for me. My mother, at that time, was a 14 year breast cancer survivor and so this was news to all of us. As soon as my doctor suggested it, I did some research.


I discovered that the Oncotype Dx test providers a breast reoccurrence score. They explain it this way on their website:


“The Oncotype DX Breast Recurrence Score test provides a genomic-based, comprehensive, individualized risk assessment for early-stage invasive breast cancer in adjuvant and neoadjuvant settings. “



This score is recognized now as the standard of care by American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO®), the National Comprehensive Cancer Network (NCCN®), the St. Gallen Consensus panel, the National Institute for Health Care Excellence (NICE), the European Society for Medical Oncology (ESMO) and the German Association of Gynecological Oncology (AGO). That’s a lot of really smart and really dedicated people determining that this is a good test.


What is the TAILORX study?

Further, the testing was validated by the TAILORx study. The Oncotype dx website describes the study in this way:


“The landmark TAILORx trial enrolled 10,273 patients from over 1,000 sites who were candidates for adjuvant chemotherapy as per NCCN Guidelines and monitored their 9-year outcomes. The trial investigated the clinical utility of Oncotype DX Breast Recurrence Score test to confidently predict the patient population who will substantially benefit from chemotherapy. Patients with Recurrence Score (RS) results 0-25 showed excellent outcomes when treated with endocrine therapy alone, while patients with RS results 26-100 are known to have significant chemotherapy benefit.2 TAILORx also showed that standard clinical risk features alone are not sufficient to determine chemotherapy benefit - often leading to overtreatment or undertreatment of patients. Only the Oncotype DX Breast Recurrence Score test provides clarity for adjuvant treatment decisions.”


My then medical oncologist explained it this way – he said, “we have 20 years of tumors stored in a warehouse and we’ve studied their characteristics to create a database. This database then tells us the details of each person’s disease progression by looking at the genomics of each cell.” Basically, the history and experiences of more than twenty (20) years of the treatment of breast cancer gives us some indications of how cancer even now might behave and if chemo is indicated. The TAILORx trial was still going on at that time (in 2017) and the scores were validated even more after I underwent the testing.


Patients who are diagnosed with early stage, ER+, Her2- breast cancer, whether node positive or negative, are eligible for this test. I checked all the boxes for this test and off my tumor went after they’d cut it out of me to be tested.


Oncotype vs Mammoprint

One difference between the oncotype dx testing and Mammaprint (their competitor) is that while Mammaprint gives yes or no answer to the likelihood of chemo helping, the Onctoype dx test provides a numerical value that is either in the definitely no help range, the gray area range, or the definitely yes chemo would help range. My then medical oncologist preferred the more detailed information of the Oncotype dx test because it allowed him to apply his experience and clinical judgment to the result.


Oncoptype of 27

My result was 27, on the high end of the gray area. When we sat down with my then medical oncologist to discuss the next steps, he shared with us that in his experience, anyone with a score over 25 could benefit from chemo. His personal experience has been validated by the TAILORx trial. He left the decision to do or not to do chemo up to us, but the report we received showed us the difference in the danger of recurrence if I didn’t get chemo and if I did. The difference was over 10 percentage points and my husband and I decided that it would be best to proceed with chemo even though we’d been hoping to avoid it.


And thank God we did.


Starting Chemotherapy

It was at my first chemo appointment that someone in my medical oncologist’s office, by mistake, checked the box for my tumor markers to be tested. Since the tumor markers came back extremely high, I underwent more testing and we discovered that I’d actually been Stage IV from the beginning and the pain/limp I had in my right leg was a 5cm tumor that was threatening to shatter my right femur.


My then medical oncologist and my current medical oncologist have not been able to explain why the oncotype dx score wasn’t in the definitely would benefit from chemo range since the cancer had already spread through my blood to take up residence in my bones. That stumped the various tumor boards too.

The bottom line is that no test is 100% accurate and specific to each individual person. Yet, the additional information provided by the tests we have available assist the doctors in making the best possible recommendations for the patient to then decide what is best for him/her. Knowledge truly is power and the more information, the more knowledge, the better each team can determine the best treatment for the individual patient.


Check out the podcast with Abigail on Breast Cancer Conversations

More articles by Abigail:

Understanding Piqray

Germline Mutations and the ATM Gene

About the Author:

In 2017, at the ripe old age of 38, while living in Orlando, Florida, I was diagnosed with Stage IV Metastatic Breast Cancer after feeling a lump in my left breast while tandem nursing my boys, who are now 7 and 5. The summer of 2017 was a rollercoaster of emotions as I faced four body and life-changing surgeries amidst chemo and radiation.  Once the whirlwind had settled a bit and I’d completed transitioning my clients and staff at my law firm to another law firm, my husband, two boys and I moved to Miami to live with my family.  Looking back, I’m astonished at how much has changed, how much we have overcome as a family, and how everyone has adjusted.  While I don’t actively practice law, I use my education and training in a variety of ways for the breast cancer community, advocating for patients and thrivers.  I have started my own non-profit, Connect IV Legal Services, where I recruit lawyers to do pro bono work for Stage IV patients. I’m also active in many local and national organizations, volunteering and adding my voice to educate and persuade others to connect with and help my community.  You can connect with me by checking out my blog, www.NoHalfMeasures.blog, or following me on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, LinkedIn, or YouTube! - Abigail Johnston

Subscribe to our mailing list and receive weekly inspiration directly to your inbox! 

Love our content?

Support Our Charity

and know you are making a difference

Follow Us

150

Subscribers

650 

Subscribers

2.7K

Subscribers

700

Subscribers

30K

Subscribers

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram