页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

了解 TAILORx

作者:拉切尔-库里


什么是 TAILORx 试验?

您可能还记得 TAILORx 研究的主要结果首次发布的时间。大约两年前,《新英格兰医学杂志》发表了 以下内容,SBC 在一篇博文中对此进行了报道:"Oncotype DX 乳房复发评分® 检测明确确定了 70% 的早期乳腺癌女性患者不会从化疗中获益,以及 30% 的女性患者可以通过化疗挽救生命。这一消息具有开创性和积极意义!但它究竟意味着什么呢?研究仍在继续,让我们深入了解一下。


TAILORx 是 "个体化治疗方案(Rx)分配试验",于 2006 年 3 月首次启动。该试验招募了 10,000 多名乳腺癌患者,试图回答以下问题: 激素疗法作为单一疗法是否不如激素疗法和化疗的联合疗法?


对一些乳腺癌患者来说,治疗过程已经相对简单。那些被认为风险很低的患者通常只接受激素治疗,而那些被认为风险很高的患者则同时接受激素治疗和化疗。但那些被认为 中度风险呢?治疗建议各不相同,缺乏全面的数据来支持任何一种方法。

因此,TAILORx 试验开始了:为最常见的乳腺癌(HR 阳性、HER-2 阴性、结节阴性乳腺癌)患者确定最有效的个性化治疗方案。其目的是为临床医生提供研究成果,以补充有关个性化治疗方案的数据驱动决策。

T这项研究得到了美国国家癌症研究所(NCI)的支持,由 ECOG-ACRIN 癌症研究小组领导。该研究计划于 2030 年完成。


什么是 HR 阳性、HER-2 阴性、结节阴性乳腺癌?


参加 TAILORx 试验的患者患有不同风险水平的 HR 阳性、HER-2 阴性、腋窝淋巴结阴性乳腺癌。

HR 阳性代表 "激素受体阳性"。这意味着癌细胞上有大量激素受体,而 HR 阴性细胞则几乎没有激素受体。这些受体可使雌激素和孕激素与癌细胞结合,从而促进癌细胞的生长。因此,HR 阳性乳腺癌的癌细胞生长速度比 HR 阴性乳腺癌更快。大约 70-80% 的乳腺癌都是 HR 阳性。

HER-2 是 "人类表皮生长因子受体 2 "的缩写。HER-2 也是一种受体,但它存在于所有细胞中,甚至是健康细胞。不同之处在于,当癌细胞呈 HER-2 阳性时,受体的数量会异常增多,从而促进癌细胞的快速生长。因此,HER-2 阳性的乳腺癌更容易转移(或迅速扩散到全身)。在这种情况下,HER-2 阴性意味着乳腺癌细胞上几乎没有 HER-2 受体。

最后,结节阴性癌意味着癌细胞没有扩散到周围的淋巴结。


什么是 Oncotype DX 肿瘤复发评分?


乳腺癌患者在参加研究时,其风险水平是根据一种叫做 Oncotype DX 肿瘤复发评分的量表来确定的。从本质上讲,该评分以 0-100 的等级对风险进行排序。0-10分为低风险,11-25分为中风险,26分或以上为高风险。

不过,某些医疗服务提供者会根据略有不同的标准来评估分数。因此,这些范围并不精确,每个人的分数和风险等级都应由其医疗服务提供者来确定。并不是所有的医疗服务提供者都会选择按照风险等级来决定治疗方案。

有关如何评估分数的更多详情,请参阅 SurvivingBreastCancer.org 上一篇博文、 Oncotype DX 评分.


TAILORx 试验结果如何?


尽管 TAILORx 试验计划于 2030 年结束,但初步研究结果已经发布。研究人员主要发现,在 Oncotype DX 量表中处于中等风险水平的乳腺癌患者中,有 70% 的人没有从化疗中获益。在这些病例中,单独使用激素疗法与激素疗法配合化疗同样有效。这是将同时接受激素治疗和化疗的中危患者实验组与只接受激素治疗的中危患者对照组进行比较后得出的结论。最终,两组患者的生存率和复发率均未因接受额外化疗而有所改善。


这些数据将用于指导临床医生对 HR 阳性、HER-2 阴性、结节阴性的中危乳腺癌患者的治疗方案做出决策。


结论


TAILORx 等研究之所以重要,是因为它们致力于为乳腺癌患者提供以数据为导向的个性化治疗。化疗有许多潜在的负面影响,因此在决定接受治疗之前,了解化疗是否对康复至关重要。对于中度风险人群来说,TAILORx 研究将为临床医生的决策和患者在未来决定治疗方案时提供重要的参考依据。


资料来源



 

作者简介


我于 2019 年毕业于密歇根大学,获得性别与健康专业学士学位,目前是波士顿大学公共卫生硕士候选人,专注于 专业医疗保健管理。我对社会身份与女性生殖健康的交叉点很感兴趣。未来,我希望能帮助为所有女性创建一个更方便、更公平的医疗保健系统。闲暇时,我喜欢画画、跑步和徒步旅行。


25 次观看

最新文章

查看全部

现在

候车室

评论


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

对于新诊断的患者

美国东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

东部时间 4 月 22 日下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 4 月 23 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 5 月 6 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 5 月 7 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

美国东部时间 5 月 13 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

美国东部时间 5 月 14 日上午 11:30

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 5 月 14 日下午 6:00

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。

Understanding TAILORx

Updated: Sep 24

By Rachael Curry


What is the TAILORx trial?


You may recall when the primary results of the TAILORx study were first released. About two years ago, New England Journal of Medicine published the following, which SBC covered in a blog post: “The Oncotype DX Breast Recurrence Score® Test Definitively Identifies the 70% of Women with Early-stage Breast Cancer Who Receive No Benefit from Chemotherapy, and the 30% of Women for Whom Chemotherapy Benefit Can be Life-saving.” This news was groundbreaking, and very positive! But what exactly does it mean? As the study is still continuing, let’s dive in.


TAILORx, the “Trial Assigning Individualized Options for Treatment (Rx),” first began in March of 2006. Recruiting over 10,000 individuals with breast cancer, it sought to answer the question: Is hormone therapy as a singular treatment inferior to both hormone therapy and chemotherapy in combination?


For some breast cancer patients, the course of treatment was already relatively straightforward. Those who were considered very low risk were often referred to only hormone therapy, while those who were considered very high risk were prescribed both hormone therapy and chemotherapy in combination. But what about those who were considered an intermediate risk? The treatment recommendations varied, lacking thorough data to support either avenue.

Thus, began the TAILORx trial: to determine the most effective personalized treatment course for individuals with the most common type of breast cancer, HR positive, HER-2 negative, node-negative breast cancer. The goal was to provide clinicians with the research to supplement data-driven decision-making regarding individualized treatment courses.

This study is supported by the National Cancer Institute (NCI) and led by the ECOG-ACRIN Cancer Research Group. It is scheduled for completion in 2030.



What is HR positive, HER-2 negative, node-negative breast cancer?


The individuals enrolled in the TAILORx trial had varying risk levels of HR positive, HER-2 negative, axillary lymph node-negative breast cancer.

HR positive stands for “hormone receptor positive.” This means that the cancer cells have lots of hormone receptors on them, as opposed to HR negative cells, which have little to no hormone receptors. These receptors allow for the hormones estrogen and progesterone to bind to the cancer cells, which promotes growth. Therefore, HR positive breast cancer has more rapid growth of cancerous cells than HR negative. About 70-80% of all breast cancers are HR positive.

HER-2 stands for “human epidermal growth factor receptor 2.” HER-2 is also a receptor, however, it is present on all cells, even healthy ones. The difference is that when cancer cells are HER-2 positive, there is an abnormally large number of receptors present, which promotes rapid growth of cancer cells. Thus, HER-2 positive breast cancer is more likely to metastasize (or spread quickly throughout the body). In this case HER-2 negative means that there are little to no HER-2 receptors present on the breast cancer cells.

Finally, node-negative cancer means that the cancer cells have not spread to the surrounding lymph nodes.


What is an Oncotype DX Tumor Recurrence Score?


When enrolled in the study, the breast cancer patients had their risk level determined on a scale called the Oncotype DX Tumor Recurrence Score. Essentially, this score ranked the risk on a scale of 0-100. Low risk was considered an approximate score of 0-10, intermediate risk 11-25, and high risk 26 or above.

Certain providers, however, evaluate the scores on based on slightly different criteria. Therefore, the ranges are not exact, and each individual’s score and risk level should be determined with their provider. Not all providers choose to follow the risk scale when determining treatment.

Further details on how scores are evaluated can be found in the previous SurvivingBreastCancer.org blog post, Oncotype DX Score.


What are the findings of the TAILORx trial?


Although the TAILORx trial is scheduled to finish in 2030, initial findings have been distributed. Primarily, researchers have found that there is no benefit from chemotherapy for 70% of breast cancer patients with an intermediate risk level on the Oncotype DX scale. In these cases, hormone therapy alone was just as effective as hormone therapy along with chemotherapy. This was determined by comparison of the experimental group of intermediate risk patients, who underwent both hormone therapy and chemotherapy, and the control group of intermediate risk patients, who received only hormone therapy. In the end, both groups showed no improvement in both survival rate and recurrence rate for having undergone additional chemotherapy.


This data will be used to guide clinicians when making decisions about the course of treatment for intermediate risk breast cancer patients with HR positive, HER-2 negative, node-negative cancer.


Conclusion


Studies such as TAILORx are important because they strive to create data-driven personalized treatment for breast cancer patients. With many potential negative side effects from chemotherapy, it is crucial to know whether it is essential to recovery before deciding to undergo treatment. For those in the intermediate risk pool, the TAILORx research will create important leverage for both clinician decision-making and patient advocacy when determining courses of treatment in the future.


Sources


https://www.cancer.gov/news-events/press-releases/2018/tailorx-breast-cancer-chemotherapy

https://ww5.komen.org/BreastCancer/TumorCharacteristics.html

https://www.verywellhealth.com/her2-positive-vs-her2-negative-breast-cancer-4151792

https://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT00310180


About the Author:


I am a 2019 graduate of the University of Michigan with a BA in Gender and Health, and a current MPH candidate at Boston University focusing on Healthcare Management. I am interested in the intersection of social identity and women’s reproductive health. In the future, I hope to help create a more accessible and equitable healthcare system for all women. During my free time, I enjoy painting, drawing, running, and hiking.


Subscribe to our mailing list and receive weekly inspiration directly to your inbox! 

Love our content?

Support Our Charity

and know you are making a difference

Follow Us

150

Subscribers

650 

Subscribers

2.7K

Subscribers

700

Subscribers

30K

Subscribers

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram