页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

清洁生活:它意味着什么以及如何将其变为现实

洁净生活。听起来很简单。然而,要理解它的含义、它的内涵、它为什么重要以及如何过上洁净生活,却并不像它的名字所暗示的那样简单。

要确定清洁生活(又称绿色生活)的确切定义可能具有挑战性,因为它的含义各不相同。例如,有些人只关注饮食方面,努力食用有机和天然食品。而对其他人来说,清洁生活包含了整个生活方式,从饮食到家用产品,再到减少碳足迹,无所不包。


世界上充满了有害和有毒的化学物质!我们吃的食物、个人卫生用品的成分、炊具和食物储存容器、清洁用品,甚至我们的衣服中都可以找到它们!虽然我们不可能完全杜绝与化学物质的接触,但许多人已经开始采用清洁生活的方式来改善自己的健康、福祉和地球的未来。


什么是洁净生活?

洁净生活包括生活的多个方面--可持续性、我们的饮食、我们使用的美容和清洁产品。洁净生活注重在饮食、生活方式和家用产品方面做出有意的、健康的选择。这就是用心选择含有最佳成分的产品,以支持你最健康的生活。


但是,它可以超越你的处境,包括有意识地做出对环境最有利的决定。这些决定包括消除一次性塑料制品,光顾那些对环境做出承诺的企业,让他们承担责任,以及尽可能减少废物。


清洁生活与健康之间的联系

洁净生活方式对每个人的健康都有好处,但对患有慢性疾病的人来说尤其重要。


事实是,从家具或地毯中的阻燃剂、厨具中的不粘化合物到厨房中使用的塑料储存容器中的毒素,您的家中可能存在许多潜在的有害化学物质。因此,您呼吸到的清新气味中可能含有已知或怀疑会导致严重健康问题(包括癌症)的化学物质。有些化学物质会特别影响您 患乳腺癌的风险。


清洁饮食

清淡饮食清淡饮食是指用含有维生素和矿物质、优质蛋白质和健康脂肪的健康且营养丰富的食物来滋养身体。清淡饮食的一些主要好处包括改善心脏和大脑健康、增强免疫系统和提高能量水平。


清淡饮食并不是一种特定的饮食习惯,而是要有意识地选择完整的食物--蔬菜、水果、全谷物、豆类(豆子、扁豆和豌豆)、奶制品、坚果、种子和植物蛋白,而不是更多的加工食品。加工食品可能含有许多有害的化学物质和毒素,包括传统水果和蔬菜上使用的杀虫剂,以及肉类、蛋类和奶制品中的激素。


有不同程度的清食模式。一些清食倡导者努力避免 所有 添加糖、高果糖玉米糖浆、防腐剂、人工色素和香精以及其他添加剂。虽然令人钦佩,但这是一种非常严格的饮食习惯,对大多数人来说可能过于极端,而且试图坚持这种限制性的饮食习惯很可能难以坚持下去。


清洁环境

科学研究表明,我们的室内空气 通常比室外的空气污染更严重。.导致这种不健康空气的因素有很多,但清洁剂、洗涤剂、空气清新剂甚至蜡烛中的化学物质都可能是罪魁祸首。


保持家庭、学校和工作场所的清洁对于阻止病菌传播至关重要、 病毒这些病菌会使免疫系统受损的人,包括癌症患者,面临患重病的风险。不幸的是,许多家用产品和清洁产品往往含有有害化学物质。即使是所谓的 "绿色 "或 "天然 "产品,也可能含有可能导致健康问题的成分。


好消息是,您可以限制接触这些潜在的有害元素,但这需要密切监控产品的成分。然而,由于联邦和各州的法律并不要求公司列出清洁产品的成分,因此要确定产品中是否含有与癌症或其他慢性疾病相关的化学物质就很困难了。


许多清洁产品都含有工业化学品 成分与乳腺癌有关.此外,清洁产品中使用的一些成分可能包括与乳腺癌有关的化学物质,或受到这些化学物质的污染。


清洁的个人卫生

许多梳妆和美容产品--洗发水和护发产品、沐浴露、面霜和化妆品--都是如此。 化妆品-内分泌干扰化学品(EDCs)会影响人体的荷尔蒙系统。它们被用于延长保质期和香味溶剂。


虽然化妆品和个人护理产品中的许多化学物质和污染物不会带来什么风险,但接触某些化学物质和污染物却会导致严重的健康问题,包括癌症。事实上,自 2009 年以来,已有近 600 家化妆品生产商报告使用了 88 种化学物质与癌症、先天性残疾 与癌症、先天性残疾或生殖危害有关。


如何开始洁净生活

向清洁生活方式过渡是一个需要时间和耐心的过程。虽然你可以彻底改变你的整个生活方式,但这对大多数人来说是不可能实现的。取而代之的是,尝试一次做出一个改变,边做边学,在成功的基础上再接再厉。


首先,优先考虑对你最重要的事情,然后从那里开始。例如,你最关心的是饮食吗?清洁产品是否让你感到不适?或者,你的皮肤是否因为使用个人护理产品而出现暗疮?采取小步骤,解决对你最有意义的事情。


第一步是培养学会阅读和理解标签的技能。警告:标签上的成分可能会让你大吃一惊。如果你不知道这些化学物质和其他成分是什么(我们大多数人都不知道),可以在以下网站查找 环境工作组(EWG)或 ThinkDirty了解更多信息。


5 个简单的清洁生活小窍门

清洁饮食

虽然对 清洁饮食但大多数人都同意,清淡饮食包括尽可能吃完整的、未经加工的、营养丰富的食物。与其试图在一夜之间改变你的饮食习惯和膳食计划,你可以从多吃这类食物开始。这些建议可以帮助您开始行动:

  • 尽量避免食用加工食品和人工配料

  • 在每餐中加入更多水果和蔬菜

  • 尽可能购买有机食品

  • 避免食用配料表很长的高度加工食品。如果购买包装食品,应选择配料不超过五种的食品。此外,还要确保配料是您认识并能读出来的


选择安全的厨具

如果您的炊具不安全,那么开始清洁饮食计划就会适得其反。不粘锅,如 特氟龙特富龙等不粘锅承诺给我们带来方便,并能为我们节省时间和金钱,但却含有有害化学物质。因此,请使用以下任何一种安全的炊具进行烹饪。

  • 铸铁炊具

  • 陶瓷炊具

  • 石器

  • 康宁餐具和玻璃炊具

  • 不锈钢炊具


避免塑料食品储存和铁罐食品

不要因为选择了食物储存方式而失去了清洁饮食带来的好处。例如,大多数人都知道 BPA(双酚 A)的危害,以及其干扰荷尔蒙的化学物质如何在体内模拟雌激素,从而可能影响大脑发育、干扰荷尔蒙并对生育能力产生负面影响。


首先,避免使用任何塑料容器和含有双酚 A 的铁罐食品。不幸的是,研究表明 双酚 A 替代品同样有害甚至对健康更有害!尤其重要的是,千万不要用微波炉加热塑料容器中的食物,因为加热塑料会加速这些化学物质的释放。


您可以从一个改变开始,比如用玻璃容器代替塑料食品储存容器,从而轻松实现这一改变。


交换家用清洁剂

另一种避免使用有害成分的方法是将商用家用清洁剂换成更天然、更环保的选择。令人惊讶的是,由于商业秘密的原因,美国没有政府法规要求公司公开其完整的成分表。但还是有办法 避免将有毒化学物质带入家中。

  • 改用超细纤维来清洁家居,简单、安全、无毒,完全不需要任何化学品,只需清水即可!超细纤维抹布可以使用数年,取代清洁剂和纸巾,因此您可以节省时间和金钱,同时减少浪费。

  • 针对更顽固的污渍和情况,自制天然清洁解决方案。使用醋、小苏打、柠檬汁和不含香料的液体肥皂是一种有效而安全的选择。除了避免使用刺激性化学物质,DIY 清洁产品还能节省一大笔钱。


回顾个人护理产品

根据 EWG 的数据,"女性平均每天使用 12 种产品,其中含有 168 种独特成分"。皮肤是我们最大的器官,用在皮肤上的产品会被我们的血液吸收。因此 对健康造成危害的风险更大 使用更多的产品。

  • 您可以采取的第一步是减少涂抹在身上的产品数量--化妆品、身体乳液、香皂、沐浴露和沐浴露。

  • 避免使用所有含有香料的产品,香料是一种混合成分,可能含有多达 4000 种未公开成分,包括邻苯二甲酸盐等有害毒素。此外,许多用于制造香料的化学物质会导致内分泌紊乱、哮喘甚至癌症,因此应完全避免使用。

  • 咨询美容专柜 绝不列表其中包括 1,500 多种有问题或有害的化学物质,他们从不在产品中使用这些成分,包括欧盟禁止或限制使用的化学物质。

当科学发现有关清洁生活如何帮助您尽可能保持健康的信息时,请相信我们会随时为您提供信息。同时,请浏览我们的 健康饮食指南, 并成为我们赋权社区的一员,包括我们的 乳腺癌幸存者和朋友见面会.


我们随时为您服务!


乳腺癌幸存者网站资源与支持:

最新文章

查看全部

评论


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

护理人员聚会

第三个星期二

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

新诊断者

东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 6 月 14 日上午 11:30

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

发掘机遇

东部时间 6 月 17 日下午 5:30

RSVP

太阳的拥抱夏至冥想

东部时间 6 月 21 日上午 11:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 6 月 25 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 7 月 1 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 7 月 2 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 7 月 9 日上午 11:30

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 7 月 9 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 7 月 22 日下午 6:00

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Clean Living: What It Means and How to Make It a Reality

Clean living. It sounds simple enough. However, understanding what it means, what it entails, why it matters, and how to engage in clean living is not quite as simple as the name might imply.

It can be challenging to identify a solid definition of clean living, also known as green living because it means different things. For example, some people focus only on the dietary aspect and strive to eat organic and natural foods. For others, clean living encompasses an entire lifestyle that includes everything from diet to household products to reducing their carbon footprint.


The world is full of harmful and toxic chemicals! They can be found in the foods we eat, the ingredients in personal hygiene products, cookware and food storage containers, cleaning products, and even our clothes! Although it’s impossible to eliminate our contact with chemicals, many people have embarked on a clean living lifestyle to improve their health, well-being, and the planet’s future.


What Is Clean Living?

Clean living encompasses multiple aspects of life—sustainability, what we eat, and the beauty and cleaning products we use. Clean living focuses on intentional, healthy choices in diet, lifestyle, and household products. It’s about mindfully choosing the products with the best ingredients to support your healthiest life.


But, it can extend beyond your situation and include consciously making decisions that are best for the environment. Decisions involve eliminating single-use plastic, patronizing businesses that demonstrate a commitment to the environment, holding them accountable, and minimizing waste as much as possible.


The Link Between Clean Living and Health

The health benefits of a clean-living lifestyle offer positive results for everyone, but it can be especially essential to people dealing with chronic health conditions.


The hard truth is that your home may be a source of many potentially harmful chemicals, from the flame retardants in your furniture or carpets to non-stick compounds in your cookware and toxins in the plastic storage containers you use in the kitchen. As a result, that fresh scent that you breathe may include chemicals that are known or suspected to cause serious health issues, including cancer. Some specifically influence your risk of getting breast cancer.


Clean Eating

Clean eating nourishes your body with healthy and nutrient-dense foods that contain vitamins and minerals, high-quality protein, and healthy fats. Some of the main benefits of eating clean include improved heart and brain health, a more robust immune system, and increased energy levels.


Rather than a specific diet, clean eating is about making deliberate decisions to choose whole foods—vegetables, fruits, whole grains, pulses (beans, lentils, and peas), dairy, nuts, seeds, and plant proteins—instead of more processed foods. Processed foods can contain many harmful chemicals and toxins, including the pesticides used on traditional fruit and vegetables and in the hormones found in meat, eggs, and dairy.


There are varying degrees of clean eating models. Some clean-eating advocates strive to avoid all traces of added sugar, high-fructose corn syrup, preservatives, artificial colors and flavors, and other additives. While admirable, it’s a very rigid diet that’s probably too extreme for most people, and attempting to adhere to such a restricted diet will likely make it difficult to maintain.


Clean Environment

You may be shocked to know that scientific research shows that the air inside our homes, workplaces, and other indoor places is often more polluted than the air outside. Many contributing factors lead to this unhealthy atmosphere, but chemicals in cleaners, detergents, air fresheners, and even candles can be the culprits.


Keeping our homes, schools, and workplaces clean is vital to stop the spread of germs, viruses, and bacteria that puts anyone with compromised immune systems, including cancer patients, at risk of serious illness. Unfortunately, many household and cleaning products often include harmful chemicals. Even so-called “green” or “natural” products may contain ingredients that can cause health problems.


The good news is that you can limit your exposure to these potentially damaging elements, but it requires closely monitoring the ingredients. However, because federal and state laws don’t require companies to list the ingredients in cleaning products, it’s challenging to determine whether a product contains chemicals linked to cancer or other chronic health conditions.


Many cleaning products contain industrial chemicals with ingredients linked to breast cancer. In addition, several ingredients used in cleaning products may include, or be contaminated with, chemicals linked to breast cancer.


Clean Personal Hygiene

Many grooming and beauty products—shampoos and hair care products, shower gel, face creams, and makeup—contain Endocrine Disrupting Chemicals (EDCs), which can affect your hormone system. They’re used to prolong shelf life and fragrance solvents.


While many chemicals and contaminants in cosmetics and personal care products pose little risk, exposure to some has been linked to severe health problems, including cancer. In fact, since 2009, nearly 600 cosmetics manufacturers have reported using 88 chemicals in multiple products that have been linked to cancer, congenital disabilities, or reproductive harm.


How to Get Started with Clean Living

​​Transitioning to a clean-living lifestyle is a process that takes time and patience. While you could make a sweeping change to modify your entire lifestyle, that’s not attainable for most people. Instead, try making one change at a time, learn as you go, and build on your successes.


To begin, prioritize what’s most important to you and start there. For example, is your diet your biggest concern? Are your cleaning products making you sick? Or, maybe your skin is in breakouts from using personal care products. Take small steps to tackle the things that make the most sense to you.


The first step is developing a skill to learn to read and understand labels. Warning: the ingredients you find on labels will probably shock you. If you don’t know what the chemicals and other ingredients are (and most of us don’t), look them up at Environmental Working Group (EWG) or ThinkDirty to learn more.


5 Simple Clean Living Tips

Clean Eating

While there are several definitions for clean eating, most people agree that clean eating consists of eating whole, unprocessed, nutrient-rich foods when possible. Rather than trying to revamp your eating habits and meal plans overnight, you can begin by working toward the goal of including more of these types of foods more often. These tips can help you get started:

  • Avoid processed foods and artificial ingredients as much as possible

  • Incorporate more whole fruits and vegetables into every meal

  • Buy organic food whenever possible

  • Avoid highly processed foods with long lists of ingredients. If purchasing packaged foods, choose items that have five ingredients or less. Plus, make sure the ingredients are ones that you recognize and can pronounce


Choose Safe Cookware

It’s counterproductive to embark on a clean eating program if your cookware isn’t safe. Non-stick cookware, such as Teflon, promised convenience and the ability to save us time and money, but included harmful chemicals. So instead, cook with any of the following safe cookware options.

  • Cast iron cookware

  • Ceramic cookware

  • Stoneware

  • Corningware and glass cookware

  • Stainless steel cookware


Avoid Plastic Food Storage & Food in Tin Cans

Don’t defeat the positives clean eating offers by making food storage choices that could unravel the benefits. For example, most people are aware of the dangers of BPA (bisphenol A) and how its hormone-disrupting chemicals can mimic estrogen in the body, potentially affecting brain development, disrupting hormones, and negatively impacting fertility.


To start, avoid any plastic containers and food that comes in tin cans containing BPA. Unfortunately, research has shown that BPA alternatives can be just as harmful or even worse for your health! It’s especially important never to microwave food in plastic containers since heating plastic expedites the release of these chemicals.


You can ease into this change by starting with one swap, such as replacing plastic food storage containers with glass alternatives.


Swap Household Cleaners

Another way to avoid harmful ingredients is to swap out commercial household cleaners for more natural and eco-friendly options. Amazingly, there are no government regulations in the US that require companies to disclose their complete ingredient list due to proprietary trade secrets. But there are ways to avoid bringing toxic chemicals into your home.

  • Switch to microfiber for an easy, safe and non-toxic way to clean your home without any chemicals at all—just water! You can save time and money while also cutting down on waste since microfiber cloths last for years and replace cleaning solutions and paper towels.

  • ​​Make your natural cleaning solutions for more stubborn stains and situations. One effective and safe option is to use vinegar, baking soda, lemon juice, fragrance-free liquid soap. In addition to eliminating harsh chemicals, DIY cleaning products can be a big money saver.


Review Personal Care Products

According to the EWG, “the average woman uses 12 products containing 168 unique ingredients every day”. Our skin is our largest organ, and the products we use on our skin can be absorbed into our bloodstream. Therefore, the risk of health harm is greater when you use more products.

  • The first step you can take is to reduce the number of products you put on your body—makeup, body lotion, soap, body wash, and shower gel.

  • Avoid ALL products with fragrance, which is a blend of ingredients that can contain up to 4,000 undisclosed ingredients, including harmful toxins such as phthalates. In addition, many of the chemicals used to make fragrances can cause endocrine disruption, asthma, and even cancer and should be avoided altogether.

  • Consult Beautycounter’s Never List, which includes more than 1,500 questionable or harmful chemicals that they never use as ingredients in their products, including banned or restricted chemicals by the European Union.

Count on us to keep you informed as science uncovers information on how clean living can help you be as healthy as possible. In the meantime, explore our guidelines for a healthy diet, and become part of our empowering community, including our Breast Cancer Survivor & Friends Meet and Greets.


We’re always here for you!


SurvivingBreastCancer.org Resources & Support:

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

May 20 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

In Body Breathwork

May 21 ,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Brain Spotting

May 27,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

May 28,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

June 3, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

Jun 4,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

June 10,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

June 11, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

June 11,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page