页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

乳腺导管原位癌("零期 "乳腺癌):您需要了解的知识

作者:Kelly Hsu



什么是 DCIS?


乳腺导管原位癌(DCIS)是指乳腺导管中的细胞变成癌细胞。这也被称为 "零期 "乳腺癌.DCIS 是癌症的早期阶段,因此被认为非常容易治疗。它也是非侵入性的,因为癌细胞还没有扩散到身体的其他组织区域。


DCIS 通常不会出现明显症状 症状.虽然不常见,但有些患者报告说乳头有分泌物或感觉乳房内有肿块。自常规乳房 X 光筛查增加以来,发现和诊断率都有所提高。如今,DCIS 占乳腺癌诊断的 20-25% [1]。


DCIS 与风险


DCIS 本身不会危及生命,但主要的问题是,如果不及时治疗,它可能会发展成 浸润性乳腺癌1 期或更高期的浸润性导管癌 (IDC).患有 DCIS 的人罹患 IDC 的风险高于平均水平,但目前还没有足够的信息来准确预测哪些病例会恶化,哪些不会恶化。


时至今日,研究人员对于是否将 DCIS 视为 "真正的 "癌症并建议进行治疗,还是建议采取主动监测等侵袭性较低的措施仍存在争议。不过,研究人员一致认为,有必要对生物标志物(体内有助于提供更具体疾病信息的特定分子或特征)进行更多研究,以区分不同病例的风险,并针对每位患者提出更具体的建议[2, 3]。


评估和治疗


目前,几乎所有确诊为 DCIS 的患者都接受了治疗 [3]。对于确诊为 DCIS 的患者,有多种治疗方案可供选择 [4、5、6]:


  1. 外科手术

    1. 保乳手术(BCS)或肿块切除术包括切除局部受影响的细胞。随后通常会进行放射治疗(RT)。

    2. 乳房切除手术,即乳房切除术,包括通过手术切除所有乳房组织。随后可能会进行 乳房重建手术通常不涉及任何 RT。

  2. 放射治疗

    1. 放射治疗(放射治疗(RT)通常是在 BCS 之后进行的辅助治疗,目的是杀死残留的细胞,降低复发率。

  3. 激素疗法

    1. 如果 DCIS 显示雌激素或孕激素受体,则建议选择激素疗法。激素疗法的例子包括他莫昔芬(阻断雌激素受体)和芳香化酶抑制剂(降低绝经后妇女的雌激素水平)。这种疗法不会单独使用,而是作为手术后的辅助治疗。


手术和其他疗法可能非常有效,但同时也是侵入性的,并非没有风险。目前有许多主动监测研究试验,研究人员正在评估接受前期药物治疗的 DCIS 患者与不接受药物治疗,而是定期到临床团队进行常规检查和成像的患者之间的治疗效果是否有变化。这些研究的结果可能有助于临床医生更好地了解某些 DCIS 患者是否有可能避免手术[5]。


如果您或您的亲人被诊断出患有 DCIS、 请务必咨询您的医疗服务提供者,了解有哪些可供选择的方案,以及这些不同方案的利弊。目前的研究结果表明,只要及时诊断并采取适当的治疗方案,DCIS 的生存率非常高,10 年乳腺癌特异性生存率约为 98% [7]。


还可以根据重要的独特因素,为每个人量身定制非常具体的治疗路线 因素如疾病类型、总体健康状况、年龄和个人偏好。 您的医疗团队可以帮助您找出最适合您的治疗方案。



了解更多信息:



参考资料


  1. 汤姆林森-汉森(Tomlinson-Hansen, S.)、可汗(Khan, M.)和卡萨罗(Cassaro, S.)(2023 年)。乳腺导管原位癌。在 统计珍珠.StatPearls 出版社。

  2. 美国癌症研究协会。(2023 年 1 月 4 日)。 研究更新.领先发现》杂志。https://leadingdiscoveries.aacr.org/research-updates-9/

  3. Schmitz, R. S. J. M., Wilthagen, E. A., van Duijnhoven, F., van Oirsouw, M., Verschuur, E., Lynch, T., Punglia, R. S., Hwang, E. S., Wesseling, J., Schmidt, M. K., Bleiker, E. M. A., Engelhardt, E. G., & Grand Challenge Precision Consortium (2022)。原位导管癌妇女的预测模型和决策辅助工具:系统性文献综述》(Prediction Models and Decision Aids for Women with Ductal Carcinoma In Situ: A Systematic Literature Review. 癌症, 14(13), 3259.

  4. 梅奥医学教育与研究基金会。(2022年5月18日)。 乳腺导管原位癌(DCIS).梅奥诊所。https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/dcis/diagnosis-treatment/drc-20371895

  5. Grimm, L. J., Rahbar, H., Abdelmalak, M., Hall, A. H., & Ryser, M. D. (2021)。乳腺导管原位癌:最新进展回顾。 放射学, 302(2), 246-255.

  6. Van Seijen, M., Lips, E. H., Thompson, A. M., Nik-Zainal, S., Futreal, A., Hwang, E. S., Verschuur, E., Lane, J., Jonkers, J., Rea, D. W., Wesseling, J., & PRECISION 团队 (2019)。乳腺导管原位癌:治疗还是不治疗,这是一个问题。 英国癌症杂志, 121(4), 285-292.

  7. Elshof, L. E., Schmidt, M. K., Rutgers, E. J. T., van Leeuwen, F. E., Wesseling, J., & Schaapveld, M. (2018)。9799名接受原位乳管癌治疗的女性人群中的特定病因死亡率。 外科年鉴, 267(5), 952-958.


作者简介:Kelly Hsu

我是韦尔斯利学院(Wellesley College)(21 届)的应届毕业生,在那里我学习了神经科学。目前,我在麻省总医院癌症中心担任临床研究协调员,负责多项以患者为中心的成果研究。通过这些经历,我对健康教育、社会心理肿瘤学和姑息治疗产生了浓厚的兴趣。我计划明年秋天进入医学院学习,希望能继续追求这些兴趣。



乳腺癌幸存者网站资源与支持:



371 次查看

最新文章

查看全部

现在

候车室

评论


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

对于新诊断的患者

美国东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

东部时间 4 月 22 日下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 4 月 23 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 5 月 6 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 5 月 7 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

美国东部时间 5 月 13 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

美国东部时间 5 月 14 日上午 11:30

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 5 月 14 日下午 6:00

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

6

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Ductal Carcinoma in Situ (“Stage Zero” Breast Cancer): What You Need To Know

By Kelly Hsu



What is DCIS?


Ductal carcinoma in situ (DCIS) refers to when cells in the breast duct become cancer cells. This is also known as “stage zero” breast cancer. DCIS is a very early stage of cancer and as a result it is considered to be highly treatable. It is also non-invasive, as the cancerous cells have not spread to other tissue areas in the body.


DCIS does not usually present with noticeable symptoms. Though uncommon, some patients have reported experiencing discharge from the nipples or feeling a lump in the breast. Detection and diagnoses have increased since the increased implementation of routine mammogram screenings. Today, DCIS accounts for between 20-25% of breast cancer diagnoses [1].


DCIS and Risk


DCIS itself is not life-threatening, but the main concern is that if left untreated, it could progress into invasive breast cancer, meaning stage 1 or higher invasive ductal carcinoma (IDC). Individuals with DCIS have a higher-than-average risk of developing IDC, but there is not enough information to accurately predict which cases will progress and which will not.


To this day, it is controversial among researchers about whether to consider DCIS as a “real” cancer and recommend treatment, versus recommending less-invasive measures such as active surveillance. However, there is agreement that more research on biomarkers (specific molecules or characteristics in the body that can help give more specific information about a disease) is necessary in order to differentiate risk across cases and make more specific recommendations tailored to each individual patient [2, 3].


Evaluation and Treatment


Currently, almost all patients diagnosed with DCIS are treated [3]. There are a variety of treatment options for those with a DCIS diagnosis [4, 5, 6]:


  1. Surgery

    1. Breast-conserving surgery (BCS), or a lumpectomy, involves removing the local region of affected cells. This is often followed by radiation therapy (RT).

    2. Breast-removing surgery, or a mastectomy, involves surgically removing all breast tissue. This may be followed with breast reconstruction surgery, and does not usually involve any RT.

  2. Radiation therapy

    1. Radiation therapy (RT) will often follow BCS as an adjuvant treatment, with the purpose of killing any remaining cells and reducing the recurrence rate.

  3. Hormone therapy

    1. If the DCIS shows estrogen or progesterone receptors, hormone therapy could be recommended as a treatment option. Examples of hormone therapies include tamoxifen (which blocks estrogen receptors) and aromatase inhibitors (which lowers estrogen levels for postmenopausal women). This treatment would not be given alone, but rather as an adjuvant treatment after a surgery.


Surgery and other therapies can be very effective, but are also invasive and do not come without risks. There are a multitude of active surveillance research trials, where researchers are evaluating whether there is a change in outcomes between those who receive medical treatment upfront for DCIS, versus those who do not, and instead, regularly check in with their clinical team for routine examinations and imaging. The results of these studies may help clinicians better understand if it is possible for certain patients with DCIS to avoid surgery [5].


If you or a loved one have been diagnosed with DCIS, be sure to speak to your healthcare provider to see what options are available, as well as the pros and cons of these different options. Results currently show that with a timely diagnosis and appropriate treatment plan, survival outcomes for DCIS are very high, with a 10-year breast cancer-specific survival rate of about 98% [7].


Treatment routes can also be very specifically tailored to each individual based on important and unique factors such as their disease type, overall health status, age, and personal preferences. Together, your healthcare team can help you figure out what management option is the best fit for you.



Learn More:



References:


  1. Tomlinson-Hansen, S., Khan, M., & Cassaro, S. (2023). Breast Ductal Carcinoma in Situ. In StatPearls. StatPearls Publishing.

  2. American Association for Cancer Research. (2023, January 4). Research updates. Leading Discoveries Magazine. https://leadingdiscoveries.aacr.org/research-updates-9/

  3. Schmitz, R. S. J. M., Wilthagen, E. A., van Duijnhoven, F., van Oirsouw, M., Verschuur, E., Lynch, T., Punglia, R. S., Hwang, E. S., Wesseling, J., Schmidt, M. K., Bleiker, E. M. A., Engelhardt, E. G., & Grand Challenge Precision Consortium (2022). Prediction Models and Decision Aids for Women with Ductal Carcinoma In Situ: A Systematic Literature Review. Cancers, 14(13), 3259.

  4. Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research. (2022, May 18). Ductal carcinoma in situ (DCIS). Mayo Clinic. https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/dcis/diagnosis-treatment/drc-20371895

  5. Grimm, L. J., Rahbar, H., Abdelmalak, M., Hall, A. H., & Ryser, M. D. (2021). Ductal carcinoma in situ: State-of-the-art review. Radiology, 302(2), 246–255.

  6. Van Seijen, M., Lips, E. H., Thompson, A. M., Nik-Zainal, S., Futreal, A., Hwang, E. S., Verschuur, E., Lane, J., Jonkers, J., Rea, D. W., Wesseling, J., & PRECISION team (2019). Ductal carcinoma in situ: to treat or not to treat, that is the question. British journal of cancer, 121(4), 285–292.

  7. Elshof, L. E., Schmidt, M. K., Rutgers, E. J. T., van Leeuwen, F. E., Wesseling, J., & Schaapveld, M. (2018). Cause-specific Mortality in a Population-based Cohort of 9799 Women Treated for Ductal Carcinoma In Situ. Annals of surgery, 267(5), 952–958.


Author bio: Kelly Hsu

I am a recent graduate of Wellesley College (Class of ‘21), where I studied neuroscience. I am currently working as a Clinical Research Coordinator at the Massachusetts General Hospital Cancer Center on several patient-centered outcomes research studies. Through my experiences, I have developed passions for health education, psychosocial oncology, and palliative care. I plan to attend medical school next fall, where I hope to keep pursuing these interests.



SurvivingBreastCancer.org Resources & Support:



386 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

The Caregiver Huddle

Third Tuesday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Pilates

June 14,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

June 17 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

The Sun's Embrace: A Summer Solstice Meditation

June 21,  11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

June 25,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

July 1, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

July 2,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

July 9, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

July 9,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

July 22,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page