页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

与 BRCA 基因共存:书籍、文章和寻找答案的途径


您最近在读什么书?如果您是一位狂热的读者,您可能会有一份您的 必读 书单。但是,如果您被诊断出患有乳腺癌,或者最近发现自己携带 BRCA 基因,您的阅读清单可能已经变成了在互联网上搜索答案、阅读癌症博客、医学期刊等。寻找信息的过程可能会让您不知所措,可能会产生更多的问题,而不是答案,让您感到迷茫和孤独。


当我 34 岁被诊断出患有乳腺癌时,这就是我的现实。在 Survivingbreastcancer.org 网站上,我们很高兴能够为读者提供来自真实经历的内容,并进一步传播资源和信息,因为我们都知道 "知识就是力量"。

今天,在博客上,如果你正在寻找一篇来自过来人的好文章,这就是你一直在等待的!

了解 BRCA:与乳腺癌基因共存

作者:克拉丽莎-福斯特

BRCA(发音为 "bracka")是乳腺癌易感基因的缩写。有两个 BRCA 基因--BRCA1 和 BRCA2。这些基因的功能是肿瘤抑制因子,有助于防止癌症的形成。当这两个基因中的任何一个发生突变时,女性患乳腺癌和卵巢癌的风险就会很高,而男性患乳腺癌和前列腺癌的风险也会增加。这些基因的突变还与其他几种癌症风险的小幅增加有关。

35 岁时,我被发现携带第二个乳腺癌(BRCA2)基因的有害突变,统计数据表明,我一生中患乳腺癌的几率为 45%-85%,患卵巢癌的几率为 10%-30%,远远高于普通人群。

发现自己携带 BRCA 基因突变是一件很难的事,如果这种情况发生在你身上,你会有很多问题急于找到答案。我感到不知所措,对未来充满恐惧。我迫切希望与其他和我有同样经历的女性建立联系,并为我的许多问题找到答案。我在当地寻找 BRCA 支持小组,但一个也没有。我还找了一本书,但似乎没有一本能提供我想要的东西。我急切地想与转介给我的顾问见面,但这一过程需要时间,等待这些预约令人沮丧。我希望他们能回答我所有的问题,但实际上,即使是顾问也没有所有的答案,因为我们还不完全了解 BRCA 基因及其影响。


我感到非常害怕、孤独和沮丧,因为帮助和支持似乎太少了,我希望改变这种状况。因此,我决定,一旦我走过了自己的历程,我就会写一本书,希望能帮助其他人。

本书旨在加深您对 BRCA 基因突变的了解,以及携带者控制其基因突变的各种方法,包括筛查、降低风险的手术和化学预防,并参考了相关研究。在本书的最后一部分,我将与大家分享我个人接受降低风险手术的心路历程,包括切除卵巢和输卵管(称为双侧输卵管卵巢切除术,读作oo-for-ek-tuh-mee)和切除乳房组织并保留乳头(称为双侧乳头保留乳房切除术)。

我将开诚布公地详述我在手术前、手术中和手术后所感受到的情绪,以及接受这些手术和切除双侧卵巢后由手术引起的更年期的身体体验。我将分享这些手术对我的身体形象、身份认同和性功能的影响(如果有的话)。

本书旨在回答我个人提出的许多问题,包括那些你可能觉得不便提出的问题。我对很多事情都感到焦虑,但在经历了自己的人生旅程后,我现在意识到,我根本不需要担心那么多。我真希望我当时就知道我现在所知道的一切;这样我就不会那么害怕和焦虑了。

如果您被发现携带 BRCA 基因突变,我希望通过与您分享我的心路历程,您会发现这段旅程虽然非常艰难,但也许并不像您现在感觉的那样可怕和不可逾越。你会渡过难关的--我做到了,你也可以。而且,虽然我知道你现在可能没有这种感觉,但你甚至可能会对这段旅程改变你的积极方式感到惊喜。


我是一名高级水平的人类生物学教师,拥有教授 GCSE 和高级水平(A-level)人类生物学的经验。我还拥有医学写作经验,并在本书的写作过程中利用了这两项技能。帮助他人的愿望不仅激励我写下了这本书,还激励我建立了一个网站,为全世界发现携带或相信自己可能携带 BRCA1 或 BRCA2 基因突变的女性和男性提供支持。

本博客摘自克拉丽莎-福斯特(Clarissa Foster)的新书《了解 BRCA:与乳腺癌基因共存》(Understanding BRCA: Living with the breast cancer gene),该书现已在 Hammersmith Health Books 网站。

最新文章

查看全部

现在

候车室

תגובות


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

对于新诊断的患者

美国东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

东部时间 4 月 22 日下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 4 月 23 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 5 月 6 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 5 月 7 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

美国东部时间 5 月 13 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

美国东部时间 5 月 14 日上午 11:30

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 5 月 14 日下午 6:00

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。

top of page

Living With the BRCA Gene: Books, Articles, and Where to Find Answers


What are you reading these days? If you are an avid reader, you probably have a running list of your must read books already cued up. However, if you have been diagnosed with breast cancer or recently found out that you carry the BRCA gene, your reading list may have turned into scouring the internet for answers, reading cancer blogs, medical journals, and the like. The search for information can be overwhelming, perhaps generating more questions then answers, and leaving you feeling lost and alone.


When I was diagnosed with breast cancer at 34, this was my reality. At Survivingbreastcancer.org we are pleased to be able to offer our readers content drawn from real experiences and further disseminate resources and information because we all know "Knowledge is Power".

Today on the Blog, if you are looking for a good read from someone who has been there - this is what you've been waiting for!

Understanding BRCA: Living With The Breast Cancer Gene

by Clarissa Foster

BRCA (pronounced ‘bracka’) stands for BReast CAncer susceptibility gene. There are two BRCA genes – BRCA1 and BRCA2. These genes function as tumour suppressors, helping to prevent the formation of cancer. When either of these genes carries a mutation, a woman has a high risk of developing breast and ovarian cancer, and men with these mutations are also at increased risk of breast and prostate cancer. Mutations in these genes have also been associated with a small increased risk of several additional types of cancer.

At the age of 35, I was found to carry a harmful mutation in the second breast cancer (BRCA2) gene and statistics suggested that I had a 45-85% chance of developing breast cancer and a 10-30% risk of developing ovarian cancer during my lifetime, which is much higher than in the general population.

Finding out that you carry a BRCA mutation is hard, and if this happens to you, you will have a great many questions that you will feel desperate to find the answers to. I felt overwhelmed and scared of the future that lay ahead. I desperately wanted to connect with other women who were going through the same thing as me and to find answers to my many questions. I looked for a BRCA support group locally, but there were none. I also looked for a book but none seemed to offer what I was looking for. I was eager to meet with the consultants that I had been referred to, but this process takes time and it was frustrating waiting for these appointments. I hoped they would be able to answer all of my questions but, in reality, even the consultants didn’t have all the answers as we do not yet fully understand the BRCA genes and their impact.


I felt very frightened, alone and frustrated that there seemed to be so little help and support and I wanted this to change. I decided, therefore, that once I had come through my own journey, I would write a book with the aim of helping others.

This book aims to improve your understanding of BRCA gene mutations and the various ways in which a carrier can manage his/her mutation, including screening, risk-reducing surgery and chemo-prevention, with reference to relevant research. In the last part of this book, I share with you my own personal journey of undergoing risk-reducing surgery, including the removal of my ovaries and fallopian tubes (known as a bilateral salpingo-oophorectomy, pronounced oo-for-ek-tuh-mee) and the removal of my breast tissue while retaining my nipples (known as a bilateral, nipple-sparing mastectomy).

I detail, openly and honestly, the emotions I felt before, during and after my surgeries, along with the physical experience of undergoing these operations and the surgically-induced menopause which follows the removal of both ovaries. I will share the effect, if any, that these operations have had on my body image, identity and sexual functioning.

This book aims to answer the many questions that I personally had, including those that you may feel are simply too uncomfortable to ask. I felt anxious about so many things but, having come through my own journey, I realize now that I needn’t have worried anywhere near as much as I did. I really wish I had known then what I know now; it would have spared me a lot of fear and anxiety.

If you have been found to carry a BRCA gene mutation, I hope that by sharing my journey with you, you will see for yourself that this journey, albeit very tough, may not be as terrifying and as insurmountable as you may be feeling right now. You will get through this – I did and you can too. And, while I appreciate you may not be feeling this way now, you may even be nicely surprised by the positive ways in which this journey may change you as a person.


I am an Advanced-level Human Biology teacher and have experience of teaching both GCSE and Advanced-level (A-level) Human Biology. I also have experience of medical writing and have drawn from both of these skills throughout the writing of this book. My desire to help others has inspired me not only to write this book, but also to set up a website to offer my support to women and men worldwide who have been found to carry, or who believe they may carry, a BRCA1 or BRCA2 gene mutation.

This blog was taken from Clarissa Foster’s new book Understanding BRCA: Living with the breast cancer gene is now available on the Hammersmith Health Books website.

#BRCA #breastcancer #BRCA1 #BRCA2

65 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Spanish support group

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Journey to the Stars

September  25 1:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong 

September 26, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

October 1, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

October 2 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

October 3 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga with

Chair assist 

October 10, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Writing Workshop:

Reflect and Recharge

October 16, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page