页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

男性乳房再造:固定还是平整?

罗德-里奇


为什么男人会担心乳房切除术后的乳房重建是一个合理的问题。另一方面,对于女性来说,乳房往往是她们身份的重要组成部分,有助于激发性欲,并在喂养婴儿方面发挥着实际作用。当我被诊断出患有癌症时,我的主要想法是,我认为男人不会得癌症、 同时,我还要接受自己竟然有乳房的事实。

后来我问外科医生 为什么在我的乳房手术后时,她似乎很惊讶。她解释说,虽然有可能重建一个男性乳房的复制品,但由于缺乏额外的材料,重建工作会变得更加困难,而且实际上会阻碍外科医生的工作,因为癌症通常会在男性乳房中传播得更远。 男性乳房。


晚期乳腺癌治疗的影响

我很高兴能切除癌症,这意味着我把治疗后的美观问题放在了一边。整个冬天我都在接受治疗,袒胸露乳是我最不愿意考虑的事情。 春天来临的时候,我因为化疗而秃顶,因为乳房手术而留下疤痕 手术和灼伤 辐射的时候,我觉得自己一点也不正常。出于某种原因,我以为乳房切除术的疤痕会平整地贴在胸前。我渴望我的身体恢复正常,当我终于在其他地方痊愈时,我很失望,但我却留下了一个 疤痕和一个凹陷的洼地。夏天即将来临,我想知道我在泳池或海滩上会得到什么样的目光。

重建

我从未进行过重建,但治疗后六年了、 我常常想,我应该考虑重建乳房。我认识很多患乳腺癌的人,但做过乳房再造的人却不多。我从优秀的 乳房倡导者应用程序提供了公正的、以证据为基础的信息和建议,以满足个人需求,不分性别)了解到 男性他们有多种选择。


男性乳腺癌联盟 男性乳腺癌联盟对男性进行的调查发现,有一半的男性接受了乳房再造手术,但只有 7% 的男性选择了这种手术。 只有 7% 的人选择了重建。在选择重建的男性中,73%的人对重建结果感到满意,87%的人表示他们今后不会再考虑这种手术。 (1)


但是 但是,复制一个或多个被切除乳房的复制品是可能的。逼真的效果取决于外科医生的技术,而这项工作通常是由生物整形外科医生来完成的。Breastcancer.org 提供了一份很好的 问题清单包括 (2)

  1. 你重建过多少人的身体?

  2. 哪种重建方式最适合我?

  3. 重建后我的乳房会是什么样子?

  4. 整形后的手感如何?

  5. 衰老对再造乳房有什么影响?


拥抱你的决定

只有你自己才会对自己做出的决定感到满意,而这显然是一个基于众多因素的个人决定。虽然我选择了平胸,虽然我现在很乐意在公共场合袒胸露乳,但当我年幼的孙子问我的胸部怎么了时,我还是觉得很好笑。


我说:"我当时在斗剑"


"酷,"他们回答。

您在重建方面有什么经验?



了解更多信息:


参考资料

  1. 治愈。男性乳腺癌患者可选择重建手术。请访问 https://www.curetoday.com/view/reconstruction-is-an-option-for-male-breast-cancer.Accessed on Jan 05 21.

  2. BreastCancer.org.向外科医生咨询有关乳房重建的问题。请访问 https://www.breastcancer.org/treatment/surgery/reconstruction/questions-to-ask.Accessed on Jan 05 21.


作者简介:

罗德-里奇罗德-里奇(Rod Ritchie)是一位出生于悉尼的作家、网络出版商和乳腺癌患者活动家,同时患有乳腺癌和前列腺癌。目前,他的乳腺癌和前列腺癌均为非晚期。他是男性乳腺癌全球联盟董事会主席,他的网站是 MaleBC.org 您可以在 Twitter 上关注他 @malefitness.

他为《健康联盟》撰写的文章可在 这里.



乳腺癌幸存者网站资源与支持:



280 次浏览

最新文章

查看全部

现在

候车室

科门塔里奥斯


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

对于新诊断的患者

美国东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

东部时间 4 月 22 日下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 4 月 23 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 5 月 6 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 5 月 7 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

美国东部时间 5 月 13 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

美国东部时间 5 月 14 日上午 11:30

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 5 月 14 日下午 6:00

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Male Breast Reconstruction: Fixed or Flat?

By Rod Ritchie


Why a man might worry about breast reconstruction after a mastectomy is a fair question. For women, on the other hand, breasts are more often an essential part of their identity, help stimulate sexual desire, and serve a practical role in feeding their baby. When I was diagnosed, my main thought was having cancer that I didn’t think men got, while coming to terms with the fact that I even had breasts.

When I asked my surgeon later why I wasn’t offered reconstruction after my breast surgery, she seemed surprised. While it is possible to rebuild a facsimile of a guy’s breast, she explained, the lack of extra material makes it harder and actually inhibits the surgeon who really has to work hard to remove the affected tissue, since cancer often travels further in male breasts.


Impact of advanced breast cancer treatment

Being happy to have my cancer removed meant I put aside the thought of post-treatment aesthetics. I was treated through winter, and baring my chest was the last thing on my mind. When I emerged in spring, bald from chemotherapy, scarred from breast surgery, and burnt from radiation, I felt anything but normal. For some reason, I thought that my mastectomy scar would lay flat against my chest. I yearned for normality in my body and was disappointed when I finally healed elsewhere, but I was left with a scar and a concave depression where my left breast used to be. With summer approaching, I was wondering what sort of looks I might get at the pool or on the beach.

Reconstruction

I never pursued reconstruction, but, six years post-treatment, I often think that it’s something I should have considered. I know lots of guys with breast cancer, but not so many who’ve had breast reconstruction. I’ve learned from the excellent Breast Advocate app, (which provides impartial, evidence-based information and recommendations to suit individuals, regardless of gender) that men have several options available to them.


The Male Breast Cancer Coalition survey of men found that half of the guys were offered reconstruction, yet only 7% of them chose it. Of those who did, 73% were happy with the result, while 87% indicated they were not interested in considering the procedure in the future. (1)


However, reproducing a facsimile of your removed breast or breasts is possible. Realistic results will depend on the skill of the surgeon, and the task is often performed by an onco-plastic surgeon. Breastcancer.org provides a great list of questions to ask beforehand including: (2)

  1. How many men have you reconstructed?

  2. What type of reconstruction is best for me?

  3. What will my breast look like following reconstruction?

  4. How will my reconstructed feel to touch?

  5. How will aging affect my reconstructed breast?


Embrace your decision

Only you need to be happy with the decision you make, and it’s obviously a personal one based on so many factors. While I chose to stay flat, and although I’m quite happy to bare my chest in public these days, I was amused when my young grandkids asked what happened to my chest.


I said, “I was in a sword fight.”


“Cool,” they replied.

What has been your experience with reconstruction?



Learn More:


References:

  1. Cure. Reconstruction Is an Option for Male Breast Cancer. Available at: https://www.curetoday.com/view/reconstruction-is-an-option-for-male-breast-cancer. Accessed on Jan 05 21.

  2. BreastCancer.org. Questions to Ask Your Surgeon About Breast Reconstruction. Available at: https://www.breastcancer.org/treatment/surgery/reconstruction/questions-to-ask. Accessed on Jan 05 21.


Author bio:

Rod Ritchie is a Sydney-born writer, internet publisher, and breast cancer patient activist, living with breast and prostate cancers. Currently, he’s NED for both. He’s President, Board of Directors, Male Breast Cancer Global Alliance, has a website at MaleBC.org and you can follow him on Twitter @malefitness.

His articles for Health Union can be found here.



SurvivingBreastCancer.org Resources & Support:



280 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Pilates

April 12, 10:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

April 16,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

The secret Garden

April 22,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

April 23,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

May 6, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

May 7,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

May 13,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

May 14, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico