页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

管理乳腺癌诊断的情绪阶段



A 乳腺癌诊断可能会让你一蹶不振。无论你是 新诊断、面临复发或病情恶化。


乳腺癌的诊断会让一些人感到震惊、麻木,并问自己:"这怎么会发生在我身上?我做的一切都是'正确的'"。其他人可能会在充满不确定性的紧张时刻感到恐惧,而有些人则会进入高速运转和激烈的计划模式,试图控制自己力所能及的事情。希望知道自己的情绪反应是很自然的,这可以让人安心。


现实情况是,乳腺癌及其治疗可能令人不快和恐惧,因此,可以理解的是,你会经历一系列的情绪。此外,您可能会对未来感到不确定,担心如何平衡工作、财务、家庭等,所有这些都会造成压力和创伤。


每个人对乳腺癌的反应都不尽相同,有可能同时感受到多种不同的情绪。对改变人生的诊断做出反应的方式没有对错之分,就像没有单一的方式来处理因诊断而产生的情绪一样。每个人都是独一无二的,你可以用最适合自己的方式来处理自己的情绪。

虽然没有简单的解决方案,但了解情绪上的影响并在这一充满挑战的时刻寻求支持可能会让您感到安心。


乳腺癌诊断的情感阶段

乳腺癌诊断所产生的感受有时被比作 悲伤的五个阶段 精神病学家伊丽莎白-库伯勒-罗斯(Elisabeth Kübler-Ross)在 1969 年确定的悲伤五阶段--否认、愤怒、讨价还价、悲伤和抑郁以及接受。在许多方面,这与悼念诊断前的生活很相似。然而,虽然很多人都熟悉这一模式所包含的框架,但并不一定每个人都会这样处理自己的诊断。

尽管悲伤的各个阶段有时是按顺序编号的,但人们并不一定会按顺序或在特定的时间内经历这些阶段。您可能会感受到这些情绪中的全部或部分,或者这里没有提到的其他情绪。


拒绝

面对令人震惊的消息,人们有时会否认。震惊会让你感到麻木或目瞪口呆,导致最初的难以置信。否认是一种下意识的自然应对机制,可以保护我们不至于过于不知所措。它能让我们以更容易处理的方式来处理新闻。


愤怒

有些人在确诊乳腺癌后会感到愤怒。例如,你可能会感到愤怒,因为你觉得自己失去了控制,觉得你所知道的生活正在发生变化,或者如果你的家人和朋友对这一消息的反应不符合你的预期。


谈判

虽然没有什么能让你对乳腺癌的诊断有所准备,但很多人都会想 "如果"。如果你能早点发现肿瘤或以某种方式预防癌症就好了。你会把注意力集中在这些情况上,试图获得控制权。不幸的是,讨价还价有时会导致将癌症归咎于自己,但被诊断出乳腺癌并不是你的错。


悲伤与抑郁

得知自己罹患乳腺癌后,感到悲伤或出现抑郁症状是完全正常的。抑郁症有多种表现形式,包括缺乏动力和兴趣、睡眠问题或食欲不振。


接受

接受新的现实可能具有挑战性,但却能带来希望和力量感。然而,这并不一定意味着你不会继续与恐惧、愤怒或悲伤等其他情绪作斗争。接受可能会帮助你对自己的未来做出决定,并体验内心的力量。


驾驭和管理你的情绪

当被诊断出患有乳腺癌时,您必须对大量信息进行分类,以便就治疗计划做出明智的决定。面对过山车般的情绪和未知,会大大增加您的压力,影响您对自己的健康做出明智决定的能力。


然而,处理好确诊后的情绪阶段是至关重要的,因为这将使您更好地理解您的 治疗方案和处理治疗需求。


让您的医疗团队了解您正在经历的情绪非常重要,这样他们就可以为您联系资源,帮助您获得支持。例如,如果不及时治疗,愤怒和抑郁可能会造成严重后果。


"每个人都有自己的看法,但我应该怎么做呢?然而,归根结底,选择是我自己的。这是我的决定,也是我必须接受的决定。对我来说,这给了我平静和控制。只要我每天醒来都能诚实地看着镜子里的自己,知道自己做出了最适合自己的决定,我就心满意足了。这种心态也让我减轻了很多身边的压力!"劳拉-卡芳


乳腺癌幸存者还提供 多种资源包括财务管理指南、播客和网络研讨会,为您提供信息,减轻您的焦虑。此外,我们的全球在线社区让您有机会与他人建立联系,获得安全、无评判、点对点的支持,确保您永远不会感到孤单。我们还提供 治疗研讨会心灵运动课程您还可以加入我们的 小组配对导师.


依靠我们

乳腺癌的诊断可能会颠覆你的生活。有时,您可能会感觉自己的大脑在不停地转动,既要处理自己的情绪,又要搜索信息,寻找合适的医生,还要照顾好自己。但是,从第一天起,我们就在这里为您提供资源、一个充满关爱的在线社区,以及任何能给您力量和希望的东西。


无论您是以 现金捐赠举办 筹款还是 志愿者有了您的支持,我们才能将这些资源提供给尽可能多的人。


129 次浏览

最新文章

查看全部

冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

正念促进健康

东部时间 2 月 23 日下午 1:30

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 2 月 16 日上午 10:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

美国东部时间 19 日星期一下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 2 月 27 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 3 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 3 月 5 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 3 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 3 月 12 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 3 月 12 日上午 11:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Managing the Emotional Stages of a Breast Cancer Diagnosis



A breast cancer diagnosis can send you into a tailspin. The official pronouncement can stir emotions whether you’re newly diagnosed, face a reoccurrence, or experiencing progression.


A breast cancer diagnosis can leave some people feeling shocked, numb, and asking themselves, “How could this happen to me? I was doing everything ‘right.’” Others may feel frightened in a stressful time of uncertainty, while some kick it into high gear and fierce planning mode, trying to control what is in their power. Hopefully, knowing that your emotional reactions are natural can be reassuring.


The reality is that breast cancer and its treatment can be unpleasant and frightening, so, understandably, you experience a range of emotions. In addition, you may feel uncertain about the future and worry about balancing work, finances, family, etc.— all of which can contribute to building stress and be traumatic.


Each person reacts to breast cancer differently, and it is possible to feel many different emotions simultaneously. There’s no right or wrong way to respond to a life-changing diagnosis, just as there’s no single way to deal with the feelings that come about due to a diagnosis. Everyone is unique, and you have permission to deal with your emotions in the best way that works for you.

Although there’s no easy solution, it may be reassuring to understand the emotional impact and seek support as you navigate this challenging time.


Emotional Stages of a Breast Cancer Diagnosis

The feelings generated by a breast cancer diagnosis are sometimes compared to the five stages of grief identified by psychiatrist Elisabeth Kübler-Ross in 1969—denial, anger, bargaining, sadness and depression, and acceptance. In many ways, it is much like mourning your pre-diagnosis life. However, while the framework included in this model is familiar to many people, it isn’t necessarily how everyone will process their diagnosis.

Although the stages of grief are sometimes numbered sequentially, people don’t necessarily experience them in that order or for a specific time. You may feel all or some of these emotions or other emotions not referenced here.


Denial

When faced with overwhelming news, people sometimes go into denial. The shock can make you feel numb or stunned, leading to an initial feeling of disbelief. Denial is a subconscious natural coping mechanism that protects us from becoming too overwhelmed. It allows us to process the news in more manageable pieces.


Anger

Receiving a breast cancer diagnosis can trigger anger in some people. For example, you may feel angry because you feel out of control, feel life as you know it is changing, or if your family and friends don’t react to the news the way you expect.


Bargaining

Although nothing could prepare you for getting a breast cancer diagnosis, many people respond by thinking, “what if.” If only you had found the tumor earlier or somehow prevented your cancer. Your mind focuses on those scenarios in an attempt to gain control. Unfortunately, bargaining can sometimes lead to blaming yourself for your cancer, but being diagnosed with breast cancer is not your fault.


Sadness and Depression

It’s completely natural that learning you have breast cancer would cause you to feel sad or have symptoms of depression. Depression can manifest in several ways, including a lack of motivation and interest, sleeping issues, or a lack of appetite.


Acceptance

Coming to terms with your new reality can be challenging but can lead to hope and feeling empowered. However, it doesn’t necessarily mean that you won’t continue to struggle with other feelings such as fear, anger, or sadness. Acceptance may help you make decisions about your future and experience inner strength.


Navigating and Managing Your Emotions

When diagnosed with breast cancer, you have to sort through the overwhelming volumes of information to make informed decisions about your treatment plan. Dealing with the roller coaster of emotions and the unknown can significantly increase your stress level and interfere with your ability to make informed decisions about your health.


However, managing the emotional stages of your diagnosis is essential because it will put you in a better position to understand your treatment options and handle the treatment demands.


It’s essential to alert your healthcare team about the emotions you’re experiencing so they can connect you with resources to help support you. Anger and depression, for example, can have severe consequences if left untreated.


“Everyone has an opinion but what it is that I should do. However, at the end of the day, the choice was mine. They were my decisions and decisions I had to live with. For me, this gave me peace and control. As long as I could wake up every day and honestly look at myself in the mirror knowing that I made the best decision for ME, then I was content. This mindset also allowed me to alleviate a lot of the stress around me too!” –Laura Carfang


Surviving Breast Cancer also offers multiple resources about financial support, including financial management guides, podcasts, and webinars to provide you with information and lessen your anxiety. In addition, our global online community offers opportunities to connect with others for safe, judgment-free, peer-to-peer support to ensure that you’re never alone. We also offer healing workshops and mindful movement classes, and you can join any of our groups or get matched with a mentor.


Count On Us

A breast cancer diagnosis can upend your life. It may sometimes feel like your head is spinning between dealing with your emotions, searching for information, finding the right doctor, and taking care of yourself. But, we are here for you from day one, with resources, a caring online community, and anything else to give you strength and hope.


Whether you make a cash donation, host a fundraiser, or volunteer, your support enables us to make those resources available to as many people as possible.


Recent Posts

See All

The Now

Comentários


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

The secret Garden

April 22,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

April 23,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

May 6, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

May 7,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

May 13,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

May 14, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

May 14,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico