页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

把自己放在第一位

克里斯汀-卡特



2008 年,当 Dawn Oswald 被诊断出患有早期乳腺癌时,她的第一反应是尽快接受治疗,以便继续从事职业治疗助理的工作。"我一生中大部分时间都把人放在第一位。这是我关爱他人的天性,"她说。


经过化疗和一个月的放射治疗后,她重返工作岗位。为了防止癌症复发并继续工作,她服用了十年的药物。"她解释说:"我只需要回去工作,帮助我的病人康复。与此同时,她养育了四个孩子。

直到十年后,当黎明 被诊断出患有第四期乳腺癌她才 "重新审视生活",把自己放在第一位。在过去的五年里,她带着自己和丈夫进行了多次旅行,包括三次夏威夷之旅和多次巡游。她甚至在海边买了一栋房子,可以坐在前廊上看海,看船只驶过,这给她带来了平静。她需要休息的时候就休息,过一天算一天。

妇女往往是世界的帮手


黎明并不是唯一一个专注于帮助他人的人。根据《LibreText™》杂志的研究报告,平均而言,女性更关注 "他人"。 LibreTexts与男性相比,女性 "更有可能在涉及长期养育和关怀的情况下提供帮助,尤其是在亲密关系中",如家庭和朋友关系。女性也比男性更有可能从事志愿服务或帮助家庭等职业和社区行为。

在大多数国家(如果不是所有国家的话),妇女的社会化角色是照顾他人。除了工作,大多数妇女还要照顾子女和家庭。越来越多的妇女还要照顾年迈的父母。

根据国际咨询集团 麦肯锡公司.在美国,即使在赚取大部分家庭收入的女性中,也有 43% 的家庭主要收入来源女性继续承担全部或大部分家务劳动、 43%的家庭主要收入来源女性仍然承担着全部或大部分家务劳动。而在男性中,这一比例仅为 12%。在印度等一些国家,妇女承担的无偿照料工作几乎是男性的十倍。

由于 COVID-19 的经济影响,妇女面临的挑战更大;例如,在美国,妇女每天花在家庭责任上的时间增加了 1.5 到 2 个小时。

改变模式


要解决这些问题,有些需要从国家、州、社区和公司层面着手。但是,您可以采取一些措施来收回用于帮助他人的时间,并利用这些时间来培养自己的能力。

研究表明 研究表明,抽出时间做自己的事不仅对自己有好处,对家庭和工作场所也有好处。如果你对事业或家庭感到倦怠或失去兴趣,这对任何人都没有好处。

自我保健创意

以下是你可以优先考虑自己和健康的十几种方法:

  1. 给自己写一封 "宽恕信",免除自己对过去没有把自己放在优先位置的内疚。以干净、积极的心态开始。

  2. 开始把自己放在首位,哪怕每天只有一小段时间。

  3. 停止自责.让内心那个说你必须完美的挑剔声音安静下来。把自己想象成一个善待自己、温柔待人的人。

  4. 每天做一些能让你感觉良好的事情,哪怕是很小的事情。

  5. 挤出时间休息。即使是几分钟的深呼吸也会有所帮助。

  6. 睡个好觉.专家建议,睡前不要看屏幕,房间尽量保持黑暗,每天在同一时间睡觉和起床。

  7. 开始冥想.短短五分钟就能带来巨大的改变。如果五分钟太长,那就从一分钟开始,慢慢呼吸,平复心情。如果有想法冒出来,想象把它们装进气球,让它们飘走。

  8. 锻炼.散散步。伸展运动。与朋友或家人一起散步聊天。如果您有孩子,可以和他们一起做一些有趣的运动。

  9. 开始计划未来的假期。一半的乐趣在于计划。

  10. 请一位同样在自我保健方面挣扎的家人或同事做你的责任伙伴,让彼此负责任地寻找 "我的时间"。

  11. 写一本自我保健日记--简单记下你为关爱自己所做的事情以及这些事情给你带来的感受。如果你有记日记的习惯,可以将其添加到你的习惯跟踪器中。或者干脆把它贴在便利贴上,让你每天都能看到。

  12. 学会说 "不"。对他人的帮助请求说 "不",就等于对自己说 "是"。你可以试着这样说:"我很想帮你,但现在我需要照顾好自己"。很有可能,对方不仅会接受你的解释,还会因此尊重你。

从小事做起。从清单中挑选一件事,尝试几天。看看会发生什么。在有效的基础上再接再厉,从无效的地方吸取教训。研究表明,做出你能坚持的微小改变比尝试崇高目标更成功。

最后的话


忽视自己的需求会让别人觉得你无所谓。反之,选择向家人和同事展示你对自己和健康的珍视,从而为自己的付出和保护自己的珍爱设定限制。

"直到被诊断为第四期,我才意识到 我需要照顾好自己道恩说。"我甚至在正式退休前还继续工作了 15 个月。是的,一开始很艰难,但我现在很好,很享受我的生活。





了解更多信息:



作者简介:

克里斯汀-卡特是一名拥有通信背景的认证教练。她于 2008 年被诊断出患有零期乳腺癌,并于 2018 年被诊断出患有转移性乳腺癌。为 SBC 写作--分享帮助她和其他人应对和茁壮成长的工具--对她来说是一种创造性的发泄,也给了她一种意义和目标感。她的联系方式是 kristen@survivingbreastcancer.org.



乳腺癌幸存者网站资源与支持:



500 次浏览

最新文章

查看全部

冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

正念促进健康

东部时间 2 月 23 日下午 1:30

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 2 月 16 日上午 10:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

美国东部时间 19 日星期一下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 2 月 27 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 3 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 3 月 5 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 3 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 3 月 12 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 3 月 12 日上午 11:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Putting Yourself First

By Kristen Carter



When Dawn Oswald was diagnosed with early-stage breast cancer in 2008, her first impulse was to get on with treatment as quickly as possible so she could keep working as an occupational therapy assistant. “Most of my life I put people first. It’s my caring nature,” she said.


After chemo and a month of radiation she was back on the job. She took medication for ten years to prevent the cancer from recurring and so she could keep working. “I just needed to go back to work to help my patients get better,” she explained. Meanwhile, she raised four children.

It was only ten years later, when Dawn was diagnosed with Stage 4 breast cancer, that she “took another look on life” and put herself first. Over the past five years she has treated herself and her husband to multiple trips, including three times to Hawaii and multiple cruises. She even bought a house on a beach, where she can sit on the front porch and see the water and watch the boats go by, which brings her peace. She rests when she needs to and lives one day at a time.

Women Tend to be the World’s Helpers


Dawn is not alone in her focus on helping others. Women are, on average, more focused on “other-concern,” according to studies reported by LibreTexts™, and “are more likely than men to help in situations that involve long-term nurturance and caring, particularly within close relationships” such as families and friendships. Women are also more likely than men to engage in occupations and community behaviors such as volunteering or helping families.

In most, if not all, countries, women are socialized to take care of others. In addition to work, most women manage their children and family’s obligations. An increasing number of women also care for their aging parents.

Around the world, women do an average of three times as much unpaid care work as men, according to international consulting group McKinsey & Company. In the U.S., even among women who earn the majority of their household’s income, 43 percent of women who are primary household income earners continue to do all or most of the household work, compared with only 12 percent of men. In some countries like India, women do almost ten times as much unpaid care work as men.

The challenge for women is even greater thanks to the economic fallout from COVID-19; in the U.S., for example, the amount of time women spend on household responsibilities increased by 1.5 to 2 hours per day, according to a study by

Changing the Paradigm


Some of the solutions to these problems rest at the national, state, community, and company level. But there are steps you can take to reclaim time spent helping others that you can use to nurture yoc

Research shows that taking time to yourself is good not just for you but also for your family and your workplace. If you’re burnt out or have lost interest in your career or family, it’s not good for anyone.

Ideas for Self-Care

Here are a dozen ways you might prioritize yourself and your health:

  1. Write yourself a forgiveness letter, absolving yourself of any guilt you feel over not prioritizing yourself more in the past. Start with a clean, positive slate.

  2. Begin to make yourself the priority, even if it’s only for a small amount of time every day.

  3. Stop beating yourself up. Silence that critical inner voice that says you have to be perfect. Think of yourself as the type of person who is kind and gentle with herself.

  4. Do something, even something tiny, that will make you feel good each day.

  5. Make time to rest. Even a few minutes of deep breathing will help.

  6. Get a good night’s sleep. Experts recommend avoiding screens before bed, keeping your room as dark as possible, and going to sleep and waking up at the same time each day.

  7. Start meditating. Just five minutes can make a massive difference. If five is too many, start with one minute where you breathe slowly and calm your mind. If thoughts pop up, imagine putting them in balloons and letting them float away.

  8. Exercise. Go for a walk. Stretch. Join a friend or family member for a walk-and-talk. If you have kids, join them for something fun and physical.

  9. Begin planning a future vacation. Half the fun is in the planning.

  10. Ask a family member or colleague who also struggles with self-care to be your accountability buddy and keep each other accountable for finding “me time.”

  11. Keep a self-care journal – simply jot down what you did to care for yourself and how it made you feel. If you keep one, add it to your habit tracker. Or simply stick it on a post-it note where you’ll see it daily.

  12. Learn to say no. A no to requests for help from others is the same as saying YES to yourself. You could try something like, “I’d like to help you but right now I need to take care of myself.” Chances are, the other person will not only accept your explanation but respect you for it.

Start small. Pick one thing from the list and try it for a few days. See what happens. Build on what works and learn from what doesn’t. Research shows that making tiny changes you can stick with is more successful than attempting lofty goals.

Last Words


Ignoring your own needs shows others that it’s okay with you. Choose instead to show your family and colleagues that you value yourself and your health enough to set limits on what you’ll give away and what you protect for your precious self.

“It wasn’t until I was diagnosed Stage 4 that I realized I needed to take care of me,” Dawn said. “I even continued working for 15 months before I officially retired. Yes, it was hard at first, but I’m good now and enjoying my life.”





Learn more:



Author bio:

Kristen Carter is a certified coach with a background in communications. She was diagnosed with stage zero breast cancer in 2008 and metastatic breast cancer in 2018. Writing for SBC — sharing tools that help her and others cope and thrive — is a creative outlet for her and one that gives her a sense of meaning and purpose. She can be reached at kristen@survivingbreastcancer.org.



SurvivingBreastCancer.org Resources & Support:



500 views

Recent Posts

See All

Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Mindfulness for Wellbeing

February 23 1:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

Pilates

February 16, 10:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

The secret Garden

Monday 19,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

February 27,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

March 4 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

March 5,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

March 11,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

March,  12,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

March 12 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page