页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

我的乳腺癌:发现

作者:苏珊-安戈伊


我预约了 2021 年 10 月 20 日中午 12:30 的私人乳房 X 光检查。这只是为了谨慎起见,你明白的。距离上次扫描已经过去三年了,由于Covid的原因,国家医疗服务系统的筛查项目出现了积压。我的一个姐妹 被诊断出患有第二期乳腺癌所以我想我应该做一次扫描。我一直 右侧乳房和腋下有些疼痛当然,每个人都知道乳腺癌是不会让人感到疼痛的。或者说,我(错误地)是这么理解的。我以为我去做的是常规扫描。毕竟,这不可能发生在苏珊身上。不会的!苏珊和她的乳房是无敌的。不是吗?


我坐在诊所的候诊室里,等待放射科医生检查我的乳房 X 光照片,然后才得到 检查结果这样我就可以去购物了。自从科维德去世前,我就再也没有去过塞尔福里奇百货公司了,所以我在心里默默地列了一张清单,想买点什么东西犒劳一下自己。我打算好好享受一下零售疗法。我很确定技术人员会来告诉我,我可以带着一份完美无瑕、健康的乳房报告离开,我期待着我的购物之旅--这可不是我通常喜欢的活动。


因此,我对护士来告诉我放射科顾问要做超声波和身体检查的消息毫无准备。 放射科医生想对我进行超声波和身体检查我的 完美的隆起.即使是这些话,也没能让我对接下来的事情有所警觉。"好心的护士问我:"你最近体重下降了吗?你以为我现在会有点焦虑,但没有。毕竟,苏珊是不可战胜的。果不其然、 我是瘦了一点但那是因为我一直感到恶心、头痛和奇怪的头晕,所以我在三个星期左右的时间里吃得很少。我把这些症状归结为一定是感染了什么病菌。虽然很讨厌,但没什么好担心的。我太不在意了,以至于没有向护士提及这些。


接下来,我的噩梦就开始了。这不是一个局限于睡眠时间的噩梦,而是一个笼罩着我每一个清醒时刻的噩梦。我睡得不多。事实上,我几乎不睡觉。


"根据乳房 X 光检查、超声波检查和我的身体检查,我认为您的右侧乳房可能有癌变、根据乳房 X 光检查、超声波检查和我的身体检查,我认为你的右侧乳房可能有癌变。有一个可触及的肿块,看起来非常可疑,我无法立即找到其他解释。很抱歉告诉你这些。你明白,我必须告诉你"。这是顾问的话。他接着解释说,我需要进行活组织切片检查,以证实他的怀疑,并说明肿瘤的等级和分期。 以确定肿瘤的等级和分期,并确定其受体........我盯着医生。我听到了这些话,但没有完全理解。苏珊一改常态,哑口无言。你听说过人们在收到坏消息时会感到震惊的故事。现在我真正理解了这些话的含义。


他意识到我受到了惊吓,于是温和地向我解释了我的选择和接下来的步骤。我可以继续留在私立医院;或者,他们会立即将我转回国家医疗服务系统。鉴于我当地的医院是伦敦大学学院医院,我可以保证得到出色而迅速的治疗。他接着说 如果我是他的亲属,他的建议是我应该在国民医疗服务系统内接受癌症紧急路径 2 周转诊治疗。他告诉我,他的报告会在半小时内交给我的全科医生,我应该在当天下午联系全科医生。我同意这是最好的选择,于是离开了诊所。


我离开了。但我还是像一只被车灯照到的小鹿。所有关于零售疗法的想法都从我的大脑中消失了。我想哭,却哭不出来。我唯一的行动就是叫了一辆 Uber,让它尽快把我送回家。虽然现在才下午两点,但我在想,我是否应该调一杯烈性杜松子酒和奎宁水来稳定自己的情绪。但即使这样也不可能。回到家后,该死的恶心让我除了喝杯水之外再也喝不下任何东西。


从我回来的那一刻起,事情进展得非常快。下午三点,我的全科医生杰西卡-巴伦(Jessica Baron)博士收到报告后打电话给我。她告诉我,她已经按照癌症路径将转诊病例转到了加州大学洛杉矶分校医院,但她问我是否愿意前来 和她谈谈,并接受检查........这一切都要归功于我的全科医生诊所、詹姆斯-维格集团诊所,尤其是巴伦医生。我认为没有必要做进一步的检查,也不想浪费她的时间重复已经告诉我的事情。她以关怀和温和的方式解释了整个过程。 她告诉我,看起来是早期发现,我不应该太担心。现在有很好的进展和治疗方法。我的大脑只接受了她告诉我的部分内容。


如果说在那之前的几周里我曾有过恶心的感觉,那么与我的感受相比,那简直是小巫见大巫。 听着她的话.现实逐渐渗透了我的意识。不可思议的事情发生了。我珍贵的乳房受到了攻击,而且即将发生一场大的袭击。第二天,我接到了联合医院麦克米伦癌症中心(UCH Macmillan Cancer Centre)的电话,让我紧急预约他们的乳腺门诊。


接完电话后我上网买了一系列昂贵而性感的胸罩。那天我并没有即将到来的 "热辣约会",也没有买这些东西的具体原因。但我脑子里盘旋着一个念头:也许我穿上心爱内衣的时间已经不多了。有趣的是,在最严肃的时刻,这些琐碎的事情却会出现在你的脑海中。


一位非常资深的医学界朋友和我的肿瘤学家表弟向我介绍了早期乳腺癌的极佳生存率,以及治疗方法是如何发展的--包括其副作用。 包括其副作用.他们谈到,如果能在足够早期的阶段发现,手术干预的程度可以降到最低,等等。 他们可能是著名的医生,但他们都是男人。他们怎么能理解呢? 我听到了这些话,但我的大脑又回到了几十年前的想法。


我不是一个刚刚开始感情生活和性生活的年轻女人,但我是一个女人。我是一个守寡两年半的女人,刚刚开始重新振作起来,为自己的未来做打算。我是一个最近开始采取试探性措施打破长期独身生活的女人、 希望建立新的感情和冒险。在最好的时候,这些都是难以驾驭的空间。我觉得自己格格不入。我已经忘记了在浪漫和情色的背景下吸引和接触他人的规则和神秘方式。现在是这样。为什么?


我怎么可能变回原来的样子? 我可能会活下来,但那样的生活会是怎样的呢? 我还会有女人味吗?我对自己还有吸引力吗?当外科医生、放射线和药物治疗结束后,我的身体会是什么样子?我还会觉得 有什么?总之,怎么会有人知道它是 "早期发现 "的呢?


有时,我愤怒。有时,我哭泣。有时,当医疗团队专注于我的生存,并试图向我保证早期乳腺癌是可以治愈的时候,我却在担心这些问题,这让我感到虚荣和卑微。有时,我会想起那些癌症没有 没有及早发现.但这些都不会改变我的现实。


接到那个电话几天后,我坐在伦敦亨特利街的联合医院麦克米伦癌症中心。从2015年到2018年,我坐在同一个座位上,和我已故的丈夫在这里度过了近三年的时间,等待他的预约。他被诊断出患有第四期前列腺癌,于2019年初在汉普斯特德玛丽居里安养院去世。我看着候诊区明亮的马赛克地板,那些岁月仿佛又涌上心头。 那段岁月仿佛昨日重现。我不仅活在自己的现实生活中,而且又回到了那几周、几个月和几年的痛苦和悲伤中 悲伤.这一次,我独自一人坐在那里。等待着



与苏珊联系 博客


阅读更多




播客 乳腺癌对话

与布伦达-丹兹勒和伊莱恩-夏特纳一起寻找自己的声音




 


分享您的故事、诗歌或艺术:


乳腺癌幸存者网站资源与支持:

287 观点

最新文章

查看全部

评论


评论已关闭。

冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

护理人员聚会

第三个星期二

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

新诊断者

东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 6 月 14 日上午 11:30

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

发掘机遇

东部时间 6 月 17 日下午 5:30

RSVP

太阳的拥抱夏至冥想

东部时间 6 月 21 日上午 11:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 6 月 25 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 7 月 1 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 7 月 2 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 7 月 9 日上午 11:30

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 7 月 9 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 7 月 22 日下午 6:00

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

MY BREAST CANCER: DISCOVERY

By Susan Angoy


I booked a private mammogram for 12:30 p.m. on October 20, 2021. This was just to be on the cautious side, you understand. It had been three years since my previous scan, and there was a backlog in the NHS screening program due to Covid. One of my sisters had been diagnosed with stage 2 breast cancer earlier in the year, so I thought I should have a scan. I had been experiencing some pain in my right tit and underarm, but of course, everyone knows that you don’t feel pain from breast cancer. Or so I (mis)understood. A regular routine scan is what I thought I was going for. After all, it couldn’t happen to Susan. No sirree! Susan and her tits were invincible. Weren’t they?


I sat in the waiting room of the clinic, waiting for the radiologist to review my mammogram before getting the all clear that would allow me to skip off to do a spot of shopping. I had not been to Selfridges since pre-Covid days so I sat making a mental list of what I might treat myself to. I planned to indulge in some retail therapy. So certain was I that the technician would come to let me know I could leave with a report of immaculate and healthy tits, I was looking forward to my shopping trip – not an activity I normally enjoy.


I was thus unprepared for the nurse who came to tell me that the consultant radiologist wanted to do an ultrasound and physical examination of my perfectly formed elevations. Even those words failed to alert me to what was to follow. “Have you lost weight recently?” the kind nurse asked me. You’d think that by now I might be a tad anxious, but no. After all, Susan was invincible. As it happened, I had lost a little weight, but that was because I’d been experiencing a lot of nausea, headaches, and weird dizziness, so I had been eating very little for three weeks or so. I put those symptoms down to some bug I must have picked up. A nuisance, but nothing to be concerned about. I was so unconcerned that I failed to mention any of this to the nurse.


What followed was the start of the nightmare I continue to live through. Not a nocturnal nightmare confined to sleeping hours, but one that envelops my every waking moment. I don’t sleep much. In fact, I’d say I hardly sleep at all.


“I think you may have a carcinoma in your right breast, based on the mammogram, ultrasound and my physical examination. There is a palpable mass that looks very suspicious and not one for which I can immediately find an alternative explanation. I’m very sorry to tell you this. You understand, I have to tell you.” Those were the consultant’s words. He went on to explain that I would need to have a biopsy to confirm his suspicions, and to indicate the grade and stage of the tumor and to identify its receptors. I stared at the doctor. I heard the words, but failed to fully take them in. For a change, Susan was speechless. You hear stories of people being in shock when receiving bad news. Now I really understand the meaning of those words.


He realized I was in shock and gently explained my options and next steps. I could remain within the private sector; alternatively, they would immediately refer me back into the NHS. Given that my local hospital was University College London Hospital, I would be assured of excellent and swift treatment. He went on to say that if I were his relative, his advice would be that I should be treated within the NHS on the urgent Cancer Pathway 2-week referral. He advised me that his report would be with my GP within half an hour and that I should contact the GP that afternoon. I agreed that this would be the best option and left the clinic.


I left. But I was still the deer caught in the headlights. All thoughts of retail therapy had vanished from my brain. I wanted to cry but couldn’t. My only action was to order an Uber to get me home as quickly as possible. Although it was only 2:00 p.m. I wondered if I should mix a stiff gin and tonic to steady myself. But even that was impossible. The damn nausea I was having made it impossible for me to drink anything more than a glass of water when I got home.


From the moment I got back, things moved very quickly. By 3:00 p.m. my GP, Dr. Jessica Baron, rang me, having received the report. She told me that she had already sent the referral to UCLH on the Cancer Pathway, but asked if I wanted to come in to talk to her and to be examined. All props to my GP practice, the James Wigg Group Practice and especially Dr. Baron. I saw no point in any further examinations and didn’t want to waste her time going over what I’d already been told. She explained the process in a caring and gentle manner. She told me that it looked like it had been caught early and that I shouldn’t worry too much. There were excellent advances and treatments available. Only part of my brain took in what I was being told. 


If I had experienced nausea in the weeks before that date, they were nothing in comparison to what I felt listening to her words. The reality was gradually penetrating my consciousness. The unthinkable had happened. My precious tits had been attacked and a major assault would be forthcoming. The following day I received a phone call from UCH Macmillan Cancer Centre to book an urgent appointment in their breast clinic.


Immediately after taking that call, I went online and bought a series of expensive and very sexy bras. I had no impending “hot date” or specific reason for buying them that day. But somewhere hovering in my brain was the thought that perhaps time was running out for me to wear my favorite items of lingerie. Funny how such trivial things can come into your mind at the most serious moments.


A very senior medical friend and my oncologist cousin talked to me about the excellent survival rates for early-stage breast cancer, how treatments have advanced – including their side effects. They spoke of how surgical intervention could be minimal if caught at a sufficiently early stage, etc. They may be eminent physicians, but they are both men. How could they understand? I heard the words, but my brain looped back to my thoughts of decades earlier. 


I am not a young woman at the start of her emotional and sexual life, but I am a woman. I am a woman who has been a widow for two and a half years and have just started getting my life back together again, making plans for my future. I am a woman who has recently begun to take tentative steps towards breaking a long period of celibacy, hopeful of forming new attachments and having adventures. These are difficult spaces to navigate at the best of times. I feel out of step. I’ve forgotten the rules and the mystical ways of attracting and engaging with others in a romantic and erotic context. Now this. Why?


How could I ever be the same again? I might stay alive, but what would that life be like? Would I still feel feminine? Would I still be desirable – to myself, let alone to anyone else? What will my body look like when the surgeon, radiation, and drugs have finished with me? Will I still feel anything? Anyway, how does anyone know it was caught “early enough?”


At times, I rage. Other times, I weep. At times, I feel vain and petty worrying about these issues when the medical teams are focused on my survival and trying to reassure me about the curability of early-stage breast cancer. Other times, I think of women whose cancer has not been detected early. But none of that changes my reality.


A few days after that phone call, I sat in the UCH Macmillan Cancer Centre in Huntley Street, London. I sat on the same seat where I’d spent nearly three years, from 2015 to 2018, waiting with my late husband for his appointments. He had been diagnosed with stage 4 prostate cancer and died in the Hampstead Marie Curie Hospice in early 2019. I looked at the cheerful bright mosaic floor in the waiting area and those years came flooding back as if they were yesterday. Not only was I living my own reality, but I was catapulted back into all those weeks, months and years of anguish and grief. This time, I sat alone. Waiting.



Connect with Susan: Blog


Read More:




On the Podcast: Breast Cancer Conversations

Finding Your Voice With Brenda Denzler & Elaine Schattner




 


Share your story, poetry, or art:


SurvivingBreastCancer.org Resources & Support:

276 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Os comentários foram desativados.

Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

The Caregiver Huddle

Third Tuesday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Pilates

June 14,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

June 17 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

The Sun's Embrace: A Summer Solstice Meditation

June 21,  11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

June 25,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

July 1, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

July 2,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

July 9, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

July 9,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

July 22,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page