页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

转移性乳腺癌:了解 IV 期的意义

作者 基拉-福特



MBC 彩带有绿色、粉色和茶色。

大多数人,甚至是从未经历过癌症的人,都熟悉以下概念 阶段的概念。正是由于这种认识,许多公众对最高级别的分期--IV 期--深感恐惧。这一阶段的乳腺癌也被称为转移性乳腺癌或 MBC。 IV 期乳腺癌无法治愈。由于转移性乳腺癌是一种危及生命的晚期诊断,它往往会让人联想到一些难以讨论或不舒服的话题。


然而,据估计 168,000 人仅在美国就有 转移性乳腺癌患者.重要的是,要让那些患有转移性乳腺癌的患者参与到有关乳腺癌的对话中,包括治疗、生活质量和临床试验。社区必须了解晚期乳腺癌患者的独特经历。虽然 10 月是公认的 "乳腺癌宣传月"(BCAM),而且 10 月 13 日已被指定为 转移性乳腺癌宣传日但是,我们还可以做更多的事情来促进对 IV 期乳腺癌的进一步了解。 我们需要倾听和关注身患这种绝症的患者。 转移性乳腺癌需要在会议上占有一席之地并发出声音。


继续阅读,进一步了解什么是转移性乳腺癌以及如何诊断和治疗。


什么是转移性乳腺癌?

转移性乳腺癌是指原本位于乳房的癌症扩散或转移到身体其他远处部位。癌细胞可以通过 多种不同的(有时同时发生),如通过淋巴结或循环系统在体内游走,侵入健康细胞或毛细血管,以及在体内新的部位形成肿瘤。转移性乳腺癌最常见于以下部位 骨骼、肺、肝脏和大脑.转移性乳腺癌的症状会根据疾病转移的部位而有所不同。


转移性乳腺癌有哪些症状?

转移性乳腺癌的一般症状转移性乳腺癌的一般症状包括体力下降或食欲减退,此外,根据癌症扩散的部位不同,还会出现一些更特殊的症状。


转移到骨骼的患者可能会出现肿胀、骨痛,而且更容易骨折。转移到肝脏可能会导致黄疸、皮疹或皮肤过敏、腹痛、呕吐或恶心,以及血液中肝酶计数增高。转移到肺部可导致慢性咳嗽、呼吸困难、胸痛和胸部X光图像异常。转移到大脑可导致呕吐或恶心、行为改变、癫痫发作、持续性头痛和恶化,以及视力、语言和记忆困难。


一旦出现这些症状,必须立即通知医生、特别是如果您已被诊断出患有乳腺癌或有乳腺癌家族史。虽然这些是一般症状,但重要的是要知道症状并不总是出现。因此,及时进行乳房 X 光检查、乳房筛查、预约医生和复诊非常重要。


如何诊断转移性乳腺癌?

转移性乳腺癌的 转移性乳腺癌的诊断过程通常与其他癌症类型相似。首先要与医生交谈,分析家族病史和当前症状。随后是 检查根据症状的不同,检查的性质也有所不同。医生可能会建议进行基因检测、成像、血液检测和/或活检。被确诊为转移性乳腺癌的患者通常在过去已经接受过乳腺癌的诊断和治疗,并且正在经历复发。只有大约 6-10%被诊断为转移性乳腺癌,称为 新发转移性乳腺癌.


如何治疗转移性乳腺癌?

转移性乳腺癌的治疗方法因人而异。癌症转移的部位等因素、 遗传倾向, 生物标志物 活组织检查发现的生物标志物,以及 个人目标将决定个人的治疗方案。


如果癌症复发,医生在决定最佳治疗方案时还会考虑之前的治疗情况。通常情况下 手术和放射治疗但在某些情况下,特别是在控制癌症引起的症状方面,它们可能会有所帮助。激素阳性转移性乳腺癌的治疗通常包括 激素疗法和化疗以缩小或减缓癌细胞的生长。治疗的目的还包括控制癌症引起的症状,以便不仅关注生活的数量,更关注生活的质量。


临床试验旨在开发治疗转移性乳腺癌的新疗法、临床试验可为转移性乳腺癌患者提供更多治疗选择。了解更多 临床试验部分以及 乳腺癌对话播客中了解更多信息。


目前,转移性乳腺癌还没有治愈的方法。正在进行的 研究 致力于了解转移性乳腺癌的病因和风险因素,创造新的治疗方案,并改善转移性乳腺癌患者的生活舒适度。


SurvivingBreastCancer.org 专门为转移性乳腺癌患者提供聚会和计划。加入我们 周四茁壮成长之夜或即将举行的 MBC 网络系列讲座!




MBC 资源:


MBC 故事:



播客 乳腺癌对话


为患有转移性乳腺癌的父母寻找力量和快乐



A关于作者

基拉-福特 Kiara Ford 是爱默生学院的应届毕业生,主修传播学,副修健康与社会。她目前是非营利组织 "亚洲妇女健康组织 "的一名社区保健员实习生。她热衷于病人权益和健康公平,希望通过自己的工作提高人们对病人权益的认识和理解。



出自同一作者:

最新文章

查看全部

冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

正念促进健康

东部时间 2 月 23 日下午 1:30

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 2 月 16 日上午 10:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

美国东部时间 19 日星期一下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 2 月 27 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 3 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 3 月 5 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 3 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 3 月 12 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 3 月 12 日上午 11:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page

Metastatic Breast Cancer: Understanding the Significance of Stage IV

By Kiara Ford



The MBC ribbon is green, pink, and teal.

Most people, even those who have never experienced cancer, are familiar with the concept of stages used to classify the extent of the disease. It is through this awareness that much of the public has come to hold a deep fear of the highest classification, stage IV. This stage of breast cancer is also known as metastatic breast cancer, or MBC. Stage IV breast cancer has no cure. Because metastatic breast cancer is a life-threatening terminal diagnosis, it often carries associations that can make it difficult or uncomfortable to discuss.


Nevertheless, it is estimated that over 168,000 people in the United States alone are living with metastatic breast cancer. It is important that those living with MBC be included in conversations about breast cancer, including treatments, quality of life, and clinical trials. The unique experience of advanced breast cancer must be understood within the community. While October is recognized as Breast Cancer Awareness Month (BCAM) and October 13 has been designated Metastatic Breast Cancer Awareness Day, there is more we can do to foster a greater comprehension of stage IV breast cancer. People living with this terminal diagnosis need to be heard and seen. Metastatic breast cancer needs to have a seat and a voice at the table.


Continue reading to learn more about what metastatic breast cancer is and how it is diagnosed and treated.


What is metastatic breast cancer?

Metastatic breast cancer is the term used to describe when cancer that was originally located in the breast spreads, or metastasizes, to other distant parts of the body. Cancer cells can spread in many different (sometimes concurrent) ways, such as traveling through the body via lymph nodes or the circulatory system, invading healthy cells or capillaries, and forming tumors in new locations in the body. Metastatic breast cancer is most often found in the bones, lungs, liver, and brain. Symptoms of metastatic breast cancer can vary based on where the disease has metastasized.


What are the symptoms of metastatic breast cancer?

General symptoms of metastatic breast cancer can include loss of energy or appetite, in addition to more specific symptoms varying based on where the cancer has spread.


People with metastasis to the bones may experience swelling, bone pain, and being more susceptible to fractures. Metastasis to the liver may cause jaundice, rash or skin irritation, abdominal pain, vomiting or nausea, and high liver enzyme counts in the blood. Metastasis to the lung can cause chronic cough, difficulty breathing, chest pain, and abnormal chest X-ray images. Metastasis to the brain can cause vomiting or nausea, behavioral changes, seizures, persistent and worsening headaches, and difficulty with vision, speech, and memory.


It is important to notify a doctor as soon as these symptoms emerge, particularly if you have already been diagnosed with breast cancer or have a family history of breast cancer. While these are general symptoms, it is important to know that symptoms do not always present. Therefore, it is important to stay up-to-date with your mammograms, breast screenings, doctors’ appointments, and follow-ups.


How is metastatic breast cancer diagnosed?

The diagnosis process for metastatic breast cancer often resembles that of other cancer types. It begins with a conversation with a doctor to analyze family history and current symptoms. This is followed by tests, the nature of which vary based on the symptoms experienced. Doctors may recommend genetic testing, imaging, blood tests, and/or biopsy. Those diagnosed with metastatic breast cancer have often already been diagnosed and treated for breast cancer in the past, and are experiencing recurrence. Only about 6-10% of people receive metastatic breast cancer as their initial diagnosis, referred to as de novo metastatic breast cancer.


How is metastatic breast cancer treated?

Treatment of metastatic breast cancer will vary based on the individual patient. Factors such as where the cancer has metastasized, genetic predisposition, biomarkers discovered through biopsy, and personal goals will shape individual treatment plans.


If the cancer is recurrent, doctors will also factor in previous treatments when deciding on the best course of action. Typically, surgery and radiation therapy are more difficult in cases where the cancer is widespread, but they may be useful in some circumstances, particularly in managing symptoms caused by the cancer. Most often, treatment for hormone-positive metastatic breast cancer consists of hormonal therapies and chemotherapy in order to shrink or slow the growth of cancer cells. Treatment will also aim to manage the symptoms caused by the cancer, in order to focus on not just quantity, but quality of life.


Clinical trials aim to develop new treatments for metastatic breast cancer, and can provide additional treatment options for those living with MBC. Learn more in the Clinical Trials section of our website and on the Breast Cancer Conversations podcast.


There is currently no cure for metastatic breast cancer. Ongoing MBC research is dedicated to understanding causes and risk factors, creating new treatment options, and improving the comfort of those living with metastatic breast cancer.


SurvivingBreastCancer.org offers meetups and programs tailored specifically for those living with metastatic breast cancer. Join us at Thursday Night Thrivers or an upcoming installment of our MBC Webinar Series!




MBC Resources:

Join Our Thursday Night MBC Meetup

Newly Diagnosed with MBC

Living With MBC


MBC Stories:

Chapter Three of My Breast Cancer Journey

My De Novo MBC Story: I’m Not Going to Give Up on My Diagnosis

HOPE is my Favorite Four-Letter Word



On the Podcast: Breast Cancer Conversations


Finding Strength and Joy in Parenting with Metastatic Breast Cancer



About the Author:

Kiara Ford is a recent graduate of Emerson College, where she majored in communication studies and minored in health and society. She is currently a community health worker trainee with the non-profit organization Asian Women for Health. She is passionate about patient advocacy and health equity, and hopes to raise awareness and increase understanding of patients’ rights through her work.



From the Same Author:

Breast Cancer and Healthcare Access Within the Hispanic Community

Inflammatory Breast Cancer: Breaking Down the Basics

353 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I Miss

Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Art Therapy: Mindful Cloring

December 11 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

December 12 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga with

Chair assist 

December 12, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Pilates

December 15 10:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

The secret Garden

December 18,  12:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

December 19,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

January 7, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Encourage and Empower

Program for Newly Diagnosed

February 6, 10:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page