页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

无独有偶

作者:Donna Valentine,PA-C

我从未患过乳腺癌,尽管二十多年来它一直影响着我的日常生活。 如果不是这样,我也不会这么做。


1999 年春天,我有幸在休斯顿的 MD 安德森癌症中心(MD Anderson Cancer Center)进行乳腺外科临床轮转,从此走上了医生助理(PA)的职业道路。


当我踏进手术室,与全国首屈一指的乳腺外科医生一起工作的那一刻,我就知道我找到了护理乳腺癌患者的激情所在。我喜欢协助手术,但我 喜欢我喜欢帮助乳腺癌患者度过那段令人难以承受的可怕时光。我是一个直觉敏锐的倾听者,举止相当沉稳,我知道我可以在帮助他们的身心全面康复方面有所作为。我回到加利福尼亚州的学校,并宣布我的目标是成为一名乳腺癌专科助理医师!我的同学和教授都坚持认为我在这一领域找不到工作,因为它太专业了。


他们错得离谱。毕业后,我与一个充满活力、思想前卫的乳腺外科医生团队一起工作了五年。 乳腺外科医生在这期间,我们挽救了数百人的生命,并通过他们的亲人影响了数以千计的人。在这期间,我们挽救了数百人的生命,并通过他们的亲人影响了成千上万的人,因为一个人永远不会独自经历这些。 癌症是一只螃蟹,它的触角伸向一个人生命的各个方向,触及每一个亲近的人。


在我的外科任期即将结束时(我决定转到肿瘤内科),我接到了姐姐黛安(Diane)的电话。她的乳房出现了一些变化,放射科医生想对她进行活检。"她说:"他们认为这是癌症。不幸的是,确实是癌症。作为病人的助理医师,我现在的角色包括 照顾者我妹妹的照顾者。


我不相信巧合,但并非总是如此。因此,当我在安德森医学博士医院轮转期间,看到苏珊-科曼(Susan G. Komen)创始人南希-布林克尔(Nancy Brinker)的书时,我并没有多想 赛跑要一步一个脚印》(The Race Is Run One Step at a Time.这本书讲述了她为纪念因乳腺癌去世的姐姐苏西而建立的遗产。这个故事引起了我的共鸣,当时我也不知道为什么,但这是我对乳腺癌患者工作如此感兴趣的原因之一。后来我发现,她和她姐姐的经历与我和黛安的经历相似。这不是巧合


黛安接受手术治疗时,我还在外科工作。当她开始化疗时,我已经开始与肿瘤专家合作。现在回想起来 In retrospect、 她的治疗和我的职业转型似乎是 "有计划的"。我会去北加州陪她看病,帮助她与医生一起进行治疗和术后护理。


在照顾病人和陪伴妹妹之间走钢丝让我吃尽了苦头--主要是因为在开始化疗之前,黛安的身体扫描显示癌症已经 转移到了转移到了她的骨头上。乳腺癌第四期2004 年,预后并不乐观。每天给她希望的同时,我也背负着沉重的负担,不知道最终的结果会是什么。 我的心都碎了,但我不会表现出来。不能表现出来。我需要她和我的家人坚强起来。


她的治疗过程时好时坏 但也有非常非常糟糕的时候就像南希-布林克的姐姐苏西一样 黛安也在与乳腺癌斗争三年后去世了每天我都陪在她身边 在她离开人世时 我握着她的手我看到并感受到了她的抗争。17年后,我依然能感受到自己的抗争,我每天都在想念她。


我认为自己是 共同幸存者因为我在这场战斗中发现了一种力量,尽管它很艰难,伤痕累累,但我会一次又一次地重复它,在我姐姐生命中最艰难、最可怕的时期帮助她。


唐娜(左)和妹妹戴安娜(右)。


黛安去世后,我做了很多反省。 但与南希-布林克不同的是,我并没有发起一场全球性的运动来终结乳腺癌。我 做的我所做的是继续一个人一个人地治疗乳腺癌。我继续在肿瘤内科工作了七年。因为我和姐姐一起经历了乳腺癌的抗争、 我成为了一名更有同情心和同情心的临床医生。 我能够更好地与病人及其家属沟通。我有能力说 "正确 "的话--说来惭愧,在黛安确诊之前,我并不总是这样做。


有时,病人会在我的检查室里哭泣。我的一些举动或言语让他们的恐惧和焦虑得以宣泄。这时我就知道自己做对了。他们感到安全。安全到足以发泄他们的情感--有时是第一次。 而这种释放对治疗过程非常重要。这才是真正的开始。


我继续在肿瘤内科工作了几年,直到我有机会参与乳腺癌的另一部分治疗--幸存者治疗。在长达六年的时间里,我专门从事癌症幸存者的初级护理工作。我负责管理病人的整体健康,包括高血压、糖尿病、胆固醇升高、甲状腺功能低下、抑郁、焦虑等。同时,我还要考虑到他们以前患过的癌症、具体的治疗方法以及作为幸存者在身体和情感上所需要的一切。


正是在这段时间里,我开始对帮助情绪焦虑者的方法产生了浓厚的兴趣。 情绪焦虑的方法产生了浓厚的兴趣。我觉得这是癌症最令人沮丧的地方,而且永远不会完全消失。我已经厌倦了开抗焦虑和抗抑郁药物的处方。 我讨厌我的病人靠这些药片生活,需要越来越多的药片才能缓解他们的焦虑。


我开始探索更多处理癌症情感因素的方法,当时我认为这是一种 创伤后应激障碍(从那时起,就有文章谈到了这一点)。我向病人介绍了 治疗, 冥想, 正念感恩工作和 运动太极和瑜伽等运动疗法 瑜伽.我还学习并分享了更多关于 营养学功能性遗传使某些人更容易患焦虑症,以及睡眠的重要性。 睡眠睡眠对我们整体情绪和身体健康的重要性。我的一些病人接受了这些知识,而另一些则没有。在我们的社会中,让人们(无论是否为癌症幸存者)照顾好自己是一项艰巨的任务。 有很多事情阻碍着我们,比如时间、金钱和精力,而这些在如今都很难得到。


黛安(左)和唐娜(右)。


人们经常问我,是否因为我姐姐的诊断结果,我才选择从事乳腺癌方面的工作。我的回答是 在我姐姐还没有得乳腺癌的时候,我就被引导到了这个方向。 我相信这是因为我姐姐和我的家人在那个短暂的时刻需要我。这不是巧合。我其余的工作都是为了他人。老实说,也是为了我自己。因为我每天都在帮助我的病人和他们的亲人度过乳腺癌的难关,这让我收获颇丰。


现在,我又回到了我的老本行,成为了一名外科助理医师--因此,我在乳腺癌患者的临床经历上又走了一圈。在过去的二十年里,治疗方法发生了巨大的变化和改进。越来越多的人从这种可怕的疾病中存活下来,我期待着有人能找到治愈方法,让我失业。但在那之前、 我将尽心尽力地照顾癌症幸存者,在美好时光和悲痛时刻与他们握手、拥抱、教育,并倡导我将尽我所能,让大家过上比患乳腺癌之前更幸福、更健康、更美好的生活。


戴安娜


幸福安康

唐娜-瓦伦丁



了解更多信息:


乳腺癌幸存者网站资源与支持:



458 观点

最新文章

查看全部

2 条评论


pdixon
pdixon
Mar14, 2023

亲爱的唐娜 - 我喜欢你的故事,对你妹妹的遭遇我深表遗憾。感谢您所做的一切,感谢您一直以来所做的一切。

喜欢

液体瑜伽
Mar14, 2023

我喜欢阅读戴安讲述的每一分钟。 在我看来,您为乳腺癌患者--尤其是治疗后的患者--提供的支持正是他们最需要的。

喜欢

冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

新诊断者

东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

发现大脑

东部时间 5 月 27 日下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 5 月 28 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 6 月 3 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 6 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 6 月 10 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 6 月 11 日上午 11:30

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 6 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

发掘机遇

东部时间 6 月 17 日下午 5:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

No Coincidence

By Donna Valentine, PA-C

I have never had breast cancer, although it’s played a role in my daily life for over two decades. And I wouldn’t have it any other way.


My career path as a Physician Assistant (PA) was introduced to me in the spring of 1999, when I was fortunate enough to do a clinical rotation in breast surgery at MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston.


I knew the moment I stepped into the operating room with one of the premier breast surgeons in the country that I had found my passion in taking care of breast cancer patients. I liked assisting in surgery, but I loved helping breast cancer patients navigate their journey through an overwhelming and scary time. I’m an intuitive listener and have a fairly calm demeanor, and I knew I could make a difference in assisting their overall physical and emotional healing. I returned to school in California and declared my goal of specializing as a PA in breast cancer! My classmates and professors insisted I would never find a job in that field because it was too subspecialized.


How wrong they were. After graduation, I spent five solid years working with a dynamic forward-thinking team of breast surgeons, assisting in surgery and patient after-care, educating patients on their diagnosis and options. In this, we saved hundreds of lives and affected thousands of others through their loved ones, because a person never goes through this alone. Cancer is a crab, reaching out in all directions of a person’s life, touching everyone who is close.


Toward the end of my tenure in surgery (I had decided to change my focus to Medical Oncology), I received a call from my older sister Diane. She had been having some breast changes and the radiologists wanted to do a biopsy. “They think it’s cancer,” she said. And unfortunately, it was. My role as a PA for my patients would now include the role of caregiver for my sister with that one phone call.


I’m not a believer in coincidence, but it wasn’t always that way. So I didn’t think twice when during my rotation at MD Anderson I came across Susan G. Komen founder Nancy Brinker’s book The Race Is Run One Step at a Time. It’s about the legacy she built to honor her sister Suzy, who passed away from breast cancer. The story resonated with me, and at the time I wasn’t sure why, but it was one of the reasons I became so interested in working with breast cancer patients. I would find out later that the story about her experience with her sister would be similar to Diane’s and mine. Not a coincidence.


While Diane was going through the surgical portion of her treatment, I was still working in surgery. When she started her chemotherapy, I had already begun working with an oncologist. In retrospect, her treatment matched my career transition in a way that seemed “planned.” I would travel to northern California to go to appointments with her and help navigate her treatment and aftercare with her doctors.


Walking the tightrope between taking care of my patients and being there for my sister took its toll on me — primarily because before starting chemotherapy, Diane’s body scans had shown the cancer had metastasized to her bones. Stage 4 breast cancer. In 2004, the prognosis for this was not good. Giving her hope every day came with a heavy burden of knowing what the ultimate outcome would be. My heart was breaking, but I wasn’t going to show it. Couldn’t show it. I needed her and my family to be strong.


There were good times and bad times through her treatment, and then there were really, really bad times. And like Nancy Brinker’s sister Suzy, Diane passed after a three-year battle with breast cancer. Every day I was there for her, and I held her hand as she left this world. I saw and felt her fight. I still feel my own fight after 17 years, and I miss her every day.


I consider myself a co-survivor because I discovered a strength in this fight and as difficult as it was, scars and all, I would repeat it again and again to help my big sister during the toughest and scariest part of her life.


Donna (left) and her sister Diane (right).


After Diane died, I did a lot of soul searching. But unlike Nancy Brinker, I did not start a global movement to end breast cancer. What I did do was continue taking care of breast cancer one person at a time. For another seven years I continued to work in medical oncology. Because of my journey with my sister through her breast cancer fight, I am a much more empathetic and compassionate clinician from a place of knowing. I engage with my patients and their families better. I am equipped to say the “right” things — which I’m embarrassed to say I didn’t always do prior to Diane’s diagnosis.


There are times when a patient begins to cry in my exam room. Something I did or said allowed them to let their fear and anxiety out. It’s then I know I’m doing something right. They feel safe. Safe enough to let their feelings out — sometimes for the first time. And that release is so important to the healing process. The beginning really.


I continued to work in medical oncology for a few years until I received an opportunity to be involved in another part of the breast cancer experience — survivorship. For six years I specialized in caring for cancer survivors from a primary care aspect. I managed my patients’ overall health; their high blood pressure, diabetes, elevated cholesterol, low thyroid, depression, anxiety, etc. All the while, I was taking into consideration their previous cancer, their specific treatments and all that entailed for them as a survivor physically and emotionally.


It was during this time that I became very interested in ways of helping the emotional anxiety that cancer survivors experience. I feel it’s the most debilitating thing about having cancer that never goes away completely. I was so tired of writing prescriptions for anti-anxiety and anti-depression medications. I hated that my patients were living on these pills and needing more and more to get relief.


I started exploring more complimentary ways of dealing with the emotional component of cancer, and what at the time I considered a type of PTSD (since then, there have been articles written about just that). I spoke to my patients about the benefits of therapy, meditation, mindfulness and gratitude work and movement therapies like Tai Chi and yoga. I also learned and shared more about nutrition, functional genetics that put some people more at risk for anxiety, and the importance of sleep on our overall emotional and physical health. Some of my patients embraced these things, and some did not. Getting people (cancer survivors or not) to take care of themselves is a difficult task in our society. There are a lot of things that get in the way — such as time, money, energy, all of which can be hard to come by these days.


Diane (left) and Donna (right).


People often ask if I chose to work with breast cancer due to my sister’s diagnosis. My response is: before my sister even had breast cancer I was guided in that direction. And I believe it was because my sister and my family would need me there at that brief moment in time. No coincidence there. The remainder of my work has been for others. And if I can be honest, for me. Because I am rewarded every day by helping my patients and their loved ones move through breast cancer.


I am now back to my roots working as a surgical PA — so I’ve made a full clinical circle of a breast cancer patient’s experience. Treatments have vastly changed and improved over the last two decades. More people are surviving this dreaded disease, and I look forward to someone putting me out of business by finding a cure. But until then, I will be a dedicated caregiver of cancer survivors, hand-holder and hugger during good times and grief, educator, and advocate of all things that can be done to live a happier, healthier, and better life than ever before breast cancer.


Diane.


Be Well & Happy.

Donna Valentine



Learn More:


SurvivingBreastCancer.org Resources & Support:



457 views

Recent Posts

See All

The Now

2 Comments


pdixon
pdixon
Mar 14, 2023

Dear Donna - I loved your story and am sorry about your sister. Thank you for everything you have done and continue to do.

Like

liquidyoga
Mar 14, 2023

Loved reading every minute of your story Diane. The support you have provided to breast cancer patients - in particular post treatment is, in my opinion, what is needed most.

Like

Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

The secret Garden

April 22,  6:00 p.m. ET