页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

晚期癌症患者的新选择


癌症个性化治疗策略 101


我们都知道,仅靠标准护理是远远不够的,如果不及早控制和积极治疗,癌症很可能会复发和恶化。




以下是一些个性化方案的例子,这些方案往往能带来更好的治疗效果和更长的缓解时间:


新诊断患者


化疗敏感性测试

肿瘤学家通常需要在几种标准化疗药物中做出选择。这一决定往往是在对肿瘤知之甚少的情况下做出的。但化疗有毒副作用,会削弱身体,降低抗癌能力。如果没有选择正确的化疗方案(这种情况经常发生),患者就会有毒副作用而无益。化疗敏感性检测可测试并确定对患者最有效的药物或组合。由于化疗敏感性检测需要有活力的肿瘤组织,而且是自费项目,因此并不是常规的化疗敏感性检测。预先进行化疗敏感性测试将使患者从第一天起就能接受正确的治疗。


个性化癌症疫苗

手术之后是化疗,化疗之后是被动监测期(扫描、核磁共振成像等)。这一时期被称为 "观望期",只有当问题复发时才会做出反应。不过,有一些实验性工具可以激活免疫系统,主动对抗癌症。个性化癌症疫苗是一种免疫疗法,它能引导患者自身的免疫系统识别肿瘤上的独特标记物,然后唤醒免疫系统积极对抗癌细胞,帮助降低复发几率。在一个完美的世界里,每个患者都应该接种疫苗,但我们还没有做到这一点。这种治疗并不是常规疗法,因为它需要有活力的肿瘤组织,而且需要复杂的基础设施来准备和实施。它也是一种实验性疗法(但已在多家学术机构进行了测试),副作用很小或没有副作用(生活质量高)。研究个性化疫苗是一种积极的抗癌方法,可以延长缓解时间,降低复发几率。


复发或晚期患者


基因测序:

靶向药物不同于化疗药物。化疗会杀死好细胞和坏细胞,而靶向药物则专门杀死坏细胞。基因测序测试或(也称为分子剖析测试)可识别肿瘤上的独特标记物,并将这些标记物与针对肿瘤上表达的突变而设计的药物相匹配。虽然这通常能揭示当前治疗标准之外的治疗方案(因为有些药物是试验性的),但这种诊断并不能检验药物是否对该肿瘤真正起作用。它能将约 100 多种靶向药物缩小到约 10 种,从而为肿瘤学家指明方向。在美国,这项检查几乎是常规检查,有时也在保险范围内,但需要石蜡(死的)肿瘤组织。在前期进行这项检测,可以确定肿瘤医生可以用来治疗您癌症的靶向药物。


药物筛选测试:

该检测可筛选出最广泛的化疗药物、靶向药物和实验性药物(并非针对特定突变而设计)。它在肿瘤本身上测试各种方案和组合,并优先选择最有效的方案(因此它不是理论上的)。这项检查不是常规检查,因为它需要有活力的肿瘤组织,而且需要自费。预先进行这项检测将有助于您从更多的选择中确定化疗、靶向药物或实验性药物,并在浪费大量时间和精力寻求无效治疗之前确认药物有效。


另一种药物筛选方法是小鼠异种移植模型:

这是一种更深入的药物筛选试验。我们的想法是在小鼠身上培育病人的肿瘤,这样在筛选药物时,就不仅有癌细胞,还有整个肿瘤环境可供测试。这有助于探索可能有效的先进、实验性和复合药物(或以前在其他适应症上有效的药物),而不是在病人身上做实验。这对于患有罕见疾病或治疗方案非常有限的患者很有帮助。这项检查不是常规检查,因为它需要有活力的肿瘤组织,而且需要自费。 预先进行这项检查有助于确定化疗药物、靶向药物、实验药物或它们的组合,还能在浪费大量时间和精力寻求无效治疗之前确认药物是否有效。


个性化 T 细胞疗法

TIL(肿瘤浸润淋巴细胞)是免疫疗法的一种形式,通常与疫苗互为补充。疫苗通过教育免疫系统中无法识别癌症的部分,招募更多的战士加入战斗。T 细胞疗法也能招募更多的士兵参战,但它是通过克隆和增殖免疫系统中能识别癌症的部分,从而让你自己的免疫系统有更好的机会对抗癌细胞,而且几乎没有副作用。在一个完美的世界里,每个病人都应该接受 T 细胞疗法,但我们还没有做到这一点。这种疗法并不是常规疗法,因为它需要有活力的肿瘤组织,属于实验性质,而且需要复杂的基础设施来准备和实施。在接受其他治疗的同时,T 细胞疗法还能增强免疫系统的抗癌能力,延长缓解时间,降低复发几率。



小结 没有两个肿瘤是相同的,每个肿瘤都包含对治疗至关重要的重要信息,但医院并不对肿瘤进行活体保存,而是按惯例将其丢弃。个性化治疗从获取存活的肿瘤开始,存储我的肿瘤。更多信息: www.storemytumor.com


StoreMyTumor 团队

+1.267.702.5501

 

返回 博客

最新文章

查看全部

评论


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

护理人员聚会

第三个星期二

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

新诊断者

东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 6 月 14 日上午 11:30

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

发掘机遇

东部时间 6 月 17 日下午 5:30

RSVP

太阳的拥抱夏至冥想

东部时间 6 月 21 日上午 11:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 6 月 25 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 7 月 1 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 7 月 2 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 7 月 9 日上午 11:30

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 7 月 9 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 7 月 22 日下午 6:00

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

New Options for Advanced Cancer Patients


Personalized Cancer Treatment Strategies 101


We all know that the standard of care is simply not enough and if the cancer is not contained early on and actively managed, then it will most likely recur and progress.




Below are a few examples of personalized options that often lead to better treatment results and longer time in remission:


Newly diagnosed patients


Chemo sensitivity testing:

Oncologists typically have to choose between a handful of standard chemotherapeutic agents to start from. This decision oftentimes is based on little knowledge about the tumor. BUT chemotherapy has toxic side effects which weakens the body and decreases its ability to fight cancer. If the right chemo isn't chosen (which is often the case), the patient experiences toxicity with no benefit. Chemo-sensitivity testing tests and determines the most effective drug or combination for the patient. It is not routinely done because it requires viable tumor tissue and because it is an out of pocket expense. Pursuing this test upfront will set the patient up on the right treatment course from day one.


Personalized cancer vaccine:

Surgery is followed by chemo, and chemo is followed by a passive monitoring period (scans, MRI, etc…). This period is referred to as a “wait-and-see”, and reactions are only made when the problem recurs. BUT there are experimental tools to activate the immune system to fight cancer proactively. A personalized cancer vaccines is a type of immunotherapy that directs the patient's own immune system to recognize unique markers on the tumor and then awaken it to actively fight cancer cells, helping to reduce chances of recurrence. In a perfect world, every patient should get vaccinated, but we are not there yet. This treatment is not routinely done because it requires viable tumor tissue, and because it requires a complex infrastructure to prepare and administer. It is also experimental (but tested at various academic institutions), and has little or no side effects (good quality of life). Pursuing a personalize vaccine is a proactive way of fighting cancer, can extend time in remission, and reduce chances of recurrence.


Recurrence or advanced patients


Genetic sequencing:

Targeted drugs are different from chemotherapeutic agents. Chemo kills good and bad cells, while targeted drugs are designed to kill the bad cells. A genetic sequencing test or (also referred to as molecular profiling test) identifies unique markers on your tumor, and matches those to drugs designed to target mutations expressed on the tumor. While this often reveals treatment options beyond the current standard of care (because some of the drugs are experimental), this diagnostic does not test whether the drug actually works on that tumor or not. It narrows down a list of about a 100+ targeted drugs to about 10, thus giving the oncologist direction. This test is almost routinely ordered in the USA, sometimes covered by insurance, and requires paraffin (dead) tumor tissue. Pursuing this test upfront will identify targeted drugs your oncologist can use to treat your cancer.


Drug screening test:

This test screens for the widest range of chemotherapeutic agents, targeted drugs and experimental drugs (not designed to target a specific mutation). It tests the various options and combinations on the tumor itself and prioritizes the best one that works (so it is not theoretical). This test is not routinely done because it requires viable tumor tissue and because it is an out of pocket expense. Pursuing this test upfront will help you identify a chemo, a targeted drug, or an experimental drug from a wider range of options, and confirm that the drug works before wasting a lot of time and effort pursuing a treatment that does not work.


Another type of Drug screening is Mouse xenograft models:

This is a deeper version of the drug screening test. The idea is to grow the patient’s tumor on mice so when screening drugs, one does not only have the cancer cells, but the entire tumor environment to test on. This helps explore advanced, experimental and combinational drugs that might work (or drugs that have previously worked on other indications) rather than experimenting on the patient’s body. This is helpful when you have a rare disease or very limited treatment options left. This test is not routinely done because it requires viable tumor tissue and because it is an out of pocket expense. Pursuing this test upfront will help you identify a chemo, a targeted drug, an experimental drug, or a combination of, and also confirms that the drug works before wasting a lot of time and effort pursuing a treatment that does not work.


Personalized T-cells Therapy:

Also referred to as TILs (Tumor Infiltrating Lymphocytes) is a form of Immunotherapy, and often compliments vaccines. Vaccines recruit more soldiers to the battle by educating the part of the immune system that does not recognize the cancer. T-cell therapy also recruits more soldiers to the battle, but by cloning and multiplying the part of the immune system that recognizes the cancer, and thus giving your own immune system a better chance to fight the cancer cells with little or no side effects. In a perfect world, every patient should get T-cell therapy, but we are not there yet. This treatment is not routinely done because it requires viable tumor tissue, is experimental, and because it requires a complex infrastructure to prepare and administer. Pursuing T-cell therapy boosts the immune system to fight cancer in parallel to other treatments you are on, can extend time in remission, and reduce chances of recurrence.



BOTTOM LINE: No two tumors are the alike, and each contains important information critical to the treatment, BUT tumors are NOT preserved alive by the hospitals and are routinely discarded. Personalized treatments start with having access to the viable tumor, Store My Tumor. For more information: www.storemytumor.com


Team StoreMyTumor

+1.267.702.5501

 

Return to the Blog

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

May 20 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

In Body Breathwork

May 21 ,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Brain Spotting

May 27,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

May 28,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

June 3, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

Jun 4,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

June 10,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

June 11, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

June 11,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page