页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

我对妈妈说的最后一句话是谎言(第一部分)

已更新:4 月 15 日

奥利维亚-史密斯


内容警告:死亡和垂死


奥利维亚和她的妈妈米歇尔在意大利。

"我有一些消息要告诉你们。我去看了医生,因为我一直担心我的乳房。我发现我得了 炎症性乳腺癌.我还不知道所有的细节,但我知道这是一种侵袭性很强的癌症,但我会与它抗争。这不是死刑判决"。- 米歇尔-"金吉儿"-格里斯沃尔德,在她去世前 11 个月。



我和妈妈的关系并不完美。她做了很多让我感到压力的事情,让我心烦意乱,让我恼火,坦率地说,还伤害了我。但我爱她,她是我唯一的母亲,虽然我们相处得并不完美,但她是个好人,有很多爱可以给我。在她生命的最后 11 个月里,我利用工作之余抽空去看望她。我试着忘掉她让我心烦意乱或压力过大的时候,而是花时间努力去更多地了解她,接受她的本来面目。 我们都是有缺陷的个体,在我们有幸享受生命这件事的时候,我们都在努力享受它。


奥利维亚和她的妈妈米歇尔在奥兰多。

我知道和她在一起的时间比以往任何时候都要短暂,而且 那一年,我们真的留下了一些我将永远珍藏的回忆。我最喜欢的一件事是,我延长了去奥兰多的工作行程,并在公主城堡酒店给了她一个惊喜。当她听说我要去奥兰多工作时,她提到她还没有去过奥兰多,而且一直想去--我妈妈用这种方式告诉我,如果我们一起探索奥兰多,一定会很酷。趁她精力充沛,我们在迪斯尼泉逛了一圈,她手里拿着玛格丽塔酒,欣赏着周围的风景。我们就这样度过了一个周末,一起探索,一起闲逛,只有我们两个人,而这 这成了那一年我最喜欢的时刻,能够给她爱、支持、欢笑和新体验。



自从我妈妈 在电话里告诉我们她得了癌症我和妹妹斯蒂芬妮(Stephanie)一听到有人让我们接听三方通话,就会感到焦虑不安。在接下来的 11 个月里,我们不得不一起接听更多的三方通话,但没有一个是好消息。 这篇文章的目的不是记录这 11 个月,而是谈谈最后一个月。


这并不是我们的妈妈第一次罹患癌症。她曾患有第一期 浸润性导管癌大约七年前,她的病情得到缓解,情况良好。 这也不是我们第一次患癌。 当然,我知道这是一种更具侵袭性的严重癌症,但为什么结果会有所不同呢?我们会与之抗争,她会没事的,就像上次一样。


对我母亲来说,这一诊断最终确实宣判了她的死刑。这比我们任何人的准备或希望都要来得早得多,整个过程中经历了许多高潮和极度低谷。我们最后一次与妈妈进行三方通话时,她从肿瘤医院告诉我们 她对第三轮治疗没有反应 在她对前两种治疗方案很快就没有反应之后,他们曾希望第三轮治疗能成为她的灵丹妙药。我记得接到这个电话时,我正坐在一个红灯前,感觉像被风吹走了一样,同时又感到麻木。


在经历了痛苦的 11个月的转移性乳腺癌之后几周前,她告诉我,如果这种治疗方法无效,她不想再让自己的身体或心灵承受更多的痛苦。虽然听起来很难受,但我和妹妹向她保证,我们支持她为自己的身体和生活质量所做的任何选择。虽然我自私地希望她尝试一切,并尽可能长时间地和我们在一起、 我尊重她的决定,绝不能让她为我们受更多的苦。


放疗前的奥利维亚和她的妈妈米歇尔。

第二天,我决定不参加我计划了一年并期待已久的工作旅行,因为 因为我们还不清楚我妈妈最新的健康状况意味着什么。我们知道情况不容乐观,但仍然没有时间表。因为我妈妈住院了,情况不太好,所以我觉得取消这次活动很戏剧化。那天她又不会死,我为什么要取消这次对我很重要的工作旅行呢?幸好,我有一个很好的老板,他允许我在妈妈生病期间有一个灵活的时间安排,只要我想,就可以尽可能多地陪她。然而,我仍然为那一年没有每天都全心全意地投入工作而感到内疚。


几个小时后,我正坐在客厅的沙发上,妈妈又试图给我和妹妹打一个三方通话。当我接听时,妈妈在电话那头哭着道歉,因为他们已经无能为力了。"癌症几乎完全摧毁了我的肝脏和其他器官。我的肝功能衰竭了 83%。我只剩下几天、几周到几个月的时间了。我要回家接受临终关怀;我很抱歉。"妈妈含泪对我说。"我说:"不用道歉,我很快就会去的。


我坐在沙发上,震惊、恐惧、愤怒、难以置信。我知道这种结果是可能的,我上网搜索了所有的统计数据。我知道这一天终究会到来,不管是不是乳腺癌,但我以为我们在一起的时间还有很多。她癌症的 5 年预期寿命是 19%。我相信,她是如此坚强,一直都是如此坚强,她会是那 19% 之一,她必须是。如果她不是那 19% 的一员,那么我们至少还能在确诊后再活将近五年,不是吗?


我住在北卡罗来纳州夏洛特附近,而我的姐姐从我母亲确诊到去世一直住在弗吉尼亚州的罗诺克。我给姐姐打了电话,安排她去看望妈妈。丈夫下班回家后,我扑进他的怀里泣不成声。我抱着我的狗。我为我和妹妹订好了往返途中的酒店,分担了漫长的车程,希望她不会在旅途中去世。部分原因是我仍然希望她能战胜病魔,希望他们是错的,她还有更多的时间,药物还需要几天才能发挥作用。自私地说,部分原因是我不想看着她死去。 看着把我带到这个世界上的女人离开这个世界,我怎么可能承受得了?我怎么能承受得了,怎么能在死后安然无恙?我怎么能看着妈妈咽下最后一口气?


我们甚至没有 讨论她的死亡她想要什么她告诉我姐姐她想要什么葬礼,但仅此而已。她还没有签署遗嘱,没有告诉我她想要我做什么。 我们还没有进行那些我想进行的对话,因为我知道我原谅了她作为我母亲时所背负的愧疚。我还没准备好接受这些对话,也不想提起。我告诉自己,我在给她空间,等她准备好了再跟我谈。但实际上,我害怕与她进行这些谈话,因为这意味着结束是不可避免的。




阅读更多




播客 乳腺癌对话

癌症护理指南




 


分享您的故事、诗歌或艺术:


乳腺癌幸存者网站资源与支持:

最新文章

查看全部

评论


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

新诊断者

东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

发现大脑

东部时间 5 月 27 日下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 5 月 28 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 6 月 3 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 6 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 6 月 10 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 6 月 11 日上午 11:30

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 6 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

发掘机遇

东部时间 6 月 17 日下午 5:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

The Last Thing I Told My Mom Was a Lie (Part 1)

Updated: Apr 15

By Olivia Smith


Content warning: death and dying


Olivia and her mom, Michelle, in Italy.

“I have some news to share with you girls. I went to the doctor because I have been having concerns with my breast. I found out that I have inflammatory breast cancer. I don’t have all of the details yet, but I know it’s a very aggressive cancer, but I’m going to fight it. This isn’t a death sentence.” – Michelle “Ginger” Griswold, 11 months before she passed. 



My mom and I didn’t have a perfect relationship. She did a lot of things that stressed me out, made me upset, annoyed me, and, frankly, hurt me. But I loved her; she was my one and only mom, and although we didn’t get along perfectly, she was a good person with a lot of love to give. I spent the last 11 months of her life taking time from work and visiting her when I could. I tried to push past the moments she upset me or stressed me out, and instead spend time working to understand her more and accept her for who she was. We’re all flawed individuals trying to enjoy this thing called life while we have the privilege to.


Olivia and her mom, Michelle, in Orlando.

I knew time was fleeting with her now more than ever, and we truly made some memories that year that I will cherish forever. One of my favorites was when I extended a work trip to Orlando and surprised her with a stay at the Princess Castle Hotel. When she heard I was going to Orlando for work, she mentioned how she hadn’t been yet and had always wanted to—my mom’s way of telling me it would really be cool if we explored Orlando together. We walked around Disney Springs while she had the energy, her with a margarita in hand, enjoying the scenery. We just spent the weekend exploring and hanging out together, just the two of us, and it became some of my favorite moments of that year, being able to provide her with love, support, laughter, and new experiences.



Ever since the day my mom told us she had cancer on the phone, my sister Stephanie and I both get anxious when anyone asks us to jump on a three-way call. We had to take many more three-way calls together in the following 11 months, none of them with good news. The purpose of this piece isn’t to document those 11 months but to talk about the last month.


This wasn’t our mom’s first experience with cancer. She had stage 1 invasive ductal carcinoma about seven years prior and had been in remission, doing well. This wasn’t our first cancer rodeo. Of course I understood it was a much more aggressive and severe cancer, but why should the outcome be any different? We would fight it, and she would be okay, just like last time. 


For my mom, that diagnosis did end up being a death sentence. One that came much sooner than any of us had prepared or hoped for, with a lot of highs and extreme lows throughout. The last three-way call we were on with our mom, she told us from the oncology hospital that she wasn’t responding to the third round of treatment that they had hoped would be a miracle drug for her, after she quickly stopped responding to the first two treatment plans. I remember sitting at a red light while receiving this call, feeling like the wind was knocked out of me while feeling numb in the same instant.


After an agonizing 11 months with metastatic breast cancer, she had told me a few weeks prior that if this treatment didn’t work, she didn’t think she wanted to put her body or mind through any more. As tough as it was to hear, my sister and I assured her we supported whatever she chose for her body and her quality of life. As much as I selfishly wanted her to try everything and stay with us as long as she could, I respected her decision and could never ask her to suffer longer for us. 


Olivia and her mom, Michelle, before radiation.

The following day, I decided to stay home from a work trip I had been planning and looking forward to all year, as we still didn’t have a full picture of what my mom’s newest health update meant. We knew it didn’t look good, but we still had no timeline. I felt dramatic for canceling because my mom was in the hospital and not doing well. It wasn’t like she was going to die that day, so why did I cancel this work trip that was important to me? Thankfully, I had a wonderful boss who allowed me to have a flexible schedule while my mom was sick and spend as much time with her as I could when I wanted. However, I still carried that guilt for not showing up every day with 100% of myself that year. 


A few hours later, I was sitting on the couch in my living room when my mom attempted another three-way call with my sister and I. This time, my sister wasn’t able to answer immediately. When I answered, my mom was on the other end of the line crying and apologizing because there was nothing left they could do. “The cancer has almost completely destroyed my liver and other organs. I’m in 83% liver failure. I have days to weeks to months left. I’m going to go home with hospice; I’m so sorry,” my mom tearfully told me. “Don’t apologize, I will be there soon,” I said.


I sat on the couch in shock, fear, anger, and disbelief. I knew this outcome was possible, I had googled all the statistics. I knew this day would come eventually, breast cancer or not, but I thought we had so much more time together. The 5-year life expectancy of her cancer was 19%. My mind believed that she was so strong, always had been so strong, she would be one of those 19%, she had to be. And if she wasn’t part of that 19%, well then surely we would at least have close to another five years after diagnosis, right? 


I live near Charlotte, NC and my sister was living in Roanoke, VA from the time my mom was diagnosed until her death. I called my sister and we made arrangements to visit our mom. I sobbed into my husband’s arms when he came home from work. I cuddled my dog. I booked hotels for my sister and me to stay in on our way down and back up, splitting up the long drive, hoping she wouldn’t die on that trip. Partially because I still hoped she’d defy the odds, that they were wrong, she had more time, the medicine just needed a few more days to kick in. And partly, selfishly, because I didn’t want to watch her die. How could I possibly handle watching the woman who brought me onto this earth leave it? How could I ever manage that and be okay afterward? How could I watch my mom take her last breath? 


We hadn’t even really discussed her death yet, and what she wanted. She told my sister what she wanted for a funeral, but that was it. She hadn’t signed a will yet, hadn’t told me what she wanted from me. We hadn’t had those conversations I wanted to have, knowing I forgive her for the things she carried guilt for throughout her time as my mother. I wasn’t ready for those conversations yet, and I didn’t feel like bringing them up. I told myself I was giving her the space to talk to me about it when she was ready. But in reality, I was afraid to have those conversations with her because that meant the end was inevitable.




Read More:




On the Podcast: Breast Cancer Conversations

A Caregivers Guide to Cancer




 


Share your story, poetry, or art:


SurvivingBreastCancer.org Resources & Support:

Comments


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

May 20 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

In Body Breathwork

May 21 ,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Brain Spotting

May 27,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

May 28,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

June 3, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

Jun 4,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

June 10,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

June 11, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

June 11,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page