页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

我对妈妈说的最后一句话是谎言(下)

已更新:4 月 15 日

奥利维亚-史密斯


内容警告:死亡和垂死


阅读奥利维亚故事的第一部分: 我对妈妈说的最后一件事是谎言(第一部分)



奥利维亚和妈妈米歇尔一起去看芭比娃娃。

我姐姐在南卡罗来纳州遇到了我,我们带着我两个月大的小狗驱车前往佛罗里达州,沿途停了一夜。时间仍然是一团迷雾;它看起来如此之快,感觉就像我一下子穿过了一大桶蜂蜜,几乎就像 生活发生在我身上,而我却不在自己的身体里。


我很害怕到了那里看到她的样子。在罹患癌症之前,她一直非常健康、 喜欢健身.在她生命的大部分时间里,她都是健美的。在过去的 11 个月里,由于脊柱上的肿瘤和癌症造成的压迫性骨折,她的身体缩小了 3 英寸多。她有点驼背,体重也减轻了很多。她拒绝照镜子,这让我很伤心。她很美,但在人世间的 56 年里,她的身体一直不好,包括饮食失调。 癌症对她身体造成的改变加剧了她的低身体形象,这对她来说是一场巨大的挣扎。


两周前我下山的时候,她的体重减轻和新身高已经非常明显了。但两周后才看到她,还是让我大吃一惊,她的身体非常虚弱,脸色也变得灰黄。她来到外面看我们,对我们的到来感到非常兴奋,看到她的变化,我的胃都要掉下来了,感觉就像真的一样。我努力掩饰脸上的震惊,不让她发现。作为我们的妈妈 她对自己的死亡对女儿们的影响的恐惧已经超过了对死亡本身的恐惧。而不是对死亡本身的恐惧。


接下来的几天过得匆匆忙忙;安宁疗护团队终于在周五来做了入院检查。那时,我妈妈说话已经有点含糊不清了。周五,她还和丈夫一起去完成了遗嘱。在她罹患癌症的 11 个月里,她直到最后一刻才完成了这项工作。在她清醒的这几天里,我一直陪着她和妹妹,和我的小狗玩耍,尽量不让它的高能量打扰到妈妈。我们尽力逗她笑,让她舒服,陪伴她,但我们不知道她还能活多久。晚上,我一个人在浴室的地板上啜泣,然后再去洗澡。 我非常害怕即将发生的事情,害怕自己如何才能熬过去。我试着把痛苦和恐惧藏在心里,尽管我们都在经历。


那个周六,我和妹妹躺在妈妈的泳池边,妈妈正在休息,我决定读一读临终关怀小册子。小册子的背面有一些即将到来的死亡征兆,按预计死亡的快慢进行了分类。其中一个意味着死亡即将来临的迹象是脚和脚踝的肿胀和变色。那天晚些时候,我注意到她的脚和脚踝肿胀、变色。我看着妹妹,问她是否读过那本小册子。"看过,"她说。"你看到妈妈的脚了吗?我问。"看到了。"她说。我们只是点点头,叹了口气,知道这一切很快就会到来。 


这一切都发生在八月,但我们想到了感恩节,因为那是我母亲最喜欢的节日。我们原计划在感恩节那天去陪她,以防这是她最后一个节日,同时庆祝我妹妹的硕士学位毕业,但我们没能成行。在我的一个好朋友的建议下,我们决定在那个星期天为我妈妈过感恩节,并邀请了几个要好的朋友一起为她庆祝。到了周日,我妈妈除了上厕所之外,几乎没有离开过临终关怀床。 


那天早上,妈妈的丈夫告诉我们,妈妈告诉他,她不知道自己还剩下多少时间,我们把这当作是告别的信号。后来,妈妈找我和妹妹。 她说她非常爱我们,并为我们感到骄傲。 我们这才知道她肯定是在说再见。我问她是否害怕,希望她能告诉我不害怕,她很平静,已经准备好离开,让我放心。但她没有。她勉强挤出一句话:"是的,我害怕。"这让我心碎。我抱着她,努力让自己保持镇定。就在我的继妹和家人朋友陆续到来时,我离开了她的房间,一边为感恩节晚餐捣土豆一边哭泣。我还没有做好心理准备。


我妈妈身体不好,不能坐下来和我们一起吃饭。晚饭前,安宁疗护护士第一次来探望她。护士告诉我们她的时限是五天或更短,给了我们一些急救药,还给了我妈妈一片抗焦虑和止痛药。我们坐下来试着享用感恩节晚餐,妈妈房间的门就开在我们旁边。我们吃饭的时候,她开始呻吟,每次我们中的一个人进去陪她坐着。


就在吃甜点之前,姐姐叫我进来。"她说:"是时候了。 我站在妈妈身边,用手梳理她的头发,告诉她我爱她。当她呻吟时,我亲吻了她的额头,当我感觉到她冰凉的皮肤时,我哭了,因为我知道真的要生了。我不得不找了把椅子坐下,因为我在发抖。我的继兄本来要去机场,但因为我妈妈生命垂危而不能去。我们都围坐在她身边,感觉就像几个小时一样,她不停地呻吟,呼吸也变慢了。我们都对她撒了谎,告诉她没事的,她可以放手,我们也会没事的。我和姐姐告诉她,她把我们养育得很好,没有她我们也会好起来的,但连我自己都不相信。我不想说那些谎话,她教我不要撒谎。她说过 "诚实是最好的政策",但我必须撒谎才能让她离开,才能摆脱痛苦。 我看着妈妈受了 11 个月的苦,我不能让她再受一刻苦。 但这并不好。我不相信我会没事。



奥利维亚和妈妈米歇尔在看芭比娃娃之前喝茶。


有一次,她呻吟着说 "救救我"。我失控了,开始抽泣;我的大姐姐向我的继兄示意,并指着我,好像在说 "照顾好她"。他立即走过来抱住我,在她奄奄一息的剩余时间里,我一直对着他的肚子啜泣。当你垂死的母亲说 "救救我",而你却做不到时,你会怎么做?这是我最痛苦的部分。我从未亲眼目睹过任何人的死亡,我没有任何心理准备。我唯一的期望就是在讣告上看到 "某某在家人的簇拥下安详离世"。但这远远称不上平静,她哭着求救! 她会没事吗?她会安息吗?作为一个不善于处理没有全部答案的人,这让我崩溃。在经历了 11 个月的癌症痛苦之后,我只想知道她最后能平静地离开痛苦,而在目睹了她痛苦的死亡之后,我不知道该如何相信这一点。


她的呼吸继续减慢,最后呻吟声越来越小。她的丈夫注意到她尿湿了,于是让我们给她换衣服。我们把她的身体从临终关怀床上移到她的床上。我和姐姐帮她脱下睡衣,继姐则打扫临终关怀床并换上新床单。我们把她移到后面,用毯子盖住她奄奄一息的裸体。不久之后,她的呼吸完全停止了。她走了。我们道别后都离开了房间,打电话给我们的伙伴,试图处理这个消息。那天晚上,我大部分时间都在哭泣。 


我姐姐和继姐在给殡仪馆打电话让他们来接她的尸体后,又回到了房间里。她们让狗闻闻她的尸体,好让它们知道发生了什么。她们一起挑选了一套衣服和一双鞋,给我妈妈穿上,让她在遗体火化时看起来漂亮而有尊严。 我姐姐还为我妈妈的睫毛涂上了她最喜欢的美容产品--睫毛膏。我永远感激姐姐能为妈妈做这些。我没有足够的力气再见她一面。当他们来移走她的遗体时,我也呆在外面。我不能再看到她毫无生气的尸体了。


那天晚上,在她走后,我们所有的孩子都在她的游泳池里度过了美好时光,在对她的回忆中又哭又笑。她走了。我仍然不知道该如何继续生活,如何忘记她冰凉的皮肤,忘记我对她撒的谎,忘记她最后求救的话语。现在已经过去六个月了,虽然我不再那么频繁地回想起她的死,也不再那么频繁地做噩梦,但它们还是会出现。我不知道它们是否会消失。它带给我的痛苦难以言表。 我希望我能带走她的痛苦,带走她的死亡。



奥利维亚的妈妈米歇尔和她的摩托车。

有时候,我都忘了她是不是还在佛罗里达活得好好的、 骑着摩托车享受着温暖的天气。我仍然不知道如何克服很多困难。有时,我的大脑无法理解这一切的发生,尽管我眼睁睁地看着她苍白冰冷的躯体离开我的视线,而她曾经是我寻求安全的坚强而温暖的港湾。有时,我脑子里会闪过一个念头,我需要问她一个问题,或者告诉她一些有趣的事情,然后我意识到这是不可能的,痛苦再次涌上心头。


我必须不断地重新忆起她已经去世,这是真实的生活,而不是我将从某个可怕的噩梦中醒来,这常常意味着重温她的痛苦和死亡。有时,我和妹妹不得不在噩梦中重温她的死亡,第二天又在迷雾中度过。但我正在接受治疗来处理它,而 悲伤的浪潮来得越来越少。有时,我还能回忆起和她在一起的美好时光,和妹妹一起取笑她令人讨厌的倾向。


有时,我们也会用黑色幽默让别人不舒服,有时,我们会吃我们称之为 "死妈芝士蛋糕 "的东西。 有时我们吃着所谓的 "死妈芝士蛋糕"闷闷不乐。死妈芝士蛋糕的名字来自我姐姐。我们的妈妈去世后不久,有一天在工作时,她的一位同事带来了他们的妻子为我姐姐做的芝士蛋糕。我姐姐厌倦了人们对我们妈妈的去世感到尴尬,也不知道在她面前该如何表现。因此,当她把芝士蛋糕拿出来吃的时候,她问大家是否愿意和她一起吃一些 "死去的妈妈芝士蛋糕"。她的黑色幽默起了作用,打破了同事之间的僵局,让他们感到安心。同事们在她身边感觉更自在了,也更喜欢和她一起吃 "死妈芝士蛋糕 "了。 使用黑色幽默可能并不适合所有人,但它一直是我和妹妹欣赏的一种应对机制。 有时它会让别人感到不舒服,但有时它可以打破僵局,让人们感到轻松。当只有我和她在一起时,它能让事情变得更容易承受,让我们在痛苦中开怀大笑。


我妈妈去世时,没有任何东西能让我做好心理准备。但直到我读了一本关于一位因癌症而失去母亲的妇女的回忆录,她说她母亲的最后一个字是 "痛",我才感觉自己被看见了,感觉自己并不是一个人在经历如此痛苦的死亡。知道我妈妈并不孤单,这让我感到欣慰,也许这比我想象的更常见。 也许她现在正在某个地方和我儿时的小狗一起玩耍,以另一种方式照顾着我。



奥利维亚和她的妈妈米歇尔参加乳腺癌步行活动。


人们不常谈论死亡,这不是一件有趣的事。我常常因此感到孤独,希望人们能更多地谈论她,即使这会带来一些悲伤的感觉。 谈论她、缅怀她,感觉很好,她很重要。 死亡对我们所有人来说都是不可避免的。通过她的去世,我找到了为乳腺癌组织筹资和研究的热情。我梦想着,在这个世界上,没有人必须经历我妈妈的遭遇。没有亲人会经历我和妹妹的遭遇。


出于种种原因,我一直不愿多谈她的死。 谈起.我是流着泪写完这篇文章的,因为我不得不重温那段痛苦的经历。谈论死亡会让大多数人感到不舒服,谁会喜欢让人不舒服呢?


此外,自从更多地参与乳腺癌社区活动以来,我看到了太多关于希望和战胜困难的故事。这么多女性为了摆脱体内的癌症,付出了难以置信的努力,就像夺去我母亲生命的癌症一样。这些故事给我和许多人带来了温暖人心的希望和幸福感。我不敢与人分享我母亲的死亡经历,因为我不想给任何身患乳腺癌的人带来恐惧。 每个人的癌症经历都是独一无二的,值得庆幸的是,很多人都没有以死亡告终。在过去的十年中,我们取得了许多进步,改善了统计数据。


然而,死亡是生命中唯一可以保证的事情,我们每个人都会在某个时刻经历死亡,希望能以一种比我母亲更平静的方式。分享我的经历并不容易。我宁愿把它藏在自己心里,让人们远离我们目睹的残酷死亡。然而,与我分享经历的人越多,我就越觉得自己并不孤单。 我听到其他人在自己的小圈子里默默地承受着痛苦,不敢谈论他们所看到的一切。写下来并与人分享对我很有帮助。 如果这至少能给一个人带来些许安慰,让他不再感到孤独,那么写这篇文章所带来的痛苦就是值得的。


我和妹妹在母亲弥留之际,尽我们所能给她带来安慰。尽管这会给我们带来痛苦,包括告诉她最后一个谎言。我只能希望这个谎言能在她最后的时刻带给她一些安宁,并希望她能为我们感到骄傲,为我们在她不在的时候成为了什么样的人感到骄傲。


如果您正在寻找理解您的人或有任何疑问,请随时通过以下方式联系我 @gingers_breastiesgingers.breasties@gmail.com.





阅读更多











播客 乳腺癌对话

打破对生命终结的沉默



 


分享您的故事、诗歌或艺术:


乳腺癌幸存者网站资源与支持:

最新文章

查看全部

科门塔里奥斯


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

新诊断者

东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

发现大脑

东部时间 5 月 27 日下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 5 月 28 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 6 月 3 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 6 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 6 月 10 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 6 月 11 日上午 11:30

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 6 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

发掘机遇

东部时间 6 月 17 日下午 5:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

The Last Thing I Told My Mom Was a Lie (Part 2)

Updated: Apr 15

By Olivia Smith


Content warning: death and dying


Read part 1 of Olivia’s story: The Last Thing I Told My Mom Was a Lie (Part 1)



Olivia and her mom, Michelle, out to see Barbie.

My sister met me in South Carolina and we drove with my 2-month-old puppy down to Florida, stopping for the night along the way. The time is still such a fog; it seemed so quick, and it felt like I was moving through a vat of honey all at once, almost as if life was happening to me and I wasn’t in my body.


I was terrified to get there and see how she looked. Before this round of cancer, she was always very fit and healthy, enjoying the gym. For much of her life, she was ripped. Over the past 11 months, she had shrunk over 3 inches from the tumors along her spine and compression fractures from the cancer. She was a bit hunched over and had lost a lot of weight. She refused to look at herself in the mirror, which broke my heart. She was beautiful, but had spent her 56 years on this Earth having a bad relationship with her body, including eating disorders. The changes the cancer made to her body exacerbated her low body image and this was a big struggle for her. 


On my previous trip down, two weeks prior, her weight loss and new height were pretty evident. But it was still a shock to see her only two weeks later, so very frail and her complexion looking a grayish yellow. She came outside to see us, so excited we were there, and my stomach dropped seeing the changes, making it feel real. I tried to mask the shock from my face so she wouldn’t notice. As our mom, she was already more afraid of the effect her death would have on her daughters than her fear of death itself.


The next few days passed in a blur; the hospice care team finally came to do an intake on Friday. By then, my mom’s speech was a bit slurred. She also left with her husband Friday to complete her will. In her 11 months with this cancer, she had yet to do that until the last possible minute. I spent the days with her and my sister while she was awake, playing with my puppy while trying to keep his high energy from bothering my mom. We tried our best to make her laugh, keep her comfortable, and be there for her, but we had no clue how much longer she had left. I spent the nights sobbing on the floor in their bathroom by myself before I took a shower. I was so afraid of what was to come and how I could survive it. I tried to keep my pain and fear to myself, even though we were all experiencing it. 


That Saturday, my sister and I were lying by my mom’s pool while she rested, and I decided to read the hospice pamphlet. The back of it had signs of coming death to look for, grouping it by how soon death was to be anticipated. One sign that meant death was coming very quickly was swelling and discoloration of the feet and ankles. Later that day, I noticed that her feet and ankles were swollen and discolored. I looked at my sister and asked if she’d read that pamphlet. “Yup,” she said. “Did you see Mom’s feet?” I asked. “Yup,” she said. And we just nodded and sighed, knowing it was coming soon. 


This was all happening in August, but we were thinking ahead to Thanksgiving, as it was my mom’s favorite holiday. We had planned to go down that Thanksgiving to spend it with her in case it was her last, and to celebrate my sister’s master’s degree graduation, but we didn’t make it. At the suggestion of one of my best friends, we decided we would do Thanksgiving for my mom that Sunday and invited a few close people to celebrate with her. By the time Sunday came, my mom was barely leaving the hospice bed, except to try to use the restroom. 


That morning, my mom’s husband told us that she told him she didn’t know how much time she had left, and we took it as a sign of goodbye. Later, my mom asked for my sister and me. She told us she loved us very much and was proud of us. We then knew she was definitely saying goodbye. I asked her if she was scared, hoping she would tell me no and that she was at peace and ready to go to set my mind at ease. But she wasn’t. She barely got the words out, “Yes, I’m scared,” and it broke my heart. I hugged her and tried to keep myself together. Just as my step sister and family friends were arriving, I left her room and cried while mashing potatoes for Thanksgiving dinner. I wasn’t ready for this. 


My mom wasn’t well enough to sit and eat with us. Right before dinner, she had her first hospice nurse visit. The nurse told us she was at the five-day or less timeline, gave us some emergency medicine, and gave my mom an anxiety and pain pill. We sat down and tried to enjoy Thanksgiving dinner with the door from my mom's room open right next to us. She started groaning while we ate, and one of us at a time would go in and sit with her.


Just before dessert, my sister called for me to come in. “It’s time,” she said. I stood by my mom, brushing her hair with my hand and telling her I loved her. I kissed her forehead while she groaned and cried when I felt her cool skin, knowing it really was coming. I had to get a chair to sit on because I was shaking. My step brother was supposed to be leaving for the airport but couldn’t because my mom was actively dying. We all sat around her for what felt like hours as she groaned and moaned, and her breathing slowed. We all lied to her, telling her it’s okay, she could let go, and we would be okay. My sister and I told her she raised us well and we would be okay without her, but even I didn’t believe myself. I didn’t want to say those lies; she taught me not to lie. “Honesty is the best policy,” she had said, but I had to lie to let her go, to get out of pain. I had watched my mom suffer for 11 months, and I couldn’t ask her to suffer for one more moment. It wasn’t okay, though. I didn’t believe I would be okay.



Olivia and her mom, Michelle, having tea before seeing Barbie.


At one point, she groaned, “Help me.” I lost it and started sobbing; my big sister motioned to my step brother and pointed to me as if to say, “Take care of her.” He immediately stepped over and hugged me, and I spent the rest of the time she was dying sobbing into his stomach. What do you do when your dying mother says “Help me” and you can’t? That was the most painful part of all for me. I had never watched anyone die before; I wasn’t prepared. My only expectation was seeing “so-and-so died peacefully surrounded by family” in obituaries. But this was far from peaceful; she cried for help! Would she be okay? Would she find peace? As someone who doesn’t handle not having all of the answers well, this tore me apart. After a painful 11 months with cancer, I just needed to know she was at peace and out of pain at the end, and I didn’t know how to trust that after watching her painful death. 


Her breathing continued to slow, and eventually her groaning became quieter and quieter. Her husband noticed she had wet herself and asked us to change her. We moved her body from the hospice bed to her bed. My sister and I helped take off her nightgown while my step sister cleaned the hospice bed and got new sheets. We moved her back, covering her dying, naked body with a blanket. Soon after that, her breathing stopped altogether. She was gone. We said goodbye, and we all left the room, calling our partners and trying to process the news. I spent the majority of that evening crying. 


My sister and step sister went back into the room after calling the funeral home to come pick up her body. They let her dogs sniff her dead body so they would know what happened. Together, they picked out an outfit and shoes to dress my mom in so she could look beautiful and have dignity as her body was cremated. My sister even applied my mom’s favorite beauty item, mascara, to her eyelashes. I am forever grateful my sister could do this for my mom. I wasn’t strong enough to see her again. I stayed outside when they came to remove her body, too. I couldn’t take seeing her lifeless body another time.


That evening, after she was gone, all of us kids spent time in her pool, laughing and crying over memories of her. She was gone. I still didn’t know how I would move on, how I would forget the feeling of her cool skin, forget the lies I told her, forget her last words begging for help. It’s been six months now, and although I get flashbacks and nightmares about her death less frequently, they still come. I don’t know if they’ll ever go away. The pain it brings me is hard to explain. I wish I could take away her pain, take away her death.



Olivia's mom, Michelle, with her motorcycle.

Sometimes, I forget she’s not still alive and well in Florida, riding on a motorcycle and enjoying the warm weather. I still don’t know how to get over a lot of it. Sometimes my brain can’t comprehend that it happened, even though I watched the life leave her pale cold body that was once a strong, warm place to seek safety. Sometimes I have a thought cross my brain of a question I need to ask her, or something funny to tell her before I realize that’s not possible, and the pain comes flooding back again.


I have to constantly re-remember that she’s dead, that this is real life and not some terrible nightmare I will wake from, which oftentimes means reliving her suffering and death. Sometimes my sister and I are forced to relive her death through nightmares and spend the next day in a fog. But I’m in therapy to process it, and the waves of grief come less and less frequently. And sometimes I can remember fond moments with her now, and make fun of her annoying tendencies with my sister.


Sometimes we also make other people uncomfortable with dark humor, and sometimes we eat what we call “dead mom cheesecake” and mope. Dead mom cheesecake got its name from my sister. One day at work, shortly after our mom died, one of her coworkers brought in a cheesecake that their wife had made for my sister. My sister was tired of people being awkward about our mom’s death and not knowing how to act around her. So, when she took the cheesecake out to eat it, she asked everyone if they would like to eat some “dead mom cheesecake” with her. Her dark humor worked and broke the ice with her coworkers, putting them at ease. They felt more comfortable around her and enjoyed “dead mom cheesecake” with her. Using dark humor may not be for everyone, but it has been a coping mechanism my sister and I appreciate. Sometimes it makes others uncomfortable, but sometimes it can help break the ice to put people at ease. When it’s just her and I, it can help make things more bearable and allow us to laugh alongside the pain. 


Nothing could’ve prepared me for my mom dying. But it wasn’t until I read a memoir about a woman who lost her mom to cancer, who said her mom’s last word was “pain” that I felt seen and like I wasn’t alone in experiencing such a painful death. It felt comforting to know that my mom wasn’t alone, that maybe it was more common than I thought. That maybe she is okay now somewhere, playing with my childhood dog and looking after me in another way. 



Olivia and her mom, Michelle, at a breast cancer walk.


People don’t talk about death often; it’s not a fun thing. I often feel isolated by it, wishing people would talk about her more, even if it brings up some sad feelings. It feels good to talk about her, to remember her, that she mattered. Death is inevitable for all of us. Through her death, I have found a passion for advocating and fundraising for breast cancer organization funding and research. I dream of a world where nobody will have to experience what my mom did. Where no loved ones will have to experience what my sister and I did. 


I have been hesitant to talk much about her death, for many reasons. It isn’t easy to talk about. I wrote most of this in tears, having to relive a really traumatizing experience. Talking about death makes most people uncomfortable, and who likes to make people uncomfortable? 


Also, since being more involved in the breast cancer community, I see so many stories of hope and beating the odds. So many women working so incredibly hard to rid their bodies of cancer, like the one that killed my mom. Those stories bring me and so many others such a heart-warming sense of hope and happiness. I am afraid to share my experience with her death because I don’t want to bring fear to anyone experiencing breast cancer. Everyone’s cancer experience is unique, and thankfully many don’t end in death. There have been so many advancements in the last decade, improving statistics.


However, death is the one thing that is guaranteed in life, we will all experience it at some point, hopefully in a more peaceful way than my mom did. Sharing my experience isn’t easy. I’d prefer to keep it to myself and shield people from the harsh death we witnessed. However, the more people I’ve shared my experience with, the more I’ve felt not alone. I’ve heard others suffering quietly in their own bubble, afraid to talk about what they saw. Writing it down and sharing it has helped me, and if this brings at least one person some comfort and to feel a little less alone, then it was worth the pain that came with writing this.


My sister and I did what we could to bring our mom comfort when her time came, even though it caused us pain, including telling her one last lie. I can only hope that the lie brought her some peace in her last moments and that she’s proud of us and who we are becoming in her absence. 


If you are searching for someone who understands or have questions, feel free to reach out to me at @gingers_breasties on Instagram or at gingers.breasties@gmail.com.





Read More:











On the Podcast: Breast Cancer Conversations

Breaking the Silence on End-of-Life



 


Share your story, poetry, or art:


SurvivingBreastCancer.org Resources & Support:

Comments


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

May 20 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

In Body Breathwork

May 21 ,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Brain Spotting

May 27,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

May 28,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

June 3, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

Jun 4,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

June 10,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

June 11, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

June 11,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page