页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

新研究发现乳腺癌在睡眠中扩散得更快


睡眠对健康至关重要。研究表明,睡眠质量不高的人可能面临多种疾病和失调的风险,从心脏病和中风到肥胖症和痴呆症。睡眠除了能预防疾病外,还经常被誉为神奇的治疗方法,能帮助身体从疾病和手术中恢复过来。研究表明,当我们清醒时,身体中的大多数细胞会更努力地工作。


然而,最近的一项 研究 瑞士的一项最新研究发现,乳腺癌细胞可能是个例外,它们会在身心休息时加速扩散。


癌细胞的加速会影响乳腺癌的转移。当循环中的癌细胞脱离原来的肿瘤,通过血管在体内游走,并在其他器官形成新的肿瘤时,就会发生转移。癌症一旦发生转移,治疗起来就更加困难。在这项研究之前,研究人员认为肿瘤一直在释放循环细胞。




睡眠不是敌人


尽管这一消息令人震惊,但研究人员强调,还需要更多的研究来调查这些发现。在获得更多信息之前,不应将睡眠视为乳腺癌患者的敌人。研究结果并没有证明乳腺癌患者不需要睡眠或应该减少睡眠。恰恰相反,睡眠不足对癌症患者是有害的。 研究 显示,每晚睡眠不足 7 小时可能与较高的死亡风险有关。


扰乱人体的昼夜节律


这项包括 30 名女性癌症患者和小鼠模型的研究证实,当机体(细胞)处于睡眠状态时,肿瘤会产生更多的循环细胞。此外,与白天的循环细胞相比,夜间离开肿瘤的细胞分裂更快,形成转移的可能性也更大。


这项研究检测了在凌晨 4 点和上午 10 点采集的 30 名乳腺癌住院妇女的血液。医生会测量血液中的循环肿瘤细胞(CTC)水平--这是一种液体活检。研究人员发现,他们在血液样本中检测到的大部分 CTC(近 80%)出现在凌晨 4 点采集的血液样本中,当时患者仍在休息。

研究表明,由于扰乱了人体的昼夜节律和这种周期所调节的激素,癌细胞可能在夜间更有效地扩散。例如,研究表明,褪黑激素--一种由松果体分泌的决定睡眠模式的激素--能使癌细胞在人体休息时更有效地扩散。


人的昼夜节律受各种基因控制,这些基因按 24 小时的时间表表达特定分子,影响人体的许多过程,包括新陈代谢和睡眠。以前研究人员认为,变异的癌细胞不会遵守昼夜节律。

然而,经过长期研究,昼夜节律紊乱被列为 "可能 "致癌物。 研究得出结论认为,空姐和夜班护士等工作时间较长的人患乳腺癌的风险较高。


对乳腺癌治疗的影响


研究人员正在确定如何将这些发现融入现有的癌症治疗中。例如,如果患者在不同时间接受治疗,现有疗法是否会更成功?此外,医生采集肿瘤或血液样本的时间不同 医生采集肿瘤或血液样本的时间不同,结果也会不同。

另一种理论认为,如果在人体免疫系统最活跃的睡眠时给药,可能会改变某些药物靶向疗法阻止癌症扩散的时机。

在一项包括患有转移性乳腺癌的妇女的试点研究中,她们在睡眠中接受多西他赛(Taxotere)治疗,大约三分之一的人在两天后反应良好,而在清醒状态下接受治疗的人则需要五天。研究结果表明,睡眠可以让新药有更多的时间发挥作用,特别是阻断或减缓肿瘤的生长和在全身的扩散--尤其是在与化疗或激素疗法等其他疗法联合使用时。


依靠我们获取信息、资源和支持

无论您是 新诊断出患有乳腺癌或正在经历

如果您是乳腺癌幸存者,或者是乳腺癌患者的亲人,您可以信赖 "乳腺癌幸存者 "为您提供的信息。我们提供教育信息,帮助您更好地了解症状、检查和治疗方案、 治疗方案手术等,以及 播客 专业人士、倡导者和护理人员分享有价值的信息。


我们的全球在线 社区不仅为您提供了与他人建立联系的机会,以获得安全、无评判、点对点的支持,还确保您永远不会感到孤单。我们还提供 疗愈研讨会心灵运动课程您还可以加入我们的 小组配对导师.如需进一步了解我们的服务或从中受益,请立即联系我们。





最新文章

查看全部

现在

候车室

评论


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

对于新诊断的患者

美国东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

东部时间 4 月 22 日下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 4 月 23 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 5 月 6 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 5 月 7 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

美国东部时间 5 月 13 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

美国东部时间 5 月 14 日上午 11:30

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 5 月 14 日下午 6:00

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

New Study Finds Breast Cancer Spreads Faster During Sleep


Sleep is critical for good health. Studies show that people who don’t get good quality sleep may be at risk for many diseases and disorders, from heart disease and stroke to obesity and dementia. In addition to offering preventative benefits, sleep is often touted as a miracle cure, helping the body recover from illness and surgery. The research suggests that most cells in our body work harder when we're awake.


However, a recent study from Switzerland found that breast cancer cells may be the exception, spreading faster while the body and mind rest.


​​The acceleration of cancer cells affects how breast cancer metastisizes. Metastases occur when circulating cancer cells break away from the original tumor, travel through the body via blood vessels, and form new tumors in other organs. Cancer is more challenging to treat once it metastasizes. Before this study, researchers thought tumors released circulating cells all the time.




Sleep Is Not the Enemy


As startling as this news is, researchers emphasize that more studies are needed to investigate the findings. Until further information is available, sleep should not be thought of as the enemy of people with breast cancer. The results have not proven that breast cancer patients don’t need sleep or should get less sleep. On the contrary, not getting enough sleep can be detrimental to people with cancer, and some studies have shown that less than seven hours of sleep per night may be linked to a higher risk of death.


Disrupting the Body’s Circadian Rhythms


The study, which included 30 female cancer patients and mouse models, confirmed that the tumor generates more circulating cells when the organism (the cells) is asleep. In addition, cells that leave the tumor at night divide more quickly and possibly have a higher potential to form metastases than circulating cells during the day.


The study tested blood collected at 4 AM and again at 10 AM from 30 women hospitalized with breast cancer. Physicians measure circulating tumor cell (CTC) levels in the blood — a type of liquid biopsy. The researchers found that the bulk of the CTCs they detected in the blood samples — almost 80% — appeared in the portion collected at 4 AM when the patients were still resting.

The study suggests cancer cells may spread more efficiently at night due to disrupting the body’s circadian rhythms and the hormones this cycle regulates. For example, the research shows that melatonin — a hormone produced by the pineal gland that dictates sleep patterns — enables the cancer cells to spread more efficiently when the body is at rest.


A person’s circadian clock is controlled by various genes that express specific molecules on a 24-hour timetable, influencing many processes in the body, including metabolism and sleep. Previously researchers believed that rogue, mutated cancer cells wouldn’t conform to a schedule.

However, disrupted circadian rhythms were listed as a “probable” carcinogen after long-term studies concluded that people who work odd hours — such as flight attendants and night nurses — were at a higher risk of developing breast cancer.


Implications for Breast Cancer Treatment


Researchers are determining how these findings can be incorporated into existing cancer treatments. For example, can existing therapies be more successful if patients are treated at different times? In addition, results could differ depending on the time doctors take tumor or blood samples.

Another theory may change timing of certain drug-targeted therapies to block cancer spread, if given during sleep when the body’s immune system has its highest activity.

In a pilot study including women with metastatic breast cancer who were given docetaxel (Taxotere) during sleep, about one-third responded well after two days compared to five days in those who received it while awake. The findings suggest sleep could give new drugs more time to work, specifically blocking or slowing down tumor growth and spread throughout the body — particularly if combined with other treatments like chemotherapy or hormone therapy.


Count On Us for Information, Resources, and Support

Whether you’re newly diagnosed with breast cancer, are navigating

survivorship, or are the loved one of someone experiencing breast cancer, you can count on Surviving Breast Cancer to keep you informed. We provide educational information to help you better understand symptoms, testing, treatment options, surgery, etc., and podcasts that feature professionals, advocates, and caregivers that share valuable information.


Our global online community not only offers opportunities to connect with others for safe, judgment-free, peer-to-peer support but also ensures that you’re never alone. We also offer healing workshops and mindful movement classes, and you can join any of our groups or get matched with a mentor. Contact us today to learn more about or benefit from our services.





Recent Posts

See All

Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Mindfulness for Wellbeing

February 23 1:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

Pilates

February 16, 10:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

The secret Garden

Monday 19,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

February 27,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

March 4 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

March 5,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

March 11,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

March,  12,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

March 12 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page