页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

三阴性乳腺癌疫苗的前景

已更新:2023 年 8 月 7 日

作者:劳拉-卡芳

编辑:梅根-麦卡勒姆


乳腺癌是一种影响全球数百万人的毁灭性疾病。 根据美国癌症协会, 乳腺癌是女性第二大常见癌症,每年约有 230 万新病例被确诊。.尽管治疗方法不断进步,但复发的风险和转移的可能性仍然是乳腺癌幸存者非常担心的问题。不过,地平线上出现了新的希望,那就是乳腺癌疫苗。


A 最近一集乳腺癌幸存者播客 乳腺癌对话播客《乳腺癌对话》中,劳拉-卡芳重点介绍了乳腺癌疫苗的突破性进展。 乳腺癌疫苗.本期节目邀请到了 Anixa Biosciences 公司董事长兼首席执行官 Amit Kumar 博士。 Anixa Biosciences珍妮弗-戴维斯(Jennifer Davis),她是三阴性乳腺癌疫苗的首位接种者。该疫苗目前正在克利夫兰诊所进行测试。


阿米特-库马尔博士

库马尔博士是一名训练有素的科学家,在生物技术行业拥有丰富的经验,他解释说,Anixa 生物科学公司与 克利夫兰诊所合作,将这一突破性的疫苗技术带出实验室,进入人体试验阶段。该疫苗旨在预防乳腺癌幸存者复发,甚至有可能预防乳腺癌发病。 甚至有可能预防从未患过乳腺癌的人患癌.虽然疫苗的最初目标是三阴性乳腺癌,但库马尔博士相信这项技术也有可能预防其他类型的乳腺癌。


库马尔博士强调了 针对三阴性乳腺癌的重要性,因为在此之前,激素受体阳性乳腺癌还没有实现过这一目标。"如果你患的是三阴性乳腺癌,目前确实没有什么靶向疗法。因此,三阴性--这也是最致命的[乳]癌形式,也是最具侵袭性的[乳]癌类型,导致的复发率最高--确实没有很多好的疗法"。


他指出,虽然三阴性乳腺癌有特定的治疗方案,但治疗过程对接受治疗的人来说极具挑战性。因此,疫苗的希望是通过以下方式完全消除对这种残酷治疗的需求 从一开始就预防癌症的发生.


库马尔博士与克利夫兰诊所合作开发疫苗。他遇到了发明疫苗背后技术的克利夫兰诊所免疫学家文森特-托希博士,两人决定将疫苗商业化并开发用于临床。不幸的是,Tuohy 博士在看到他的愿景实现之前就去世了。此后,该疫苗已进入人体试验阶段,未来前景广阔。库马尔博士对陶西博士的工作表示深深的谢意,并认为这将对未来产生重大影响。 库马尔博士对陶西博士的工作及其对未来乳腺癌预防的重大影响深表感谢。.


詹妮弗-戴维斯

詹妮-戴维斯詹妮-戴维斯是一名注册护士,41 岁时被诊断出患有三阴性乳腺癌。她接受了化疗、放疗和双乳切除术。作为克利夫兰诊所的一名患者,詹妮在结束治疗后了解到正在开发的疫苗。通过试验获得疫苗后,她的医疗团队建议她可以接种。"我非常高兴,"她说。


詹妮符合试验标准,并于 2021 年 10 月 19 日接种了三剂疫苗中的第一剂。 库马尔博士指出,当时这种疫苗已经研究了二十多年,而詹妮是第一个接种这种疫苗的人。.


"珍妮说:"我非常感谢 Anixa 和克利夫兰诊所携手推出这种疫苗。她对这种疫苗为未来乳腺癌治疗和预防带来的可能性感到非常兴奋。


该疫苗目前正处于 第一阶段早期测试初步数据看起来很有希望。如果成功 这种疫苗将改变乳腺癌的治疗方式。.它有可能大大降低复发风险,提高乳腺癌患者的总体生存率。此外,它还能为从未患过乳腺癌的人提供预防乳腺癌的希望。


播客 播客强调了早期发现和定期筛查乳腺癌的重要性。它还强调了研究和创新在寻找新的有效治疗方法方面的重要性。Anixa 生物科学公司与克利夫兰诊所之间的合作证明了合作伙伴关系在推动医学突破方面的力量。





收听本期节目:



更多信息:





574 次查看

最新文章

查看全部

现在

候车室

评论


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

对于新诊断的患者

美国东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

东部时间 4 月 22 日下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 4 月 23 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 5 月 6 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 5 月 7 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

美国东部时间 5 月 13 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

美国东部时间 5 月 14 日上午 11:30

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 5 月 14 日下午 6:00

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

The Promise of the Triple Negative Breast Cancer Vaccine

Updated: Aug 7, 2023

By Laura Carfang

Edited by Meghan McCallum


Breast cancer is a devastating disease that affects millions of people worldwide. According to the American Cancer Society, breast cancer is the second most common cancer in women, with approximately 2.3 million new cases diagnosed each year. Despite advances in treatment options, the risk of recurrence and the potential for metastasis remain significant concerns for breast cancer survivors. However, there is new hope on the horizon in the form of a breast cancer vaccine.


A recent episode of the SurvivingBreastCancer.org podcast Breast Cancer Conversations, hosted by Laura Carfang, highlights the promising breakthrough of a breast cancer vaccine. The episode features Dr. Amit Kumar, the chairman and CEO of Anixa Biosciences, and Jennifer Davis, the first recipient of the triple negative breast cancer vaccine, which is currently in testing with Cleveland Clinic.


Dr. Amit Kumar

Dr. Kumar, a trained scientist with extensive experience in the biotech industry, explains that Anixa Biosciences partnered with Cleveland Clinic in 2019 to bring this groundbreaking vaccine technology out of the laboratory and into human testing. The vaccine is designed to prevent the recurrence of breast cancer in survivors and potentially even prevent the onset of cancer in individuals who have never had breast cancer before. While the vaccine’s initial target is triple negative breast cancer, Dr. Kumar believes that this technology has the potential to prevent other types of breast cancer as well.


Dr. Kumar emphasizes the significance of targeting triple negative breast cancer, which has not previously been achieved as it has for hormone receptor positive breast cancers. “If you have triple negative breast cancer, there’s really nothing out there in targeted therapy today. As a result, triple negative—which also happens to be the most lethal form of [breast] cancer and the most aggressive type of [breast] cancer that results in the most recurrences—really doesn’t have a lot of good therapies.”


He notes that while there are specific treatment options for triple negative breast cancer, the treatment process is extremely challenging for those undergoing it. The hope with the vaccine, then, is to eliminate the need for this brutal treatment altogether by preventing the cancer from developing in the first place.


Dr. Kumar collaborated with Cleveland Clinic to develop the vaccine. He met Dr. Vincent Tuohy, the immunologist at Cleveland Clinic who invented the technology behind the vaccine, and the two decided to commercialize and develop it for clinical use. Unfortunately, Dr. Tuohy passed away before seeing his vision come to fruition. The vaccine has since entered human testing and shows promise for the future. Dr. Kumar expresses deep gratitude for Dr. Tuohy’s work and the significant impacts it could have on the future of breast cancer prevention.


Jennifer Davis

Jenni Davis, a registered nurse, was diagnosed with triple negative breast cancer at the age of 41. She underwent chemotherapy, radiation, and a double mastectomy. As a patient at Cleveland Clinic, Jenni learned about the vaccine in development after finishing her treatment. Once it was available through the trial, her healthcare team advised her that she could be a good candidate for it. “I was so happy about it,” she says.


Jenni was able to meet the trial criteria, and she received the first of three doses of the vaccine on October 19, 2021. The vaccine had been in research for over two decades at that point, Dr. Kumar notes, and Jenni was the first human to receive it.


“I’m so very thankful to Anixa and Cleveland Clinic for coming together and rolling out this vaccine,” Jenni says. She is excited about the possibilities it holds for the future of breast cancer treatment and prevention.


The vaccine is currently in early Phase 1 testing, and the initial data looks promising. If successful, this vaccine could be a game changer in the fight against breast cancer. It has the potential to significantly reduce the risk of recurrence and improve overall survival rates for those diagnosed with breast cancer. Additionally, it could offer hope to individuals who have never had breast cancer by providing a preventive measure against the disease.


The podcast episode underscores the importance of early detection and regular screenings for breast cancer. It also emphasizes the significance of research and innovation in finding new and effective treatments. The collaboration between Anixa Biosciences and Cleveland Clinic is a testament to the power of partnerships in advancing medical breakthroughs.





Listen to the episode:



More information:





Recent Posts

See All

Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Mindfulness for Wellbeing

February 23 1:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

Pilates

February 16, 10:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

The secret Garden

Monday 19,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

February 27,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

March 4 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

March 5,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

March 11,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

March,  12,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

March 12 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page