页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

应对乳腺癌诊断后的期望:现实与挑战

作者:劳拉-卡芳

接受乳腺癌诊断可能是一种令人难以承受的经历,随之而来的是一系列的情绪和挑战。适应诊断和治疗就已经很有挑战性了,如果还觉得自己需要满足他人的期望,那压力就更大了。许多人可能期望您在确诊乳腺癌后恢复正常,但事实上,每个人的康复历程都是独一无二的。人们通常期望你在治疗后能恢复 "正常 "生活,他们很难理解乳腺癌会对人的情感和身体造成的伤害。这会给本已艰难的经历增加额外的负担和挫折感。


在这篇博文中,我们将探讨乳腺癌确诊后生活的现实和挑战,并提供应对后遗症的见解和建议。我们还将讨论为什么在乳腺癌治疗过程中必须控制期望值,承认幸存者面临的挑战,并提供一些实用技巧,帮助您在关注健康的同时应对外界的期望。


没有人愿意谈论的挑战:

消除对复发的恐惧

癌症治疗成功后,对乳腺癌复发的恐惧可能会让人难以承受。在每周一次的化疗输液或每天一次的放射治疗后,医生突然说他们将在 6 周、3 个月、6 个月后再来看你,等等。我记得我的朋友和家人都认为这是最好的消息,我可以回去做全职工作了,我们 "终于可以向前看了"。但没有人提到的是我当时的焦虑。如果我不能每周与我的肿瘤医生见面,谁来照顾我?第一年是最糟糕的。每一件小事都会引发乳腺癌复发的念头;一个喷嚏、一声咳嗽或一次头痛都会让我相信癌症已经复发。在慌忙约见主治医生后,我们得出的结论只是过敏。


许多完成早期乳腺癌积极治疗(治疗后)的人都会对自己未来的健康状况感到焦虑、沮丧和不确定。重要的是要认识到这些感觉是正常和合理的。


要控制对复发的恐惧,必须参加一些能促进心灵平静和放松的活动,如瑜伽、冥想或与亲人共度时光。与其他乳腺癌幸存者一起加入互助小组也有助于分享经验和提供情感支持(所有这些都可以通过 Survivingbreastcancer.org).


应对癌症治疗后的残留身体症状

需要注意的是,乳腺癌的治疗过程不同于其他任何疾病。乳腺癌治疗,如化疗、放疗和手术,会引起长期的身体症状,如疲劳、淋巴水肿、疼痛或不适。向他人解释这些症状可能具有挑战性,因为您可能外表看起来很健康,而这些症状却看不见。



重要的是要就这些症状与亲人和医疗服务提供者进行沟通,以确保获得足够的支持和治疗。参与理疗、按摩或针灸等替代疗法以及保持运动也有助于缓解癌症治疗带来的持续性身体症状。


你周围的人可能不了解你的经历和你每天面临的挑战,这可能会导致不合理的期望。虽然他们的出发点可能是好的,但如果他们仅仅因为你的外表看起来还不错,就希望你表现得一切都好,就会让人觉得他们在轻视你的经历。因此,最重要的是与他人交流您的经历和您的需求。考虑敞开心扉,坦诚地与家人、朋友,甚至是工作同事和经理谈谈你所面临的问题和感受。


应对期望的另一种方法是设定界限。例如,我发现重返工作岗位的过渡时期极具挑战性。休完 12 周的病假后,我又马上投入到每周 40 小时的工作中,这对我来说是行不通的。在确诊癌症后,我情绪低落,大脑迷糊,日常生活中的一些琐事似乎对我不再那么重要。幸运的是,我能够与人力资源部门和我的直接经理合作,轻松地重返工作岗位,管理我的工作量,并幸运地在我有能力的时候恢复了全职工作时间。设定合理的期望值可以帮助你减轻压力,增强掌控感。


乳腺癌后的人际关系导航


确诊乳腺癌后,维持人际关系可能是一项挑战。人们可能会以不同的方式对待你,包括过度慷慨的举动或回避,让一些人感到孤立和被排斥。


主动与亲朋好友联系、设定界限并说明自己的需求,有助于处理这些具有挑战性的关系。参加乳腺癌幸存者团体也能提供一种社区感和支持。


此外,照顾好自己也很重要,这包括注意饮食、锻炼和保证充足的睡眠。做一些让自己开心的事情也能让自己得到很好的释放和放松。可以考虑冥想、阅读书籍或培养新的兴趣爱好,帮助您从与癌症有关的压力中解脱出来。


最后,试着对自己温和一点--不要总是处于巅峰状态,这没有关系。每天的情况可能都不一样,没关系。对自己有耐心


总之,确诊乳腺癌是一种具有挑战性的经历,而且往往会让人感到孤独。必须认识到,乳腺癌幸存者的旅程在治疗后仍将持续很长时间。关键是要照顾好自己的身体、情绪和经济,并寻求亲人和医疗专业人员的支持。切记对自己既要有耐心,又要善待自己,专注于自己喜欢的事情,庆祝小小的胜利。



没有人的生活是完美的,但你可以充分利用你所拥有的一切。记住,你并不是一个人在经历这些。

344 次浏览

最新文章

查看全部

冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

正念促进健康

东部时间 2 月 23 日下午 1:30

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 2 月 16 日上午 10:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

美国东部时间 19 日星期一下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 2 月 27 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 3 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 3 月 5 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 3 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 3 月 12 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 3 月 12 日上午 11:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page

Coping with Expectations After a Breast Cancer Diagnosis: The Realities and Challenges

By Laura Carfang

Receiving a breast cancer diagnosis can be an overwhelming experience that is followed by an array of emotions and challenges. Adjusting to the diagnosis and treatment can be challenging enough without the added pressure of feeling that one needs to meet the expectations of others. Many people may expect you to return to normal after your breast cancer diagnosis, but the truth is, the journey to recovery is unique for everyone. People often expect you to return to your "normal" life following treatment and find it challenging to comprehend the emotional and physical toll breast cancer can have on a person. This can add an additional layer of burden and frustration to an already difficult experience.


In this blog post, we’ll explore the realities and challenges of life after a breast cancer diagnosis and provide insights and recommendations for coping with the aftermath. We will also address why it’s essential to manage expectations when it comes to breast cancer treatment, acknowledge the challenges of survivorship and offer some practical tips to help you cope with external expectations while focusing on your health.


Challenges no one wants to talk about:

Dealing with the Fear of Recurrence

Following successful cancer treatment, the fear of breast cancer recurrence can feel overwhelming. After weekly chemo infusions or daily visits for radiation, all of a sudden your doctor says they will see you 6 weeks; 3 months; 6 months, etc. I remember that my friends and family thought that this was the best news ever, that I could return to my full-time job, and that we could "finally move on". What wasn't mentioned was the turmoil I was feeling. If I wasn't meeting with my oncologist on a weekly basis, who was going to watch over me? The first year was the worst. Every little thing triggered the thought of breast cancer recurrence; a sneeze, a cough, or a headache led me to believe my cancer had returned. After frantically scheduling an appointment with my primary, we concluded it was just allergies.


It is common that many people who have completed active treatment for early-stage breast cancer (post-treatment) report feeling anxious, depressed, and uncertain about their future health. It's important to recognize that these feelings are normal and valid.


To manage the fear of recurrence, it's essential to engage in activities that promote peace of mind and relaxation, such as yoga, meditation, or spending time with loved ones. Joining a support group with other breast cancer survivors can also be helpful in sharing experiences and providing emotional support (all of which are available through Survivingbreastcancer.org).


Coping with Lingering Physical Symptoms of Cancer Treatment

It's important to note that the breast cancer treatment process is unlike any other medical condition. Breast cancer treatments such as chemotherapy, radiation, and surgery can cause long-lasting physical symptoms such as fatigue, lymphedema, and pain or discomfort. It can be challenging to explain these symptoms to others, as you may appear outwardly healthy and these symptoms are invisible.



It's important to communicate with loved ones and healthcare providers about these symptoms to ensure adequate support and treatment. Engaging in physical therapy, massage, or alternative therapies such as acupuncture, and staying active can also help alleviate persistent physical symptoms from cancer treatment.


People around you may not understand what you're going through and the challenges you face daily, which can lead to unreasonable expectations. While they may have good intentions, it can feel like they’re trivializing your experience when they expect you to act like everything is okay just because you look okay physically. Therefore, it’s paramount to communicate your experiences and what you need from others. Consider opening up and honestly talking to family, friends, and even work colleagues and your manager, about what you are facing and how you feel.


Another way to cope with expectations is to set boundaries. For example, I found the transition back to work incredibly challenging. Going from a 12-week medical leave and jumping right back into 40 hours a week did not work for me. I was emotional, I was dealing with brain fog, and some of the pettiness of day-to-day life just didn't seem that important to me anymore after a cancer diagnosis. I was fortunate to be able to work with HR and my direct manager to ease back into work, manage my workload, and luckily work back up to full-time hours when I was able. Setting reasonable expectations can help you feel less overwhelmed and more in control.


Navigating Relationships After Breast Cancer


Maintaining relationships can prove to be a challenge after a breast cancer diagnosis. People may treat you differently, including overly-generous gestures or avoidance, leaving some feeling isolated and rejected.


Taking the initiative to reach out to friends and family, setting boundaries, and explaining one's needs can help manage these challenging relationships. Joining a breast cancer survivors group can also provide a sense of community and support.


Moreover, taking care of yourself is also essential and this includes paying attention to what you eat, exercising, and getting enough sleep. Doing things that make you happy can also offer a great release and help you relax. Consider meditation, reading books, or taking up a new hobby to help you take your mind off the cancer-related stressors.


Lastly, try to be gentle with yourself - it is okay not to be at the top of your game all the time. Every day may not be the same, and that’s just fine. Be patient with yourself


In conclusion, receiving a breast cancer diagnosis is a challenging and often isolating experience. It's essential to recognize that the journey of a breast cancer survivor continues long after treatment. It's crucial to take care of yourself physically, emotionally, and financially, and to seek support from loved ones and medical professionals. Remember to be both patient and kind to yourself, focus on the things you enjoy, and celebrate small victories.



No one has a perfect life, but you can make the best of what you have. Remember, you're not alone in this experience.

319 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Spanish support group

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Journey to the Stars

September  25 1:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong 

September 26, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

October 1, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

October 2 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

October 3 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga with

Chair assist 

October 10, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Writing Workshop:

Reflect and Recharge

October 16, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page