页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

培养更强大的身心和灵魂,以面对我最大的敌人:乳腺癌

凯利-莫特利


尽管我拥有成功的公关业务和美满的家庭,但我还是感到生活困顿。有一天,我只想做点什么(我们都经历过),于是我找到了一个拳击班。我非常喜欢拳击,于是我聘请了一位顶级职业超中量级拳击手塞纳-阿格贝科(Sena Agbeko)和一位奥运拳击教练克里斯蒂-哈尔伯特(Christy Halbert)。


在拳击台上打影子拳时,我学到了拳击最重要的原则之一: 专注于自己你知道自己的力量。我的教练告诉我,脆弱也是一种财富。"允许自己脆弱,才能创造机会。教练告诉我:"你要创造空当和机会,愿意出拳,脆弱,先行动起来--当你行动起来时,擂台上就会发生有效的事情,然后身体的空当就出现了。


在拳击场上 我的教练会说 "有时威胁伪装成机会" 影子拳让我从自我判断和自我编辑的日常工作中走出来,去思考承担风险和创造自己的体验。当我面对最困难的战斗:乳腺癌时,我学到的拳击原则成了我的救命稻草。


我被安排在 2018 年春末进行乳房 X 光检查。 我很不情愿去。我曾认为乳房扁平筛查程序既不必要又可笑,尤其是考虑到我在训练、截拳道和拳击时的健康状况。


我又接到了要求提供更多图像的电话,但我认为这只是医疗系统的一部分。这种不便的干扰让我感到沮丧,我更加确信这一切都是一个天大的误会,就好像我走错了派对或者被安排进了一堂高难度的数学课。医疗生态系统中的某个人犯了一个大错误。也许是在测试过程中。也可能是有人反应过度。抱着怀疑的态度,我以为自己是被随机挑出来的。


之后,我一动不动地与放射科医生膝对膝地坐着,平静地聆听着他们关于发现 微小的钙沉积物有时预示着乳腺癌的存在。她把它们称为微钙化。

一个月后,我接受了建议的乳腺活检。两名冷漠的技术人员对我不闻不问,而且都对手机爱不释手。


乳房活组织检查后,我总是忍不住接到医生打来的电话:"我们需要谈谈...... "这些电话都转到了语音信箱。她的急切让我很恼火。我理智地认为,如果我不给她回电话,她就会去找另一个病人,这一切就会烟消云散。当然,她也看得出来,这个时间点对我来说并不合适。


最终,我发现自己在电话里面对的是我能想象到的最糟糕的混乱局面。医生语速飞快地说着一大堆外国医学术语,我听得满头大汗:"活检路径报告:早期乳腺癌 早期乳腺癌三阳性。乳腺癌来自乳腺导管,1.4 厘米,HER2neu 阳性。治疗癌症--手术、 化疗在未来五年内服用激素抑制药。手术先行。肿块切除术切除该区域。在医院住一晚,然后切除癌细胞。组织扩张器。手术期间进行淋巴检测。化疗--脱发较轻的化疗"。


回顾电脑屏幕上的恐怖信息,我无法意识到 我自己的故事呈现在那里.这一切都不靠谱。我的事业正处于发展的顶峰,我的身体是我一生中最强壮的时候,我以一种新的方式感受到了我的个人力量。


一周后,我和丈夫约翰一起走进癌症外科医生的候诊室,我尴尬而被动地避开了与从我身边擦肩而过的秃头女人的目光接触,仿佛只要看着她们的眼睛,我就会和她们紧紧地锁在一起。我们被领进了一间拥挤不堪的房间,里面只有一张检查桌和两把椅子。

我收到了医生机械式的复述: 传达坏消息,直接说 "癌症"。然后是一些外来的医学术语、手术需求、移植手术和 12 次化疗。


她围绕 化疗的影响听起来很奇怪,就像她在唱一首抒情歌曲,我自己的私人版本,类似于约翰尼-卡什(Johnny Cash)改编的《我去过很多地方》(I've Been Everywhere)。 I've Been Everywhere."化疗的持续症状或治疗效果包括以下方面:潮热、肌肉酸痛、血栓、子宫癌、白内障、脱发、体重增加、神经痛、疤痕组织、肩部活动范围减小、慢性疼痛、淋巴水肿、神经病变、低血细胞计数、心脏功能减退、高胆固醇、高血压、继发性恶性肿瘤、过早绝经和不孕症。化疗会损害健康细胞,导致记忆力和认知能力下降,头发、睫毛和眉毛也会脱落。我可能会有蛀牙和牙龈问题、口腔溃疡、对舒适食物的渴望、恶心、便秘、大部分时间感到疲劳,肾脏、心脏、肝脏和肺部也可能受到损害......" 我将无处不在,伙计.


在我开始化疗的前两天,当我做好了最坏的打算时,却被突然袭击了。我当时正在电脑前工作。下午的电话突然打了过来,速度之快令人咋舌,语气之急促如歌唱。


是我的肿瘤医生,显然她很忙。我努力破解她给我打电话的原因。 她已经制定了乳腺癌治疗计划。按照我的理解,她应该是我的起始四分卫,负责制定所有的癌症治疗计划,包括预定的手术日期、胸腔内的移植口以及每周一次的 12 次化疗的确切时间。她会说"我们没有得到保险公司对你的建议治疗方案的批准,我们需要使用更激进的药物,疗程是原来的三倍,副作用更大、更有害"。


当我用辅音和元音把这个消息告诉约翰时,我的嗓子都哑了,我试着用一些听起来很原始的话来表达这个消息。 他立即打电话给我们的保险公司保险公司表示一切顺利,肿瘤学家的原定治疗方案将获得批准。凯莉将赢得这场战斗。


拳击与我的身心之间的联系让我转变了心态,彻底改变了我的癌症经历。我不再抱有灾难性的想法,而是开始将癌症和化疗视为可控、可实现的目标,并且 承认我的身体有能力、有韧性。



我找到了一种非常规的治疗方法,那就是寻找一种赛前拳击训练计划,将化疗的副作用降到最低,目的是保持更健康的身体,控制癌症诊断带来的无力感和恐惧感。我在开始化疗前进行了两个月的高强度训练,并在化疗期间继续训练。我接受了 11 次化疗,包括赫赛汀和紫杉醇。


除了常规的癌症治疗外,我还找到了一种非常规的方法,通过饮食和生活方式来控制无力感和恐惧感,这种方法是由弗吉尼亚-哈珀(Virginia Harper)开出的,她是一位通过大生物食品治疗身体的权威。


我必须立即加强免疫系统、增加铁的摄入量,支持我的消化和炎症指标,目的是碱化我的血液,平静我的神经系统,增加我的阳气以平衡雌激素和孕激素。大生物饮食法是一种旨在减少毒素的严格饮食法。它包括食用全谷物和蔬菜,避免食用高脂肪、高盐、高糖和人工成分的食物。


肉类、糖、家禽、奶制品、咖啡因、酒精、鸡蛋、面包和碳酸饮料将被淘汰。生蔬菜以及西红柿、土豆、茄子和辣椒也被禁止。我还要避免饮用蔬菜汁、酒精、气泡矿泉水、冷饮以及含糖或刺激性饮料。


我只用煤气做饭,使用不锈钢、陶瓷或铸铁锅具。我所有的新饭菜都是通过煮、蒸或用油炒来准备的。我训练自己学习一种新的切片方法,摒弃了以往胡乱切菜的方式。


我需要养成新的行为习惯,慢慢咀嚼食物,并反复告诉自己,我的身体正处于治疗状态同时思考和想象每一口食物是如何治愈我的。我会吃很多补品,感觉自己就像个药剂师。


正是通过拳击和这种大生物饮食法,我的灵魂在第一次大手术(双乳房切除术)前得到了完美的净化。我的思绪没有散乱,也没有被即将经历的事情吓到。


有了赛前策略的支撑,我开始看到自己的进步,而不是一团糟。我感觉自己似乎创造了奇迹。我不再像手术和化疗前那样,在恐惧中爬行,让恐惧左右我的决定。在对着镜子研究自己的体型和跳绳时,我意识到我的训练让我变得更加坚强,我的身体比以前更强壮了,在精神上,我的方法也到位了。在连续跳绳 10 分钟而没有一次绊倒之后,我意识到自己已经走了很长的路。我惊喜地发现 为了度过过去两个月的痛苦,我为自己做的所有好事都得到了回报。


在确诊和双乳切除术之间的两个月里,我处于拳击手的冥想训练状态,因为这关系到我的锻炼和我的身体即将承受的创伤。就在这一刻,拼图的碎片找到了它们正确的位置。我找到了平静和满足。我知道自己已经准备好上场了。我的眼睛和身体都适应了更好的状态。我的身体表明,它不会背叛我。我已经放弃了自己固有的生活方式。让我的身体变得干净,与手术和化疗的时机完美契合。


最后,我的移植口感染了 B 型链球菌。在双乳切除手术前几分钟,情况突然逆转。我的整形外科医生站在我身旁,平静而甜蜜地举起一面红旗,告诉我今天不会进行手术。我的白细胞计数从平时的 3 升到了 17。我的身体正在与感染作斗争。


在最终进行乳房切除手术后,我进行了最后的 乳房重建手术(脂肪移植)。 从那时起,我的头发又长回了原来的长度,但却是以前从未有过的螺旋卷发。我仍在进行力量训练,并与我的教练理查德一起练习截拳道。 时隔 30 年后,我又开始学习舞蹈,并在儿子亚历克斯的启发下开始举重。


我是一名幸存者,我曾与无数其他幸存者和其他受癌症影响的人并肩作战;我知道我可以应对最糟糕的情况,并依然取得胜利,在我人生旅途的拳击场上等待胜利的钟声。


被重击之后,我必须重新振作起来,避免可怕的 10 次倒计时。我需要疗伤,我需要回到拳击台上,向生活证明我还没有结束,还没有像之前的许多人一样在最后一轮被淘汰。


癌症是一个可怕的对手。你永远无法真正战胜癌症。你希望打成平手,下次再战,训练和战斗,做好准备,如果你不得不再次回到拳击场。你已经准备好了。


拳击教会了我纪律、更高的觉悟和一种需要致力于过程的生活态度。它要求心理、身体和精神上的健康。它是艰苦的、令人疲惫的,但 但它最终会让你做好为生命而战的准备。





了解更多信息:



谢谢你分享你的故事,凯莉。SBC 爱你!



乳腺癌幸存者网站资源与支持:



最新文章

查看全部

冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

正念促进健康

东部时间 2 月 23 日下午 1:30

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 2 月 16 日上午 10:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

美国东部时间 19 日星期一下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 2 月 27 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 3 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 3 月 5 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 3 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 3 月 12 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 3 月 12 日上午 11:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Developing a stronger mind, body and soul for facing my worst enemy: breast cancer

By Kelly Motley


I was feeling stuck in my life, despite having a successful PR business and a wonderful family. One day I just wanted to hit something (we’ve all been there) so I did—I found a boxing class. I loved boxing so much that I hired a top-ranked professional super middleweight boxer, Sena Agbeko, and an Olympic boxing coach, Christy Halbert.


I learned one of boxing’s most important principles while shadowboxing in the ring: Focus on you. You know your power. My coach talked to me about how vulnerability can be an asset. “Allow yourself to be vulnerable to create openings. You create the openings and opportunities, be willing to throw a punch, be vulnerable, act first—then when you do, effective things happen in the ring, then the opening to the body is available,” my coach told me.


In the ring, my coach would say, “Sometimes a threat is disguised as an opportunity.” Shadowboxing allowed me to step out of my routine of self-judgment and self-editing to think about taking risks and creating my own experience. The principles I learned about boxing became lifesavers when I faced my most difficult fight: breast cancer.


I was scheduled for a mammogram in late spring 2018. I was reluctant to go. I had disregarded the boob-flattening screening procedure as unnecessary and ridiculous, especially considering how healthy I was from training, Jeet-Kune-Do and boxing.


I received a come-back-in phone call for more images, but dismissed the follow-up as just part of the healthcare system. Frustrated by the inconvenient disruption, I became even more confident that this was all a big misunderstanding, as if I had walked into the wrong party or had been placed in a high-level math class. Someone, somewhere in the healthcare ecosystem had made a big mistake. Perhaps it was in the testing process. Or maybe someone was overreacting. Being skeptical, I thought I had been randomly singled out.


Motionless and sitting knee-to-knee with a radiologist afterwards, I calmly absorbed the strange words about finding tiny deposits of calcium that sometimes indicate the presence of breast cancer. She referred to them as microcalcifications.

A month later, I ended up getting the recommended breast biopsy. I was at the mercy of two indifferent technicians who didn’t click, and both were enamored with their cell phones.


After the breast biopsy, I couldn’t stop the unwanted calls from my doctor saying, “We need to talk…” that went to voicemail. I was annoyed by her insistent urgency. I rationalized that if I didn’t call her back, she’d pursue another patient and this just all would go away. Surely, she could see the timing for this wasn’t going to work for me.


Eventually, I found myself on the phone, faced with what felt like the worst chaos imaginable. I was sweating because of the fast-talking doctor’s stream of foreign medical terms: “Biopsy path report: An early stage breast cancer that is triple positive. Breast cancer coming from the ducts of the breast, 1.4 cm, HER2neu positive. To treat cancer—surgery, chemo, plus or minus radiation; hormone blocking pills for the next five years. Surgery comes first. Lumpectomy removes that area. Spend the night in hospital and then remove cancer. Tissue expanders. Lymphoid testing during the surgery. Chemo—a lighter version with hair loss.”


Reviewing the terrifying information on my computer screen, I couldn’t realize my own story presented there. None of this was plausible. I had been riding the crest of growing my business, and physically I was the strongest I had been in my life, feeling my personal power in a new way.


Walking into the cancer surgeon’s waiting room with my husband John a week later, I awkwardly and passively averted eye contact with bald women brushing past me, as if by looking into their eyes I’d be desperately locked together with them. We were led into an awkward, jam-packed room with an examination table and only two chairs.

I received what felt like a mechanical recitation from my doctor: the delivery of bad news, straightforward with the word “cancer”; then some foreign medical terms, the need for surgeries, a port and 12 chemo treatments.


Her precise words around the effects of chemo sounded strangely like she was singing a lyrical song, my own private version, similar to Johnny Cash’s rendition of I’ve Been Everywhere. “Persistent symptoms or treatment effects of chemo include the following: hot flashes, muscle aches, blood clots, uterine cancer, cataracts, hair loss, weight gain, nerve pain, scar tissue, decreased shoulder range of motion, chronic pain, lymphedema, neuropathy, low blood counts, decreased heart function, high cholesterol, high blood pressure, secondary malignancy, premature menopause and infertility. Chemo would damage healthy cells, causing loss of memory and cognitive abilities, my hair, eyelashes, and eyebrows. I might expect tooth decay and gum issues, mouth sores, a craving for comfort foods, nausea, constipation, and fatigue most of the time, with potential damage to kidneys, heart, liver, and lungs…” and I will have been everywhere, man.


Two days before I was to start chemo, while preparing myself for what I thought would be the worst, I was blindsided. I was at my computer, right in the middle of work. The afternoon phone call came out of the blue, at a tongue-twisting speed, with sing-song urgency.


It was my oncologist, and apparently, she was busy. I worked to decipher why she was calling me. She had already put the breast cancer plan in place. As I understood things, she was supposed to be my starting quarterback with all the cancer treatment plans in place, including scheduled surgery dates, a port in my chest, and the exact timing of 12 chemo treatments once a week. She’d string words together like: “We didn’t get approval from your insurance company for the recommended treatment, and we need to proceed with more aggressive drugs three times as long, with more harmful and stronger side effects.”


My voice buckled as I broke the news to John in consonants and vowels, trying to form words that sounded primitive. He got on the phone immediately with our insurance company and by the end of the day, he and I had coordinated a conference call with the oncologist’s office administrator and an insurance representative.The insurance company communicated that all would be good and the oncologist’s original treatment plan would be approved. Kelly would win this battle.


The link between boxing and my mind and body empowered me to shift my mindset and completely alter my cancer experience. Instead of catastrophic thinking, I started viewing cancer and chemo as manageable and achievable and acknowledging my body as capable and resilient.



I found an unconventional approach to healing by finding a pre-fight boxing training plan, to minimize the side effects of chemo, with an intent to keep a healthier body and to manage the powerlessness and fear of a cancer diagnosis. I had intense training for two months before starting chemotherapy, and continued training during chemo. I had 11 rounds of chemotherapy, including Herceptin and Taxol.


In addition to conventional cancer treatment, I found an unconventional way of managing the powerlessness and fear through a diet and lifestyle prescribed by Virginia Harper, an authority on healing the body through macrobiotic food.


Right away I had to strengthen my immune system, increase iron intake, support my digestion and inflammatory markers with a goal to alkalize my blood, calm my nervous system and increase my Yang energy to balance estrogen and progesterone. A macrobiotic diet is a strict diet that aims to reduce toxins. It involves eating whole grains and vegetables and avoiding foods high in fat, salt, sugar, and artificial ingredients.


Meat, sugar, poultry, dairy, caffeine, alcohol, eggs, bread, and carbonated beverages would go away. Raw vegetables were forbidden, along with tomatoes, potatoes, eggplant, and peppers. I was to avoid vegetable juices, alcohol, sparkling mineral waters, cold drinks, and sugared or stimulant beverages.


I would cook only with gas and use pots and pans made of stainless steel, ceramic, or cast iron. All my new meals were prepared via boiling, steaming, or sautéeing with oil. I trained myself to learn a new way of slicing, moving away from the old haphazard way of chopping vegetables.


I’d need to incorporate new behaviors around chewing my food slowly and telling myself repeatedly that my body is in the healing space, while thinking about and visualizing how each bite would heal me. I would take so many supplements that I felt like a pharmacist.


It was through boxing and this macrobiotic diet that my soul was in perfect order right before my first big surgery: a double mastectomy. My thoughts were not scattered, and I was not startled by what I was getting ready to go through.


Anchored by my pre-fight strategy, I started seeing myself in a state of progress rather than as a mess. It felt as if I’d done something miraculous. I was no longer crawling, operating from a place of fear and allowing it to direct my decisions, as I had before my surgeries and chemo. While studying my form in the mirror and jumping rope, I realized my training had toughened me up, my body was stronger than ever, and mentally, I had my approach in place. After jumping rope for 10 minutes straight without tripping once, the reality set in—I’d come a long way. I was pleasantly surprised that all the good stuff I had been doing for myself to get through the anguish of the past two months had paid off.


In the two months between my diagnosis and my double mastectomy, I was in a boxer’s meditative training state as it related to my workout and the trauma my body was about to endure. Frozen in this moment, the pieces of the jigsaw puzzle found their correct positions. I had found peace and contentment. I knew I was ready to be in the ring. My eyes and body adjusted to something better. My body showed that it would not betray me. I had abandoned my established ways of being. Getting my body clean would be perfectly timed with surgery and chemo.


I ended up with a Strep B infection in my port. There was a sudden reversal of course, minutes before what was to be my double mastectomy surgery. Calmly, sweetly standing over me, my plastic surgeon raised a red flag, sharing the news that there would be no surgery today. My white blood cell count was elevated from its usual three to 17. My body was fighting an infection.


After eventually proceeding with my mastectomy, I had my final breast reconstruction surgery (fat grafting) in December 2019. Since then, my hair has grown back to its original length but in spiral curls that I never had before. I’m still strength training and practicing Jeet Kune Do with my coach, Richard. I’ve taken up dance again after 30 years, and also weight lifting inspired by my son, Alex.


I am a survivor, one whose arms were held overhead alongside countless other survivors and others impacted by cancer; one who knows I can tackle the worst and still rise victorious, waiting for the victory bell inside the boxing ring of my journey.


After being hit so hard, I had to pick myself back up and avoid the dreaded 10 count. I needed healing, I needed to get back in the ring and show life that I was not done, not knocked out in the final round like so many before me.


Cancer is a formidable adversary. You never really win against cancer. You hope for a draw, to fight another time, to train and battle and be ready, if you have to return to the ring again. You are ready.


Boxing has taught me discipline, greater awareness and an approach to life that requires a commitment to process. It demands mental, physical and spiritual fitness. It is grueling and exhausting, but it ultimately prepares you for the fight for your life.





Learn more:



Thank you for sharing your story, Kelly. SBC loves you!

Follow Kelly on Instagram and Facebook



SurvivingBreastCancer.org Resources & Support:



Recent Posts

See All

The Now

Comments


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

The secret Garden

April 22,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

April 23,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

May 6, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

May 7,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

May 13,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

May 14, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

May 14,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events