页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

鲁勃龙诱发的狂躁症

已更新:2022 年 12 月 17 日

作者 罗宾-K-伍德鲁夫


2018 年,我被诊断出患有 IIa 期浸润性叶状乳腺癌。 我原本就患有精神疾病:双相情感障碍和广泛性焦虑症。在接受乳腺癌治疗的第三周之前,我的病情一直很稳定,治疗效果也不错。 辐射疲劳开始发作,因此我变得更加情绪化。在那之后的将近一个月里,我感觉自己就像睡着了一样。 就在我重新站起来的时候,绝经前的我开始服用他莫昔芬。但是,我被告知要停止服用帕西林,因为它会干扰他莫昔芬的新陈代谢。不到一周,我就因抑郁而卧床不起,于是又开始服用帕克西泮。又试了一次后,我选择了注射鲁勃龙(Lupron),这样我就可以服用芳香化酶抑制剂了。做出这个决定时,我和肿瘤学家约好了同一天打针,所以 我没有时间去研究,也没有得到任何关于其风险和副作用的信息。 进入人工绝经期后,我开始走下坡路,费玛拉引起的严重疲劳让我苦苦挣扎。 在接下来的几个月里,我的病情慢慢恶化我没有意识到发生了什么。3 个月后的 11 月,我注射了下一针 Lupron。到了一月底,我意识到自己遇到了麻烦。我停用了菲玛拉,想看看是否是它导致了我的问题。结果不是,所以我推断是 Lupron 的问题,并做了一些调查。 做了一些调查。 我震惊地发现,Lupron 会引发双相情感障碍患者的狂躁症。 我突然意识到发生了什么,于是打电话给肿瘤学家。他让我给心理医生打电话。我照做了,他和我一起努力控制狂躁症。然而,由于鲁勃龙是一种长效注射剂,我不能随便停药,而必须等待它离开我的身体。我服用了一种非典型抗精神病药物,但仍然无法控制我的狂躁症。我无法入睡,只能疯狂地创作。最后,我开始酗酒,试图用酒精来解决问题。这一切导致我住进了行为健康病房(精神病房)。即便如此,我的病情还是没有得到控制。 最后,我服用了 Vraylar,情况开始好转。 几个月后,我切除了卵巢,这样我就可以服用芳香化酶抑制剂,而不用服用 Lupron,从而进入更年期。卵巢切除术没什么大不了的,而且 我对自己的决定很满意.后来,我尝试了每一种 AI,但疲劳感让我难以忍受,于是我决定停止内分泌治疗。之后,我的情绪一直很稳定。但最终,我还是接受了双乳切除术,并进行了 DIEP 皮瓣重建术,因为我发现自己有 BRCA2 基因突变(这是另一回事)。在做这个决定时,我确实很挣扎,第一个星期真的很难熬,由于疼痛难忍,我真的很后悔自己的决定。然而,随着我的进步、 我知道自己做出了正确的决定.


我已经接受治疗 4 年了,没有复发,但我希望我当时能了解所有的治疗方法以及它们对身体机能和心理健康的影响。


谢谢你分享你的故事,罗宾。SBC 爱你!


乳腺癌幸存者网站资源与支持:

 

播客乳腺癌对话立即收听







最新文章

查看全部

冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

正念促进健康

东部时间 2 月 23 日下午 1:30

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 2 月 16 日上午 10:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

美国东部时间 19 日星期一下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 2 月 27 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 3 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 3 月 5 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 3 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 3 月 12 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 3 月 12 日上午 11:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page

Lupron-Induced Mania

Updated: Dec 17, 2022

By Robin K. Woodruff


I was diagnosed with Stage IIa Invasive Lobular breast cancer in 2018. I already had pre-existing mental illness: bipolar disorder and generalized anxiety disorder. I was stable and doing well with my breast cancer treatment until I reached the 3rd week of radiation. The radiation fatigue started kicking in, and, as a result, I became more emotional. I felt like a slept for almost a month afterwards. Just as I was getting back on my feet, I started Tamoxifen, being premenopausal. However, I was told to stop taking Paxil as it would interfere with the metabolism of Tamoxifen. Within a week, I was bed-ridden with depression and went back on Paxil. After another try, I opted to get Lupron injections so I could take aromatase inhibitors instead. I was given the shot the same day as my appointment with the oncologist when I made this decision, so I didn’t have time to research and I wasn’t given any information about its risks and side effects. I started going downhill after being put into artificial menopause and struggled with severe fatigue caused by Femara. I slowly spiraled over the next few months, so I didn’t realize what was happening. I had my next Lupron shot 3 months later in November. By late January, I realized I was in trouble. I quit the Femara to try to see if it was the cause of my problems. That wasn’t it, so I deduced it was the Lupron and did some investigating. I was shocked to find out that Lupron can trigger mania in people with bipolar. Suddenly, I realized what was happening and called the oncologist. He told me to call the psychiatrist. I did, and he worked with me to try to get the mania under control. However, since the Lupron is a long-lasting shot, I couldn’t just discontinue it, but had to wait for it to leave my body. I was put on an atypical antipsychotic, but it still didn’t reign in my mania. I wasn’t sleeping, and I was manically making art. Eventually, I turned to alcohol to try to cope. All that lead me to being admitted into a behavioral health unit (psych ward). Even then I wasn’t getting under control. Finally I was put on Vraylar and things started to improve. A few months later, I had my ovaries out so I could take the aromatase inhibitors without the Lupron by putting me into menopause. The oophorectomy was no big deal, and I was happy with my decision. Then I tried every AI, but the fatigue was intolerable, so I decided to discontinue endocrine therapy. My mood stayed stable after that. But eventually, I did end up having a double mastectomy with DIEP flap reconstruction since I found out I had the BRCA2 mutation following all the above (a whole other story). I did really struggle with that decision, and had a really hard time the first week, really regretting my decision due to the excruciating pain. However, as I improved, I knew I made the right decision.


I am 4 years out and no recurrence, but I wish I would have known what I was getting into with all the treatments and how they impact functioning and mental health.


Thank you for sharing your story, Robin. SBC love you!


SurvivingBreastCancer.org Resources & Support:

 

The Podcast: Breast Cancer Conversations. Listen Now







186 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Spanish support group

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Journey to the Stars

September  25 1:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong 

September 26, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

October 1, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

October 2 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

October 3 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga with

Chair assist 

October 10, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Writing Workshop:

Reflect and Recharge

October 16, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page