页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

选择平坦

作者:艾琳-帕金斯


阅读艾琳的 TNBC 诊断和治疗故事: 克服困难,继续前行


我最好的朋友莫拉承载了我所有的记忆。我们六岁相识,当时二年级老师把我们的名片放在对面。我对她说的第一句话是:"你的名字真奇怪。"毫无疑问,她回了我一句,然后 我们很快就成了好朋友,就像姐妹一样,到现在已经 31 年了。


艾琳(右)和她的朋友莫拉(左)。


Maura 和我在双侧乳房切除术前几天交谈过 双侧乳房切除术美学平整闭合术.我们讨论了她对我们十几岁时乳房开始发育的记忆。她说:"你总是讨厌它们。这完全说得通 不做隆胸手术."


虽然我不记得我的乳房是什么时候长出来的,但我记得我觉得乳房很讨厌,就像身体里多了一个脂肪成分,对我来说似乎没有必要。不过,当我的乳房充盈着乳汁,饱满得像石头一样时,我才开始明白它们的价值。 我能够哺育我的两个孩子。


艾琳最后一次母乳喂养


此外,还有 亲密关系有乳头比没有乳头更好。但在乳房切除术后 乳房切除术后不可能做出的决定是在没有感觉或乳头的情况下建立新的乳房,还是在没有额外手术或体内异物的情况下保持胸部平坦、 我真的没有任何理由再用剩下的乳房来塑造新的乳房了。


虽然在我的情况下,这个深刻的决定基本上是自己选择的、 也并不容易。我不想失去我的一部分,或者不得不 做出这个决定的一部分。我知道我并不是一个人。在这次癌症探险中,我一直提醒自己退后一步(如果你还没有退后一步,我也想提醒你现在就退后一步)。真正接受以下事实 我们所经历的癌症并不好受。它可以开始让人感觉很正常--并不总是这样,但它可以。你会进入癌症生活的轨道,你会忘记 你不应该处于这种境地你不应该决定是否保留乳房、是否接受放射治疗,以及是否要持续忍受 扫描焦虑还是完全切除一个或两个乳房--截肢--然后再决定如何以及是否重建它们。


对我来说,我知道 我期望得到的平整美观的封口并不是我第一次第一次。

我的胸部中间,每条疤痕的末端都有一些凹陷,我听说人们把它们叫做 "嘘嘘"。虽然这个名字很有趣,但我知道我需要把它们去掉,这样才能让我感觉更像我自己,因为我的诊断让我面临着不可能的选择。 艾琳最初的手术结果。


我有选择。你们也有选择。 我们应该去爱我们照镜子时所看到的一切,即使是在经历了这样的损失之后。另外,我很高兴地告诉大家,疤痕修复手术只需两周左右的恢复期,总共没有引流。


我希望我还能拥有年轻时长出来的乳房。我希望它们在哺乳期后不再下垂,我还能拥有乳头和感觉。 但无论我选择哪种手术,这些东西都被夺走了、现在我的乳房扁平,没有乳头。即使已经过去了一年半,拥有一个没有知觉的平坦胸部仍然是一件超现实的事情。不过,我仍然觉得自己是我自己,因为 我主张进行第二次手术我的外科医生称之为 "乳房切除术疤痕修复",而且我大学时的好朋友在我的疤痕上做了纹身、 我喜欢照镜子时看到的自己。不知怎的,即使是在失去的痛苦中,我现在也感觉自己是完全完整的;我感觉自己是真正的我,充满了感激之情。


艾琳乳房切除术疤痕修复后。她的项链是用母乳制作的。


朋友,无论你最终做出什么决定,我都希望你知道 在不公平的情况下,你可以做出最好的选择.你可以寻找外科医生,为整形外科医生争取权益,要求查看外科医生做过的闭合手术的照片。您可以 要求最真实的服务而拒绝任何不真实的要求。


如果手术在化疗或放疗之前进行,您可能没有太多时间,但请知道 您仍有选择.不要让您的团队给您施加压力,让您接受任何不适合您的治疗。如果您在手术后感觉不完整,请看看是否有什么办法,比如我的乳房切除术疤痕修复手术,或 切除或脂肪移植,或重新感觉,或纹身,或 乳头纹身.


艾琳胸前的纹身,歌词来自 mewithoutYou 的歌曲 "Cattail Down"。花朵代表每个人的出生月份,歌词 "你是其他人 "则提醒我们,我们是彼此。所有的苦难都没有意义。有意义的只是我们彼此相连。


手术前、 我鼓励你拍摄一张无论专业与否,都要拍下自己身体的 "庐山真面目"。我建议您了解一下 Keep A Breast 基金会的 "珍藏胸部计划"。他们会寄给你制作 铸模你的胸部模型,留作纪念。我的胸像是在我切除乳房的前一晚,一位亲爱的朋友寄给我的,由我和丈夫共同完成,几个月后,我和我美丽的艺术家朋友希瑟在一次度假时画的。它就摆在我的客厅里。有了它,我的心情也变得舒畅起来。 记住我曾经是谁,我现在仍然是谁..



感谢您分享您的故事,艾琳。SBC 爱你!


了解更多信息:




乳腺癌幸存者网站资源与支持:



780 次查看

最新文章

查看全部

冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

正念促进健康

东部时间 2 月 23 日下午 1:30

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 2 月 16 日上午 10:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

美国东部时间 19 日星期一下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 2 月 27 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 3 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 3 月 5 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 3 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 3 月 12 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 3 月 12 日上午 11:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

The Choice to Go Flat

By Erin Perkins


Read Erin’s TNBC diagnosis and treatment story: Walk Through The Hard Things And Keep Going


My best friend Maura holds all my memories. We met at age six when our second-grade teacher placed our name cards across from one another. The first thing I said to her was, “Your name is weird.” She then no doubt sassed me back, and we became fast friends—like sisters—now for 31 years.


Erin (right) with her friend Maura (left).


Maura and I spoke a few days before my bilateral mastectomy with aesthetic flat closure. We discussed her memory of when we began to develop breasts as young teens. She said, “You always hated them. It totally makes sense that you would not get implants.”


While I do not recall when my breasts came in, I can remember finding breasts annoying, like an added fatty component to my body that did not seem necessary to me. Though I did begin to understand their worth when my breasts became engorged with milk, so full that they felt like rocks, and I was able to nurse my two babies.


The last time Erin breastfed.


Also, there were elements of intimacy that made having nipples better than not having nipples. But as it came down to the impossible post-mastectomy decision to build new breasts likely without sensation or nipples, or just keep my chest flat without extra surgery or foreign objects in my body, I really had no personal reason left for building anything new out of what remained.


While this profound decision basically chose itself in my case, it was also not easy. I didn’t want to lose a part of me, or have to make this decision in the first place. I know I am not alone in that. Throughout this cancer adventure, I kept reminding myself to take a step back (and I want to remind you to do that now if you haven’t). Really take in the truth that what we go through with cancer is not okay. It can start to feel so normal—not always, but it can. You get into the groove of cancer life and you forget that you should not have to be in this situation, you should not have to be making the decision of whether to keep your breasts, receive radiation, and live with consistent scanxiety at every subsequent mammogram, or take one or both breasts off completely—an amputation—and then have to decide how and whether to rebuild them.


For me, I knew the aesthetic flat closure I expected to receive was not what I ended up getting the first time.

There were these pockets in the middle of my chest, at the end of each scar, that I have heard people call “booblets.” While that is a funny name, I knew I needed them gone to feel more like the self I was deciding to move forward, given the impossible choices I was facing because of my diagnosis. Erin’s original surgery results.


I had choices. You have choices. We deserve to love what we see when we look in the mirror, even after such loss. Also, I am happy to report that the scar revision was about a two-week recovery with a total of ZERO drains.


I wish I still had my breasts that grew in when I was a young teen. I wish they were saggy post-nursing, and that I had nipples and sensation. But those things were taken from me regardless of which surgery I chose, and now I am flat and nippleless. Even a year and a half in, it is still surreal to have a sensationless flat chest. However, I do still feel like myself, and because I advocated for a second surgery which my surgeon called a “mastectomy scar revision,” and because my good friend from college tattooed over my scars, I love what I see when I look in the mirror. Somehow, even in the pain of loss, I feel completely whole now; I feel authentically me, and full of so much gratitude.


Erin after her mastectomy scar revision. Her necklace was made with her breastmilk.


Whatever decision you end up making, friend, I want you to know that you have options to make the best you can out of an unfair situation. You can shop for surgeons, advocate for a plastic surgeon, and ask to see pictures of the closures your surgeon has done. You can request whatever feels most authentic to you, and decline whatever feels inauthentic.


If your surgery is first, before chemotherapy or radiation, you may not have a ton of time—but please know you still have choices. Don’t let your team pressure you into anything that isn’t right for you. If you do not feel whole post-surgery, see if there is anything that can be done, like my mastectomy scar revision surgery, or explanting, or fat grafting, or re-sensation, or tattooing, or nipple tattooing.


Erin’s chest tattoo, featuring lyrics from from the song “Cattail Down” by mewithoutYou. Along with the flower to represent each birth month, the lyric “you’re everyone else” is a reminder that we are each other. None of the suffering makes sense. All that makes sense is that we are connected.


Before surgery, I encourage you to take a picture, whether professional or not, of your body as it was before. I encourage you to check out the Treasured Chest Program by the Keep A Breast Foundation. They will send you materials to create a cast of your chest to keep as a memory. Mine was sent to me by a dear friend the night before my mastectomy, done by my husband and I, and painted by me and my beautiful artist friend Heather on a getaway months later. It’s on display in my living room. There’s something soothing about having it; about remembering who I was, and who I am still.



Thank you for sharing your story, Erin. SBC loves you!


Learn more:




SurvivingBreastCancer.org Resources & Support:



Recent Posts

See All

The Now

1 Komentar


liquidyoga
07 Apr 2023

Erin - I have shared your story with many local women. When I saw your picture, even before I read your story I thought: Beautiful & Brave . This is magnificent and although my surgery was a lumpectomy, I am left with radiation tattoos - and I have started to sketch out what tattoos will cover them! One of my "breasties" who had a mastectomy & reconstruction, was never told that her implants have an "expiration date" (so to speak), and will need to be swapped out over time, maybe multiple times - she is coming close to her first "expiration date" and after seeing and reading your post is inspired to consider going flat and NOW she to…

Suka

Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

The secret Garden

April 22,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

April 23,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

May 6, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

May 7,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

May 13,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

May 14, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

May 14,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events