页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

与乳腺癌患者共度佳节

作者 基拉-福特




假期正如火如荼地进行着,也带来了新一轮的压力。对于任何人来说,节日都是一个难熬的时刻,但对于乳腺癌患者来说,节日则是一个独特的机会,让他们产生 焦虑和悲伤.


如果您目前 正在接受治疗您可能没有精力或能力坚持您的传统。患有 转移性乳腺癌患者可能会担心这可能是他们与亲人在一起的最后一个节日。本应是一年中最美好的时光,却可能迅速演变成一场完美的悲伤风暴。


要缓解这些困难的现实,最重要的是首先要照顾好自己即使是在给予的季节。以下是一些关于如何应对乳腺癌患者节日期间的后勤和精神压力的建议。


注意旅行限制。

旅行看望亲人是假期的标准节目。据估计,2022 年 12 月 近 1.13 亿美国人计划在 12 月 23 日至 1 月 2 日期间旅行 50 英里或更多 在 12 月 23 日至 1 月 2 日之间。虽然对许多人来说,与亲人共度佳节是值得的,但对其他人来说,由于乳腺癌的治疗,这种旅行可能根本不可能实现。一般建议患者 化疗或放疗后等待一段时间再旅行手术后的飞行也会受到额外的限制。这些旅行限制的具体参数因人而异,应与您的护理团队讨论。 应与您的护理团队讨论。


除了这些基本的安全考虑外,乳腺癌治疗的副作用也可能使长途旅行变得不愉快或痛苦。告诉亲人目前不能旅行可能会让人心碎。与此同时 重要的是要理解和尊重自己身体的限制。


不要害怕改变菜单。

食物在节日庆祝活动中扮演着重要角色。如果您因癌症诊断或治疗而受到饮食限制,这可能会引起恐慌。如果您因化疗而感到恶心或呕吐,不要为了传统而强迫自己食用某些食物。更重要的是 维持您与护理团队制定的饮食计划。


如果您渴望进食,但又害怕某些食物中的致癌物质或炎症特性,请记住,食物可以是美味的,也可以是治愈的。关于具体食谱 这个博客是个不错的地方.这个假期也许是开始在传统饮食中加入新的营养食物的好时机。


假日购物,请上网搜索。

对于乳腺癌患者来说,在节假日的购物人群中寻找最实惠的东西听起来不像便宜货,更像是一场噩梦。即使只是匆匆去一趟商场,也会让人感觉体力透支。这正是利用现代技术的大好时机。 许多礼物都可以在网上找到、许多网站甚至还提供礼品包装服务,只需支付少量费用,就能省去更多麻烦。如果您想节省体力,消除节日购物的压力,这将是一个极好的选择。


沟通你的需求,设定你的界限。

虽然您在假期见到的亲人可能会想要帮助和支持您,但他们可能不知道如何去做。在这种情况下,最好的办法通常是 坦诚自己的能力和需求。 您可能无法举办活动或旅行探亲。虽然这些都是令人失望的现实,但也是您的生活经历,您周围的人应该理解您。


话虽如此,但人是不会读心术的。考虑在假期前花点时间确定什么对你来说是可能的,什么对你来说是不可能的,以及你可能需要从别人那里得到什么来度过这段时间。 在假期前公开交流这些需求和界限 将有助于为您的亲人和您自己设定现实的期望。


给自己一点宽容。

请记住乳腺癌是一种极其痛苦的经历应对的方式没有对错之分。 节日带来的所有情绪都是合理的.给自己一点时间,为它们留出空间。归根结底,最好的办法就是做适合自己的事情。无论是与您所爱的人共度每一分每一秒,还是将拜访推迟到新的一年,都要把这个假期当作照顾自己的时间。




了解更多信息:




播客 乳腺癌对话


如何把握复杂时期的应对策略




A关于作者


基拉-福特 Kiara Ford 是爱默生学院的应届毕业生,主修传播学,副修健康与社会。她目前是非营利组织 "亚洲妇女健康组织 "的一名社区保健员实习生。她热衷于病人权益和健康公平,希望通过自己的工作提高人们对病人权益的认识和理解。



出自同一作者:


225 次查看

最新文章

查看全部

现在

候车室

留言


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

对于新诊断的患者

美国东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

东部时间 4 月 22 日下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 4 月 23 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 5 月 6 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 5 月 7 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

美国东部时间 5 月 13 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

美国东部时间 5 月 14 日上午 11:30

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 5 月 14 日下午 6:00

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Getting through the Holidays with Breast Cancer

By Kiara Ford




The holiday season is in full swing, bringing with it a fresh wave of stress. Holidays can be a demanding time for anyone, but for those with breast cancer, it creates a unique opportunity for anxiety and sadness.


If you are currently undergoing treatment, you may not have the energy or ability to keep up with your usual traditions. Those with metastatic breast cancer may be dreading that this could be their last holiday with their loved ones. What is supposed to be the most wonderful time of the year can quickly devolve into a perfect storm for sorrow. 


The most important thing you can do to mitigate these difficult realities is to look after yourself first and foremost, even during the season of giving. Below are some tips on how to cope with the logistical and emotional stress of a holiday season with breast cancer.


Be aware of travel limitations.

Traveling to see loved ones is standard fare for the holidays. In December 2022, it was estimated that almost 113 million Americans planned to travel 50 miles or more between December 23 and January 2. While for many this travel is worthwhile for the payoff of spending the holidays with loved ones, for others it simply may not be possible due to breast cancer treatment. Patients are generally advised to wait a certain amount of time after chemotherapy or radiotherapy treatment before traveling, and they face additional restrictions for flying after surgery. The exact parameters of these travel restrictions are individual and should be discussed with your care team. 


Beyond these basic safety considerations, side effects from breast cancer treatment could make long-distance travel unpleasant or painful. It can be heartbreaking to tell loved ones that travel is not possible at the moment. At the same time, it’s important to understand and respect your body’s limitations. 


Don’t be afraid to change the menu.

Food plays a major role in holiday celebrations. This might be panic-inducing if you have diet restrictions due to your cancer diagnosis or treatment. If you are experiencing nausea or vomiting due to chemotherapy, don’t pressure yourself to consume certain foods for the sake of tradition. It’s more important to maintain the dietary plan you’ve established with your care team.


If you are longing to eat, but perhaps fearful of carcinogens or inflammatory properties in certain foods, remember that food can be both delicious and healing. For specific recipes, this blog is a great place to look. This holiday season may be a great time to start incorporating new nutritious foods into your traditional spread. 


For holiday shopping, look online.

For a person with breast cancer, the notion of navigating holiday shopping crowds for the best deal can sound less like a bargain and more like a nightmare. Even just a quick trip to the mall may feel like you’re overexerting yourself. This is an excellent time to utilize modern technology. Many gifts can be found online, with numerous sites even offering gift wrapping for a small fee to save further hassle. This can be an excellent option if you’re looking to conserve energy and remove the pressure of holiday shopping. 


Communicate your needs and set your boundaries.

While the loved ones you see over the holidays will probably want to help and support you, they may not know how. In these situations, it’s often best to be honest about your abilities and needs. You may not be able to host an event or travel to see relatives. While these are disappointing realities, they are your lived experience and should be understood by those around you.


That being said, people are not mind readers. Consider taking time before the holidays to determine what will and will not be possible for you, and what you may need from others to get you through this time. Openly communicating these needs and boundaries prior to the holidays will help set realistic expectations for your loved ones and yourself.


Give yourself grace.

Remember that breast cancer is an extremely difficult experience, and there is no right or wrong way to respond to it. All emotions the holidays bring up are valid. Allow yourself a moment to hold space for them. Ultimately, the best thing is to do what is right for you. Whether it’s soaking in every second with your loved ones, or deferring visits to the new year, take this holiday season as a time to look after yourself.




Learn More:




On the Podcast: Breast Cancer Conversations


How to Get a Grip: Coping Strategies for Complicated Times




About the Author:


Kiara Ford is a recent graduate of Emerson College, where she majored in communication studies and minored in health and society. She is currently a community health worker trainee with the non-profit organization Asian Women for Health. She is passionate about patient advocacy and health equity, and hopes to raise awareness and increase understanding of patients’ rights through her work.



From the Same Author:


225 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

The Caregiver Huddle

Third Tuesday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Pilates

June 14,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

June 17 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

The Sun's Embrace: A Summer Solstice Meditation

June 21,  11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

June 25,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

July 1, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

July 2,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

July 9, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

July 9,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

July 22,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page