页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

听到 "你得了癌症 "这句话,心情是沉重的

作者:迪昂-菲利普斯



作者 迪昂-菲利普斯

听到 "你得了癌症你得了癌症"是沉重的、艰难的、改变生活的、可怕的,以及其他任何你认为与上述感觉或词语同义的形容词。

您的治疗方案可能包括先手术后化疗/放疗,或者反之亦然。如果病理报告显示边缘清晰,您被视为 "无癌",那么没有人比亲身经历过这一切的人更希望一切恢复正常。 没有人比亲身经历过这一切的人更希望一切恢复正常。 我猜想有一些共同的幸存者会争辩这一事实,无论是父母、重要他人、兄弟姐妹、朋友还是孩子。我无意贬低他们的感受或经历,而是要肯定幸存者/幸存者的感受或经历。

我们会接到电话或信件,要求进行乳房 X 光检查、核磁共振成像或活检。 我们经历着内心的挣扎,要不要告诉家人?因为我们不想让我们的亲人担心,所以有时我们会自己扛着--或者我们告诉了他们,却不得不向我们的亲人保证这只是预防措施,但后来才知道并非如此。

如果幸运的话,还会有电话与您分享诊断信息。 诊断信息.我听说过这样的故事:有人因为在医疗机构工作而意外地从本不该知道的人那里得知了诊断结果,或者诊断结果掉进了您的电子病历,而您在护士导航员打来电话之前就收到了通知,或者在您从上述任何渠道收到诊断结果之前,就有人打来电话安排手术。创伤、困惑、恐惧,您没有时间去处理,因为 因为你现在正处于某种程度的生命之战中。

除非您在肿瘤科工作或与经历过乳腺癌的人关系密切,否则您可能只熟悉分期,而不完全了解 转移性乳腺癌(MBC)。您不一定熟悉 不同类型的乳腺癌例如 导管原位癌(DCIS(DCIS) 和小叶原位癌 (LCIS)、 炎症性乳腺癌三阴性乳腺癌您可能不知道还有 更多类型.此外,还有与是否存在激素受体相关的语言:雌激素受体(ER)阳性或阴性、黄体酮受体(PR)阳性或阴性、人类表皮生长因子受体 2(HER2)阳性或阴性。人们还可以经历这些受体的不同组合和亚型。

这时,要么你有太多时间考虑治疗方案并付诸实施,要么你真的没有时间来处理这股旋风,因为你得到了诊断结果,必须几乎立即决定治疗方案;这两种情况各有利弊。决定包括 手术类型:肿块切除术、乳房切除术(单层或双层)、 重建与否哪种重建方式:扩张器、DIEP 皮瓣、Lat 皮瓣、是否保留乳头等等。


作为一名 作为一名年轻的幸存者/幸存者双侧或单侧乳房切除术会产生二级和三级影响,即你是否有孩子,你将来是否想要孩子、 您是否有能力收获和储存卵子您对母乳喂养有什么看法? 您对母乳喂养有什么看法??这些都是需要做出的 "迅速 "改变生活的决定。


如果你听说癌症已经消失,你会如释重负,但在最 "简单 "的情况下 您必须处理刚刚经历的一切在某些情况下,您可能还需要接受激素替代疗法、激素抑制疗法和/或放射治疗。癌症会对身体造成伤害,手术和其他形式的治疗会引起炎症反应。这一切的创伤可能会导致您体重增加或持续增加。

有了这些改变人生的经历,却没有时间来处理自己的情绪,当你终于有时间的时候,你可能会觉得其他人都已经向前看了。在工作中,他们希望你继续工作。在家里,没有人注意到你是因为必须、因为想要才坚持下来的,但现在你不再为自己的生命而奋斗了。你累了,也许一切都真的回到了确诊前一天的状态。然而,你已经不同了。你并不是忘恩负义,你意识到无论你相信上帝还是宇宙、 你已经达到了目标,但现在旅程已经赶上了你。

你知道自己无法回到确诊前的那一天、那一刻或那一分钟,虽然你不想开一个怜悯派对,但你希望被人看到。 你想接受检查........你希望周围的人注意到,不用你告诉他们,"坚强的朋友 "可能是你以前的头衔,而你需要的是你毫无怨言、毫无比较地分给他们的同样的爱。 你希望你的圈子能在你安静的时候听到你,看到你。


在你为生命而战的最 "危险 "时刻,你感谢他们的支持。但是,幸存者和生存者仍然需要在洗衣服方面得到帮助。 我们希望能通过电话和短信了解情况荷尔蒙疗法、化疗后的大脑和/或这一切的创伤改变了他们承受外部压力的带宽。他们并非百分之百。不想回答 500 个关于治疗的问题,并不意味着我们不想谈论自己喜欢的电视剧、运动队或爱好。摆脱癌症并不意味着我们在适应新生活的过程中不需要支持。这意味着我们已经度过了造成大部分创伤的阶段。 但是,我们仍然需要您在这条新的道路上与我们同行,以同理心和善意来支持我们。





了解更多信息:









播客 乳腺癌对话


两个乳房的幸存者






519 次查看

最新文章

查看全部

冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

正念促进健康

东部时间 2 月 23 日下午 1:30

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 2 月 16 日上午 10:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

美国东部时间 19 日星期一下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 2 月 27 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 3 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 3 月 5 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 3 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 3 月 12 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 3 月 12 日上午 11:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Hearing the words “You have cancer” is heavy

By Dionne Phillips



Author Dionne Phillips

Hearing the words “you have cancer” is heavy, hard, life-changing, scary, and any other adjective you may consider a synonym of the feelings or words used above.

Your treatment regimen might consist of surgery first, then chemo/radiation, or vice versa. If the pathology report comes back with clear margins and you are considered “cancer free,” there is no one who wants things to go back to normal more than the person who received every experience firsthand. I suspect there are co-survivors who would argue this fact, whether it be parents, significant others, siblings, friends, or children. My intent is not to diminish their feelings or experiences but to validate those of the survivor/thriver.

We are the ones who receive the call or letter requiring a diagnostic mammogram, MRI, or biopsy. We experience the internal struggle of whether or not to share because we don’t want to worry our loved ones, so sometimes we carry that by ourselves—or we share and have to reassure our loved ones that it’s just a precaution, only to later learn that it is not.

Then there is the call, if you’re lucky, that shares the diagnosis information. I’ve heard stories of people finding out accidentally from people they should not have because they work at the facility, or the results drop in your electronic chart and you receive the notification before the nurse navigator calls, or there is a call to schedule surgery before you receive results from any of the aforementioned sources. Trauma, confusion, fear, AND you have no time to process it because you are now in some version of a fight for your life.

Unless you work in oncology or have a close relationship with someone who has experienced breast cancer, you may only be familiar with staging, and may not fully understand metastatic breast cancer (MBC). You aren’t necessarily familiar with the different types of breast cancer, i.e. ductal carcinoma in situ (DCIS), lobular carcinoma in situ (LCIS), inflammatory breast cancer, and triple-negative breast cancer, and you also may not know there are even more types. Then there is the language associated with the presence or absence of hormone receptors: estrogen receptor (ER) positive or negative, progesterone receptor (PR) positive or negative, and human epidermal growth factor receptor 2 (HER2) positive or negative. People can also experience different combinations and subtypes of those.

You then either have too much time to consider your path of treatment and implement it OR you don’t really have time to process the whirlwind because you are presented with the diagnosis and must decide the treatment path almost immediately; there are pros and cons to both. The decisions include the type of surgery: lumpectomy, mastectomy (single or double), reconstruction or not, what kind of reconstruction: expanders, DIEP flap, lat flap, nipple-sparing or not, just to name a few.


As a young survivor/thriver, double or single mastectomy has secondary and tertiary implications, i.e., do you have children, would you like to have children in the future, can you afford to harvest and store your eggs, and what are your views on breastfeeding? These and so many, many more are the “quick” life-changing decisions that need to be made.


If you get to the point that you hear the cancer is gone, it’s a relief, but at its “simplest,” you have to process what you just experienced, and in some cases, you may still face hormone replacement therapy, hormone suppression therapy, and/or radiation. Cancer takes a toll on your body, and you can have an inflammatory response from surgery and other forms of treatment. The trauma of it all may cause you to gain weight or hold on to it.

With all of these life-changing experiences and no time to process your emotions, when you finally get a moment, you may feel that everyone else has moved on. At work, they want you to get back to it. At home, no one notes that you pushed through because you had to, because you wanted to, but now you are no longer fighting for your life. You are tired, and maybe everything has LITERALLY returned to how it was the day before you received the diagnosis. Yet, you are different. Not ungrateful, you realize that whether you believe in God or the universe, you have reached the goal, but now the journey has caught up to you.

You know you can’t return to the day, moment, or minute before diagnosis, and while you don’t want a pity party, you want to be seen. You want to be checked on. You want those around you to note, without you telling them, that “strong friend” may have been the title you held before, and you need that same love you divvied out without complaint or comparison. You want your circle to hear you and see you when you are quiet.


You appreciated their support at the most “dangerous” point of this fight for your life. But survivors and thrivers still need help with laundry. We would love calls and texts just to check in without having to talk about your stuff; hormone therapy, chemo brain, and/or the trauma of it all have shifted their bandwidth for external stressors. They are not 100%. Not wanting to answer 500 questions about treatment doesn’t mean we don’t want to talk about our favorite series, sports team, or hobby. Being cancer-free doesn’t mean we don’t need support as we adjust to our new life. It means that we’ve made it through the part that is responsible for the bulk of trauma. But, we still need you to journey with us on this new path as a support, with empathy and kindness.





Learn More:









On the Podcast: Breast Cancer Conversations


Two Breasties on Survivorship






Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

May 20 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

In Body Breathwork

May 21 ,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Brain Spotting

May 27,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

May 28,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

June 3, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

Jun 4,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

June 10,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

June 11, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

June 11,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page