页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

乳腺癌的代价

作者 基拉-福特




乳腺癌的确诊具有毁灭性,原因有很多。这将如何扰乱你的生活? 治疗会是怎样的以及这将如何影响您的 家庭 这些问题都是常见的,也是可以理解的。对许多人来说,这些情感问题之后还有一个重要的经济问题: 我如何负担得起癌症费用?


继续阅读,了解更多有关癌症保险、医疗补助和医疗保险选择、预期医疗费用、可能不在保险范围内的其他治疗以及乳腺癌患者的其他财务注意事项的信息。



哪些保险涵盖癌症护理?


在美国 医疗保健和癌症治疗没有保障。 私人医疗保险通常会支付部分费用,但 癌症费用.此外,根据个人所拥有的私人保险,他们的保险计划可能只支付他们看某些医生或接受某些治疗的费用。网络外的医生、专家和特定的治疗方案可能不在承保范围内。


没有私人保险的人通常依靠 医疗补助这是一项政府计划,为低收入人群、老年人、残疾人和有受抚养子女的人提供保险。医疗补助 "由州和联邦两级提供资金,因此各州资格和承保范围的确切参数各不相同。请勿将其与 医疗保险是一项针对 65 岁及以上老年人和部分年轻残疾人的联邦医疗保险计划。即使有这些选择、也不可能覆盖所有癌症费用。即使那些有幸由保险支付主要费用的人,他们仍需支付自己的共付额和共同保险费、免赔额、保费和其他自付费用。



癌症治疗期间和治疗后会有哪些医疗费用?


直接医疗费用的具体费用因治疗方案而异。手术、化疗、放疗、荷尔蒙疗法和免疫疗法等治疗方法都有各自的价格,您通常需要支付这些方案的组合费用。这也部分解释了为什么 研究显示 癌症诊断越早,治疗费用越低。因为他们可能不需要那么多的治疗。 一项研究发现 I 期和 II 期乳腺癌的治疗费用在 61,621 美元至 97,066 美元之间,而 IV 期乳腺癌的平均治疗费用在 89,463 美元至 182,655 美元之间。


随着后续治疗的进行,这些数字还会继续增长。癌症护理不一定在 积极治疗结束后.您可能需要终生接受监测,以控制复发。这意味着您需要支付更多的费用,包括肿瘤专家检查、乳房 X 光检查(双乳房切除术患者除外)、降低复发风险的药物以及其他各种化验和检查。



我还应该考虑哪些治疗方法?


除了所有这些必要的费用外,还有许多治疗可能并不被认为是积极治疗所必需的,但仍能为您带来很大帮助。 理疗和针灸可以理疗和针灸可以缓解手术、化疗和放疗带来的不适,但并不总是在保险范围内。还有 心理挑战治疗师、精神科医生或心理咨询师的工作可能会帮助您应对癌症带来的心理挑战,但同样,这些服务并不总是在保险范围内,而且通常需要支付高额的共付额。



其他财务考虑因素


医疗费用只是难题之一。癌症还会对您的生活方式造成影响,并产生相应的费用。 许多癌症患者在接受治疗期间无法工作。 有些雇主有健康假政策,有些人可能有资格获得 社会保障残疾收入但即使有这些援助计划,很多人还是会失去收入。无法工作还可能导致无法完成基本的日常任务,包括照顾孩子。患有乳腺癌的父母可能不得不支付额外的育儿费用。最后是交通问题。在治疗期间,您可能需要花费大量的时间往返于各个约会地点。无论是公共交通费用还是汽油费,这些交通费用都会迅速增加,使本已困难的情况变得更加复杂。



底线


癌症的代价可能会影响人的一生。 研究发现发现,癌症患者宣布破产的可能性是其他有医疗债务的成年人的 2.5 倍,而且 30% 的癌症幸存者报告经历过经济困难。单是癌症诊断就已经是一个巨大的压力。经济压力的复合因素正在迅速形成一场危机,给患者、家庭和社区带来毁灭性的打击。




了解更多信息:





播客 乳腺癌对话


乳腺癌与法律:为患者和护理人员提供的资源






A关于作者

基拉-福特 Kiara Ford 是爱默生学院的应届毕业生,主修传播学,副修健康与社会。她目前是非营利组织 "亚洲妇女健康组织 "的一名社区保健员实习生。她热衷于病人权益和健康公平,希望通过自己的工作提高人们对病人权益的认识和理解。



出自同一作者:








338 次查看

最新文章

查看全部

现在

候车室

评论


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

对于新诊断的患者

美国东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

东部时间 4 月 22 日下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 4 月 23 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 5 月 6 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 5 月 7 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

美国东部时间 5 月 13 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

美国东部时间 5 月 14 日上午 11:30

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 5 月 14 日下午 6:00

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

The Cost of Breast Cancer

By Kiara Ford




A breast cancer diagnosis is devastating for many reasons. The questions of how this will disrupt your life, what will treatment be like, and how will this affect your family are common and understandable responses. And for many, these emotional questions are followed by one major financial one: how will I be able to afford cancer costs?


Continue reading to learn more about insurance coverage for cancer, Medicaid and Medicare options, what medical expenses to expect, other treatments that may not be covered by insurance, and additional financial considerations for those with breast cancer.



What Insurance Covers Cancer Care?


In the United States, healthcare and cancer treatment are not guaranteed. Private health insurance will typically cover some, but not all cancer costs. In addition, depending on the private insurance someone has, their plan may only pay for them to see certain doctors or undergo certain treatments. Out-of-network doctors, specialists, and specific treatment options may not be covered. 


People without private insurance often rely on Medicaid, a government program that provides coverage to low income people, older people, people with disabilities, and those with dependent children. Medicaid is funded on both a state and federal level, so the exact parameters of eligibility and coverage vary state by state. This is not to be mistaken with Medicare, which is a federal health insurance program for people 65 and older and some younger people with disabilities. Even with these options, it is unlikely for them to cover all cancer costs. Even for those who are fortunate enough to have primary costs covered by insurance, they will still have to pay for their own co-pays and coinsurance, deductibles, premiums, and other out-of-pocket expenses. 



What Medical Expenses Can I Expect During and After Cancer Treatment?


The exact cost of direct medical expenses varies depending on treatment plans. Treatments such as surgery, chemotherapy, radiation, hormone therapy, and immunotherapy all come with their own individualized prices, and you will typically have to pay for some combination of these options. This partially explains why studies have shown the cost of cancer treatment to be lower the earlier it is diagnosed, as they may not require as many treatments. One study found that for stage I and II breast cancer the price range was $61,621-$97,066, whereas for stage IV the average cost was between $89,463-$182,655. 


These numbers continue to grow with follow-up care. Cancer care does not necessarily end after active treatment is finished. You may be monitored throughout your lifetime in order to manage recurrence. This means there are added costs of check-ups with oncologists, mammograms (with the exception of those who have had a double mastectomy), medications to reduce risk of recurrence, and various other tests and exams. 



What Other Treatments Should I Consider?


In addition to all of these necessary costs, there are many treatments which may not be considered essential for your active treatment, but can still greatly help you. Physical therapy and acupuncture can be beneficial for the discomfort caused by surgery, chemotherapy, and radiation, but are not always covered by insurance. There is also the mental challenge of experiencing cancer, which may be aided by the work of a therapist, psychiatrist, or counselor, but once again, are not always covered by insurance and often come with a hefty co-pay. 



Other Financial Considerations


Medical costs are only one piece of the puzzle. There is also the toll cancer can take on your lifestyle, and the costs that come with it. Many people with cancer are unable to work while undergoing treatment. Some employers have health leave policies, and some people may qualify for social security disability income, but even with these assistance programs, many people will experience a loss of income. With the inability to work may also come the inability to perform essential daily tasks, including looking after children. Parents with breast cancer may have to navigate the added cost of childcare. Finally, there is the issue of transportation. During treatment, you will likely need to spend a great deal of time commuting back and forth to appointments. Whether you’re spending money on public transportation fares or gas, this travel comes at a price that can quickly add up and create more complications to an already difficult situation. 



The Bottom Line


The cost of cancer can have life-altering impacts. Research has found that patients with cancer are 2.5 times more likely to declare bankruptcy than other adults with health care debt, and 30% of cancer survivors report experiencing financial hardship. A cancer diagnosis alone is already a massive amount of stress. The compounding factor of financial toxicity is quickly creating a crisis that is devastating patients, families, and communities. 




Learn More:





On the Podcast: Breast Cancer Conversations


Breast Cancer and the Law: Resources for Patients and Caregivers






About the Author:

Kiara Ford is a recent graduate of Emerson College, where she majored in communication studies and minored in health and society. She is currently a community health worker trainee with the non-profit organization Asian Women for Health. She is passionate about patient advocacy and health equity, and hopes to raise awareness and increase understanding of patients’ rights through her work.



From the Same Author:








Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

The Caregiver Huddle

Third Tuesday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Pilates

June 14,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

June 17 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

The Sun's Embrace: A Summer Solstice Meditation

June 21,  11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

June 25,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

July 1, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

July 2,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

July 9, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

July 9,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

July 22,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page